Claim Objections
2. Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 18, the dependency of the claim 18 has to be claim 17 (not claim 7) as claim 17 recites the ‘electronic device’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 13, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al. (For. Pub. No: CN 106919417 A) in view of Meredith et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0250800 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YU et al. teach a method, applied to an electronic device (see page 1, Abstract), the method comprises: in response to a received first user operation, switching a first application from running in the foreground to running in the background, wherein the first application and a second application respectively perform data exchange with an application server of the first application and an application server of the second application through a cellular network (see page 4, 7th para wherein the network of the mobile terminal defaults to open, the network being mobile data network (e.g., 3G and 4G networks)/cellular network, is mentioned, see page 4, 8th para, wherein the one application of the mobile terminal each time is switched from the foreground to the background being corresponding to one switching time, e.g., currently running in foreground application is application 1, when the application 2 in the front stage, application 1 being switched from the foreground to the background, is mentioned and also in practical applications (that includes both applications 1/first and 2/second), since network parameters of each application can be different, so the application information (that includes first application and second application) may also include network parameters of the application that include analyzing the domain name server, a network/server protocol, a network port and so on, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “in response to a received first user operation, switching a first application from running in the foreground to running in the background, wherein the first application and a second application respectively perform data exchange with an application server of the first application and an application server of the second application through a cellular network”);
in response to detecting that the first application does not generate application data within a preset duration of running in the background and that the first application is a last application that has applied for and used the cellular network, disconnecting a channel of the cellular network of the electronic device (see page 4, 8th para, wherein the one application of the mobile terminal each time is switched from the foreground to the background being corresponding to one switching time, e.g., currently running in foreground application is application 1, application 1 being switched from the foreground to the background, is mentioned and then the time of the switching is switching time of the application 1, when application 1 next is switched to the background, the switching time being next switched to the background time, and the application information comprises identification and the application of the switching information according to the application information that uniquely identify one/first application and obtaining the application last time that is switched to the background, is mentioned and also see page 5, 5th & 6th para graphs wherein comparing the current foreground application running switch and closing the network connection to the background, is mentioned and when the present operation of foreground application (that includes first application) is switched to the background, disconnecting the network/cellular connection, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “in response to detecting that the first application does not generate application data within a preset duration of running in the background and that the first application is a last application that has applied for and used the cellular network, disconnecting a channel of the cellular network of the electronic device” and also see page 5, 7th para).
YU et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network.
However, Meredith et al. teach a method (see Abstract) comprising exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network (see Figures 2 & 3 and para [0039] wherein when the UE enters the wireless transmission/reception (that includes exchanging data of second application) range of a WLAN which can be a Wi-Fi network established by a Wi-Fi backbone aggregator/server having Wi-Fi routing functionality (e.g., Wi-Fi backbone aggregator 220.sub.2), the UE connecting to a managed Wi-Fi service network, is mentioned and also once connected and authenticated, the UE beginning to receive data (of second application) via the managed Wi-Fi service network, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of YU et al. to include exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network, disclosed by Meredith et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing bandwidth management for UE communicating via a managed wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) service network and also efficiently allowing UE associated with a cellular carrier entity to connect to a managed Wi-Fi service network in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 2, YU et al. and Meredith et al. together teach the method according to claim 1.
