Claims 1, 3-21, 26-30 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-21, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dennis, U.S. Patent 4,814,978 (hereinafter Dennis) in view of Greiner, US Patent Application Publication 2008/0127122 (hereinafter Greiner).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 17, Dennis discloses a computer program product comprising: a set of one or more computer-readable storage media; and program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more computer-readable storage media, for causing at least one computing device to perform computer operations including: executing an instruction to perform an action defined by the instruction, the instruction including a control mode indicator [col. 15, lines 27-30; an instruction includes a mode field], the control mode indicator being set by a program that forms the instruction [col. 22, lines 3-45; a compiler is used in the creation of the program], and wherein the executing the instruction includes: checking the control mode indicator; re-defining, based on the control mode indicator being a selected value indicating enhanced execution mode, one or more instruction areas used by the instruction to provide other functionality of the instruction [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; based on the value of the mode field, the fields of the instruction are defined differently], wherein at least one instruction area of the one or more instruction areas is defined as to be ignored prior to the re-defining, and wherein the re-defining re-defines the at least one instruction area to a usable instruction area [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; depending on the mode field values, parts of the instruction may not be used]; and performing the action defined by the instruction using at least a portion of the other functionality provided by the re-defining the one or more instruction areas [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the instruction is executed according to the mode field].
Dennis fails to explicitly teach the control mode indicator being set to a selected value based on the program determining that a selected machine facility is installed and available for use.
Greiner teaches setting a control mode bit of an instruction based on a program determining that an ETF3-enhancement facility is installed and available for use (see e.g. para. [0030-40]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Dennis and Greiner to include the control mode indicator being set to a selected value based on the program determining that a selected machine facility is installed and available for use. This would have improved the reliability of the system by ensuring that underlying facilities were available to handle a specific mode of processing to prevent errors.
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the one or more instruction areas include one or more fields used by the instruction [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; depending on the mode field values, parts of the instruction may not be used].
Regarding claim 3, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the one or more instruction areas include one or more fields used by the instruction [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the instruction includes fields that are defined based on the mode field].
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 19, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 3, wherein the re-defining the one or more instruction areas includes changing one or more ignored bits of the one or more fields of the instruction to one or more usable bits [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; depending on the mode field values, parts of the instruction may or may not be used].
Regarding claims 5 and 26, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 4, wherein the one or more usable bits include one or more assigned bits [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the bits are assigned to fields].
Regarding claim 6, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 4, wherein the one or more usable bits include one or more reserved bits [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the bits are reserved as defined fields].
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 20, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the one or more instruction areas include at least a portion of a storage area used by the instruction [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the bits are used to define a storage area used by the instruction].
Regarding claims 8, 27, and 29, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the computer operations further comprise executing another instance of the instruction, wherein the executing the another instance of the instruction includes bypassing the re-defining, based on the control mode indicator being set to another selected value, and performing the action in which the use of the at least a portion of the other functionality is suppressed [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; based on the value of the mode field, the fields of the instruction are defined differently].
Regarding claim 9, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 8, wherein the executing the instruction and the executing the another instance of the instruction are performed by a same processor [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the same processor executes the instruction differently based on the value of the mode field].
Regarding claims 10, 16, and 21, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the program comprises a compiler, and wherein the control mode indicator is set by a compiler at compile time [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the mode bits are part of the instruction that is part of a program that is stored in memory and executed; Col. 22, lines 3-45; a compiler is used in the creation of the program].
Regarding claims 11, 28, and 30, Dennis in view of Greiner teaches or suggests the computer program product of claim 1, wherein the control mode indicator is included in a text field of the instruction [Figures 6-15; col. 15, line 25 – col. 16, line 31; the instruction includes a mode field].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended language of “the control mode indicator being set to a selected value based on the program determining that a selected machine facility is installed and available for use” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Greiner.
Conclusion
/JOHN M LINDLOF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183