DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 12, and 14 filed April 6, 2026. Claims 3, 6, 10, and 13 are withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In Paragraph 22, line 1, the phrase “an outer casing 25” should be changed to “an outer casing 35.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7-9, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US-5660081).
6. In regards to claim 1, Sato discloses a vehicle comprising: a vehicle door assembly (trunk lid considered as a vehicle door assembly because the lid is a barrier or panel of the vehicle that is moved such that entry is allowed or prevented to a compartment, i.e. the trunk, Col. 1, lines 8-12) comprising: a door interior handle assembly including a primary spring 57 that biases a door interior handle 17 toward a latched position (neutral, rest, or free position shown in Figure 12 in which the door interior handle has not actuated latch assembly T and discussed in Col. 9, lines 12-23); a door latch assembly T; at least one cable 5 and 6 operably connects the door interior handle to the door latch assembly; and a spring module 2 (Figure 12) operably connected to the door interior handle by the at least one cable such that the spring module provides a secondary biasing force (force of spring 62) that biases the door interior handle toward the latched position throughout any motion of the door interior handle away from the latched position (the force of spring 62 pulls on inner cable portion 5i connected to the door interior handle to tension the cable and therefore return the cable and the door interior handle to the free position, such that even when the door interior handle is pushed in the direction B, as opposed to being turned in direction A, once the force on the door interior handle is released, the spring 62 provides the pulling force on inner cable portion 5i such that the second biasing force is still applied to the door interior handle to ensure that the door interior handle is returned to the latched position or free position in which the inner cable portion 5i is tensioned and the connecting portion 17c of the door interior handle is urged against a lower surface of the movable end 57m of the primary spring 57, Col. 8, lines 65-67 and Col. 9, lines 12-23).
7. In regards to claim 2, Sato discloses that the at least one cable comprises a first cable 6 that extends between the spring module and the door latch assembly and a second cable 5 that extends between the spring module and the door interior handle.
8. In regards to claims 4 and 11, Sato discloses that the spring module comprises an outer casing 59 and a secondary spring 62 located in the casing that is configured to bias the at least one cable.
9. In regards to claims 7 and 14, Sato discloses that the secondary spring is a torsion spring (Figure 12).
10. In regards to claim 8, Sato discloses a method of controlling unlatching of a door latch assembly T of a vehicle door assembly (trunk lid and portion of the vehicle to which the support 59 is mounted, with the trunk lid considered as a vehicle door because the lid is a barrier or panel of the vehicle that is moved such that entry is allowed or prevented to a compartment, i.e. the trunk, Col. 1, lines 8-12), the method comprising: connecting a spring module 2 to at least one cable 5 and 6, the at least one cable operably connecting to a door interior handle assembly including a primary spring 57 that biases a door interior handle 17 toward a latched position (neutral or rest position shown in Figure 12 in which the door interior handle has not actuated latch assembly T), the spring module configured to provide a secondary biasing force (force of spring 62) that biases the door interior handle toward the latched position throughout any motion of the door interior handle away from the latched position (the force of spring 62 pulls on inner cable portion 5i connected to the door interior handle to tension the cable and therefore return the cable and the door interior handle to the free position, such that even when the door interior handle is pushed in the direction B, as opposed to being turned in direction A, once the force on the door interior handle is released, the spring 62 provides the pulling force on inner cable portion 5i such that the second biasing force is still applied to the door interior handle to ensure that the door interior handle is returned to the latched position or free position in which the inner cable portion 5i is tensioned and the connecting portion 17c of the door interior handle is urged against a lower surface of the movable end 57m of the primary spring 57, Col. 8, lines 65-67 and Col. 9, lines 12-23); and mounting the spring module inside the vehicle door assembly (Col. 8, lines 38-41).
11. In regards to claim 9, Sato discloses that the at least one cable comprises a first cable 5 that extends between the spring module and the door interior handle and a second cable 6 that extends between the spring module and the door latch assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US-5660081) in view of Brose (DE 202011002760 U1). Sato discloses the vehicle and method of claims 1 and 11 above, with the secondary spring configured to bias a rotatable element 33 located in the outer casing and coupled to the at least one cable (Figure 12), but fails to disclose that the rotatable element is a cable drum around which the at least one cable is wound. Bose teaches a cable drum 8 around which at least one cable 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 is wound (Paragraph 13 of the Computer Generated Translation), with the cable drum providing a rotatable connection between a door interior handle 23 and a door latch assembly 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to utilize a cable drum to connect to the at least one cable, with reasonable expectation of success, since the use of the cable drum would yield the predictable result of providing a rotatable element to which the at least one cable is connected and provide a means by which the door latch assembly can be actuated by the door interior handle.
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant's arguments filed April 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, as is apparent from Sato, the spring 62 still provides the secondary biasing force to the door interior handle via tensioning of the inner cable portion 5i when the force on the door interior handle to cause the door interior handle to rotate in direction B is removed. The spring 62 biases the inner cable portion to tension after any force in direction A or B is applied, such that the door interior handle is returned back to its latched position or free state (Col. 8, lines 65-67 and Col. 9, lines 12-23), and therefore, the claim limitations are met.
16. In light of applicant’s amendments to Paragraph 19 of the specification, the corresponding objection to the specification set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn. The objection to Paragraph 22 of the specification has been maintained since the response filed April 6, 2026 did not include an amendment to Paragraph 22 as remarked by applicant in the remarks filed on April 6, 2026.
17. In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims, the claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Conclusion
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 June 10, 2026