DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al. (US 2009/0059127 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 2013/0215639 A1), Hsu (US 2008/0101084 A1) and Kawakami (US 2003/0223218 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto et al. teaches an illumination device comprising: a light guide (120) including an emission surface (121), an incident surface (125), and an uneven pattern (123; figure 5 and paragraph [0048] are formed on the light incident surface 125 of the light guide plate 120) integrally formed on the incident surface (125; 123 according to paragraph [0048] are formed on a surface of the light incident surface 125; although it is not explicitly stated that the lenses are integrally formed, it has been held that the term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973)) , with a convex portion (see pattern 123 in at least figure 5); a wiring substrate (flexible printed circuit board 160; figure 3A) and a plurality of light emitting elements (150, see Fig. 3A) mounted on the wiring substrate (160) at intervals from one another and each including a light emitting surface opposing the uneven pattern (123; see at least figure 5) and adhered to the uneven pattern by an adhesive (see paragraph [0041] where adhesive sheet is arranged on a light guide plate 120 side of the flexible printed circuit board 160. By adhering and fixing the flexible printed circuit board 160 to the light guide plate 120, a position of the LED 150 is adhered to the uneven surface (lens 123) by way of the flexible printed circuit board 160).
Nakamoto et al. does not explicitly teach the uneven pattern having a convex portion having a height of 0.01 to 0.4 mm.
Lin et al. teaches a light guide device comprising microstructures 120 having an uneven pattern comprising convex portions having a height H that is in a range between 0.02 and 0.4mm (see Fig. 7 & paragraph [0062] “microstructure 120 is ranged between 0.02 and 0.4 (i.e. L:H is between 1.5:1 and 50:1)” [0063] “The cloud form microstructure 120 has a maximum length L and a maximum width W. In this embodiment, both L and W are smaller than 0.6 mm.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the uneven pattern of Nakamoto to include a convex portion having a height of 0.01 to 0.4 mm as taught by the range of Lin et al. so that an optimal brightness performance of the display panel can be achieved (see paragraph [0062] of Lin et al.)
Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. does not explicitly teach the [uneven pattern] formed of the same material as the light guide and the [adhesive] formed between the light emitting surface and the uneven pattern.
Hsu teaches an [uneven] pattern (343; figure 4) formed of the same material as the light guide (341; figure 4; see paragraph [0037] where three light emitting diodes 33 are regularly arranged adjacent to a light input surface 341 of the light guide plate 34. A plurality of V-shaped depressions 343 are defined in parts of the light input surface 341 corresponding to the light emitting diodes 33.) and the adhesive (adhesive members 35; figure 4 and paragraph [0037]) formed between the light emitting surface (surface of light emitting diodes 33) and the [uneven] pattern (343).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. to form the uneven pattern of the same material as the light guide and include an adhesive formed between the light emitting surface and the uneven pattern as taught by Hsu to eliminate shadows that may form adjacent to the light input surface such that a uniformity of light output from the backlight module is increased (see paragraph [0037] of Hsu) and the use of the adhesive is an alternative way of positioning and fixing the light emitting diodes to the light guide plate (see paragraph [0026] of Hsu).
Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. and Hsu does not explicitly teach the [wiring substrate] opposing the incident surface of the light guide; and wherein, in a gap between adjacent light emitting elements, the uneven pattern is provided between the wiring substrate and the uneven pattern on the incident surface.
