DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on February 02, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12/108,652 B2, has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
Examiner acknowledges the Terminal Disclaimer filed on February 02, 2026. The Double Patenting rejections in the previous Office Action filed on October 01, 2025 are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2016/0189593, hereinafter, “Lee”), prior art of record.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (see Lee, FIG. 9A) comprising:
a pixel electrode (111a+111b+105b, FIG. 9A) including a first subpixel electrode (111a) and a second subpixel electrode (111b+105b) that are spaced apart from each other within at least one subpixel of a plurality of subpixels over a substrate (101, FIG. 9A);
a driving transistor (DT_W2, FIG. 9A) driving the at least one subpixel (OLED_W2 and OLED_W1, FIG. 9A); and
a connection electrode structure (RHL+B1+B2, FIG. 9A) disposed between the first subpixel electrode (111a) and the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b),
wherein the connection electrode structure (RHL+B1+B2) connects at least one of the first subpixel electrode (111a) and the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b) of the pixel electrode with the driving transistor (DT_W2, FIG. 9A),
wherein the first subpixel electrode (111a) and the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b) are electrically connected to one driving transistor (DT_W2, FIG. 9A), and
wherein the first subpixel electrode (111a) and the second subpixel electrode (partial 111b+105b) are disposed in a same subpixel.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a bank (117, FIG. 9A) covering the connection electrode structure (partially covering RHL+B1+B2, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection electrode structure (RHL+B1+B2) is disposed on the same layer as the pixel electrode (111a+11b lower part, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection electrode structure (RHL+B1+B2) includes a common connection electrode (RHL) electrically connected with at least one of the first subpixel electrode (111a) and the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the common connection electrode (RHL) is arranged over a same layer (101) as an active layer (102b, FIG. 9A) constituting the driving transistor (DT_W2).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first subpixel electrode (111a) and the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b) is partially arranged over the driving transistor (DT_W2; Lee, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a transmissive area (area without OLED and DT, FIG. 9A) transmitting external light of the substrate (101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2016/0189593, hereinafter, “Lee”), prior art of record, as applied to claim 4 above, in view of Chae (US PG-Pub No.: 2019/0131355 A1, hereinafter, “Chae”), prior art of record.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the connection electrode structure (RHL+B1+B2) includes a first connection electrode (B1), a second connection electrode (B2).
Lee is silent regarding a third connection electrode connected with the common connection electrode.
However, Lee discloses that the common connection electrode (RHL) is made of the same material as anode (¶ [¶ [0112]]) and it is well-known that an anode can be a multilayer. For example, Chae discloses a display device (see Chae, FIG. 3), wherein an anode (132, FIG. 3) comprises a multilayer (¶ [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form Lee’s anode and RHL with a multilayer structure, as taught by Chae, in order to improve the emission efficiency. Accordingly, one layer of RHL is the common connection electrode and another layer of RHL is the third connection electrode.
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Chae discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the common connection electrode (one layer of RHL, see above regarding claim 6) has a first end contacted with the first connection electrode (B1) and a second end contacted with the second connection electrode (B2), is contacted with the third connection electrode (the other layer of RHL) between the first end and the second end (Lee, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Chae discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the common connection electrode (one layer of RHL) is arranged in a layer different from at least one of the first connection electrode (B1), the second connection electrode (B2; Lee, FIG. 9A) and the third connection electrodes.
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Chae discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the first connection electrode (B1) extended from a first end of the first subpixel electrode (111a) to a first direction (up-down) which is perpendicular to a direction (left-right) from the first subpixel electrode (111a) to the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b; Lee, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Chae discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the second connection electrode (B2) extended from a first end of the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b) to a first direction (up-down) which is perpendicular to a direction (left-right) from the first subpixel electrode (111a) to the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b; Lee, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Chae discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the third connection electrode (the other layer of RHL) electrically connected to the driving transistor (DT_W2) and extended to a first direction (up-down; since RHL is a 3D object, it extends in all directions) which is perpendicular to a direction (left-right) from the first subpixel electrode (111a) to the second subpixel electrode (111b+105b; Lee, FIG. 9A).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Chae discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein the common connection electrode (one layer of RHL) is arranged in a second direction (left-right) different from or orthogonal to the first direction (up-down), and connects the first connection electrode (B1) with the third connection electrode (the other layer of RHL) through a bridge or connects the second connection electrode (B2) with the third connection electrode (the other layer of RHL) through a bridge (Lee, FIG. 9A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of claim 14, in particular, a buffer layer over the substrate; a first insulating film over the active layer or the common connection electrode over the buffer layer; and a second insulating film over the first insulating film, wherein at least one of the second connection electrode and the third connection electrode is connected with the common connection electrode through a contact hole of the first insulating film and the second insulating film, wherein a first end of the third connection electrode is contacted with a conductive layer extended from source electrode or drain electrode of the driving transistor, constituting one electrode of a capacitor in the at least one subpixel, wherein the third connection electrode connected with the driving transistor is arranged between the first subpixel electrode and the second subpixel electrode.
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of claim 15, in particular, the at least one subpixel further includes: a data line arranged to overlap with at least a portion of the at least one subpixel in a direction from the first subpixel electrode to the second subpixel electrode; and a repair line arranged at one side of the at least one subpixel in a direction parallel with the data line, at least a portion of the repair line is arranged to overlap with at least a portion of the connection electrode structure or cross the connection electrode structure, wherein the repair line is extended in a direction of an adjacent subpixel adjacent to the at least one subpixel in a direction of the data line. Claim 16 depends upon claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection with new mapping does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892