DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,050,638.
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,050,638
Claim 1
A multimedia object playing method, comprising: displaying a first interface; and
playing a first playing object on the first interface, wherein the first playing object is a segment of a first multimedia object, the first interface comprises hint information, and the hint information is information noting that the first playing object is being played.
Claim 1
A multimedia playing method, comprising: displaying a first interface; and
playing a segment of a first playing object on the first interface, wherein the first interface comprises prompt information, and the prompt information is used to prompt that the segment of the first playing object is being played, wherein the first interface further comprises a first key, and the method further comprises: displaying a second interface in response to a first triggering operation acting on the first key; and playing a second playing object on the second interface, wherein the second playing object is capable of being completely played, wherein the first interface and the second interface are interfaces of different players.
Claims 2-20
Claims 1-17
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,050,638 contains every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and thus anticipated the claims of the instant application. Claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The specification merely list a number of possible computer readable storage medium, i.e. an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer disk, a hard disk, a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read only memory (EPROM or flash memory), an optical fiber, a portable compact disc read only memory (CD-ROM), an optical storage device, a magnetic storage device, or any suitable combination of the foregoing. Thus, the specification fails to provide a clear definition for a a computer readable storage medium. Given the broadest interpretation of a computer readable storage medium, an open-ended description of the a computer readable storage medium does not EXECLUDE non-statutory subject matter, i.e. signals/transmission medium, from the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Varshney et al. (“Varshney”, Pub. No. 2021/0004131).
Per claim 1, Varshney teaches a multimedia object playing method, comprising: displaying a first interface (fig. 6; [0083] …FIG. 6 illustrates an example 600 video player user interface according to some aspects of the present disclosure. The video player user interface has a region 602 where playback of a currently selected video segment is displayed.); and
playing a first playing object on the first interface, wherein the first playing object is a segment of a first multimedia object, the first interface comprises hint information, and the hint information is information noting that the first playing object is being played (figs. 6, 9 and 10; [0025]… Embodiments of the present disclosure include video player user interfaces that allow a user to effectively interact with a highlight video comprising video segments drawn from one or more full length videos. [0083]…FIG. 6 illustrates an example 600 video player user interface according to some aspects of the present disclosure. The video player user interface has a region 602 where playback of a currently selected video segment is displayed. [0084]… The relative segment length can be determined by considering the total play time (e.g., hours, minutes, seconds) of all the segments compared to the play time of the video segment whose corresponding segment length is to be determined. As the player progresses in playing a particular video segment, the corresponding segment section can be shaded, a bar placed, and/or other indicators can be used to show the playback progress. As a representative example, the segment section 604 shows darker shading to indicate playback progress. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”).)
Per claim 2, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first interface further comprises a first control, and the method further comprises: displaying a second interface in response to a first triggering operation acting on the first control and playing a second playing object on the second interface, wherein the second playing object is an intact second multimedia object (figs. 6, 9-10; [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. In this particular implementation of the control 610, the control shows that the full underlying video is accessed on the video service “VServ” and has a run time of 3:32:19. Other information or ways of displaying the information can be used. Selection of the control 610 will initiate playback of the full underlying video as discussed below. [0117],, FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment.)
Per claim 3, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first playing object is an essence portion of the first multimedia object ([0088]… The highlight video of FIG. 6 presents a highlight of one or more videos that depict playing of video games. Thus, the metadata attributes in this context can be events that people may be interested in seeing, such as kills 614, wins 616, and deaths 618. The metadata attributes that are displayed can be any metadata attributes that a user can utilize to select desired video segments and that represent events that occur in a video segment. Thus, if a user wishes to see only “wins,” the user could select the wins 616 control and the system will select only segments that include wins. [0111]…A user can hover over and/or select a segment 904. Upon receiving the command/gesture, a pop up window 906 can be displayed. A frame, live preview, and/or so forth can be displayed in the popup window 906 to give the user more information about the video segment associated with the display segment 904. In one embodiment, the frame and/or live preview can be drawn from the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. Thus, the frame and/or preview is drawn from the corresponding video segment from a location that corresponds to the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. As the user scrubs back and forth in the display segment 904, the video preview and/or frame displayed in window 906 can be changed. [0112]…If the user the selects the display segment 904, the video segment can begin playing. The start of the playback in some embodiments can be the location within the video segment that corresponds to the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. Accordingly, the user can selectively adjust a playback position, thus allowing an essence/highlight portion to be played.)
