DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lock assembly having both a slider unit (40) with a slider arm (42) that is movable by at least one hinge along with a lock slot (12) with a bearing cavity (34) for pivotally positioning a movable lock with a tooth as required by claims 21 and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “12” has been used to designate both the lock slot in figure 2 and the angular lock slot in figure 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: movable tongue (s) (claims 18 and 19) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, line 4, “the vertical axis” lacks antecedence.
Regarding claim 12, lines 7-9 are misdescriptive. According to the specification, the movable lock’s (30) rotary movement is restricted when the surface opposite the pressure surface (38) comes into contact with the bottom surface of the module body (11). It is not restricted as stated in the limitation “the movable lock having an axis of rotation in which the rotary movement of the movable lock is restricted by contact between the movable lock and the pressure surface”.
Regarding claim 12, line 10, the limitation, “a tooth separated from a tooth slot by the axis of rotation in contact with the pressure surface” is misdescriptive. The tooth (32) is separated from a tooth slot (22) by rotation of the movable lock (30) when pressure is applied to the pressure surface (38). It is suggested that the limitation be changed to “a tooth can be separated from a tooth slot by applying pressure to the pressure surface to cause the movable lock to rotate about the axis of rotation” to correct the problem.
Regarding claims 18-19, it is misdescriptive to claim that the double-acting locking bearing allows double-acting locking by turning a movable tongue to ninety degrees. The claims are directed to a second embodiment of the invention as seen in figures 6 and 6A. There is no turning of the double-acting locking bearing in the use of this embodiment of the invention. This embodiment is just structurally different from the first embodiment with a single-acting locking bearing. The final structure involves no turning of the double-acting locking bearing. It is just a double-acting locking bearing with the axes oriented in the vertical direction. It is misdescriptive to claim the two distinct embodiments in the same claim, i.e., there is no disclosure of a lock assembly having a single movable lock in combination with the double acting movable tongues on a single module body.
Also, the phrase “in order to bear the movable tongue to the axis of rotation” is indefinite. The scope of the phrase “in order to bear” is not determinable. The structure inferred by the phrase is not determinable.
Regarding claim 20, line 2, “the axes of rotation” lacks antecedence. In line 4, it is misdescriptive to claim that “a cylindrical rotation projection extending f[o]rom a lower side of the lock slot”. As shown and disclosed, the cylindrical rotation projection (12.3) extends from the angular lock slot (12 in figure 6) and not from the lock slot (12 in figure 2, see objection to drawing for using the same reference number to define two distinct elements).
Regarding claims 21 and 22, these claims are misdescriptive. These claims are claiming a lock assembly that has both a slider unit, fixed knob and movable knob, with a movable lock and its details defined in claim 1. The drawings fail to disclose this combination. It is clear from the drawings that these two elements are two different embodiments of the invention. The movable lock (30) is directed to the second embodiment of the invention as shown in figures 2-5. The slider unit (40), fixed knob (44) and movable knob (45) is directed to the first embodiment of the invention as shown in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Pogharian, US 4924562. Pogharian discloses a lock assembly for a jewelry module having a module body (12) with an entry for a lock striker (22) on a horizontal axis, a movable lock (32) positionable along a vertical axis, a positioning area that conceals the movable lock, a lock slot (aperture extending through the module body) formed along the horizontal axis, the movable lock (32) is fixed by a bearing cavity for rotary movement, the movable lock (32) has an axis of rotation (about pin 36) and is restricted by contact between the movable lock and a side surface (see annotated drawing, figure 8), a tooth (30) separated from a tooth slot (space 28 between rack teeth on lock striker 22) by pressure applied to the surface (at 42) to rotate the movable lock (32).
Regarding claim 13, Papharian discloses a bearing pin (36).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Papharian discloses a coil spring (40) as seen inbetween elements (38, 44) in the cavity of the module body (16).
Regarding claim 16, Papharian discloses a spine elevation with a channel (42, see annotated drawing).
Regarding claim 17, Papharian discloses pressure edges at edges of the pressure surface (around the surface near element 42).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677