DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on 6/27/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, 13-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 20190373430 (hereinafter referred to as Srivatsa).
Consider claim 1, Srivatsa teaches an apparatus comprising processing circuitry (see at least ¶ [0040], “…device 106, which connects over Bluetooth (BT) with various BT devices…”)configured to:
generate, for transmission to a device, first connection related information associated with establishing a short-range communication link (see at least ¶ [0053], “…fast connection discovery may include establishing (initiating) a connection based on Asynchronous Connection-Less (ACL) protocol…” and see at least ¶ [0054], “…the source device 406 may transmit (send) a fast connect discovery message 430 over a Logical and Link Controls Adaptation Protocol (L2CAP) echo request…” and further see at least ¶ [0063], “…BT layer 414 may discover BT layer 424 of sink device 416 and a baseband connection between the devices may be established via message exchange 524…”);
process, based on signals received from the device, second connection related information associated with establishing the short-range communication link with the device (see at least ¶ [0055], “…if sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol, sink device 416 may transmit (send) a discovery response message 432. The discovery response message 432 may include an indication that the sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol…” and see at least ¶ [0065], “…The discovery response message 532 may include an indication that the sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol…”);
establish the short-range communication link with the device using the first connection related information and the second connection related information (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the devices may be paired (e.g., via secure simple pairing (SSP) or Magic pairing derived key depending on how the devices paired) and the link by be authenticated, thereby encrypting the link…” see at least ¶ [0066], “…if both devices support the fast connection protocol, the logical channel may be determined based on the exchanged channel IDs and MTUs without negotiation. In addition, at 570, the devices may be paired…”), wherein to establish the short-range communication link the processing circuitry is configured to:
generate, for transmission to the device, an indication the apparatus supports a fast connection process (see at least ¶ [0054], “…the fast connect discovery message 430 may include an indication that the source device 406 supports the fast connection protocol…”);
generate, for transmission to the device, an indication the apparatus comprises the second connection related information (see at least ¶ [0055], “…The discovery response message 432 may include an indication that the sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol…” and see at least ¶ [0060], “…setup of the fast connection protocol may include signals 460 and 462, transmitted on the fast connection channel, between source device 406 and sink device 416. …, once negotiation is complete (e.g., once messages 450 and 452 have been exchanged), source device 406 may determine a configuration to be used, e.g., based on the data exchanged during negotiation. Thus, source device 406 may compare the data related to profiles supported by sink device 416 to data related to profiles supported by source device 406…”);
process, based on signals received from the device, an indication the wireless device supports the fast connection process (see at least ¶ [0055], “…the discovery response message 432 may be un-encrypted. …the discovery response message 432 may be encrypted…” and see at least ¶ [0057], “…negotiation for the fast connection protocol may include signals 450 and 452, transmitted on the fast connection channel, between source device 406 and sink device 416. …, source device 406 may transmit (send) message 450 that may include profile descriptors of profiles supported by source device 406 over the fast connection channel…”); and
process, based on signals received from the device, an indication the device comprises the first connection related information (see at least ¶ [0055], “…the discovery response message 432 may be an echo request message. In some embodiments, the discovery response message 432 may include any, any combination of, and/or all of a local channel identification (ID) and maximum transmission unit (MTU) for a fast connect L2CAP channel, a version of the fast connection protocol, transaction identifier (TID) (e.g., identifying if a message is new or a re-transmission), supported features, supported profile mask (e.g., a 64 bit mask of all fast connect profiles supported by sink device 416), and/or a minimum supported version of the fast connection protocol (e.g., PFC version)…” and see at least ¶ [0060], “…Once the configuration has been determined by source device 406, source device 406 may transmit (send) message 460 to sink device 416. Message 460 may be a fast connect configure message and may include data required to configure the determined (negotiated) profiles. Upon receiving message 460, sink device 416 may apply the configuration included in message 460…”).
