DETAILED ACTION
Compact Prosecution
With respect to Claim Interpretation, the Examiner has provided some notes regarding “[BRI on the record]” throughout the Office Action, so that the record is clear about the scope of the claimed invention, and the record is also clear about the basis for the Examiner’s analyses. A clear record of the claim interpretation could expedite the examination by creating the condition to allow the examination to focus on Applicant’s inventive concept and its comparison with related prior art.
If there are disagreements, Applicant may present an alternative interpretation based on MPEP 2111. The Examiner will adopt Applicant’s interpretation on the record, if Applicant’s interpretation is reasonable and/or arguments are persuasive.
Applicant may amend claims relying on the Examiner’s claim interpretation provided on the record.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 11-14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: antecedent base could be better clarified. Appropriate correction is required. The Examiner recommends the following amendments.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying [[a]] the marking mode prompt comprises: . . ..
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the displaying [[a]] the second marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to [[a]] the second marking mode comprises: . . ..
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the displaying [[a]] the second marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to [[a]] the second marking mode comprises: . . ..
5. The method according to claim 2, wherein the displaying [[a]] the first marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to [[a]] the first marking mode comprises: . . ..
Claims 11-14 and 20 have similar issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 113101660 A) in view of Quinn et al. (US 20200142582 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao teaches A method for marking a virtual object (will be explained in the body of the claim, where the limitation is repeated), performed by a computer device (Zhao fig. 9. Zhao states, “The embodiment of the invention further claims a computer-readable storage medium, as shown in FIG. 9, the storage medium is stored with a computer program 901, the computer program 901 is executed by a processor executes the method according to any one of embodiments of the present invention.” Zhao p. 15.), the method comprising:
receiving a (
“. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . selection operation for the statistical data control, the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation, at this time, game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9.
The operation is mapped to the selection/identifying operation.
The characters are virtual objects.);
displaying a marking mode prompt in accordance with
[BRI on the record]
With respect to “marking,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: identifying. The interpretation is consistent with the specification and examples given.
[0080] . . . As shown in FIG. 3, in response to that the press force of the touch operation is in the first-level press force interval 301, the terminal enters the first marking mode 311, and displays the “arrow icon” at the position of the virtual object, to prompt the user that the terminal is in the first marking mode currently. In response to that the press force of the touch operation is in the second-level press force interval 302, the terminal enters the second marking mode 312, and displays the “prompt banner” in the virtual scene, to prompt the user that the terminal is in the second marking mode currently. . . .
[0081] Because the simple marking mode is the marking mode that does not support conveying the marking purpose, none of manners of the simple marking mode prompt includes content of the marking purpose. The marking purpose reflects an interaction purpose of the user. For example, the marking purpose may be “assemble”, or “attack”.
Spec. ¶¶ 80-81; Fig. 3.
With respect to the “marking mode,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean a type of identifying. The types of identification could be the identification of the presence of an object; identification of the characteristics of, in addition to the presence of, the object; and identification action/relationship with respect to the identified object. This interpretation is consistent with the specification. See. Spec. ¶¶ 80-81; fig. 3.
With respect to the “marking mode prompt,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: presentation of the identification type. See. Spec. ¶¶ 80-81; fig. 3.
[Mapping Analysis]
“. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . selection operation for the statistical data control, the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation, at this time, game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9.
The marking mode prompt is mapped to prompts that include observation interface, “statistical data control,” and “attack” options and/or setup.
The content in these prompts indicate the marking mode currently used, whether it is observation interface, “statistical data control,” and “attack” options and/or setup.); and
rendering a multi-modal marking on the virtual object in response to an end signal for the
[BRI on the record]
With respect to the “multi modal marking,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: a type of identification selected from multiple types of identification.
With respect to the “end signal,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: resulting signal or a signal resulted from a computer operation. The interpretation is made in light of the specification, “in response to an end signal for the touch operation.” Zhao Abstract.
With respect to the “target marking mode,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: selected identification type. The Examiner’s interpretation is made in light of the specification.
[0070] The target marking mode is a marking mode in which the touch operation ends. Corresponding to different target marking modes, the terminal marks the virtual object in different marking manners. In a possible implementation, the terminal determines a target marking manner corresponding to the current marking mode in response to the end signal for the touch operation, and then marks the virtual object in the target marking manner.
Spec. ¶ 70.
