DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of 17/613,176 11/22/2021 now Patent 12428446. 17/613,176
was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/KR2020/006594 filed 05/20/2020, which claims the benefit of the priority of Korean Patent Application No. 10-2019-0059628 filed 05/21/2019.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 06/27/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, 9, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It is noted that claims 3, 5, 9, and 14 recites amino acid sequences that do not have SEQ ID numbers. Applicants are required to amend the claims to recite SEQ ID NOS. for each of the amino acid sequences contained therein. If the corresponding sequences are not present in the sequence listing filed on 06/27/2024, Applicants are requested to submit an updated sequence listing containing all the sequences disclosed in the instant application, as appropriate. 37 CFR 1.831(c) requires that each nucleotide and/or amino acid sequence set forth in a "Sequence Listing XML" in accordance with 37 CFR § 1.831(a) must be referenced by a sequence identifier as defined in 37 CFR 1.832(a) (see MPEP § 2412.05(a)), preceded by the notation "SEQ ID NO:" or the like, when the sequence appears in the description or claims (See MPEP 2412.04).
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
via EFS-Web (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for EFS-Web (https://www.uspto.gov/patents-application-process/filing-online/legal-framework-efs-web), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
on compact disc(s) in duplicate according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii) and (4), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(6), together with a statement that the duplicate compact discs are identical and an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
via EFS-Web as a PDF (not recommended); or
on paper.
37 CFR 1.821(e) requires that a copy of the "Sequence Listing" must also be submitted in computer readable form (CRF) in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If a "Sequence Listing" ASCII text file submitted via EFS-Web on the application filing date complies with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824(a)(2) - (6) and (b), and applicant has not filed a "Sequence Listing" as a PDF, the text file will serve as both the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) and the CRF required by 37 CFR 1.821(e), and the statement of identity under the "Legal Framework" is not required.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via EFS-Web as a PDF, then the "Legal Framework" requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the ASCII text file copy submitted via EFS-Web are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or compact disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(f) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or compact disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Applicants are advised to amend claims 3, 5, 9, and 14 to recite a SEQ ID NO. for the amino acid sequences contained therein. If the corresponding sequences are not present in the sequence listing filed on 06/27/2024, Applicants are requested to submit an updated sequence listing containing all the sequences disclosed in the instant application, as appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Interpretation
The claim scope has been interpreted as set forth below per the guidance set forth at MPEP § 2111. If Applicant disputes any interpretation, Applicant is invited to unambiguously identify any alleged misinterpretations or specialized definitions in the subsequent response to the instant action. Applicant is advised that a specialized definition should be properly supported and specifically identified (see, e.g., MPEP § 211 l.0l(IV), describing how Applicant may act as their own lexicographer).
The instant claims recite “a peptide comprising the amino acid sequence…”.
"Comprising" is an open-ended transitional term (see, e.g., MPEP § 2111.03(1)), wherein additional steps or components are not excluded. However, "'[c]omprising' is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential" (see, e.g., id.; see also Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). Thus, Examiner in interpreting the claims such that the instant peptide can be comprised in a larger sequence. Therefore, a reference that teaches a peptide or sequence that comprises the instant peptide, would read on the instant claims.
Claims 1-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baik et al. (WO2018225961A1 – hereinafter “Baik”).
The teaching of the WO2018225961A1 publication are based on the English language translation of the WO2018225961A1 publication obtained by WIPO translate and the citations are based on the English language translation.
Regarding claims 1-2, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claim 12, 13, 17; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide which comprises Hyp-Gly-Gln, A4 is Glu or Asn, A5 is Gly, A6 is Leu, and A7 is Ala. The disclosures of Baik anticipate the instant claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claims 12, 13, 17; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala thus anticipating the claims.
Regarding claim 4, Baik teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide and a suitable carriers or excipients (Page 28, 4th to 6th paragraph).
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 15, Baik teaches that the composition comprises the peptide at a concentration of 0.01 μM to 1 μΜ, 30 μΜ to 1 μΜ, 50 μΜ to 0.02 μΜ (Page 28, last two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 7, Baik teaches the composition may be administered via intravenous, intraarterial, intraperitoneal, intramuscular, intrasternal, transdermal, nasal or may be carried out via any one route selected from the group consisting of intralateral, inhalation topical, rectal, oral, intraocular and intradermal (Page 29, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claim 12, 13, 17; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide which comprises Hyp-Gly-Gln, A4 is Glu or Asn, A5 is Gly, A6 is Leu, and A7 is Ala. Examiner notes that the peptide of claim 1 is taught by Baik and that the recitation of “food composition” is being interpreted as the intended use of the composition.
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claims 12, 13, 17; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala thus anticipating the claims.
Regarding claim 13, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claim 12, 13, 17; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide which comprises Hyp-Gly-Gln, A4 is Glu or Asn, A5 is Gly, A6 is Leu, and A7 is Ala. Examiner notes that the peptide of claim 1 is taught by Baik and that the recitation of “food composition” is being interpreted as the intended use of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baik et al. (WO2018225961A1 – hereinafter “Baik”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US20190111112A1 – hereinafter “Yang”).
