DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment/reconsideration filed 12/9/2025, the amendment/reconsideration has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are moot in light of the new ground of rejections set forth below.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent REWASKAR et al. (US 2019/0146823). As to claim 1, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations of the independent claim 1 of the instant application are claimed in claim 9 of the patent, i.e., claim 9 of the patent is more specific. Thus the invention of claim 9 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claim 1 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claims 2-20 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 4, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 4 recites “the first customer network being a provider system separate from the second customer network” which does not find support in the originally filed application. The originally filed application discloses, such as in Figure 1, that the provider system is separate from customer networks, and that the VMs are mapped to one or more customer networks. Claims 12 and 20 are similarly rejected. All new matters shall be deleted from the claims.
10. Claims 4, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites “the first customer network being a provider system separate from the second customer network.” First of all, this limitation conflicts with the disclosure of the specification such as Figure 1 wherein all customer networks are separate from the provider system. Secondly, it is unclear how a provider can be a customer network. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any relationship. Claims 13 and 20 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by KORBAR et al (US 2009/0278620, submitted by IDS) in view of REWASKAR et al (US 20190146823 A1).
As to claim 1, KORBAR discloses a method for modifying a network connectivity of a virtual machine, the method comprising:
receiving an allocation request to connect the virtual machine to a second customer network, wherein a virtual network interface controller of the virtual machine is configured with first network configuration information of a first network distinct from the second customer network, the virtual machine is executing on the first network while the allocation request is received and the allocation request includes second network configuration information of the second customer network ([0069], “Compute manager 443 may also send a request to networking manager 445 to cause corresponding networking artifacts to move their association from the platform to the particular customer, as well as for networking artifacts to be modified and/or reconfigured and/or created. For example[ ... ] the customer may wish for the VM to have a particular virtual network”; [0066], there are available partially provisioned VMs in the VM pool managed by VM pool manager 442 [ ... ] partially provisioned VM is reconfigured to meet user-specific settings”; [0070], “a new customer IP address requested by the customer”.
See [0053], “The generic networking artifacts may include, for example, a placeholder virtual network, and a placeholder customer IP address. A VM is created/composed using the generic artifacts, using the particular combination of properties that are not reconfigured ( e.g., VM size, OS type, storage type, processor resources, memory resources, etc.), and the VM is booted;” and
[0060], “In some examples, networking service 445 will provide the VM with the MAC address and physical IP address of the (placeholder) virtual network as normal. In some examples, the customer IP address is an address usable by a customer but which is not actual routable in the internal network.”
Here, the placeholder virtual network wherein the VM was running in is equivalent to a first network, identified by the placeholder customer IP address while the reconfigured new virtual network with “a new customer IP address” is equivalent to a second customer network);
detecting a discovery request from the virtual machine triggered by receipt of the allocation request, wherein the virtual machine remains executing on the first network during detection of the discovery request ([0071], “networking agent in VM host 451 instructs an agent in the VM to retrigger DHCP”, wherein the VM remains executing is implied by [0071], “an agent in the VM to retrigger DHCP”. Also citation in rejection to the preceding limitation); and
updating, responsive to detecting the discovery request from the virtual machine, the virtual network interface controller of the virtual machine to replace the first network configuration information of the first network with the second network configuration information of the second customer network, wherein the virtual machine remains executing on the first network until the virtual network interface controller is updated and executes on the second customer network after the virtual network interface controller is updated ([0076], “The agent on the VM may then accept the user-specific settings associated with the reconfiguration requests, including user-specific networking settings, and then apply those user-specific settings, so that networking and possibly other aspects of the VM are reconfigured”, wherein the vm remains executing is implied by [0076], “The agent on the VM may then accept the user specific settings associated with the reconfiguration requests”’; [0069], “Networking manager 445 may also configure any network rules requested by the customer, including rules for the network interface controller (NIC) and the media control access (MAC) address”.
Also see citation in rejection to the preceding limitations, e.g., [0053], “The generic networking artifacts may include, for example, a placeholder virtual network, and a placeholder customer IP address. A VM is created/composed using the generic artifacts,…, and the VM is booted;” and
[0060], “In some examples, networking service 445 will provide the VM with the MAC address and physical IP address of the (placeholder) virtual network as normal. In some examples, the customer IP address is an address usable by a customer”).