[Mapping Analysis]
“. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . selection operation for the statistical data control, the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation, at this time, game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9.
The content in these prompts/interface(s) (observation interface, “statistical data control,” and “attack” options and/or setup) is a multi-modal marking, because a selected prompt/interface is based on a type of identification selected from multiple types of identification.
The prompt/interface selected is a target marking mode by a selection operation.
The end signal is mapped to computer signal in response to the selection operation, e.g., click operation.).
Zhao does not explicitly disclose
the operation is a touch operation;
displaying a response in accordance with a current force of the touch operation, wherein the displayed response is marking the virtual object at the current force.
Quinn teaches
the operation is a touch operation (“PSD 112 may receive indications of tactile input by detecting one or more gestures from a user (e.g., the user touching or pointing to one or more locations of PSD 112 with a finger or a stylus pen).” Quinn ¶ 21.);
displaying a response in accordance with a current force of the touch operation (
“The techniques described in this disclosure consider the examination of the shape of this expansion as it is represented in the heatmap, and using that shape to disambiguate the intention of the user. These intentions include whether the user is tapping on a target, trying to press on a target (i.e. with an increased level of force, but with a similar time profile as a tap), trying to initiate a scrolling action, the user's choice of finger (i.e. index finger vs. thumb), and the user's handedness (i.e. holding the device in their left or right hand).” Quinn ¶ 94.
“For example, the above interaction where a user increases the force of their touch could be detected by observing touch expansion on one side of the original contact area. This is due to the biomechanical structure of the finger, which causes pressure increases to primarily be reflected through expansion at the base of the fingertip (and not, say, above the fingernail). Therefore, if the expansion appears to be “anchored” on at least one side, and expands on the others (e.g. as a ratio of expansion from the original centroid location), the touch intention may be interpreted as an increase in touch force—that is, a ‘press’.” Quinn ¶ 95.),
wherein the displayed response is marking the virtual object at the current force (
Zhao already teaches the displayed response is marking the virtual object. For example, Zhao discloses “. . . the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation.” Zhao p. 13.
After the combination of Zhao and Quinn, Zhao’s selection mechanism is replaced by Quinn’s teaching of using touch force to interact.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Quinn’s touch gesture based on touch force with Zhao. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to interact with the computer with gestures that are more precise and faster for certain situations. Quinn states, “Such duration-based gesture classification may be slow (as a result of having to wait for various duration thresholds to pass). Furthermore, duration-based gesture classification may be imprecise given that the gesture is reduced to a series of one or more locations and one or more durations. The slow, imprecise nature of duration-based gesture classification may result in the computing device determining a classification for a command that is inconsistent with the command intended to be entered by the user via the gesture. Resulting in, potentially, an unresponsive and unintuitive user experience.” Quinn ¶ 3. Instead, Quinn’s teaching is about “gesture input types using multiple heatmaps” based on force level, different from the duration-based gestures. Quinn Title; Quinn ¶¶ 94-95.
Independent Claims 10, 19 recite limitations that substantially similar to Claim 1. The rejection analyses for Claim 1 based on Zhao in view of Quinn is applied to Claims 10 and 19.
In addition, Claim 10 recites, “A computer device, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory having at least one program stored therein, and the at least one program, when executed by the processor, causing the computer device to perform a method for marking a virtual object including: . . .” (Zhao recites “The embodiment of the invention further claims an electronic device, comprising: a processor and a storage medium; the storage medium stores the machine readable instructions executable by the processor; when the electronic device runs, the processor executes the machine readable instructions to perform the method according to any one of embodiments of the invention.” Zhao p. 4.).
In addition, Claim 19 recites, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having at least one program stored therein, and the at least one program, when executed by a processor of a computer device, causing the computer device to perform a method for marking a virtual object including: . . .” (Zhao recites “The embodiment of the invention further claims an electronic device, comprising: a processor and a storage medium; the storage medium stores the machine readable instructions executable by the processor; when the electronic device runs, the processor executes the machine readable instructions to perform the method according to any one of embodiments of the invention.” Zhao p. 4.).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhao in view of Quinn teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying a marking mode prompt (see the analysis for Claim 1) comprises:
determining the marking mode based on the current force of the touch operation (
Quinn teaches the touch operation corresponding the current force, stating “The techniques described in this disclosure consider the examination of the shape of this expansion as it is represented in the heatmap, and using that shape to disambiguate the intention of the user. These intentions include whether the user is tapping on a target, trying to press on a target (i.e. with an increased level of force, but with a similar time profile as a tap), trying to initiate a scrolling action, the user's choice of finger (i.e. index finger vs. thumb), and the user's handedness (i.e. holding the device in their left or right hand).” Quinn ¶ 94.