The teachings of Baik are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference. Baik does not teach wherein the composition comprising the peptide is a food composition wherein the food composition is a feed or feed additive. However, the instant peptide is known to be included in food compositions as taught by Yang.
Yang teaches a collagen peptide that comprises the sequence hydroxy proline-GQDGLAGPK (SEQ ID NO: 1) [0014-0034]. Yang further teaches a health food composition that comprises the peptide [0008, 0010, 0012, 0051, 0062, 0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baik and prepare a food composition comprising the peptide since Yang teaches the instant peptide in a food composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including the instant peptide in a food composition since Yang teaches the same instant peptide as the active ingredient in a food composition. The disclosures render obvious claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claims 1-12; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala. Additionally, Yang teaches a collagen peptide that comprises the sequence hydroxy proline-GQDGLAGPK (SEQ ID NO: 1) [0014-0034] which comprises the instant peptide.
Regarding claim 10, Baik teaches that the composition comprises the peptide at a concentration of 0.01 uM to 1 μΜ, 30 μΜ to 1 μΜ, 50 μΜ to 0.02 μΜ (Page 28, last two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches the health food composition comprising the peptide wherein the health food is a food additive [0078]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baik and prepare a food composition comprising the peptide since Yang teaches the instant peptide in a food composition.
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches that the composition may include tablets, pills, powders, granules, capsules [0074]. Yang further teaches that the health food includes beverages, tea, drinks [0080. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baik and prepare a food composition comprising the peptide since Yang teaches the instant peptide in a food composition.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baik et al. (WO2018225961A1 – hereinafter “Baik”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakai et al. (JP2003137807A – hereinafter “Sakai”).
The teaching of the JP2003137807A publication are based on the English language translation of the JP2003137807A publication obtained by WIPO translate and the citations are based on the English language translation.
The teachings of Baik are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference. Baik does not teach wherein the composition is a cosmetic composition such as a paste, cream or gel. However, such short peptides comprising Hyp are known to be included in cosmetic compositions as taught by Sakai.
Sakai teaches collagen peptide compositions that comprise Hyp and teach cosmetic compositions comprising the peptides (Abstract; [0020, 0040-0042, 0047]), that the composition can contain a perfume or other additives [0048], that the cosmetic composition may be a milky lotion, a cream, an ointment, a pack, an aerosol, a water-oil two-layer agent, a cosmetic liquid, a gel [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baik and include the peptides in a cosmetic composition since such short peptides comprising Hyp are known to be included in cosmetic compositions as taught by Sakai. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including the peptides of Baik in a cosmetic composition since such short peptides comprising Hyp are known to be included in cosmetic compositions as taught by Sakai. The teachings render obvious claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claims 1-12; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala.
Regarding claim 15, Baik teaches that the composition comprises the peptide at a concentration of 0.01 uM to 1 μΜ, 30 μΜ to 1 μΜ, 50 μΜ to 0.02 μΜ (Page 28, last two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 16, Sakai teaches collagen peptide compositions that comprise Hyp and teach cosmetic compositions comprising the peptides (Abstract; [0020, 0040-0042, 0047]), that the composition can contain a perfume or other additives [0048], that the cosmetic composition may be a milky lotion, a cream, an ointment, a pack, an aerosol, a water-oil two-layer agent, a cosmetic liquid, a gel [0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baik and include the peptides in a cosmetic composition such as a lotion since such short peptides comprising Hyp are known to be included in cosmetic compositions as taught by Sakai.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. US12428446B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1).
The instant claims recite a peptide comprising the amino acid sequence Hyp-Gly-Gln-A4-A5-A6-A7, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein: A4 is Ala, Asn, Asp, isopropyl ester-substituted Asp, D-Asp, Asu, or Glu; A5 is Aib, Ala, Gly, phenyl-Gly, Leu, tert-Leu, or Val; A6 is Leu, D-Leu, Pro, or Val; and A7 is Ala, D-Ala, or isopropyl ester-substituted Ala (claim 1), wherein the peptides include Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala, Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala, and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (claims 3, 5, 9).
The claims of the patent anticipate the instant claims.
Regarding claims 1-5, the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1), and further recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide (claim 3).
Regarding claims 8-9, the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1), and further recites a food composition comprising the peptide (claim 4).
Regarding claims 13-14, the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1), and further recites a cosmetic composition comprising the peptide (claim 5).
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. US12428446B2 in view of Baik et al. (WO2018225961A1 – hereinafter “Baik”), Yang et al. (US20190111112A1 – hereinafter “Yang”) and Sakai et al. (JP2003137807A – hereinafter “Sakai”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1).
