DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on January 14th, 2026.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending. Claims 1, 9, and 19 are currently amended.
The present application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application no. 18/201,718, filed on May 24th, 203, which claims priority to provisional application no. 63/345,580, filed on May 25th, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over B M S et al (U.S. Application Publication no. 2021/0390144, hereinafter BMS) in view of Younes et al (U.S. Patent no. 11,676,623, hereinafter Younes).
With respect to claim 1, BMS discloses a system for recording and documenting meetings (paragraph [0088], lines 1-5), the system comprising:
A bot persona streamer module configured to:
Stream a bot into an on-line meeting (paragraph [0020], lines 1-10; paragraph [0051]), wherein the bot persona streamer modules provides at least an image representative of the bot within the on-line meeting (paragraph [0084], lines 6-21, the AI-bot 240 may be represented by a still image, moving image, or avatar in the video conference display area 308);
app server providing a control panel for the bot rendered on a user device (paragraph [0030], conferencing server), the control panel configured to record the on-line meeting (paragraph [0088], lines 1-5).
But BMS does not disclose receiving an invitation to an on-line meeting while the on-line is active.
However, Younes discloses receiving an invitation to an on-line meeting while the on-line is active (column 6, lines 35-39, request for the virtual assistant to join the meeting); and
stream a bot into the active on-line meeting based on the invitation (column 6, lines 9-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the AI-based in-meeting instant query assistant for conference meetings of BMS with the method for automatic joining as a virtual meeting participant for transcription of Younes. The motivation to combine being to improve the automation of joining a virtual meeting by a virtual participant. The automation of joining the meeting being improved by launching the virtual assistant in response to receiving a user request after a meeting has begun (Younes: column 6, lines 19-54).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, BMS further discloses wherein if a new user clicks on a link to access the control panel, the app server enables creation of a new account in the system (paragraph [0030], participants join the conference meeting).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system as claimed in claim 2, BMS further discloses wherein the new user is provided with a page for the online meeting with the control panel (paragraph [0030], participants join the conference meeting).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, BMS further discloses wherein the new user gets access to a meeting page and any related recordings and is designated as a meeting participant (paragraph [0030], participants join the conference meeting).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system of claim 1, BMS further discloses providing meeting chat messages from the bot to other participants in the meeting (paragraph [0030]).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system of claim 1, BMS further discloses wherein the bot persona streamer module provides bot video streams or images that represent the bot that change based on status of a meeting documentation system (paragraph [0088], lines 17-47, shows that the AI-bot 240 presented a response to the first chat).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system of claim 6, BMS further discloses wherein the bot video streams or images change to indicate whether the meeting documentation system is recording the meetings or recordings are paused (paragraph [0088], lines 1-17, until an end).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the system of claim 1, BMS further discloses wherein the bot persona streamer module changing bot video streams or images that change based on numbers of participants in the meetings (paragraph [0059]).
With respect to claim 9, BMS discloses a method for recording and documenting meetings (paragraph [0088], lines 1-5), the method comprising:
Streaming a bot into an on-line meetings (paragraph [0020], lines 1-10; paragraph [0051]);
displaying at least an image representative of the bot within the on-line meeting based on an invitation (paragraph [0084], lines 6-21, the AI-bot 240 may be represented by a still image, moving image, or avatar in the video conference display area 308); and
providing a control panel for the bot (paragraph [0030], conferencing server) for controlling recording and documenting the meeting (paragraph [0088], lines 1-5).
But BMS does not disclose receiving an invitation to an on-line meeting while the on-line is active.
However, Younes discloses receiving an invitation to an on-line meeting while the on-line is active (column 6, lines 35-39, request for the virtual assistant to join the meeting); and
streaming a bot into the active on-line meeting based on the invitation (column 6, lines 9-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the AI-based in-meeting instant query assistant for conference meetings of BMS with the method for automatic joining as a virtual meeting participant for transcription of Younes. The motivation to combine being to improve the automation of joining a virtual meeting by a virtual participant. The automation of joining the meeting being improved by launching the virtual assistant in response to receiving a user request after a meeting has begun (Younes: column 6, lines 19-54).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses wherein new users are provided with a link to access a control panel for the bot (paragraph [0025]).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses wherein new users are provided with a link to access a control panel for the bot (paragraph [0025]).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses wherein new users create new accounts and are dropped into the ongoing meeting page with the control panel (paragraph [0025]).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses wherein the new user gets a copy of a meeting page and any related recordings and are designated as meeting participants (paragraph [0025]).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses providing meeting chat messages from the bot to other participants in the meeting (paragraph [0030]).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses providing bot video streams or images that represent the bot that change based on status of the meeting documentation system (paragraph [0088], lines 17-47, shows that the AI-bot 240 presented a response to the first chat).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 15, BMS further discloses wherein the bot video streams or images change to indicate whether the meeting documentation system is recording the meetings or recordings are paused (paragraph [0088], lines 1-17, until an end).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 9, BMS further discloses providing bot video streams or images that change based on numbers of participants in the meetings (paragraph [0059]).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of BMS and Younes discloses the method of claim 1, BMS further discloses providing bot video streams or images that include machine readable symbols that provide links to pages for documenting the meetings (paragraph [0089]).
With respect to claim 19, BMS discloses a method for documenting meetings (paragraph [0088], lines 1-5), the method comprising:
straming a bot of a meeting documentation system into an on-line meeting based on an invitation (paragraph [0020], lines 1-10; paragraph [0051]);
displaying at least an image representative of the bot within the on-line meeting (paragraph [0084], lines 6-21, the AI-bot 240 may be represented by a still image, moving image, or avatar in the video conference display area 308)
providing a documentation system configured to record and/or provide access to time indexed content from the meeting attended by the bot (paragraph [0088]); and
providing a control panel (paragraph [0030], conferencing server) to control operation of the bot (paragraph [0088], lines 1-5).
But BMS does not disclose receiving an invitation to an on-line meeting while the on-line is active.
However, Younes discloses receiving an invitation to an on-line meeting while the on-line is active (column 6, lines 35-39, request for the virtual assistant to join the meeting); and
streaming a bot into the active on-line meeting based on the invitation (column 6, lines 9-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the AI-based in-meeting instant query assistant for conference meetings of BMS with the method for automatic joining as a virtual meeting participant for transcription of Younes. The motivation to combine being to improve the automation of joining a virtual meeting by a virtual participant. The automation of joining the meeting being improved by launching the virtual assistant in response to receiving a user request after a meeting has begun (Younes: column 6, lines 19-54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kasaba Patent no. 11,582,424
Jaber Pat. Pub. 2020/0372140
McQuiston Pat. Pub. 2020/0258525
Casey Pat. Pub. 2021/0037064
2/24/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457