Per claim 4, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the essence portion of the first multimedia object is a refrain portion of the first multimedia object ([0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth. [0088]… The highlight video of FIG. 6 presents a highlight of one or more videos that depict playing of video games. Thus, the metadata attributes in this context can be events that people may be interested in seeing, such as kills 614, wins 616, and deaths 618. The metadata attributes that are displayed can be any metadata attributes that a user can utilize to select desired video segments and that represent events that occur in a video segment. Thus, if a user wishes to see only “wins,” the user could select the wins 616 control and the system will select only segments that include wins. [0111]…A user can hover over and/or select a segment 904. Upon receiving the command/gesture, a pop up window 906 can be displayed. A frame, live preview, and/or so forth can be displayed in the popup window 906 to give the user more information about the video segment associated with the display segment 904. In one embodiment, the frame and/or live preview can be drawn from the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. Thus, the frame and/or preview is drawn from the corresponding video segment from a location that corresponds to the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. As the user scrubs back and forth in the display segment 904, the video preview and/or frame displayed in window 906 can be changed. [0112]…If the user the selects the display segment 904, the video segment can begin playing. The start of the playback in some embodiments can be the location within the video segment that corresponds to the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. Accordingly, the user can selectively adjust a playback position, thus allowing an essence/highlight portion to be played. Accordingly, the user can play, stop, seeking, fast forward, rewind and/or skip a segment (i.e. prevent certain portion to be played)
Per claim 5, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first interface further comprises a progress bar corresponding to the first multimedia object, and a position where the first playing object is located in the first multimedia object and a time progress of playing are displayed on the progress bar ([0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth. [0085] The segment sections 604, 606, 608 are shown in a manner where the relative length indicates the relevant length of the corresponding segment. Thus, the video segment corresponding to segment section 604 is significantly longer than the video segment corresponding to segment section 608. The relative segment length can be determined by considering the total play time (e.g., hours, minutes, seconds) of all the segments compared to the play time of the video segment whose corresponding segment length is to be determined. As the player progresses in playing a particular video segment, the corresponding segment section can be shaded, a bar placed, and/or other indicators can be used to show the playback progress. As a representative example, the segment section 604 shows darker shading to indicate playback progress.).
Per claim 6, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first interface and the second interface are different interfaces (fig. 10, interfaces 1002 and 1014; [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]… since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video.)
Per claim 11, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a third interface is provided by an electronic device, wherein the third interface comprises a first playing object list, and the displaying the first interface comprises: displaying the first interface in response to a fourth triggering operation acting on any first playing object in the first playing object list ([0085] The segment sections 604, 606, 608 are shown in a manner where the relative length indicates the relevant length of the corresponding segment. Thus, the video segment corresponding to segment section 604 is significantly longer than the video segment corresponding to segment section 608. The relative segment length can be determined by considering the total play time (e.g., hours, minutes, seconds) of all the segments compared to the play time of the video segment whose corresponding segment length is to be determined. As the player progresses in playing a particular video segment, the corresponding segment section can be shaded, a bar placed, and/or other indicators can be used to show the playback progress. As a representative example, the segment section 604 shows darker shading to indicate playback progress. [0112]… If the user the selects the display segment 904, the video segment can begin playing. The start of the playback in some embodiments can be the location within the video segment that corresponds to the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. in other embodiments, playback can begin at the start of the video segment).
