DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryoo et al. (US20200168397).
With respect to claim 1, Ryoo discloses a dielectric comprising: a dielectric grain (see FIG. 3, element 11a); a segregate (see FIG. 3, element 11d, paragraph 9, noting pores are filled with glass); and a pore (see FIG. 3, element 11c), wherein the segregate and the pore are in contact to form a specific combination in a section of the dielectric (see paragraph 9, noting pores are filled with glass).
With respect to claim 5, Ryoo discloses the segregate has a linear expansion coefficient smaller than that of the dielectric grain. See paragraphs 66, 99 and 110, noting linear expansion coefficient for BaTiO3 above 120ᵒC is ≈9.8 to 11.4 and SiO2 is 5x10-7. As such it meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 6, Ryoo discloses an element that the segregate comprises the most in terms of atomicity other than O, Ca, Sr, Zr, and Ti is Si (see paragraph 66).
With respect to claim 9, Ryoo discloses the dielectric grain comprises barium titanate (see paragraph 99 and 110).
With respect to claim 10, Ryoo discloses a multilayer electronic device comprising the dielectric according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo in view of Iguchi (US20200090869).
With respect to claim 7, Ryoo teaches the dielectric according to claim 1.
Ryoo does not expressly teach that the dielectric grain has a grain size of 0.10 µm or more and 3.00 µm or less.
Iguchi, on the other hand, teaches the dielectric grain has a grain size of 0.10 µm or more and 3.00 µm or less (see paragraph 38, noting 0.01 to 4 μm).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ryoo and Iguchi to form the claimed invention in order to obtain a high mechanical strength of the dielectric composition (see paragraph 38).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo in view of Fujii et al. (US6329311).
With respect to claim 8, Ryoo teaches
Ryoo does not expressly teach that the dielectric grain comprises a component represented by a composition formula [(CaxSr1-x)O]n[(TiyZr1-y)O2].
Fujii, on the other hand, teaches the dielectric grain comprises a component represented by a composition formula [(CaxSr1-x)O]n[(TiyZr1-y)O2] (see col. 2, line 51).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ryoo and Fujii to form the claimed invention in order to prevent the polishing step from being prolonged and prevent cracks (see col. 13, line 63-65 to col. 14, line 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 2, the pore of the specific combination has a size smaller than that of the segregate of the specific combination, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 3, an average size of the segregate divided by an average size of the pore is more than 1.00 and 6.00 or less, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 4, a number ratio of the specific combination in the section of the dielectric is 2.0 x 104 or more and 5.0 x 106 or less per mm2, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1.
Conclusion
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847