However, KORBAR does not expressly disclose that the first network is a first customer network. REWASKAR discloses a concept for a first network to be a first customer network (abstract, “The fully provisioned VM is reconfigured based on a customer request and this reconfiguration includes changing the virtual network of the VM performed without rebooting the VM”; [0015], “A VM, including a virtual network change for a VM, is reconfigured without rebooting the VM in some examples. In some examples, a user may wish an existing VM already used to be the VM to be reconfigured with a different virtual network. In other examples, a partially configured VM may be reconfigured”; see also claims 8-9. It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific relationship between the first customer network and the second customer network, nor does the claim require a specific relationship between the customer using the first customer network and the customer using the second customer network. As a result, Examiner interprets as any relationship(s)).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine KORBAR with REWASKAR. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to enable a user to switch from a first virtual network to a second virtual network (REWASKAR, [0015], “A VM, including a virtual network change for a VM, is reconfigured without rebooting the VM in some examples. In some examples, a user may wish an existing VM already used to be the VM to be reconfigured with a different virtual network”).
As to claim 9, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 10, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the computing system of claim 9, further comprising an event generator executable by the one or more hardware processors and configured to issue an allocation change event responsive to receipt of the allocation request, wherein the virtual machine remains executing on the first customer network during issuance of the allocation change event, the discovery request is detected responsive to issuing the allocation change event (KORBAR. [0071], “networking agent in VM host 451 instructs an agent in the VM to retrigger DHCP”, wherein the instruction is equivalent to issuance of the allocation change event, and wherein the VM remains executing is implied by [0071], “an agent in the VM to retrigger DHCP”; REWASKAR, [0015] and claim 1).
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 10,
As to claim 2, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 1, the first network configuration information including first internet protocol address information of the first customer network, and the second network configuration information including second internet protocol address information of the customer network, wherein updating the virtual network interface controller includes replacing the first internet protocol address information with the second internet protocol address information (KORBAR, [0069], “networking artifacts to be modified and/or reconfigured and/or created… configure any network rules requested by the customer, including rules for the network interface controller and the media control access (MAC address)”; [0070], “Networking manager 445 may create a new virtual network for the VM during reconfiguration, and remap to a new customer IP address requested by the customer, while reusing both the MAC address and the physical IP address of the VM prior to reconfiguration”; REWASKAR, abstract, [0015]; claim 1).
As to clam 11 see similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 18, see similar rejections to claims 10 and 2.
As to claim 3, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the virtual machine ceases to communicate with the first customer network and communicates with the second customer network responsive to replacing the first internet protocol address information of the virtual network interface controller with the second internet protocol address information (KORBAR, [0069]-[0070]; REWASKAR, abstract; claim 1; [0015]).
As to clam 12 see similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 19, see similar rejections to claims 10 and 3.
As to claim 4, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 1, the first network configuration information including first internet protocol address information of the first customer network, the first customer network being a provider system separate from the second customer network (see 112 rejection and Examiner’s interpretation therein), the second network configuration information including second internet protocol address information, the allocation request being received from the provider system, wherein updating the virtual network interface controller includes replacing the first internet protocol address information with the second internet protocol address information (KORBAR, [0069], “networking artifacts to be modified and/or reconfigured and/or created… configure any network rules requested by the customer, including rules for the network interface controller and the media control access (MAC address)”; [0070], “Networking manager 445 may create a new virtual network for the VM during reconfiguration, and remap to a new customer IP address requested by the customer, while reusing both the MAC address and the physical IP address of the VM prior to reconfiguration”, wherein the system receiving the customer’s input and causing the network manager to create the new virtual network is a provider system).
As to clam 13, see similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 20, see similar rejections to claims 10 and 4.
As to claim 5, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
at a time before receiving the allocation request, configuring the virtual machine to receive events indicating changes in the first network configuration information (KORBAR, [0071], “networking agent in VM host 451 instructs an agent in the VM to retrigger DHCP”, wherein being configured to receive such instruction is implied).
As to clam 14, see similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 6, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual machine is supported by the virtual network interface controller (KORBAR, [0069], “VM… virtual network… Networking manager 445 may also configure any network rules requested by the customer, including rules for the network interface controller (NIC)”) and a supplementary virtual network interface controller, the supplementary virtual network interface controller including supplementary network configuration information of a network of a provider system (KORBAR, [0070], “Networking manager 445 may create a new virtual network for the VM during reconfiguration, and remap to a new customer IP address requested by the customer”).
As to claim 7, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 1, the discovery request comprising a dynamic host configuration protocol request (KORBAR, [0071], “networking agent in VM host 451 instructs an agent in the VM to retrigger DHCP”).
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 7.
As to claim 8, KORBAR-REWASKAR discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
issuing an allocation change event responsive to receipt of the allocation request, wherein the virtual machine remains executing on the first customer network during issuance of the allocation change event, the discovery request is detected responsive to issuing the allocation change event (see similar rejection to claim 10).
As to claim 15, see similar rejection to claim 8.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA FAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458