DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (10,259,360).
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al. disclose a driver's seat heater installed at a seat cushion S1 of an automobile driver's seat that includes a main section S11 for supporting buttocks and thighs of an occupant, and left and right side bolster sections S12 that are provided at seat left-right direction both sides of the main section and that jut out in a seat upward direction further than the main section, the driver's seat heater comprising: a main heater 11 installed at the main section; and a side heater 21 installed only at the side bolster section on a right side, of the left and right side bolster sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al.
Regarding claim 2, Sato et al. disclose the main heater 11 and the side heater 21 are configured by separate heater wires.
Sato et al. fail to disclose the side heater is switched OFF when self-driving is enabled in an automobile installed with the automobile driver's seat and the automobile is traveling in a self-driving mode.
However, Sato et al. disclose a control unit 100 that is capable of turning off only the side heaters 21 when a certain function has been identified. It would be obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to use self-driving as the function that switches off the side heaters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sato et al. and use self-driving function in order to turn off the side heaters in order to save power and cost.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. in view of Nii et al. (9,744,890).
Regarding claim 3, Nii et al. disclose the main heater includes: a left-side heater 52 installed at a left-side portion of the main section, and a right-side heater 51 installed at a right-side portion of the main section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nii et al. and use left and right-side main heaters in the invention of Sato et al. in order to reduce material and cost.
Sato et al. as modified with Nii et al. fail to disclose right-side heater is disposed further toward an outer side in a seat left-right direction than the left-side heater.
However, Nii et al. disclose any modification is apparent without departing from the scope of the invention and does not preclude from placing the right side heater further out that left side heater.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to place the right side seater further out than the left side heater in order provide maximum comfort, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Nii et al. disclose an automobile driver's seat comprising: a cushion pad 4P configuring a cushion member of a seat cushion; a cushion cover 4S covering the cushion pad; and the driver's seat heater 31 of claim 1 installed between the cushion pad and the cushion cover.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nii et al. and place the seat heater between cushion and cover of the invention of Sato et al. because it is efficient and simple to install.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636