Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yori et al. (WO 2017/145624 A1) in view of Yokoi et al. (US 2019/0311937 A1) and in view of the evidence of Shin-Etsu (Shin-Etsu Silicone, “KBM-403”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4-5, Yori discloses a thermally conductive adhesive film (para 0011) formed from a varnish (i.e. adhesive composition) (para 0103) comprising acrylic resin, epoxy resin, curing agent, polyhedral alpha-alumina filler (para 0011), and silane coupling agent (para 0091).
The acrylic resin is an acrylic polymer (para 0013). The curing agent is a curing agent for the epoxy resin (para 0046).
There may be 60-95 parts by mass polyhedral alpha-alumina filler with respect to 100 parts total of acrylic resin, epoxy resin, curing agent, and polyhedral alpha-alumina filler (para 0011). Therefore there would be 5-40 parts by mass total acrylic resin, epoxy resin, and curing agent.
There may be up to 10 parts by mass silane coupling agent with respect to 100 parts total of acrylic resin, epoxy resin, and curing agent (para 0096). Therefore there may be up to 4 parts by mass silane coupling agent relative to 40 parts total acrylic resin, epoxy resin, and curing agent ((10/100)*40), and 60 parts polyhedral alpha-alumina filler; and there may be up to 0.5 parts by mass silane coupling agent relative to 5 parts total acrylic resin, epoxy resin, and curing agent ((10/100)*5), and 95 parts polyhedral alpha-alumina filler.
The silane coupling agent may be gamma-Glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane (para 0092), which corresponds to the KBM-403 silane coupling agent used in the present examples which has a minimum coating area of 330 m2/g (Present Specification para 0066; see also Shin-Etsu).
The polyhedral alpha-alumina filler may be AA-3 by Sumimoto (para 0118), which according to the present disclosure has a specific surface area of 0.6 m2/g (Present Specification para 0066).
The blending multiple = (blending amount of silane coupling agent x minimum coating area of silane coupling agent) / (blending amount of polyhedral alpha-alumina filler x specific surface area of polyhedral alpha-alumina filler).
Therefore, since the silane coupling agent / polyhedral alpha-alumina filler ratio may be up to 4/60, the blending multiple is up to (4*330)/(60*0.6) = 36.7. When the silane coupling agent / polyhedral alpha-alumina filler ratio is 0.5/60, the blending multiple is (0.5*330)/(95*0.6) = 2.9. The blending ratio of 2.9-36.7 overlaps that presently claimed.
The amount by mass of polyhedral alpha-alumina filler with respect to the total of acrylic resin, epoxy resin, curing agent, polyhedral alpha-alumina filler, and silane coupling agent is 60/104 (i.e. with maximum amount of silane coupling agent) to 95/100 (i.e. with minimal amount of silane coupling agent), or 57.7 to 95 mass%.
While there is no disclosure of volume% of the polyhedral alpha-alumina filler, given types of materials disclosed are the same as presently claimed, and the broad amounts by mass disclosed, the volume% of polyhedral alpha-alumina filler used according to Yori would overlap that claimed.
Alternatively:
Yori discloses that the amount of polyhedral alpha-alumina filler is selected to improve thermal conductivity, flexibility, and adhesiveness (para 0083). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to select an amount of polyhedral alpha-alumina filler, including Volume% as claimed, to optimize the thermal conductivity, flexibility, and adhesiveness.
Yori does not disclose the polymer component (C) comprising at least one of a phenoxy resin and polyurethane resin as claimed.
Yokoi discloses semiconductor processing tape, which is a dicing tape comprising an adhesive layer 13. The adhesive layer 13 is a composition comprising thermoplastic resin and thermopolymerizable component (para 0137). The thermal polymerizable component is preferably an epoxy resin (para 0161). The composition further comprises epoxy resin hardening agent (para 0171), filler such as alumina filler (paras 0183-0186), and silane coupling agent (para 0274).
Yokoi further discloses the thermoplastic component is either a resin having thermoplasticity, which is preferably phenoxy, or alternatively a resin having thermoplasticity in a non-crosslinked state such as (meth)acrylic copolymers (paras 0138-0140, 0154). The phenoxy resin has good compatibility with an epoxy resin and therefore gives good adherence property to the adhesive (para 0147) and may give homogenous appearance and characteristics (para 0151).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Yori to incorporate the teachings of Yokoi and produce the thermally conductive adhesive film of Yori using the phenoxy resin of Yokoi instead of the acrylic resin. This would provide good compatibility with the epoxy resin and give good adherence property to the adhesive and would give homogenous appearance and characteristics.
Regarding Claim 2, Yori in view of Yokoi discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Yori further discloses the adhesive films produced have a thermal conductivity of 2 W/m K or more (para 0136).
Yori in view of Yokoi does not disclose the melt viscosity of the adhesive film. However, since Yori in view of Yokoi discloses adhesive film composition comprising the same materials as claimed in amounts as claimed, a film produced from the composition would necessarily have melt viscosity as claimed.
Regarding Claim 3, Yori in view of Yokoi discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Yori in view of Yokoi does not disclose the die shear strength of the adhesive film. However, since Yori in view of Yokoi discloses adhesive film composition comprising the same materials as claimed in amounts as claimed, a film produced from the composition would necessarily have die shear strength as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, Yori in view of Yokoi discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 5 above. Yori further discloses a 5 to 50 micron film thickness (para 0102).
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendments filed 07/21/2026, the Claim Objections and 35 USC 103 rejections of record are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection are set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787