YU et al. further teach the method according to claim 1, wherein after disconnecting the cellular network of the electronic device, the method further comprises: in response to a received second user operation, switching, to running in the foreground, the first application that does not generate the application data within the preset duration of running in the background and connecting the channel of the cellular network of the electronic device (see page 6, 2nd para wherein judging whether the new application (that includes received second user operation) belongs to pre-set application list, is mentioned and see page 6, 9th para wherein S501, obtaining the current time, according to the current time in the background application database and searching from the current time switching time of a most recent, is mentioned, see 10th & 11th paragraphs wherein the switching time determining the application corresponding to the application program to obtain the most recent running in foreground of application and the last application in operation being switched to the foreground and controlling the connection cellular/network (that includes switching, to running in the foreground, the first application that does not generate the application data within the preset duration of running in the background and connecting the channel of the cellular network of the electronic device), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 13, YU et al. teach an electronic device (see page 1, Abstract), comprising performing: in response to a received first user operation, switching a first application running in the foreground to running in the background, wherein the first application and a second application respectively perform data exchange with an application server of the first application and an application server of the second application through a cellular network (see page 4, 7th para wherein the network of the mobile terminal defaults to open, the network being mobile data network (e.g., 3G and 4G networks)/cellular network, is mentioned, see page 4, 8th para, wherein the one application of the mobile terminal each time is switched from the foreground to the background being corresponding to one switching time, e.g., currently running in foreground application is application 1, when the application 2 in the front stage, application 1 being switched from the foreground to the background, is mentioned and also in practical applications (that includes both applications 1/first and 2/second), since network parameters of each application can be different, so the application information (that includes first application and second application) may also include network parameters of the application that include analyzing the domain name server, a network/server protocol, a network port and so on, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “in response to a received first user operation, switching a first application from running in the foreground to running in the background, wherein the first application and a second application respectively perform data exchange with an application server of the first application and an application server of the second application through a cellular network”);
in response to detecting that the first application does not generate application data within a preset duration of running in the background, and that the first application is a last application that has applied for and used the cellular network, disconnecting a channel of the cellular network of the electronic device (see page 4, 8th para, wherein the one application of the mobile terminal each time is switched from the foreground to the background being corresponding to one switching time, e.g., currently running in foreground application is application 1, application 1 being switched from the foreground to the background, is mentioned and then the time of the switching is switching time of the application 1, when application 1 next is switched to the background, the switching time being next switched to the background time, and the application information comprises identification and the application of the switching information according to the application information that uniquely identify one/first application and obtaining the application last time that is switched to the background, is mentioned and also see page 5, 5th & 6th para graphs wherein comparing the current foreground application running switch and closing the network connection to the background, is mentioned and when the present operation of foreground application (that includes first application) is switched to the background, disconnecting the network/cellular connection, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “in response to detecting that the first application does not generate application data within a preset duration of running in the background and that the first application is a last application that has applied for and used the cellular network, disconnecting a channel of the cellular network of the electronic device” and also see page 5, 7th para).
YU et al. is silent in teaching the above electronic device comprising
at least one memory storing program instructions and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and when the program instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the electronic device is enabled to perform the above functions and exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network.
However, Meredith et al. teach an electronic device (see Abstract and Figures 3 & 9, UE/mobile handset) comprising at least one memory storing program instructions (see Fig.9, memory 904 and para [0067]) and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (see Fig.9, processor 902 and para [0067]) and when the program instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the electronic device is enabled to perform the above functions (see para [0067]) and exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network (see Figures 2 & 3 and para [0039] wherein when the UE enters the wireless transmission/reception (that includes exchanging data of second application) range of a WLAN which can be a Wi-Fi network established by a Wi-Fi backbone aggregator/server having Wi-Fi routing functionality (e.g., Wi-Fi backbone aggregator 220.sub.2), the UE connecting to a managed Wi-Fi service network, is mentioned and also once connected and authenticated, the UE beginning to receive data (of second application) via the managed Wi-Fi service network, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above electronic device of YU et al. to include at least one memory storing program instructions and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and when the program instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the electronic device being enabled to perform the above functions and exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network, disclosed by Meredith et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing bandwidth management for UE communicating via a managed wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) service network and also efficiently allowing UE associated with a cellular carrier entity to connect to a managed Wi-Fi service network in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 14, YU et al. and Meredith et al. together teach the electronic device according to claim 13.