Consider claim 13, Srivatsa teaches an apparatus comprising processing circuitry (see at least ¶ [0044], Fig. 3, “…the device 106 may be a computer system, a client station, a wireless station, a wireless device, and/or a UE…”) configured to:
process, based on signals received from a device, an indication the device supports a fast connection process for a short-range communication link (see at least ¶ [0053], “…fast connection discovery may include establishing (initiating) a connection based on Asynchronous Connection-Less (ACL) protocol…” and see at least ¶ [0054], “…the source device 406 may transmit (send) a fast connect discovery message 430 over a Logical and Link Controls Adaptation Protocol (L2CAP) echo request…” and further see at least ¶ [0063], “…BT layer 414 may discover BT layer 424 of sink device 416 and a baseband connection between the devices may be established via message exchange 524…”);
process, based on signals received from the device, an indication the second device does not comprise first connection related information associated with establishing the short-range communication link with the first device (see at least ¶ [0055], “…if sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol, sink device 416 may transmit (send) a discovery response message 432. The discovery response message 432 may include an indication that the sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol…” and see at least ¶ [0065], “…The discovery response message 532 may include an indication that the sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol…”);
generate, for transmission to the device, an indication the apparatus supports the fast connection process (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the devices may be paired (e.g., via secure simple pairing (SSP) or Magic pairing derived key depending on how the devices paired) and the link by be authenticated, thereby encrypting the link…” see at least ¶ [0066], “…if both devices support the fast connection protocol, the logical channel may be determined based on the exchanged channel IDs and MTUs without negotiation. In addition, at 570, the devices may be paired…”);
generate, for transmission to the device, an indication the apparatus does not comprise second connection related information associated with establishing the short-range communication link with the device (see at least ¶ [0053], “…discovery for the fast connection protocol may include signals 430 and 432 between source device 406 and sink device 416…, …fast connection discovery may include establishing (initiating) a connection based on Asynchronous Connection-Less (ACL) protocol…”);
generate, for transmission to the device, a first aggregated link layer message comprising a complete set of the first connection related information to establish the short-range communication link with the device (see at least ¶ [0053], “…negotiation for the fast connection protocol may include signals 450 and 452, transmitted on the fast connection channel, between source device 406 and sink device 416. …, source device 406 may transmit (send) message 450 that may include profile descriptors of profiles supported by source device 406 over the fast connection channel. The profile descriptors may be an aggregate of multiple profiles to be negotiated…”);
process, based on signals received from the device, a second aggregated link layer message comprising a complete set of the second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link with the device (see at least ¶ [0057], “…sink device 416 may transmit (send) message 452 that may include profile descriptors of profiles supported by sink device 416 over the fast connection channel. The profile descriptors may be an aggregate of multiple profiles to be negotiated. In other words, instead of sending individual messages to setup a particular profile (e.g., setting up multiple profiles in series or sequence), the sink device 416 may send a single message that may combine multiple profiles such that the multiple profiles may be set up in parallel…”); and
establish the short-range communication link with the device using the first and second connection related information (see at least ¶ [0056], “…if both devices support the fast connection protocol, the logical channel may be determined based on the exchanged channel IDs and/or MTUs without negotiation. In addition, at 440, the devices may be paired (e.g., via secure simple pairing (SSP) or Magic pairing derived key depending on how the devices paired) and the link by be authenticated, thereby encrypting the link…”).
Consider claim 20, Srivatsa teaches an apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
generate, for transmission to a device, an indication the apparatus supports a fast connection process (see at least ¶ [0053], “…discovery for the fast connection protocol may include signals 430 and 432 between source device 406 and sink device 416…”);
generate, for transmission to the device, an indication the apparatus comprises first connection related information for the fast connection process (see at least ¶ [0055], “…if sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol, sink device 416 may transmit (send) a discovery response message 432. The discovery response message 432 may include an indication that the sink device 416 supports the fast connection protocol…”);
process, based on signals received from the device, an indication the device supports the fast connection process (see at least ¶ [0055], “…the discovery response message 432 may include any, any combination of, and/or all of a local channel identification (ID) and maximum transmission unit (MTU) for a fast connect L2CAP channel, a version of the fast connection protocol, transaction identifier (TID) (e.g., identifying if a message is new or a re-transmission), supported features, supported profile mask (e.g., a 64 bit mask of all fast connect profiles supported by sink device 416), and/or a minimum supported version of the fast connection protocol (e.g., PFC version).…”); and
process, based on signals received from the device, an indication the device comprises second connection related information (see at least ¶ [0056], “…if both devices support the fast connection protocol, the logical channel may be determined based on the exchanged channel IDs and/or MTUs without negotiation. In addition, at 440, the devices may be paired (e.g., via secure simple pairing (SSP) or Magic pairing derived key depending on how the devices paired) and the link by be authenticated, thereby encrypting the link…”).
