DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7,9,13-15,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 7, line 2 is unclear. Line 2 recites the holding-down device positively, while claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, only recites the holding-down device functionally. For purposes of this office action it is assumed the claim 7 is intended to recite the holding-down device functionally, as well. Therefore, lines 1 and 2 will be treated as to recite –an anchoring sleeve adapted to be between a post of the plurality of posts and the holding down device--.
In claim 9, line 2, since the holding-down device has already been recited in claim 8 it is unclear if “a” holding device is referring back to the “at least one” in claim 8, or a different one. It appears that “a” should be changed to –the--,
In claim 13, line 1, “the indentation” is unclear which indentation is being referred to. It appears that this should be –the at least one indentation--.
In claim 13, lines 2 and 3, “designed in the manner” is unclear. It is suggested that lines 2 and 3 be amended to recite –a blind hole, a through hole, or a trough--.
In claim 14, line 1, “the indentation” should be –the at least one indentation--.
In claim 15, line 1, “the indentation” should be –the at least one indentation--.
In claim 17, line 1, “the indentation” should be –the at least one indentation--.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5,8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6,8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5,8 of the instant application are broader than claims 2-6,8 of the above identified patent. Thus, the claims of the patent “anticipate” instant claims 1-5,8 because claims 2-6,8 of the patent contain all limitations recited in instant claims 1-5,8.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348 in view of Berger 20140178839.
Claims 2 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348 do not recite wherein each post of the plurality of posts is adapted to be inserted into the holding down device and wherein the holding down device receives each of the plurality of posts.
Berger discloses a similar system in which a holding down device 14 is received by a plurality of posts 43. See fig. 2A.
It would have been obvious to recite that each post of the plurality of posts is adapted to be inserted into the holding down device and wherein the holding down device receives each of the plurality of posts with claims 2 and 8 of the U.S. Patent No. 12053348, in view of the teaching of Berger that a holding down device may be received by a plurality of posts in a plate type denture device.
Claims 7,10,11,12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348 in view of Tramonte et al 20130196287.
With regard to these claims, claims 2 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348 do not recite an anchoring sleeve between a post of the plurality of posts and the holding down device, wherein a post of the plurality of posts is inserted in the anchoring sleeve, nor that the anchoring sleeve has at least one radially protruding anchoring pin, or two pins pointing away from each other on opposite sides of the anchoring sleeve.
Tramonte et al discloses a system wherein a post 3 is inserted in an anchoring sleeve 1. See fig. 2. The anchoring sleeve has two radially protruding pins 4 pointing away from each other on opposite sides of the anchoring sleeve.
It would have been obvious to recite an anchoring sleeve between a post of the plurality of posts and the holding down device, wherein a post of the plurality of posts is inserted in the anchoring sleeve, and with the anchoring sleeve including two radially protruding pins pointing away from each other on opposite sides of the anchoring sleeve, with claims 2 and 8 of the U.S. Patent No. 12053348, in view of the teaching of Tramonte et al that an anchoring sleeve may be used with a post in a denture anchoring device.
Claims 13-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348 in view of Berger 20140178839.
With regard to claims 13-17, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12053348 does not recite that the indentation is designed in the manner of a blind hole, or alternatively in the manner of a through hole, or in the manner of a trough (claim 13), nor that the indentation is configured to accommodate a single post of the plurality of posts (claim 14), nor that the indentation is configured to accommodate several posts of the plurality of posts (claim 15), nor that the holding-down device comprises several indentations spaced from each other (claim 16), nor that the indentation is surrounded or formed by side walls which, when the holding-down device is placed on the plurality of posts, are configured for contact of the distal end region of the posts or the interposition of an intermediate medium (claim 17).
