DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN102898448A, hereinafter ‘He’.
Regarding Claim 1, He discloses a metal organic framework comprising zinc (Zn); and
at least one ligand selected from 4-methylimidazole (4-MeIm), imidazole (Im), and benzimidazole (BzIm) ([0004], [0012]-[0013]: He discloses an MOF comprising an imidazole-based ligand selected from the group consisting of 2-methylimidazole, 2-ethylimidazole, 4-methylimidazole, 2,4 dimethylimidazole, 2-nitroimidazole, 2-methyl-4-nitroimidazole, benzimidazole, and 5,6-dimethylbenzimidazole, and a metal compound selected from the group consisting of ZnCl₂, Zn(OH)₂, Zn(Ac)₂, Zn(NO₃)₂, Co(OH)₂, Co(Ac)₂, and Co(NO₃)₂, or a combination thereof – given this, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select a zinc-containing metal in combination with 4-methylimidazole to form the disclosed zeolitlc imidazolate framework),
wherein when a mole ratio of the 4-MeIm, Im, and BzIm is x:y:z (4-MeIm:Im:BzIm), the mole ratio x:y:z falls within a polygonal region (including on a boundary line) having the claimed vertices in a ternary composition diagram (as discussed above, He suggests a framework in which 4-methylimidazole is chosen as the ligand – in such a framework, the molar ratio x:y:z as claimed would be 1:0:0, which falls on the boundary line of the polygon formed by the claimed vertices).
Regarding Claim 4, He discloses the inventive framework is used for gas adsorbing ([0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
CN102898448A (He), the closest prior art pertinent to the claimed invention, does not reasonably disclose or suggest the limitations of Claim 2, requiring the metal organic framework to have an ACO-type topology. He is silent regarding the topology of the produced metal organic framework, and there is no reasonable basis to conclude that the MOF suggested by the teachings of He would possess such a framework.
Further, He does not reasonably disclose or suggest the limitations of Claim 3, requiring diffraction peaks appear at diffraction angles (2θ) of at least 28.4±0.4°, 30.6±0.4°, and 35.2±0.4° in an X-ray powder diffraction measurement with a CuKα ray at an X-ray wavelength of 1.5418 Å. While He discloses X-ray diffraction measurements of the disclosed embodiments which possess peaks in the claimed ranges, the embodiments do not utilize 4-methylimidazole as a ligand, and there is no reasonable basis to conclude that the MOF suggested by the teachings of He using such a ligand would possess the claimed X-ray diffraction pattern.
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736