DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US2020/137372).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an image processing circuit, comprising a main control chip and an image processing chip, wherein the main control chip is connected to the image processing chip (Fig. 6A: See connection between Central Processor 41 and image processing ISP 43; [0055-0066; 0071]); the main control chip is configured to:
in a case that a display screen receives a first input performed by a user for a first preview image ([0074-0076]: zooming operation is performed on Wide angle image W in Fig. 7),
obtain a second preview image ([0074]: Display 50 switched from image W to Tele image T), and send the second preview image to the image processing chip (Fig. 7: virtual viewpoint images are interpolated/ generated based on the image W and image T. Therefore, Image W and image T are inherently sent and processed by ISP/ DSP 43; [0058; 0074-0076; 0079]);
the image processing chip is configured to generate a frame interpolation preview image based on the first preview image and the second preview image ([0072; 0079]: virtual viewpoint images are interpolated images based on the disparity and picture quality differences between the image W and image T); and the image processing chip is further configured to sequentially output the frame interpolation preview image and the second preview image to the display screen for display ([0074]: see the step of “ sequentially displaying virtual viewpoint images V before image T”); or the image processing chip is further configured to send the frame interpolation preview image and the second preview image to the main control chip, so that the main control chip sequentially outputs the frame interpolation preview image and the second preview image to the display screen for display ([0053-0054; 0074; 0084]: “An image output on the display 50 may be switched by the camera switching control signal from the wide-angle image W to the telephoto image T by sequentially displaying virtual viewpoint images V before image T”).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the image processing chip is configured to: in a case that a variation amplitude of an image parameter of the second preview image relative to an image parameter of the first preview image meets a preset condition ([0041-0044; 0077; 0081]: See conditions relate to different disparity, picture quality difference and different zoom factors), generate the frame interpolation preview image based on the first preview image and the second preview image ([0072; 0079]: virtual viewpoint images or interpolated images are based on the conditions of the disparity and picture quality differences between the image W and image T).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the image processing circuit according to claim 2, wherein the image parameter comprises at least one of the following: a field of view, color, brightness, or resolution ([0044; 0085]: See different field of view images captures by two cameras; [0104]: See resolution different in picture quality).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the main control chip is further configured to obtain the first preview image and output the first preview image to the display screen for display ([0011; 0023; 0074; 0079; 0093]; Fig. 7-9: See wide angle image on display 50).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the main control chip is further configured to obtain the first preview image and send the first preview image to the image processing chip (See bidirectional data communication to transfer images between first or second camera 10-20 to ISP 43); and the image processing chip is further configured to output the first preview image to the display screen for display (See bidirectional data communication between ISP 43 to display 50);.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses an electronic device, comprising a display screen and the image processing circuit according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1), wherein the image processing circuit is connected to the display screen (Fig. 6A: See connection between ISP 43 and Display 50).
Regarding to claim 8, the claim is a method of the apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding to claim 9, the claim is a method of the apparatus claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding to claim 11, the claim is a method of the apparatus claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Regarding to claim 12, the claim is a method of the apparatus claim 6. Therefore, claim 12 is analyzed and rejected as claim 6.
Regarding to claim 13, Park discloses the image processing method according to claim 8, wherein before the obtaining, by the main control chip, a second preview image ([0074]: See tele image T) in a case that a first input performed by a user ([0074]: zoom operation) for a first preview image is received ([0074]: See wide angle image W on display 50), the method further comprises: obtaining, by the main control chip, the first preview image, and sending the first preview image to the image processing chip; and outputting, by the image processing chip, the first preview image to the display screen for display (See also the rejection of claim 6).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses an electronic device, comprising a main control chip and an image processing chip, the main control chip being connected to the image processing chip (Fig. 6A: See connection between Central Processor 41 and image processing ISP 43; [0055-0066; 0071]); wherein the electronic device further comprises a processor (40) and a memory storing a program or an instruction executable on the processor (Fig. 6A: Memory 47; [0064; 0066]), and when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented:
in a case that a display screen receives a first input performed by a user for a first preview image ([0074-0076]: zooming operation is performed on Wide angle image W in Fig. 7),
obtaining, by the main control chip, a second preview image ([0074]: Display 50 switched from image W to Tele image T), and sending the second preview image to the image processing chip (Fig. 7: virtual viewpoint images are interpolated/ generated based on the image W and image T. Therefore, Image W and image T are inherently sent and processed by ISP/ DSP 43; [0058; 0074-0076; 0079]);
generating, by the image processing chip, a frame interpolation preview image based on the first preview image and the second preview image ([0072; 0079]: virtual viewpoint images are interpolated images based on the disparity and picture quality differences between the image W and image T); and
sequentially outputting, by the image processing chip, the frame interpolation preview image and the second preview image to the display screen for display ([0074]: see the step of “ sequentially displaying virtual viewpoint images V before image T”); or sending, by the image processing chip, the frame interpolation preview image and the second preview image to the main control chip, so that the main control chip sequentially outputs the frame interpolation preview image and the second preview image to the display screen for display ([0053-0054; 0074; 0084]: “An image output on the display 50 may be switched by the camera switching control signal from the wide-angle image W to the telephoto image T by sequentially displaying virtual viewpoint images V before image T”).