After Zhao is combined with Quinn, Quinn’s touch operation triggers Zhao’s determining the marking mode, which could be one of the following:
“. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . selection operation for the statistical data control, the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation, at this time, game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9.
The marking mode is determined by the touch operation incorporated with Zhao’s “. . . selection operation for the statistical data control, the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation, at this time, game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. After the combination, the gesture operation could be single touch, double touch, long-press, tapping, ….);
displaying a first marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a first marking mode that does not support conveying a marking purpose (
The first marking mode prompt could be any of the following: “. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . selection operation for the statistical data control, the selection operation may include a click operation; double-click operation or long-press operation, at this time, game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2.
The marking purpose is mapped to the purposes that include virtual attacking in a virtual game.); and
displaying a second marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a second marking mode that supports conveying a marking purpose (
The second marking mode prompt cloud be “responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9.
The marking purpose is mapped to the purposes that include virtual attacking in a virtual game.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Quinn’s touch gesture based on touch force with Zhao. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to interact with the computer with gestures that are more precise and faster.
Independent Claims 11, 20 recite limitations that substantially similar to Claim 2. The rejection analyses for Claim 2 based on Zhao in view of Quinn is applied to Claims 11 and 20.
Claims 3, 8, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Quinn as applied to Claim 1, 2, 10, or 11, in further view of Wong (US 20180043259 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao in view of Quinn teaches The method according to claim 2,
wherein the displaying a second marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a second marking mode (
The second marking mode prompt cloud be “responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9.
The second marking mode prompt could also be any one of the following:
“. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2.) comprises:
determining an object type of the virtual object when the marking mode belongs to the second marking mode, the object type comprising at least one of a virtual character, a virtual item, and a virtual position (
“responding to the second selected instruction of the first virtual object, displaying the selected attack target and/or attack range of the first virtual object at the current game interface.” Zhao p. 9. “. . . as shown in FIG. 1 B, when the player can select the enemy player to be observed on the square chessboard interface, . . ..” Zhao p. 2. “. . . game application is equivalent to receiving a data viewing instruction for the target player character.” Zhao p. 13. “At present, in the game, under the current game interface, if it is necessary to observe the virtual character layout operated by any enemy player, for example, wants to know the enemy of the virtual character selection, . . ..” Zhao p. 2.
Here, the object type could be disclosed “enemy player” to be attacked, “virtual character,” and/or the virtual position of the “square chessboard interface” and/or “attack range”);
determining a candidate marking purpose of the virtual object based on the object type (“wherein the attack range is the range of the skill range of the virtual object; attack target can be after the battle, virtual object first attack of the hostile virtual object, after the first attack of the hostile virtual object is assassicable, can be selected from the attack range of the next hostile virtual object to attack.” Zhao p. 8.)
Zhao in view of Quinn does not explicitly disclose displaying a selection control of the candidate marking purpose corresponding to the candidate marking purpose.
Wong teaches displaying a selection control of the candidate marking purpose corresponding to the candidate marking purpose (
“Depending on the rules of the TCG being played, an action menu (1107) might also appear in the FOV (1107).” Wong ¶ 100. The candidate marking purpose could be to “attack” on the menu 1107.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wong’s selection options of marking purpose with Zhao in view of Quinn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide more controls to a user of software program, e.g., video game. The user would likely to enjoy the program more. “Depending on the rules of the TCG being played, an action menu (1107) might also appear in the FOV (1107). Input Parameters are recorded and send to the Game Server (200) through action of the Gamer by either (i) selecting from the action menu using the appropriate hand gesture recognized by the AR goggle, or (ii) moving the physical card using the appropriate hand motion in accordance with the rules of the TCG and sensed by the built-in or attached hand gesture sensor of the AR goggle. Items (i) and (ii) noted above constitute the range of hand gesture commands applicable during gameplay.” Wong ¶ 100.
