Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(q) because the lead line associated with reference character 163 of figure 8 does not extend to the interior compartment as disclosed. MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the third cavity defining a third depth inward from a third side wall of claims 8 and 15, both of the first cavity and the second cavity extending laterally from a first side of the exterior of the packaging towards a second side of the exterior of the packaging with the second cavity extending from a second side of the packaging of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification amendment filed 17 September 2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.121(b)(1)(ii) because: the amended paragraph(s) do not include markings to show all the changes relative to the previous version of the paragraph(s).
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “162” has been used to designate interior compartment and exterior.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “176” has been used to designate first side and hang tab.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: sealed configuration, second side wall, third side wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation of claim 14 that “both of the first cavity and the second cavity extends laterally from a first side of the exterior of the packaging towards a second side of the exterior of the packaging” while claim 11 requires “the first cavity extending from a first side of the packaging” and “the second cavity extending from a second side of the packaging” fails to comply with the written description requirement. Nowhere does the original disclosure provide that a cavity can extend both from the second side of the packaging while also extending from the first side of the packaging towards that second side.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claims 1 and 11 of “a first cavity that is defined along an exterior of the packaging and accessible from the exterior of the packaging when the interior compartment is sealed such that it is not accessible from the exterior of the packaging” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if “it” refers back to the first cavity or to the interior compartment. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as latter.
The limitation of claim 1 of “the first cavity having a first cavity profile configured to receive a first reference part for fitment with the replacement part sealed in the interior compartment” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if the limitation requires fitment of the first reference part with the replacement part or if the claim requires that a first cavity profile can receive a first reference part for fitment therein while the replacement part is sealed win the interior compartment. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as latter.
Claim 6 is led to be indefinite as it is unclear if “a first side” is a newly recited structure or refers back to “a first side” of claim 1. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the claim will be interpreted as the latter.
Claim 7 and its dependents are indefinite because it is not clear whether claim 7 is drawn to the sub-combination of a packaging only, for use with some first reference part, or whether the claim is drawn to the combination of a packaging and a first reference part. This is because while some portion of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the sub-combination (note claim 7 line 1, for example), other portions of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the combination (note the structural limitation on lines 1-2, requiring the first depth be less than a respective depth defined by the first reference part). It is noted further in connection with this limitation that it is by now well settled that features not claimed may not be relied upon in support of patentability. In this office action, the first reference part is presumed not to be claimed in order for the examiner to give the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation. Accordingly, all references in the claim to the first reference part are considered to be merely functional. On the other hand, clarification of the scope of claim 7 is required.
The limitation of claim 11 of “a second cavity that is defined along an exterior of the packaging and accessible from the exterior of the packaging when the interior compartment is sealed such that it is not accessible from the exterior of the packaging” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if “it” refers back to the second cavity or to the interior compartment. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as latter.
The limitation of claim 11 of “the first cavity having a first cavity profile configured to receive a reference part for fitment with the one or more replacement part sealed in the interior compartment” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if the limitation requires fitment of the reference part with the one or more replacement part or if the claim requires that a first cavity profile can receive a reference part for fitment therein while the one or more replacement parts are sealed win the interior compartment. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as latter.
The limitation of claim 11 of “the second cavity having a second cavity profile configured to receive a second reference part for fitment with the one or more replacement part sealed in the interior compartment” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if the limitation requires fitment of the second reference part with the one or more replacement part or if the claim requires that a second cavity profile can receive a second reference part for fitment therein while the one or more replacement parts are sealed win the interior compartment. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as latter.
Claim 14 is led to be indefinite as it is unclear if “a first side” is a newly recited structure or refers back to “a first side” of claim 11. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the claim will be interpreted as the latter.
Claim 14 is led to be indefinite as it is unclear if “a second side” is a newly recited structure or refers back to “a second side” of claim 11. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the claim will be interpreted as the latter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snider (US 6082538).
Claim 1: Snider discloses a container 10 (packaging) comprising: an interior compartment configured to retain some replacement part in a sealed configuration; and a first gauging opening 32 (first cavity) that is defined along an exterior of the container 10 (packaging) and accessible from the exterior of the container 10 (packaging) when the interior compartment is sealed such that it is not accessible from the exterior of the container 10 (packaging) [see fig. 1 and C. 4 L. 28-32], the first gauging opening 32 (first cavity) extending from a first side of the container 10 (packaging) towards a center of the container 10 (packaging) at a first depth, the first gauging opening 32 (first cavity) having a first cavity profile configured to receive some first reference part for fitment with some replacement part sealed in the interior compartment (see fig. 1 and annotated fig. 2 below).
Claim 6: Snider discloses wherein the first gauging opening 32 (first cavity) extends laterally from a first side of the exterior of the container 10 (packaging) towards a second side of the exterior of the container 10 (packaging) (see annotated fig. 1 below).
Claim 7: Snider discloses wherein the first depth is less than a respective depth defined by some first reference part (see fig. 1).
Claim 9: Snider discloses a hang-hole 22 (hang tab) along a side of the container 10 (packaging), the hang-hole 22 (hang tab) configured to permit displaying of the container 10 (packaging) at a height (see fig. 1).