Per claim 12, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: switching the first playing object currently played on the first interface to a next first playing object in response to a fifth triggering operation acting on the first interface ([0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth [0056]…the configurator can monitor the playback and when playback reaches the segment reaches the end point, the configurator 210 can signal that playback should stop and configure the player to play the next segment in the segment playlist. If the players 208 have the capability, the configurator 210 can configure multiple segments at once. ([0085] The segment sections 604, 606, 608 are shown in a manner where the relative length indicates the relevant length of the corresponding segment. Thus, the video segment corresponding to segment section 604 is significantly longer than the video segment corresponding to segment section 608. The relative segment length can be determined by considering the total play time (e.g., hours, minutes, seconds) of all the segments compared to the play time of the video segment whose corresponding segment length is to be determined. As the player progresses in playing a particular video segment, the corresponding segment section can be shaded, a bar placed, and/or other indicators can be used to show the playback progress. As a representative example, the segment section 604 shows darker shading to indicate playback progress. [0112]… If the user the selects the display segment 904, the video segment can begin playing. The start of the playback in some embodiments can be the location within the video segment that corresponds to the relative location of the pointer within the display segment 904. in other embodiments, playback can begin at the start of the video segment).
Per claim 13, Varshney The method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying a fourth interface in response to a sixth triggering operation acting on the hint information, wherein the fourth interface comprises a member introduction area and/or a membership-opening prompt control ([0023]… video services allow users or other content creators to post links to other user platforms such as user blogs, websites, and other video content. Thus, video services often drive traffic to other websites along with presenting video content itself. [0031]… In a sixth aspect, the user interface comprises a sharing control that allows a highlight definition, a link to the highlight video, and/or an identifier to be shared with other users so they can view and interact with the highlight video. [0086]… the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0096]… the metadata can comprise the metadata. properties that are part of the user interface (e.g., 614, 616, 618) that have been selected by the user. Other metadata properties can also be used, for example draw highlights from all the games that Manchester United played as part of the 2017 season, all videos whose content creator was Blaster871 and that have a creation date in June of 2019 ).
Per claim 16, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first interface further comprises one or more of a collecting control, a comment control, a sharing control, a like control, and a subtitle display area ( [0031]… In a sixth aspect, the user interface comprises a sharing control that allows a highlight definition, a link to the highlight video, and/or an identifier to be shared with other users so they can view and interact with the highlight video. [0086]… the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-3 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varshney et al. (“Varshney”, Pub. No. 2021/0004131), Wang et al. (“Wang”, Pub. No. US 2022/0070247), and Durante et al. (“Durante”, 2012/0117042).
Per claim 7, Varshney teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first interface further comprises a second control and in response to a second triggering operation acting on the second control stopping playing the first playing object (figs. 6, 9-10; [0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. [0094]…Some controls can operate the same as is known (such as play, pause, stop, and so forth) and some controls can operate differently [0114]… When a user hovers over video control 912, information 914 about the underlying full length video can be displayed. Thus, a hover may display the video service where the video can be found (e.g., ESPN), the length of the full length video (e.g., 3:32:19), and what happens if the user clicks or otherwise activates the control 912 (e.g., the full video will begin to play). [0117], FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]…However, since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video).
Varshney does not specifically teach the method further comprises: in response to a second triggering operation acting on the second control, displaying the second control in a first preset style.
However, Wang and Durante teaches in response to a second triggering operation acting on the second control, displaying the second control in a first preset style (Wang, [0259] and [0358]. fig. 6C shows player control 102 and 2011 and fig.10B player controls 3011 and 3012. The user can perform operation acting on key 2011 and 3011 by performing action on player control 2011 and 3011 to change from playing state to pause sate or not playing state/play stopped state as shown in Figs. 6C and 6F and 10B2-10B-3 ; Durante, figs. 2-4; [0034]-[0036]; [0040]; [0041]; which show current playing media item can be displaying in different manner, such as animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Wang and Durante in the invention of Varshney in order to provide a playback user interface including play/pause state icons, and displaying of the playback user interface utilizing animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”. Doing so would enhance the playback user interface by proving various visual manners/indications during playback of one or more multimedia items based on user’s interactions, commands and/or controls.