Kawakami (US 2003/0223218 A1) teaches a wiring substrate (board 43) opposing the incident surface (39a) of a light guide (light guide member 39) and wherein in a gap (space disclosed in paragraph [0090]; see figure 5a) between adjacent light emitting elements (42), the uneven pattern (61) is provided between the wiring substrate (43) and the uneven pattern (61) on the incident surface (39a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamoto et al. to position the wiring substrate opposing the incident surface of the light guide and to include a gap between adjacent light emitting elements and the uneven pattern as taught by Kawakami so that the light may reflect at the board and contribute to the occurrence of locally high luminance areas so that optical areas are preferably provided on areas of the board (see paragraph [0090] of Kawakami).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 1, wherein the uneven pattern (123; see figures 5 and 8) includes a plurality of convex portions and a plurality of concave portions (see at least figures 5 and 8) each extending in a first direction, and the plurality of convex portions and plurality of concave portions (see at least figures 5 and 8) are alternately aligned in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see at least figures 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 1, wherein each of the convex portions has a triangular (see 123 in at least figure 8), semi-elliptical, semi-circular (see 123 in at least figure 5), or trapezoidal cross- sectional shape.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 2, wherein the incident surface (125; see figure 3B) is formed into a rectangular shape with a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B), and the first direction is a direction parallel to the short sides and the second direction is a direction parallel to the long sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 2, wherein the incident surface (125; see at least figures 3A and 3B) is formed into a rectangular shape with a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B), and the first direction is a direction parallel to the long sides and the second direction is a direction parallel to the short sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 2, wherein the incident surface (125; see at least figures 3A and 3B) is formed into a rectangular shape with a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B), and the first direction is a direction inclined by an angle less than 90 degrees with respect to a direction parallel to the long sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B), and the second direction is a direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 2, wherein the incident surface (125; see figures 3A and 3B) is formed into a rectangular shape with a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (see figures 3A and 3B, 5 and 8), and the uneven pattern (figures 5 and 8) is provided over a region of substantially an entire length of the incident surface in a direction parallel to the long sides (see at least figures 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 2, wherein the incident surface (125; figures 3A and 3B) is formed into a rectangular shape with a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides (see at least figures 3A and 3B), and the uneven pattern (123) is provided dividedly at a plurality of locations on the incident surface at intervals in a direction parallel to the long sides (see at least figure 3A and 3B).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 10, wherein the uneven pattern (123) is provided in a region of 4/5 or greater of a length of the short sides in a direction parallel to the short sides (see at least figures 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamoto et al. teaches the illumination device of claim 11, wherein the unevenness pattern (123; figures 5 and 8) is provided in a region of 4/5 or greater of a length of the short sides in a direction parallel to the short sides (see at least figures 5 and 8).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamoto et al. teaches a display device comprising: a display panel (see paragraph [0010]); and an illumination device (see at least figures 1-5 and 8) provided to oppose the display panel (see at least figures 1, 3A and 3B), and the illumination device comprising a light guide (120) including an emission surface opposing the display panel (see at least figures 1, 3A and 3B), an incident surface (125; see at least figure 1, 3A and 3B), and an uneven pattern (123) integrally formed on the incident surface (125; 123 according to paragraph [0048] are formed on a surface of the light incident surface 125; although it is not explicitly stated that the lenses are integrally formed, it has been held that the term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973)), and a light emitting element (150) including a light emitting surface opposing the uneven pattern and adhered to the uneven pattern (123) by an adhesive (see paragraph [0041] where adhesive sheet is arranged on a light guide plate 120 side of the flexible printed circuit board 160. By adhering and fixing the flexible printed circuit board 160 to the light guide plate 120, a position of the LED 150 is adhered to the uneven surface (lens 123) by way of the flexible printed circuit board 160).
Nakamoto et al. does not explicitly teach the uneven pattern having a convex portion having a height of 0.01 to 0.4 mm.
Lin et al. teaches a light guide device comprising microstructures 120 having an uneven pattern comprising convex portions having a height H that is in a range between 0.02 and 0.4mm (see Fig. 7 & paragraph [0062] “microstructure 120 is ranged between 0.02 and 0.4 (i.e. L:H is between 1.5:1 and 50:1)” [0063] “The cloud form microstructure 120 has a maximum length L and a maximum width W. In this embodiment, both L and W are smaller than 0.6 mm.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the uneven pattern of Nakamoto to include a convex portion having a height of 0.01 to 0.4 mm as taught by the range of Lin et al. so that an optimal brightness performance of the display panel can be achieved (see paragraph [0062] of Lin et al.).
Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. does not explicitly teach the [uneven pattern] formed of the same material as the light guide and the [adhesive] formed between the light emitting surface and the uneven pattern.
Hsu teaches an uneven pattern (343; figure 4) formed of the same material as the light guide (341; figure 4; see paragraph [0037] where three light emitting diodes 33 are regularly arranged adjacent to a light input surface 341 of the light guide plate 34. A plurality of V-shaped depressions 343 are defined in parts of the light input surface 341 corresponding to the light emitting diodes 33.) and the adhesive (adhesive members 35; figure 4 and paragraph [0037]) formed between the light emitting surface (surface of light emitting diodes 33) and the uneven pattern (343).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. to form the uneven pattern of the same material as the light guide and include an adhesive formed between the light emitting surface and the uneven pattern as taught by Hsu to eliminate shadows that may form adjacent to the light input surface such that a uniformity of light output from the backlight module is increased (see paragraph [0037] of Hsu) and the use of the adhesive is an alternative way of positioning and fixing the light emitting diodes to the light guide plate (see paragraph [0026] of Hsu).
Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. and Hsu does not explicitly teach the [wiring substrate] opposing the incident surface of the light guide; and wherein, in a gap between adjacent light emitting elements, the uneven pattern is provided between the wiring substrate and the uneven pattern on the incident surface.
Kawakami (US 2003/0223218 A1) teaches a wiring substrate (board 43) opposing the incident surface (39a) of a light guide (light guide member 39) and wherein in a gap (space disclosed in paragraph [0090]; see figure 5a) between adjacent light emitting elements (42), the uneven pattern (61) is provided between the wiring substrate (43) and the uneven pattern (61) on the incident surface (39a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakamoto et al. to position the wiring substrate opposing the incident surface of the light guide and to include a gap between adjacent light emitting elements and the uneven pattern as taught by Kawakami so that the light may reflect at the board and contribute to the occurrence of locally high luminance areas so that optical areas are preferably provided on areas of the board (see paragraph [0090] of Kawakami).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al. (US 2009/0059127 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 2013/0215639 A1) ,Hsu (US 2008/0101084 A1) and Kawakami (US 2003/0223218 A1) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Chang (US 2010/0165663 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al.,Hsu and Kawakami teaches the illumination device of claim 2, but Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al. and Hsu does not explicitly teach wherein an alignment pitch of the plurality of convex portions in the second direction is set to 0.05 to 0.3 mm.
Chang teaches an alignment pitch of the plurality convex portions set in a range of 0.025mm to about 1.5 mm which falls in the recited range (see paragraph [0024] and [0025] and protrusions 24 in at least figures 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plurality of convex portions Nakamoto et al. to have an alignment pitch in the second direction having a range set to 0.05 to 0.3mm as taught by the range of Chang so that light utilization is enhanced (paragraph [0029]).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al. (US 2009/0059127 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 2013/0215639 A1),Hsu (US 2008/0101084 A1) and Kawakami (US 2003/0223218 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Thompson et al. (US 2013/0258709 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al.,Hsu, and Kawakamiteaches the illumination device of claim 1, but Nakamoto et al. modified by Lin et al,Hsu and Kawakami does not explicitly teach wherein the adhesive is a transparent resin adhesive having a refractive index lower than or equal to a refractive index of the light guide and further 1.4 or higher and having a haze of 5% or less.
Thompson et al. teaches a discloses an adhesive layer 150 ) that is a transparent resin adhesive (see paragraph [0109] where clear and colorless adhesive 150 is disclosed) having an refractive index of 1.5 or more (see paragraph [0116] where refractive index of 1.3 to 2.6 is disclosed) and a haze of at least 5% (see paragraph [0114] where adhesive having a high light transmittance and low haze value is disclosed; and a haze of 0.01 to about 5% is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adhesive of Nakamoto et al. to be a transparent resin adhesive having a refractive index lower than or equal to a refractive index of the light guide and a haze of 5% or less as taught by Thompson et al. to planarize the input surface of the light guide such that little or no diffusion of light occurs at the interface (see paragraph [0147] of Thompson et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claims 1 and 14.
Applicant amended claims 1 and 14 to include the limitations, inter alia, “a wiring substrate opposing the incident surface of the light guide and wherein, in a gap between adjacent light emitting elements, the uneven pattern is provided on the incident surface and an air layer is provided between the wiring substrate and the uneven pattern on the incident surface.”.
A new reference, Kawakami (US 2003/0223218 A1), has been found to teach the newly recited limitations.
Claim 1 therefore remains rejected. Also claim 14 has been similarly amended and similarity rejected as claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 6, applicant argues that the prior art , Hai, does not explicitly teach the limitation of “the adhesive is a transparent resin adhesive” as recited in claim 6. Applicant states that the adhesive of Hai is not provided between the light guide plate and the light source’s emission surface. After consideration of applicant’s arguments, a new reference, Thompson et al., has been found to teach the limitation.
Dependent claims 2-4 and 6-13 remain rejected based on dependency on a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875