Claim 12 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 3. The rejection analyses for Claim 3 based on Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong is applied to Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhao in view of Quinn teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a candidate marking object control in response to a triggering operation for a dynamic marking control, different candidate marking object controls corresponding to different virtual objects in a motion state (
“In the specific implementation, the first dragging instruction may include a moving direction and a moving speed parameter, by extracting the first dragging instruction in the moving direction and the moving speed parameter, controlling the projection virtual object to move according to the moving direction and the moving speed, and according to the position of the projection virtual object after moving; An attack target and/or an attack range of the projected virtual object is determined and displayed on a current game interface.” Zhao p. 10.
“Specifically, when controlling the projection virtual object to move, it can real-timely calculate the movement speed of the projection virtual object, and judging whether the movement speed of the projection virtual object is greater than the preset threshold value, if the moving speed is greater than the preset threshold value; then not executing the step of calculating the first attack object and/or attack range of the projection virtual object. wherein the preset threshold value can be a preset speed critical value, for judging whether it is necessary to display the attack target and/or attack range, for example, the preset threshold value is 1 mm/second, when the specific implementation, the preset threshold value can be set according to the need, the embodiment of the invention is not limited.” Zhao p. 11.
Here, different virtual objects associated with different dynamic marking controls of different attack targets and/or attack ranges based on “the position of the projection virtual object” and/or movement of the different virtual objects.
The candidate marking object is mapped to the disclosed attack target.
It is dynamic, also because the control is displayed or not based on the movement of the different virtual objects)
Zhao in view of Quinn does not explicitly disclose receiving a touch operation for the candidate marking object control.
Wong teaches receiving a touch operation for the candidate marking object control (
“Depending on the rules of the TCG being played, an action menu (1107) might also appear in the FOV (1107).” Wong ¶ 100.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wong’s selection options of marking purpose with Zhao in view of Quinn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide more controls to a user of software program, e.g., video game. The user would likely to enjoy the program more.
Claim 17 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 8. The rejection analyses for Claim 8 based on Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong is applied to Claim 17.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong as applied to Claim 3 or 12, in further view of Jinnouchi (WO 2021065405 A1) and Akemann et al. (US 20200330856 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong teaches The method according to claim 3.
However, Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong does not explicitly disclose
wherein the displaying a second marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a second marking mode comprises:
displaying a customization control of the marking purpose;
performing voice acquisition through a microphone when the position of the touch operation is located at the customization control of the marking purpose, to obtain a voice of the marking purpose; and
obtaining the end position of the touch operation in response to the end signal for the touch operation; and
rendering the multi-modal marking on the virtual object when the end position of the touch operation is located at the customization control of the marking purpose, and transmitting the voice of the marking purpose to another virtual character.
Jinnouchi teaches
wherein the displaying a second marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a second marking mode (see rejection analysis of Claim 3, which recites the limitation) comprises:
displaying a customization control of the marking purpose (
“In the present embodiment, the assignable button 110C is assigned operation functions such as voice note recording and reproduction.”
The customization control includes the assignable button for voice note recording.
After the combination of Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong, the assignable button 110C could be implemented in the form that is similar to controls disclosed by Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong, e.g., Wong fig. 11.);
performing voice acquisition through a microphone when the position of the touch operation is located at the customization control of the marking purpose, to obtain a voice of the marking purpose (
“That is, operating the assignable button 110C under a specific situation can record or reproduce a voice note, for example. Long pressing the assignable button 110C under a specific situation can record a voice note while the assignable button 110C is being pressed, for example. Releasing the assignable button 110C being long pressed stops recording the voice note. Further, short pressing the assignable button 110C reproduces the recorded voice note.”
When the recording starts coincide with when the touch operations starts. When the touch operation starts, the touch operation is placed/located at the button interface within the customization control.
The marking purpose includes the purpose of taking audio notes.); and
obtaining the end position of the touch operation in response to the end signal for the touch operation (
“Releasing the assignable button 110C being long pressed stops recording the voice note.”
The end signal may correspond to when the interface button is released.
The recording stops when the button is released, which marks the end temporal position of the touch operation.); and
rendering the multi-modal marking on the virtual object when the end position of the touch operation is located at the customization control of the marking purpose (
Jinnouchi:
The rendered multi-modal marking includes Jinnouchi’s fig. 11 131, which would be incorporated with Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong’s markings.
