DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to the RCE filed 2/27/26. Amendments received on 2/27/26 have been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 should be deleted since the limitations of claim 9 are incorporated into amended claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US Pub 2019/0378365) in view of Gerhardt et al. (US Pub 2012/0280783) and further in view of Debord et al. (US Pub 2024/0144754).
As of claims 1, 9 and 13-15, Jordan discloses a computer system for handling authorization to unlock a charging inlet of a vehicle (see fig. 1; also see paragraph [0035]), wherein the computer system comprises processing circuitry configured to:
obtain, from a requester, a request for authorization to unlock the charging inlet, wherein the request comprises an identification, ID, of the requester (via receiving a request from a nomadic device of a requestor (NDR) 314, wherien the request includes a phone number/email address (ID) of the requestor; see paragraph [0049]);
determine, based on the ID of the requester, to deny or grant the request for authorization to unlock the charging inlet (via forwarding the request to the nomadic device of a owner (NDO) 316 to deny or grant the request; see paragraph [0050]);
when the request has been granted, provide instructions to the charging inlet to authorize unlocking of the charging inlet (in response to the receiving authorization from the NDO 316 unlocking charge port locking mechanism 304; see paragraph [0052]-[0053]); and
With regards to the limitation of “to obtain, from the charging inlet, a confirmation that the unlocking has been authorized and performed”, Jordan discloses that NDR 314 may transmit a phone number or email address of the requestor via the NFC system 210 as part of the request. The charge system controller 306 may then send a response to the NDR 314 via the email address or the phone number. In some configurations, the charge port 134 may include an indicator (e.g., an LED or display) that may provide feedback to the NDR 314 user. For example, the LED may be flashed at a first rate to indicate that the request was received and sent to the NDO 316. The LED may be flashed at a second rate if the request is denied and may be turned on without flashing if the request is granted. So, Jordan discloses that charge system controller can transmit a response to the unlock request or indicate unlocking via LED. Form the teaching of Jordan (namely paragraph [0049]) it would have been obvious that the response to the NDR 314 would indicate lock/unlock status. However, in order to further support the Examiner’s assertion that it would have been obvious to obtain a confirmation that unlocking has been authorized and performed, Gerhardt discloses the steps of obtaining a confirmation that the unlocking has been authorized and performed (see paragraph [0054] and [0122]).
From the teaching of Gerhardt, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Jordan to include the function of obtain unlocking confirmation as taught by Gerhardt in order to notify the user that the status of the locking system has changed.
So, Jordan discloses unlocking a lock (charging inlet) based on a user request, however it does not disclose that the request for authorization to unlock is for a plurality of vehicles (locks).
Debord discloses a computer system, for handing authorization to unlock locks, obtaining a request for authorization to unlock wherein the request for authorization to unlock is for a plurality of locks (see fig. 4; also see paragraphs [0036]-[0037]).
From the teaching of Debord, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Jordan to include the function of requesting unlocking of plurality of locks as taught by Debord in order to allow a user authorized to unlock plurality of locks to access plurality of access points.
As of claim 2, Jordan discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to: when the confirmation has been obtained, provide, to the requester, information indicating that the request for authorization to unlock the charging inlet has been granted and that charging inlet is ready to be unlocked (via sending a response to the NDR 314 using the email/phone number provided during the unlocking request and indicating the request status via the indicator (LED or display); see paragraphs [0008] and [0049]).
As of claim 3, Jordan discloses that the confirmation comprises information that the unlocking has been performed (via sending a response to the NDR 314 using the email/phone number provided during the unlocking request and indicating the request status via the indicator (LED or display); see paragraphs [0008] and [0049]).
As of claim 4, Jordan discloses that the instructions provided to the charging inlet comprises information indicating that the requester is authorized to unlock the charging inlet (via disclosing that in response to the receiving authorization from the NDO 316 unlocking charge port locking mechanism 304; see paragraph [0052]-[0053]).
As of claim 5, Even though Jordan does not explicitly disclose the request for authorization is determined to be granted when the ID of the requester is amongst predetermined authorized IDs; and wherein the request for authorization is determined to be denied when the ID of the requester is not amongst predetermined authorized IDs. The Examiner took official notice that it is well known in the art to receives an ID, compare the ID to the store list of authorized IDs and perform unlocking based on the comparison (see Twigger US Pub 2025/0135925 paragraph [0020]), since applicant did not traverse the Examiner’s assertion the well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art (MPEP 2144.3C).
As of claim 6, Jordan discloses that the request for authorization is determined to be granted or denied based on user input indicating grant or denial of the request (via based on owner input indicating grant or denial of the request; see paragraph [0046]).
As of claim 7, Jordan discloses that the vehicle is accessible by the computer system or a user of the computer system, and wherein the vehicle is inaccessible to the requester (in the system of Jordan the vehicle is accessible to the owner but not the requestor; see paragraph [0038]).
As of claim 8, Jordan discloses that the instructions to the charging inlet to authorize unlocking of the charging inlet comprises activation instructions for activating an actuator of the charging inlet (via driving an electrical actuator of the charge port locking mechanism; see paragraph [041]).
As of claim 10, Jordan discloses that the computer system is remotely located from the vehicle and the requester (Jordan discloses that the exemplary processes may be executed by a computing system in communication with a vehicle computing system. Such a system may include, but is not limited to, a wireless device (e.g., and without limitation, a mobile phone) or a remote computing system (e.g., and without limitation, a server) connected through the wireless device. Collectively, such systems may be referred to as vehicle associated computing systems (VACS; see paragraph [0035]).
As of claim 11, Jordan discloses a vehicle comprising at least part of a computer system of claim 1 and a charging inlet (via vehicle 112; see fig. 1; also see paragraph [0035]).
As of claim 12, Jordan discloses an actuator configured to unlock the charging inlet (via driving an electrical actuator of the charge port locking mechanism; see paragraph [041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Norton et al. (US Pub 2019/0069436) discloses the steps of receiving unlocking request for a plurality of locks (see paragraphs [0033]-[0035]).
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686