DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 12, 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN115143666A).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a heat exchanger (Fig. 1-7) for a gas turbine engine, the heat exchanger comprising: an inlet manifold (collecting pipe 11); an outlet manifold (collecting pipe 12); a plate (flat pipe 21) extending from the inlet manifold to the outlet manifold, the plate defining a plurality of channels (microchannels 22) from the inlet manifold to the outlet manifold; and a heat pipe (heat pipe 30) having an end extending from the inlet manifold along the plate, the heat pipe being in thermal communication with the plate by contact with the plate to transfer heat from the inlet manifold to the plate.
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses
the heat pipe comprises a pipe defining a cavity (cavity 31) and a fluid (working substance – Page 4) disposed in the cavity.
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further discloses
the heat pipe further comprises a wick (liquid absorbing core 41) disposed in the cavity.
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses the end of the heat pipe (heat pipe 30) is a first end, wherein the heat pipe extends along the plate from the first end at the inlet manifold to a second end at the outlet manifold.
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses the end of the heat pipe (heat pipe 30) is a first end, wherein the heat pipe extends along the plate from the first end at the inlet manifold (collecting pipe 11) to a second end at a termination point on the plate between the inlet manifold and the outlet manifold (collecting pipe 12).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses a plurality of heat pipes (30) including the heat pipe, each of the plurality of heat pipes being in thermal communication with the plate.
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further discloses the heat pipe (heat pipe 30) has an aerodynamic cross-section (see flat shape thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niergarth (US20220282670A1) in view of Wu (CN115143666A).
Regarding claim 15, Niegarth teaches a gas turbine engine (see Fig. 1-8) comprising: a
turbomachine comprising a compressor section, a combustion section, and a turbine section
arranged in serial flow order (see ¶[0033]), the turbomachine defining an engine inlet to an
inlet duct, a fan duct inlet to a fan duct (fan duct 172), and a core inlet to a core duct (core duct 122); and a heat exchanger (heat exchanger 20) disposed in the fan duct, the heat exchanger
comprising a manifold (manifold 202/204), a plate (vanes 206) extending from the manifold.
Niegarth does not teach the heat exchanger comprising; a manifold,a plate extending from the manifold, the plate defining a plurality of channels from the manifold, and a heat pipe having an end extending from the manifold along the plate, the heat pipe being in thermal communication with the plate by contact with the plate to transfer heat from the manifold to the plate.
Wu teaches a heat exchanger (Fig. 1-7) for a gas turbine engine, the heat exchanger comprising: an inlet manifold (collecting pipe 11); an outlet manifold (collecting pipe 12); a plate (flat pipe 21) extending from the inlet manifold to the outlet manifold, the plate defining a plurality of channels (microchannels 22) from the inlet manifold to the outlet manifold; and a heat pipe (heat pipe 30) having an end extending from the inlet manifold along the plate, the heat pipe being in thermal communication with the plate by contact with the plate to transfer heat from the inlet manifold to the plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Niergarth to include the heat
pipe of Wu, in order to improve the heat transfer efficiency (Page 1).
Regarding claim 16, Niergarth teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Niergarth further
teaches a plurality of heat exchangers (200; Fig. 6) including the heat exchanger, wherein the
plurality of heat exchangers are arranged circumferentially around the fan duct.
Regarding claim 17, Niergarth teaches the limitations of claim 16, and Wu further teaches the respective heat pipe of at least one of the plurality of heat exchangers includes a wick (liquid absorbing core 41).
Regarding claim 19, Niergarth teaches the limitations of claim 15, and Wu further teaches the end is a first end, wherein the heat pipe (heat pipe 30) extends from the first end at the manifold to a second end at a termination point on the plate, wherein the termination point is spaced from the manifold (see extension between 11 & 12).
Regarding claim 20, Niergarth teaches the limitations of claim 18, and Wu further teaches a second manifold (12), wherein the heat pipe (30) extends from the manifold (11) to the second manifold (12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763