Jinnouchi teaches displays part of the marking (fig. 11 131) in response to releasing the touch button interface, stating “After the 60-second recording ends or the assignable button 110C being long pressed is released before the maximum recording time is reached, the expanded image group display screen 52 illustrated in FIG. 11 is displayed on the display panel 101. FIG. 11 illustrates a state where the fifth image among the 14 images belonging to the image group is displayed in a similar manner to FIG. 9. Further, a voice note icon 131 is superimposed and displayed on the image. The voice note icon 131 indicates that the voice note is associated with this image.”
When releasing of the touch button interface corresponds to when the end position of the touch operation is located at the customization control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jinnouchi’s voice note with Zhao in view of Quinn and Wong. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to widen the options for user input, which provides more convenience to the user.
Zhao in view of Quinn, Wong, and Jinnouchi does not explicitly disclose transmitting the voice of the marking purpose to another virtual character.
Akemann teaches transmitting the voice of the marking purpose to another virtual character (
“For example, as previously explained, if the user says “hey you, come here,” the game server 104 may utilize real-time game context data provided by the user devices 102 to determine a time that the user is speaking and a virtual object that the user was speaking to. To determine the virtual object, the game server 104 may create a search region (e.g., a cone or any other shape) in a direction that the user is facing to identify possible objects for responding to the command. The game server 104 may then determine a likelihood of the command being intended for the object based on the nature of the real-time game context data. For example, the user in this example may be more likely to have referred to another virtual character than a knife or a gun. However, if there are several objects within the cone that also fit the context of the command, the game server 104 may select the closest object that can accept voice commands.”
Here, the voice command is transmitted to be accepted by another virtual character.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Akemann’s voice communication among virtual characters with Zhao in view of Quinn, Wong, and Jinnouchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to facilitate convenient communication within a virtual or gamming environment.
Claim 13 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 4. The rejection analyses for Claim 4 based on Zhao in view of Quinn, Wong, Jinnouchi, and Akemann is applied to Claim 13.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Quinn as applied to Claim 2 or 11, in further view of Stock (US 20150324370 A1) and Brockey (US 20130036135 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao in view of Quinn teaches The method according to claim 2.
Zhao in view of Quinn does not explicitly disclose wherein the displaying a first marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a first marking mode comprises:
performing a marking effect preview based on a marking manner corresponding to the marking mode,
the marking manner comprising a local marking manner that limits the marking for the virtual object to the computer device and a global marking manner that synchronizes the marking of the virtual object with another computer device.
Stock teaches
wherein the displaying a first marking mode prompt when the marking mode belongs to a first marking mode (see the Examiner’s rejection analyses for Claim 2) comprises:
performing a marking effect preview based on a marking manner corresponding to the marking mode (
Stock teaches marking effect preview, e.g., preview of notes or portfolio of a selected virtual character, stating “After the portfolio has been customized to the user's liking, the server will then present the user with the option to preview the portfolio before publishing, or to proceed directly to publishing the portfolio so that other users may view the portfolio.” Stock ¶ 57.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stock’s previewing feature with Zhao in view of Quinn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce errors with the information. stating “. . . server will then present the user with the option to preview the portfolio before publishing, or to proceed directly to publishing the portfolio so that other users may view the portfolio.” Stock ¶ 57.
Zhao in view of Quinn and Stock does not explicitly disclose
the marking manner comprising a local marking manner that limits the marking for the virtual object to the computer device and a global marking manner that synchronizes the marking of the virtual object with another computer device.
Brockey teaches
the marking manner comprising a local marking manner that limits the marking for the virtual object to the computer device and a global marking manner that synchronizes the marking of the virtual object with another computer device (
“In additional embodiments, option to upload/download 401 can include an option to synchronize the local images with the images stored on the cloud. This synchronization can occur in either direction. For example, a user may want to remove images from databases 203 that no longer have corresponding locally stored images.” Borckey ¶ 35.
The local marking manner corresponds to a manner of which marking information is saved locally.
The global marking manner corresponds to a manner of which marking information is saved globally in a cloud database on another computing device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Brockey’s data synchronization with Zhao in view of Quinn and Stock. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to enhance data security/reliability and/or budgeting data storage cost and/or to share with or publish to other users. “In additional embodiments, option to upload/download 401 can include an option to synchronize the local images with the images stored on the cloud. This synchronization can occur in either direction. For example, a user may want to remove images from databases 203 that no longer have corresponding locally stored images.” Borckey ¶ 35.
Claim 14 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 5. The rejection analyses for Claim 5 based on Zhao in view of Quinn, Stock, and Brockey is applied to Claim 14.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Quinn as applied to Claim 1 or 10, in further view of Gupta et al. (US 20210397808 A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Zhao in view of Quinn teaches The method according to claim 1.