The instant claims recite a peptide comprising the amino acid sequence Hyp-Gly-Gln-A4-A5-A6-A7, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein: A4 is Ala, Asn, Asp, isopropyl ester-substituted Asp, D-Asp, Asu, or Glu; A5 is Aib, Ala, Gly, phenyl-Gly, Leu, tert-Leu, or Val; A6 is Leu, D-Leu, Pro, or Val; and A7 is Ala, D-Ala, or isopropyl ester-substituted Ala (claim 1), wherein the peptides include Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala, Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala, and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (claims 3, 5, 9).
The difference between the claims of the patent and the instant claims is that the claims of the patent do not recite the concentration of the peptide and the type of composition as recited in claims 10-12 and 15-16. However, the peptides are known to be included in the composition in the recited concentrations as taught by Baik et al.
Baik teaches peptides with the sequence
Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys; Hyp-Gly-Gln-Asn-Gly-Leu-Ala-Gly-Pro-Lys (claims 1-12; Table 1). Examiner notes that the peptide of Baik comprises the instant peptide which comprises Hyp-Gly-Gln, A4 is Glu or Asn, A5 is Gly, A6 is Leu, and A7 is Ala. Baik teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide and a suitable carriers or excipients (Page 28, 4th to 6th paragraph). Baik teaches that the composition comprises the peptide at a concentration of 0.01 uM to 1 μΜ, 30 μΜ to 1 μΜ, 50 μΜ to 0.02 μΜ (Page 28, last two paragraphs). Baik teaches the composition may be administered via intravenous, intraarterial, intraperitoneal, intramuscular, intrasternal, transdermal, nasal or may be carried out via any one route selected from the group consisting of intralateral, inhalation topical, rectal, oral, intraocular and intradermal (Page 29, 1st paragraph).
Yang teaches a collagen peptide that comprises the sequence hydroxy proline-GQDGLAGPK (SEQ ID NO: 1) [0014-0034]. Yang further teaches a health food composition that comprises the peptide [0008, 0010, 0012, 0051, 0062, 0072]. Yang teaches the health food composition comprising the peptide wherein the health food is a food additive [0078]. Yang teaches that the composition may include tablets, pills, powders, granules, capsules [0074]. Yang further teaches that the health food includes beverages, tea, drinks [0080].
Sakai teaches collagen peptide compositions that comprise Hyp and teach cosmetic compositions comprising the peptides (Abstract; [0020, 0040-0042, 0047]), that the composition can contain a perfume or other additives [0048], that the cosmetic composition may be a milky lotion, a cream, an ointment, a pack, an aerosol, a water-oil two-layer agent, a cosmetic liquid, a gel [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of the patent with the teachings of Baik, Yang and Sakai and include the peptides in the recited concentrations and in the composition forms as taught by Yang and Sakai since the references teach the instant peptides in food and cosmetic composition and in the recited concentrations. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including the peptides in the concentrations as taught by Baik since such short peptides comprising Hyp are known to be included in food and cosmetic compositions in the recited concentrations. The claims of the patent render obvious the instant claims. Regarding claims 1-5, the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1), and further recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide (claim 3).
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 15, Baik teaches that the composition comprises the peptide at a concentration of 0.01 uM to 1 μΜ, 30 μΜ to 1 μΜ, 50 μΜ to 0.02 μΜ (Page 28, last two paragraphs). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the patent and include the peptides in the recited concentrations as taught by Baik.
Regarding claim 7, Baik teaches the composition may be administered via intravenous, intraarterial, intraperitoneal, intramuscular, intrasternal, transdermal, nasal or may be carried out via any one route selected from the group consisting of intralateral, inhalation topical, rectal, oral, intraocular and intradermal (Page 29, 1st paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the patent and have the composition for oral administration as taught by Baik.
Regarding claims 8-9, the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1), and further recites a food composition comprising the peptide (claim 4).
Regarding claims 11-12, Yang teaches the health food composition comprising the peptide wherein the health food is a food additive [0078]. Yang further teaches that the composition may include tablets, pills, powders, granules, capsules [0074]. Yang further teaches that the health food includes beverages, tea, drinks [0080]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the patent and formulate the food composition as a feed additive and in form of a beverage as taught by Yang.
Regarding claims 13-14, the claims of the patent recite a peptide or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the peptide is selected from the group consisting of Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Leu-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 77), Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Val-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 78), and Hyp-Gly-Gln-Glu-Aib-Leu-Ala (SEQ ID NO.: 83) (claim 1), and further recites a cosmetic composition comprising the peptide (claim 5).
Regarding claim 16, Sakai teaches collagen peptide compositions that comprise Hyp and teach cosmetic compositions comprising the peptides (Abstract; [0020, 0040-0042, 0047]), that the composition can contain a perfume or other additives [0048], that the cosmetic composition may be a milky lotion, a cream, an ointment, a pack, an aerosol, a water-oil two-layer agent, a cosmetic liquid, a gel [0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the patent and include the peptides in a cosmetic composition such as a lotion since such short peptides comprising Hyp are known to be included in cosmetic compositions as taught by Sakai.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654 /LIANKO G GARYU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654