Berger discloses a similar system in which at least one indentation in the holding down device 14 is a blind hole or a through hole or a trough (see fig. 2A), where the indentation is configured to accommodate a single post of the plurality of posts (see fig. 2A), where the indentation is configured to accommodate several posts of the plurality of posts (see fig. 2A), where the holding down device comprises several indentations spaced from each other (see fig. 2A, element 90), where the indentation is surrounded or formed by side walls which, when the holding down device is placed on the plurality of posts, are configured for contact of the distal end region of the posts of the interposition of an intermediate medium (see fig. 2A, note how holding down device comprises sidewalls that form the indentation underneath that receives the posts).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to recite that the indentation is designed in the manner of a blind hole, or alternatively in the manner of a through hole, or in the manner of a trough, and that the indentation is configured to accommodate a single post of the plurality of posts, and that the indentation is configured to accommodate several posts of the plurality of posts, and that the holding-down device comprises several indentations spaced from each other, and that the indentation is surrounded or formed by side walls which, when the holding-down device is placed on the plurality of posts, are configured for contact of the distal end region of the posts or the interposition of an intermediate medium, in view of the teaching of Berger that these features are known to be part of a holding down device in a denture mounting system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6,8,9,13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martinez-Navarro 20160120582 (cited by applicant).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distal end region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Radially enlarged region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Base formed from the
Support structure )]
With regard to claim 1, Martinez Navarro discloses an implant comprising a support structure 3 which is prepared for anchoring, following the contours of the bone, at a jaw and/or cranial bone, wherein a plurality of integrally attached posts 6 project from the support structure, said plurality of posts 6 being configured for (capable of) anchoring a final denture thereto, wherein each post 6 of the plurality of posts has a base formed from the support structure (see above figure 9), which is completed by a distal end region with the interposition of a radially enlarged region, wherein the distal end region is prepared for (capable of) anchoring a soft tissue holding-down device (the lower portion of element 2 fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3 below) and for anchoring a final denture (the teeth).
With regard to claim 2, note that the distal end region of each post has a retention form.
With regard to claim 3, note that the radially enlarged region is formed as a collar surrounding each post. See annotated figure above.
With regard to claim 4, note that the collar is received in a plane through which a center axis of each post runs perpendicular. See figure 9.
With regard to claim 5, note that several posts protrude from the support structure, wherein the radially enlarged regions of the several posts are arranged in a common plane. See fig. 5 which shows posts 6 at the end portions of the support structure 3, and intermediate posts in fig. 10.
With regard to claim 6, note that each post 6 of the plurality of posts is adapted to be inserted into the holding-down device (see fig. 3) and wherein the holding-down device is adapted to receive each post 6 of the plurality of posts.
With regard to claim 8, note that Martinez Navarro discloses a soft tissue displacement system having an implant 1 (fig. 7) which has a support structure 3 which is prepared for anchoring, following the contours of the bone, in a jaw and/or cranial bone, wherein a plurality of posts 6 protrude from the support structure 3, wherein the soft tissue displacement system has a holding-down device (the lower portion of element 2 fig. 3, see below annotated figure) which can be anchored to the posts 6 of the plurality of posts and which is essentially plate-shaped, has at least one indentation (the cavities inside element 2 which receive posts 6) for receiving a distal end region of the posts 6 of the plurality of posts and is anchored to the posts 6 of the plurality of posts, wherein the holding-down device is optically and functionally adapted to adjacent teeth and adjacent soft tissue.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Holding down element)]
With regard to claim 9, note that each post 6 of the plurality of posts is adapted to be inserted into the holding-down device wherein the holding-down device receives each post of the plurality of posts 6. See figure 3.
With regard to claim 13, note that the indentation (in the underside of element 2) is designed in the manner of a blind hole or a through hole. These holes in the underside of element 2 accommodate posts 6.
With regard to claim 14, note that the indentation is configured to accommodate a single post 6 of the plurality of posts.
With regard to claim 15, note that the indentation is configured to accommodate several posts of the plurality of posts 6. Since the indentation in the underside of element 2 is in the form of a plurality of holes, the indentation can accommodate several posts 6.
With regard to claim 16, note that the holding-down device (underside of element 2, see above annotated figure) comprises several indentations spaced from each other. These indentations accommodate posts 6.
With regard to claim 17, note that the indentation is surrounded or formed by side walls which, when the holding-down device (underside of element 2, see above annotated figure) is placed on the plurality of posts 6, are configured for contact of the distal end region of the posts 6. Each of the holes on the underside of element 3 inherently has side walls that contact posts 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7,10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez-Navarro 20160120582 in view of Tramonte et al 20130196287.
With regard to these claims, Martinez-Navarro does not recite an anchoring sleeve between a post of the plurality of posts and the holding down device, wherein a post of the plurality of posts is inserted in the anchoring sleeve, nor that the anchoring sleeve has at least one radially protruding anchoring pin, or two pins pointing away from each other on opposite sides of the anchoring sleeve.
Tramonte et al discloses a system wherein a post 3 is inserted in an anchoring sleeve 1. See fig. 2. The anchoring sleeve has two radially protruding pins 4 pointing away from each other on opposite sides of the anchoring sleeve.
It would have been obvious to include an anchoring sleeve between a post of the plurality of posts and the holding down device, wherein a post of the plurality of posts is inserted in the anchoring sleeve, and with the anchoring sleeve including two radially protruding pins pointing away from each other on opposite sides of the anchoring sleeve, with the device of Martinez-Navarro, in view of the teaching of Tramonte et al that an anchoring sleeve may be used with a post in a denture anchoring device.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772