Zhao in view of Quinn does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: switching the marking mode when the press force changes and a mode switching condition is satisfied before the end signal for the touch operation.
Gupta teaches switching the marking mode when the press force changes and a mode switching condition is satisfied before the end signal for the touch operation (“In some cases, the force sensor may be configured to compare the amount of applied force to multiple threshold levels and provide output signals accordingly.” Gupta ¶ 87.
After Zhao in view of Quinn is combined with Gupta, the marking mode is switched based on the level of force, press force changes. When the press force is increased and bypass multiple threshold levels, the output signals that correspond to marking modes are switched accordingly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gupta’s force-based touch operation with Zhao in view of Quinn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to simplify the gesture a user interact with an interface. The user does not have to remember complicated gestures.
Claim 15 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 6. The rejection analyses for Claim 6 based on Zhao in view of Quinn, and Gupta is applied to Claim 15.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Quinn and Gupta as applied to Claim 6 or 15, in further view of Yang et al. (CN 105302373 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhao in view of Quinn and Gupta teaches The method according to claim 6.
Zhao in view of Quinn and Gupta does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
performing vibration feedback based on a feedback manner corresponding to a switched marking mode, a vibration degree of the vibration feedback being positively correlated with the current force for triggering the switched marking mode.
Yang teaches
performing vibration feedback based on a feedback manner corresponding to a switched marking mode, a vibration degree of the vibration feedback being positively correlated with the current force for triggering the switched marking mode (
“. . . the preset mobile terminal touch signals of different pressure level corresponding to the feedback mode. feedback method may be a tactile feedback, audible feedback and/or visual feedback, tactile feedback such as motor vibration, audible feedback as to send out the preset prompt tone, visual feedback such as playing the preset pictures or images. . . , and driving motor generating feedback vibration according to the pressing force, and the duration of a preset. pressure rating of the haptic feedback strength positive correlation with the touch signal, the feedback intensity can be the amplitude of the feedback signal, the frequency or duration of set independently or combined.” Yang p. 7.
Zhao in view of Quinn and Gupta already teaches the different pressure level by the touch operations that corresponding switched marking modes.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang’s feedback mechanism with Zhao in view of Quinn and Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to enhance a user’s awareness of the user’s operation status. “. . . the preset mobile terminal touch signals of different pressure level corresponding to the feedback mode.” Yang p. 7.
Claim 16 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 7. The rejection analyses for Claim 7 based on Zhao in view of Quinn, Gupta, and Yang is applied to Claim 16.
Claim 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Quinn as applied to Claim 1 or 10, in further view of Yang et al. (CN 105302373 A).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhao in view of Quinn teaches The method according to claim 1.
However, Zhao in view of Quinn does not explicitly disclose
wherein the method further comprises: performing vibration feedback based on a feedback manner corresponding to the target marking mode, a vibration degree of the vibration feedback being positively correlated with the current force for triggering the target marking mode.
Yang teaches wherein the method further comprises: performing vibration feedback based on a feedback manner corresponding to the target marking mode, a vibration degree of the vibration feedback being positively correlated with the current force for triggering the target marking mode (
“. . . the preset mobile terminal touch signals of different pressure level corresponding to the feedback mode. feedback method may be a tactile feedback, audible feedback and/or visual feedback, tactile feedback such as motor vibration, audible feedback as to send out the preset prompt tone, visual feedback such as playing the preset pictures or images. . . , and driving motor generating feedback vibration according to the pressing force, and the duration of a preset. pressure rating of the haptic feedback strength positive correlation with the touch signal, the feedback intensity can be the amplitude of the feedback signal, the frequency or duration of set independently or combined.” Yang p. 7.
Zhao in view of Quinn already teaches pressure levels by the touch operations that trigger a corresponding target marking mode. The feedback correlates to touch operation’s pressure level that further correlates target marking mode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang’s feedback mechanism with Zhao in view of Quinn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to enhance a user’s awareness of the user’s operation status. “. . . the preset mobile terminal touch signals of different pressure level corresponding to the feedback mode.” Yang p. 7.
Claim 18 recites limitations that substantially similar to Claim 9. The rejection analyses for Claim 9 based on Zhao in view of Quinn, and Yang is applied to Claim 18.
Conclusion
/ZHENGXI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611