Consider claims 2, 14 (depends on at least claims 1, 13), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claims 1, 13 as applied to claim rejection 1, 13 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches wherein the short-range communication link is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) link (see at least ¶ [0033], “…The term “Bluetooth” has the full breadth of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes any of the various implementations of the Bluetooth standard, including Bluetooth Low Energy (BTLE)…” and see at least ¶ [0033], “…BT layer 414 may discover BT layer 424 of sink device 416 and a baseband connection between the devices may be established via message exchange 524…”).
Consider claims 3, 15 (depends on at least claims 1, 13), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claims 1, 13 as applied to claim rejection 1, 13 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches wherein the first connection related information and the second connection related information comprise one of (i) a version of a communication protocol to be used for the short-range communication link, (ii) a feature of the communication protocol supported by the apparatus or device, (iii) an enhanced data packet length capability of the apparatus or device or (iv) a physical layer (PHY) capability of the apparatus or device (see at least ¶ [0064], “…the fast connect discovery message 530 may include any, any combination of, and/or all of a local channel identification (ID) and maximum transmission unit (MTU) for a fast connect L2CAP channel, a version of the fast connection protocol, transaction identifier (TID) (e.g., identifying if a message is new or a re-transmission), supported features, supported profile mask (e.g., a 64 bit mask of all fast connect profiles supported by source device 406), and/or a minimum supported version of the fast connection protocol…”).
Consider claim 4 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches wherein the first connection related information is sent to the device via one of a wireless connection or a wired connection (see at least ¶ [0046], “…the device 106 may be configured to communicate wirelessly directly with one or more neighboring client stations…”).
Consider claim 6 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches wherein the second connection related information is received via one of a wireless connection or a wired connection (see at least ¶ [0046], “…the device 106 may be configured to communicate wirelessly directly with one or more neighboring client stations…”).
Consider claims 11, 19 (depends on at least claims 1, 13), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claims 1, 13 as applied to claim rejection 1, 13 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: process encryption information associated with exchanging encrypted information with the device over the short-range communication link; and generate, for exchange with the device over the short-range communication link using the encryption information, encrypted information (see at least ¶ [0056], “…the devices may be paired (e.g., via secure simple pairing (SSP) or Magic pairing derived key depending on how the devices paired) and the link by be authenticated, thereby encrypting the link…”).
Consider claim 17 (depends on at least claim 13), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 13 as applied to claim rejection 13 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches wherein the first aggregated link layer message further comprises an instant update information parameter set to null (see at least ¶ [0074], “…BT layer 424 may transmit (send) message 662 to BT layer 414. Message 662 may be a fast connect setup complete message and may include configuration status for each profile included in the configuration determined by source device 406. At 674, upon receiving message 662, BT layer 414 may apply the configuration included in message 660…”).
Consider claim 18 (depends on at least claim 13), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 13 as applied to claim rejection 13 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches attempt to start a standard connection process for the short-range communication link; and receive an error message indicating the standard connection process is unavailable (see at least ¶ [0074], “…BT layer 424 may transmit (send) message 662 to BT layer 414. Message 662 may be a fast connect setup complete message and may include configuration status for each profile included in the configuration determined by source device 406. At 674, upon receiving message 662, BT layer 414 may apply the configuration included in message 660…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7-10, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20190373430 (hereinafter referred to as Srivatsa) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20160360341 (hereinafter referred to as Srivatsa341).
