DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2024, 08/05/2024, 11/20/2024, 01/17/2025, 05/12/2025, 08/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. However, due to lengthy nature of the IDS, only abstracts and/or summaries of refences in the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 are pending for examination in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannard et al. (Bannard; US 2011/0121964) in view of Clare et al. (Clare; US 2011/0080264).
As per claim 2, Bannard teaches a method comprising:
detecting a first device coupled to a first asset (detecting a tracking device associated with an asset, see e.g. para. [0061], wherein a position or location is periodically recorded and transmitted; see e.g. para. [0137]);
wirelessly receiving, at a first rate of response, logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset (receiving, by a server, one or more transmitted data about the tracking device associated with the asset; see e.g. para. [0137], wherein one or more communication reports can be carried out with a first communication rate; see e.g. [0116]);
determining whether the logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset satisfies a criterion (determining whether logged location data from the tracking device satisfies a threshold or criterion, i.e. spending more than expected time in a predefined hazardous zone; see e.g. [0137-138] and [0146]); and
responsive to determining that the logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset satisfies a criterion, triggering an alert signal to be automatically generated (when a [location] criterion is satisfied, an alert signal can be generated [automatically]; see e.g. para. [0146-147]), wherein the alert signal further causes an audio/visual response (the generated alert signal is a text message or an email message, see e.g. para. [0146-147], which are audio and/or visual responses as known in the art).
Even though Bannard does not explicitly teach the first device is within a proximity zone of a reader device, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the tracking device is within a proximity [communication] zone of at least one reader device [a GPS satellite or a cellular tower for example] for carrying out the one or more transmissions discussed earlier, see e.g. FIG. 1, para. [0137] and [0140].
Bannard does not teach that the alert signal or response is generated at the first device.
Clare, however, teaches an audio/visual alert signal is generated at a first device (a tag can be associated with an asset, see e.g. para. [0003], wherein tag can output audio/visual alarm when a condition is satisfied; see e.g. para. [0053] and [0077]). Bannard and Clare are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine their teachings for the purpose of generating an alarm at a remote device as well as at a local device for the purpose of reducing theft or other undesired outcomes.
Claims 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannard in view of Clare and further in view of Holm et al. (Holm; US 2010/0039280).
As per claim 3, the method of claim 2 as taught by Bannard and Clare, except the claimed wherein wirelessly receiving the logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset at the first rate of response indicates a detection of movement of the first asset.
Holm, however, teaches wirelessly receiving the logged data from first device coupled to a first asset at the first rate of response indicates a detection of movement of the first asset (a rate of response associated with detection of movement; see e.g. see e.g. FIG. 3). Bannard, Clare and Holm are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of improving asset tracking and/or wisely using tracking device resources.
As per claim 4, the method of claim 2 as taught by Bannard and Clare, except the claimed wherein tracking a change in location of the first asset based on the first rate of response; and determining a route of the first asset over an interval of time responsive to tracking the change in location of the first asset.
Holm, however, tracking a change in location of the first asset based on the first rate of response; and determining a route of the first asset over an interval of time responsive to tracking the change in location of the first asset (a rate of response associated with detection of movement, wherein a route is determined and displayed, see e.g. FIG. 3 and para. [0029-31], wherein the movement and associated display can be over a period or interval of time since the movement detection and corresponding transmitting cannot be done indefinitely and the displaying the movement/location needs to be output timely). Bannard, Clare and Holm are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of improving asset tracking and/or wisely using tracking device resources.
As per claim 5, the method of claim 2 as taught by Bannard and Clare, except the claimed wherein wirelessly receiving, at a second rate of response, logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset within the proximity zone of the reader device, the second rate of response being at a reduced rate compared to the first rate of response.
Holm, however, teaches receiving, at a second rate of response, logged data from first device coupled to the first asset within proximity zone of the reader device, the second rate of response being at a reduced rate compared to the first rate of response (receiving a logged data at first rate of response and at a second rate of response, see e.g. para. [0029-31] and FIG. 3, wherein rate of beaconing can be adjusted or reduced based on one or more reasons; see e.g. para. [0003]).
Bannard, Clare and Holm are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of improving asset tracking and/or wisely using tracking device resources.
As per claim 6, the method of claim 5 as taught by Bannard, Clare and Holm, wherein wirelessly receiving the logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset at the second rate of response indicates an idle state of the first asset (even though the disclosed first rate indicates an idle state of the tracked objects, see e.g. step 301, FIG. 3 of Holm, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to define the first rate as the second rate and second rate as the first rate as it merely is a nomenclature, wherein the first and the second rate can be defined as increased or reduced frequency of reporting depending on system requirement).
Claims 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannard in view of Clare and further in view of Jollota et al. (Jollota; US 2012/0016305).
As per claim 7, the method of claim 2 as taught by Bannard and Clare, further comprising: detecting a second device coupled to a second asset proximate to the first device coupled to the first asset; and responsive to determining that the logged data from the first device coupled to the first asset satisfies the criterion (it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a second or a plurality of devices associated with a second assent and communicate logged data with a remote device since duplication of parts is held obvious by the courts). Bannard and Clare do not explicitly teach detecting the second device coupled to the second asset proximate to the first device coupled to the first asset, triggering an alert signal to be automatically generated at the second device coupled to the second asset, wherein the alert signal further causes the second device to emit an audio/visual response.
Jollota, however, teaches a plurality of devices which are in close proximity to each other, wherein an alarm generated by a first device is forwarded to a plurality of alarm generating devices which can output audio alarm or sound (see e.g. para. [0256-257]), wherein their proximity to each other is detected by one or more communications or acknowledgements (see e.g. FIG. 35B). Similarly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to generate alarm notifications at a plurality of different devices for an improved annunciation.
Bannard, Clare and Jollota are in a same or similar field of alarm or notification generation, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of improved alarm generation a plurality of different locations or points.
As per claim 8, the method of claim 7 as taught by Bannard, Clare and Jollota, wherein the first asset includes a healthcare equipment and the second asset includes a healthcare provider (the first and second asset can be anything to which the disclosed tags or transponders of Bannard [see e.g. para. 0061, 0103-104 and 0137] and/or Clare can be attached to, using one or more attaching means, [including but not limited to] a doctor, nurse, and a medical equipment).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD ADNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688