YU et al. further teach the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein after disconnecting the cellular network of the electronic device, when the program instructions are executed by the processor, the electronic device is enabled to perform: in response to a received second user operation, switching, to running in the foreground, the first application that does not generate the application data within the preset duration of running in the background and connecting the channel of the cellular network of the electronic device (see page 6, 2nd para wherein judging whether the new application (that includes received second user operation) belongs to pre-set application list, is mentioned and see page 6, 9th para wherein S501, obtaining the current time, according to the current time in the background application database and searching from the current time switching time of a most recent, is mentioned, see 10th & 11th paragraphs wherein the switching time determining the application corresponding to the application program to obtain the most recent running in foreground of application and the last application in operation being switched to the foreground and controlling the connection cellular/network (that includes switching, to running in the foreground, the first application that does not generate the application data within the preset duration of running in the background and connecting the channel of the cellular network of the electronic device), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 20, YU et al. teach a non-volatile computer readable storage medium, comprising a computer program, wherein when the computer program is run on an electronic device (see Abstract & Fig.2 and page 8, 3rd para), the electronic device is enabled to perform: in response to a received first user operation, switching a first application running in the foreground to running in the background, wherein the first application and a second application respectively perform data exchange with an application server of the first application and an application server of the second application through a cellular network (see page 4, 7th para wherein the network of the mobile terminal defaults to open, the network being mobile data network (e.g., 3G and 4G networks)/cellular network, is mentioned, see page 4, 8th para, wherein the one application of the mobile terminal each time is switched from the foreground to the background being corresponding to one switching time, e.g., currently running in foreground application is application 1, when the application 2 in the front stage, application 1 being switched from the foreground to the background, is mentioned and also in practical applications (that includes both applications 1/first and 2/second), since network parameters of each application can be different, so the application information (that includes first application and second application) may also include network parameters of the application that include analyzing the domain name server, a network/server protocol, a network port and so on, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “in response to a received first user operation, switching a first application from running in the foreground to running in the background, wherein the first application and a second application respectively perform data exchange with an application server of the first application and an application server of the second application through a cellular network”);
in response to detecting that the first application does not generate application data within a preset duration of running in the background, and that the first application is a last application that has applied for and used the cellular network, disconnecting a channel of the cellular network of the electronic device (see page 4, 8th para, wherein the one application of the mobile terminal each time is switched from the foreground to the background being corresponding to one switching time, e.g., currently running in foreground application is application 1, application 1 being switched from the foreground to the background, is mentioned and then the time of the switching is switching time of the application 1, when application 1 next is switched to the background, the switching time being next switched to the background time, and the application information comprises identification and the application of the switching information according to the application information that uniquely identify one/first application and obtaining the application last time that is switched to the background, is mentioned and also see page 5, 5th & 6th para graphs wherein comparing the current foreground application running switch and closing the network connection to the background, is mentioned and when the present operation of foreground application (that includes first application) is switched to the background, disconnecting the network/cellular connection, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “in response to detecting that the first application does not generate application data within a preset duration of running in the background and that the first application is a last application that has applied for and used the cellular network, disconnecting a channel of the cellular network of the electronic device” and also see page 5, 7th para).
YU et al. is silent in teaching the above medium comprising exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network.
However, Meredith et al. teach a system (see Abstract) comprising exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network (see Figures 2 & 3 and para [0039] wherein when the UE enters the wireless transmission/reception (that includes exchanging data of second application) range of a WLAN which can be a Wi-Fi network established by a Wi-Fi backbone aggregator/server having Wi-Fi routing functionality (e.g., Wi-Fi backbone aggregator 220.sub.2), the UE connecting to a managed Wi-Fi service network, is mentioned and also once connected and authenticated, the UE beginning to receive data (of second application) via the managed Wi-Fi service network, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above medium of YU et al. to include exchanging data of the second application with the application server of the second application through a Wi-Fi network, disclosed by Meredith et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently providing bandwidth management for UE communicating via a managed wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) service network and also efficiently allowing UE associated with a cellular carrier entity to connect to a managed Wi-Fi service network in the wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3-12 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YU et al. (US Pub. No: 2017/0086136 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a control method to manage power consumption of a wireless communication device in wireless communication system.
Krishna et al. (US Pat. No: 8,867,490 B1) disclose a method of offloading data from an IP-based cellular network to a Wi-Fi network in wireless communication system.
7. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
9/19/2026