Regarding to claim 15, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 is analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding to claim 17, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 4. Therefore, claim 17 is analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Regarding to claim 18, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 5. Therefore, claim 18 is analyzed and rejected as claim 5.
Regarding to claim 19, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 6. Therefore, claim 19 is analyzed and rejected as claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 8. Therefore, claim 20 is analyzed and rejected as claim 8. Claim 20 further requires: “a non-transitory readable storage medium ([0064; 0066]).
Claims 1, 8, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nash (US2017/0230585).
Regarding claim 1, Nash discloses an image processing circuit (see paragraph 43 and figure 3), comprising a main control chip (see [0043] and figure 3, reference 360) and an image processing chip (see figure 3, reference 320), wherein the main control chip is connected to the image processing chip (see figure 3);
the main control chip is configured to: in a case that a display screen receives a first input performed by a user for a first preview image (see [0036] and figure 2B, 4: Image A is the image from the wide-angle camera 206), obtain a second preview image (see [0062] and figure 4: Image B is the second image from the telephoto camera 204), and send the second preview image to the image processing chip (see [0045, 0048, 0051] and figures 3, 4: The image processor 320 fuses images A and B);
the image processing chip is configured to generate a frame interpolation preview image based on the first preview image and the second preview image (see [0043, 0045, 0062-0063]: "memory 300 includes modules having instructions to configure the image processor to perform various operations including seamless zoom functionality") and
Regarding to claim 8, the claim is a method of the apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is analyzed and rejected as claim 1.
Regarding to claim 14, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the claim contains the same limitation as claimed in claim 8. Therefore, claim 20 is analyzed and rejected as claim 8. Claim 20 further requires: “a non-transitory readable storage medium ([0013; 0035; 0043]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of Park discloses an application processor for switching image capture between the camera, and a display. The application processor may switch images output on the display when the cameras are switched. During the image transition, one or more virtual viewpoint images are output between a pre-transition image and a post-transition image. The prior art of Nash (US2017/0230585) discloses devices and methods for providing seamless preview images for multi-camera devices having two or more asymmetric cameras. The prior art of Imai (US2012/0127335) discloses methods for calculating original brightness parameters for the first and second regions based on the preview image. The prior art of Bagaria (US2019/0138259) discloses methods and apparatus to determine a first threshold and a second threshold of a brightness scale for the preview image, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are used to divide the brightness scale into a first brightness range associated with the reference image, a second brightness range associated with the first non-reference image, and a third brightness range associated with the second non-reference image. However, none of the prior art, alone or in combination provide a motivation to teach or fairly suggest the image processing circuit according to claim 1 further in combination with: “ in a case that a variation amplitude of an image parameter of the second preview image relative to an image parameter of the first preview image does not meet a preset condition, output the second preview image to the display screen for display”.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of Park discloses an application processor for switching image capture between the camera, and a display. The application processor may switch images output on the display when the cameras are switched. During the image transition, one or more virtual viewpoint images are output between a pre-transition image and a post-transition image. The prior art of Nash (US2017/0230585) discloses devices and methods for providing seamless preview images for multi-camera devices having two or more asymmetric cameras. The prior art of Imai (US2012/0127335) discloses methods for calculating original brightness parameters for the first and second regions based on the preview image. The prior art of Bagaria (US2019/0138259) discloses methods and apparatus to determine a first threshold and a second threshold of a brightness scale for the preview image, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are used to divide the brightness scale into a first brightness range associated with the reference image, a second brightness range associated with the first non-reference image, and a third brightness range associated with the second non-reference image. However, none of the prior art, alone or in combination provide a motivation to teach or fairly suggest the image processing method according to claim 8 further in combination with: “in a case that a variation amplitude of an image parameter of the second preview image relative to an image parameter of the first preview image does not meet a preset condition, outputting, by the image processing chip, the second preview image to the display screen for display”.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of Park discloses an application processor for switching image capture between the camera, and a display. The application processor may switch images output on the display when the cameras are switched. During the image transition, one or more virtual viewpoint images are output between a pre-transition image and a post-transition image. The prior art of Nash (US2017/0230585) discloses devices and methods for providing seamless preview images for multi-camera devices having two or more asymmetric cameras. The prior art of Imai (US2012/0127335) discloses methods for calculating original brightness parameters for the first and second regions based on the preview image. The prior art of Bagaria (US2019/0138259) discloses methods and apparatus to determine a first threshold and a second threshold of a brightness scale for the preview image, wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are used to divide the brightness scale into a first brightness range associated with the reference image, a second brightness range associated with the first non-reference image, and a third brightness range associated with the second non-reference image. However, none of the prior art, alone or in combination provide a motivation to teach or fairly suggest the electronic device according to claim 14 further in combination with: ”wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the following step is further implemented: in a case that a variation amplitude of an image parameter of the second preview image relative to an image parameter of the first preview image does not meet a preset condition, outputting, by the image processing chip, the second preview image to the display screen for display”.
Conclusion
/HUNG H LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 03/19/26