Claim 10: Snider discloses wherein the interior compartment is divided into two or more tool item receptacles 24 (sub-compartments) (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sherman (US 20140102932).
Claim 1: Sherman discloses a packaging comprising: an interior compartment configured to retain a replacement part in a sealed configuration; and a cut profile 44 (first cavity) that is defined along an exterior of the packaging and accessible from the exterior of the packaging when the interior compartment is sealed such that it is not accessible from the exterior of the packaging, the cut profile 44 (first cavity) extending from a first side of the packaging towards a center of the packaging at a first depth, the cut profile 44 (first cavity) having a first cavity profile configured to receive a first reference part for fitment with the replacement part sealed in the interior compartment (see annotated fig. 6 below).
Claim 2: Sherman discloses further comprising a cut profile 46 (second cavity) defining a second depth inward from a second side wall of the packaging and having a second cavity profile that is different than the first cavity profile, the second cavity profile configured to receive a second reference part that is different than a portion of the first reference part (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 3: Sherman discloses further comprising a cut profile 46 (second cavity) defining a second depth inward from a second side wall of the packaging and having a second cavity profile that is different than the first cavity profile, the second cavity profile configured to receive at least a portion of a second reference part (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 5: Sherman discloses wherein the cut profile 44 (first cavity) extends from a front side of the exterior of the packaging towards a rear side of the exterior of the packaging (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 6: Sherman discloses wherein the cut profile 44 (first cavity) extends laterally from a first side of the exterior of the packaging towards a second side of the exterior of the packaging (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 7: Sherman discloses wherein the first depth is less than a respective depth defined by the some first reference part (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 8: Sherman discloses further comprising a three dimensional profile pattern 50 (third cavity) defining a third depth inward from a third side wall of the packaging and having a third cavity profile that is different than the first cavity profile and the second cavity profile, the third cavity profile configured to receive at least a portion of a third reference part that is different than the first reference part and the second reference part (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 9: Sherman discloses further comprising a hang tab along a side of the packaging, the hang tab configured to permit displaying of the packaging at a height (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 11: Sherman discloses a packaging comprising: an interior compartment configured to retain one or more replacement parts in a sealed configuration; a cut profile 44 (first cavity) that is defined along an exterior of the packaging and accessible from the exterior of the packaging when the interior compartment is sealed such that it is not accessible from the exterior of the packaging, the cut profile 44 (first cavity) extending from a first side of the packaging towards a center of the packaging at a first depth, the cut profile 44 (first cavity) having a first cavity profile configured to receive a reference part for fitment with the one or more replacement parts sealed in the interior compartment; and a cut profile 46 (second cavity) that is defined along the exterior of the packaging and accessible from the exterior of the packaging when the interior compartment is sealed such that it is not accessible from the exterior of the packaging, the cut profile 46 (second cavity) extending from a second side of the packaging towards the center of the packaging at a second depth, the cut profile 46 (second cavity) having a second cavity profile configured to receive a second reference part of fitment with the one or more replacement parts sealed in the interior compartment (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 13: Sherman discloses wherein either or both of the cut profile 44 (first cavity) and the cut profile 46 (second cavity) extends from a front side of the exterior of the packaging towards a rear side of the exterior of the packaging (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 14: Sherman discloses wherein the cut profile 44 (first cavity) extends laterally from a first side of the exterior of the packaging towards a second side of the exterior of the packaging (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim 15: Sherman discloses further comprising a three dimensional profile pattern 50 (third cavity) that is formed in the exterior of the packaging, the three dimensional profile pattern 50 (third cavity) defining a third depth inward from a third side wall of the packaging and having a third cavity profile configured to receive at least a portion of a third reference part, wherein the third cavity profile is different from the first cavity profile and the second cavity profile (see annotated fig. 6 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman (US 20140102932) further in view of Dontula (US 20190337694).
Claim 10: Sherman discloses the claimed invention except wherein the interior compartment is divided into two or more sub-compartments.
Dontula teaches a blister pack 80 having an interior compartment divided into a plurality of pill receiving chambers 84 (two or more sub-compartments) for receiving pills 82 (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the cover 52 of the packaging to have a plurality of receiving chambers (sub-compartments) each sized to hold a single content, as taught by Dontula, in order to restrain the contents in a manner in which they will not contact or damage each other and in order to restrain the contents in a manner in which each is accessed individually such that unused contents remain restrained and cannot be lost upon retrieving other held contents.
Claim 16: See claim 10 above.
Response to Arguments
The claim objections in paragraph 8 of office action dated 17 April 2026 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 17 September 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections in paragraphs 9-18 of office action dated 17 April 2026 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 17 September 2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 17 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Snider fails to disclose an interior compartment configured to retain a replacement part in a sealed configuration, the Examiner responds that the Cambridge dictionary defines “sealed” as closed. As the hinged cover 18 of Snider is disclosed as being pivotally movable between a fully closed position and a fully open position the interior compartment is therefore sealed by the hinged cover 18. Further, the claimed limitation of “an interior compartment configured to retain a replacement part in a sealed configuration” is a functional limitation. As the interior compartment is capable of being sealed, e.g. head sealed, glued, or taped, the limitation is met.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a sealed configuration where breaking a seal is required to access the replacement parts, seal that must be broken to access the interior, a seal to break) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736