Per claim 8, the modified Varshney teaches he method according to claim 7, further comprising: displaying the first control in a second preset style in response to the second triggering operation acting on the second control (Varshney, figs. 6, 9-10; [0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0094]…Some controls can operate the same as is known (such as play, pause, stop, and so forth) and some controls can operate differently [0114]… When a user hovers over video control 912, information 914 about the underlying full length video can be displayed. Thus, a hover may display the video service where the video can be found (e.g., ESPN), the length of the full length video (e.g., 3:32:19), and what happens if the user clicks or otherwise activates the control 912 (e.g., the full video will begin to play). [0117], FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]…However, since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video). Wang, [0259] and [0358]. fig. 6C shows player control 102 and 2011 and fig.10B player controls 3011 and 3012. The user can perform operation acting on key 2011 and 3011 by performing action on player control 2011 and 3011 to change from playing state to pause sate or not playing state/play stopped state as shown in Figd. 6C and 6F and 10B2-10B-3 ; Durante, figs. 2-4; [0034]-[0036]; which show current playing media tiem can be displaying in different manner, such as animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”.) See claim 7 for motivation.
Per claim 9, the modified Varshney The method according to claim 7, further comprising: in response to a third triggering operation acting on the second control displayed in the first preset style, displaying the second control in a third preset style, and continuing to play or re-playing the first playing object (Varshney, figs. 6, 9-10; [0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0094]…Some controls can operate the same as is known (such as play, pause, stop, and so forth) and some controls can operate differently [0114]… When a user hovers over video control 912, information 914 about the underlying full length video can be displayed. Thus, a hover may display the video service where the video can be found (e.g., ESPN), the length of the full length video (e.g., 3:32:19), and what happens if the user clicks or otherwise activates the control 912 (e.g., the full video will begin to play). [0117], FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]…However, since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video). Wang, [0259] and [0358]. fig. 6C shows player control 102 and 2011 and fig.10B player controls 3011 and 3012. The user can perform operation acting on key 2011 and 3011 by performing action on player control 2011 and 3011 to change from playing state to pause sate or not playing state/play stopped state as shown in figs. 6C and 6F and 10B2-10B-3 ; Durante, figs. 2-4; [0034]-[0036]; which show current playing media item can be displaying in different manner, such as animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”.) See claim 7 for motivation.
Per claim 10, the modified Varshney teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising: displaying the first control in a fourth preset style in response to a third triggering operation acting on the second control displayed in the first preset style (Varshney, figs. 6, 9-10; [0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0094]…Some controls can operate the same as is known (such as play, pause, stop, and so forth) and some controls can operate differently [0114]… When a user hovers over video control 912, information 914 about the underlying full length video can be displayed. Thus, a hover may display the video service where the video can be found (e.g., ESPN), the length of the full length video (e.g., 3:32:19), and what happens if the user clicks or otherwise activates the control 912 (e.g., the full video will begin to play). [0117], FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]…However, since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video). Wang, [0259] and [0358]. fig. 6C shows player control 102 and 2011 and fig.10B player controls 3011 and 3012. The user can perform operation acting on key 2011 and 3011 by performing action on player control 2011 and 3011 to change from playing state to pause sate or not playing state/play stopped state as shown in Figd. 6C and 6F and 10B2-10B-3 ; Durante, figs. 2-4; [0034]-[0036]; which show current playing media tiem can be displaying in different manner, such as animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”.) See claim 7 for motivation.
Per claim 14, the modified Varshney teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first preset style comprises one or more of a shrinking display of the second control, displaying the second control in gray scale, and displaying a preset pause prompt icon on the second control (Varshey, figs. 6, 9-10; [0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0094]…Some controls can operate the same as is known (such as play, pause, stop, and so forth) and some controls can operate differently [0114]… When a user hovers over video control 912, information 914 about the underlying full length video can be displayed. Thus, a hover may display the video service where the video can be found (e.g., ESPN), the length of the full length video (e.g., 3:32:19), and what happens if the user clicks or otherwise activates the control 912 (e.g., the full video will begin to play). [0117], FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]…However, since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video). Wang, [0259] and [0358]. fig. 6C shows player control 102 and 2011 and fig.10B player controls 3011 and 3012. The user can perform operation acting on key 2011 and 3011 by performing action on player control 2011 and 3011 to change from playing state to pause sate or not playing state/play stopped state as shown in figs. 6C and 6F and 10B2-10B-3 ; Durante, figs. 2-4; [0034]-[0036]; which show current playing media item can be displaying in different manner, such as animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”.) See claim 7 for motivation.
