DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,055,530. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to a broader genus into which the patent claims fall; therefore, the patent claims anticipate the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "a third multi-port valve fluidly connected with the second multi-port valve" in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 37-40 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 36 by dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 26, 31, 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Unnerstall, et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0079061 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Unnerstall discloses a valve system (Fig. 1C) fluidly coupled with one or more ion-exchange columns (204; paragraph 0041) and configured to receive a sample and to selectably direct the sample through a given ion-exchange column of the one or more ion exchange columns (Figs 1E and 1F; paragraphs 0043-0044, note that there is an apparent typographical error in the reference: paragraph 0043 is supposed to refer to Fig. 1E rather than Fig. 1D, and paragraph 0044 is supposed to refer to Fig. 1F rather than Fig. 1E) or bypass the one or more ion exchange columns (Fig. 1G; paragraph 0045, note that there is apparently a typographical error in the reference: paragraph 0045 is supposed to refer to Fig. 1G rather than Fig. 1F), the sample directed through a given ion-exchange column as part of a speciation mode of operation to remove a matrix material from the sample (paragraph 0041 – the speciation system separates silicon species from phosphoric acid; paragraph 0050 – the phosphoric acid is a matrix material), the sample directed to bypass any ion-exchange column as part of an infusion mode of operation (paragraph 0045); and
A time-of-flight mass spectrometer fluidly connected to the valve system (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 22, Unnerstall discloses wherein the given ion-exchange column is one of a cation exchange column or an anion exchange column (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 23, Unnerstall discloses wherein, when operating in the speciation mode, the analysis system is configured to confirm a chemical composition of the sample through a combination of a retention time in the given ion-exchange column and a mass to charge ratio (m/z) determined by the TOF-MS (paragraphs 0053-0054).
Regarding claim 26, Unnerstall discloses a software configured to simultaneously detect for multiple organic components (paragraphs 0046, 0078).
Regarding claim 31, Unnerstall discloses wherein the analysis system is configured to perform at least one of autocalibration or autodilution (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 34, Unnerstall discloses a sample preparation unit configured to dilute a sample by up to 10% by volume to improve at least one of sample transfer or recovery of any organic components (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 35, Unnerstall discloses an ICP-MS configured to detect at least one of a metal or particle component, the TOF-MS configured to detect at least one organic component (paragraphs 0053-0054).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MICHAEL MASKELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878 25 June 2026