Consider claim 5 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose transceiver circuitry configured to send the first connection related information to a cloud device for retrieval by the device. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches transceiver circuitry configured to send the first connection related information to a cloud device for retrieval by the device (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0049], “…the first device uses BT to connect to the accessory device, the BT software stack may operate to convey the information to the cloud-based server …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have transceiver circuitry configured to send the first connection related information to a cloud device for retrieval by the device, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 7 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose the second connection related information is received from a cloud device. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches the second connection related information is received from a cloud device (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0049], “…the first device uses BT to connect to the accessory device, the BT software stack may operate to convey the information to the cloud-based server …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have the second connection related information is received from a cloud device, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 8 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa teaches store the second connection related information in a controller (see at least ¶ [0057], “…the message 450 may include all data related to profiles supported by source device 406. Upon receiving message 450, sink device 416 may store the profile descriptors of source device 406…”).
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose write the second connection related information to a link layer of a protocol stack being executed by the processing circuitry. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches write the second connection related information to a link layer of a protocol stack being executed by the processing circuitry (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0044], “…the device of a user may store and execute a wireless software driver (e.g., a BLUETOOTH™ protocol stack), or other software, for providing link information associated with an accessory device to a server to be shared with other devices associated with the user…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have write the second connection related information to a link layer of a protocol stack being executed by the processing circuitry, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 9 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose generate, for transmission to the device, an instant update information message indicating a time or an event; and apply the first and second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link based on the time or an occurrence of the event. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches generate, for transmission to the device, an instant update information message indicating a time or an event; and apply the first and second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link based on the time or an occurrence of the event (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0007], “…a user may wish to use a BLUETOOTH™ (BT) headset with a mobile phone, e.g. an iPhone™, during one period of time…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have generate, for transmission to the device, an instant update information message indicating a time or an event; and apply the first and second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link based on the time or an occurrence of the event, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 10 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose process, based on signals received from the device, an instant update information message indicating a time or event; apply the first and second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link based on the time or an occurrence of the event. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches process, based on signals received from the device, an instant update information message indicating a time or event; apply the first and second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link based on the time or an occurrence of the event (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0007], “…a user may wish to use a BLUETOOTH™ (BT) headset with a mobile phone, e.g. an iPhone™, during one period of time…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have process, based on signals received from the device, an instant update information message indicating a time or event; apply the first and second connection related information to establish the short-range communication link based on the time or an occurrence of the event, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 12 (depends on at least claim 1), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose wherein the encryption information comprises a long term key (LTK) associated with the second device. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches wherein the encryption information comprises a long term key (LTK) associated with the second device (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0057], “…This pairing method may be used for LE (Low Energy) pairing between two dual mode devices or LE devices, where LTK (Long Term Key) and other LE pairing related keys are generated on both devices and then exchanged with one another…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have wherein the encryption information comprises a long term key (LTK) associated with the second device, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 16 (depends on at least claim 13), Srivatsa discloses the limitations of claim 13 as applied to claim rejection 13 above and further discloses:
Srivatsa disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Srivatsa does not particularly disclose wherein the first aggregated link layer message further comprises an instant update information parameter indicating a time or an event, wherein the short-range communication link is established based on the time or an occurrence of the event. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Srivatsa341, which teaches wherein the first aggregated link layer message further comprises an instant update information parameter indicating a time or an event, wherein the short-range communication link is established based on the time or an occurrence of the event (see Srivatsa341, at least ¶ [0007], “…a user may wish to use a BLUETOOTH™ (BT) headset with a mobile phone, e.g. an iPhone™, during one period of time…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Srivatsa disclosed invention, and have wherein the first aggregated link layer message further comprises an instant update information parameter indicating a time or an event, wherein the short-range communication link is established based on the time or an occurrence of the event, as taught by Srivatsa341, thereby, to provide a electronic devices are often capable of pairing with one or more accessory devices, enabling direct peer-to-peer communications between the paired devices, as discussed by Srivatsa341, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Conclusion
/CHUONG A NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645