Per claim 15, the modified Varshney teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the second preset style comprises one or more of an amplifying display of the first control, highlighting the first control, displaying a preset random playing prompt text on the first control, and displaying a preset random playing prompt icon on the first control (Varshey, figs. 6, 9-10; [0032]… the user interface comprises controls to allow a user to specify the location in the highlight video that should be viewed such as play, stop, seeking to a particular location in a video segment, fast forward, rewind, and so forth, and/or adjust other aspects of the delivery such as playback volume, playback location, size of the video viewing area, resolution of the video segments, and so forth [0092]… the user can activate control 610 to pause playback of the current segment and initiate playback of the full underlying video (e.g., the video from which the current segment is taken). This process is discussed in greater detail below. [0086]… User interfaces according to some embodiments of the present disclosure can also use dynamic captioning to convey information about the highlight videos and/or a currently playing (or currently selected) video segment. Thus, the embodiment of FIG. 6 includes dynamic captioning 612. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning is shown as text, but icons, graphics, and/or any other form can be used as dynamic captioning. In this particular example, the dynamic captioning includes the title of the video from which the currently playing segment is from (e.g., “Flying Through”), the person posting the video or the content creator “Aurorax”) and information about the events that may be of interest in the full length video (e.g., the underling video contains “12 Games,” “2 Wins,” “34 Kills,” and “10 Deaths”). [0094]…Some controls can operate the same as is known (such as play, pause, stop, and so forth) and some controls can operate differently [0114]… When a user hovers over video control 912, information 914 about the underlying full length video can be displayed. Thus, a hover may display the video service where the video can be found (e.g., ESPN), the length of the full length video (e.g., 3:32:19), and what happens if the user clicks or otherwise activates the control 912 (e.g., the full video will begin to play). [0117], FIG. 10 illustrates an example video player user interface 1000 for switching between segment play and full video play according to some aspects of the present disclosure. As discussed herein a highlight video user interface can comprise one or more mechanisms for initiating playback of the underlying full length video. Thus, the user can play a video segment from the underlying full length video, for example by selecting the video segment, pressing the playback control (e.g., 620), and so forth. The user can also initiate playback of the underlying full length video by activating a different control, such as double clicking a segment (e.g., segment 904) and/or activating a control that initiates playback of the underlying full length video for a selected video segment (e.g., 912, 610). [0118]… Thus, in the highlight video user interface 1002, the use can double click on segment 1004. click on control 1010 and/or 1008, and so forth. Dynamic captioning for the underling full length video for a segment of the highlight video 1012 can also be selected in some embodiments to initiate playback of the underlying full length video associated with a video segment. [0122]…However, since playback of the full length video was initiated from the highlight video, the user interface 1014 can comprise a control 1016 that when activated returns to the highlight video and its user interface 1002. In this way, playback of the full length video can be paused and/or terminated, and the user returned to the highlight video at the same location as when the user initiated playback of the full length video). Wang, [0259] and [0358]. fig. 6C shows player control 102 and 2011 and fig.10B player controls 3011 and 3012. The user can perform operation acting on key 2011 and 3011 by performing action on player control 2011 and 3011 to change from playing state to pause sate or not playing state/play stopped state as shown in figs. 6C and 6F and 10B2-10B-3 ; Durante, figs. 2-4; [0034]-[0036]; which show current playing media item can be displaying in different manner, such as animations, using different fonts, or colors, or displaying a “now playing icon”.) See claim 7 for motivation.
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179