DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on June 01, 2026.
Status of claims within the present application:
Claims 1 – 6 are pending.
Response to Arguments
With regards to claims 1 – 6 that were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180063197 A1to Pope et al., (hereinafter, “Pope”) in view of US 20210194894 A1 to Anderson et al., (hereinafter, “Anderson”), applicant’s remarks, filed on April 03, 2026, have been considered, but are not persuasive. Therefore, applicant is directed to the response below:
With respect to independent claims 1, 3, and 5, Applicant argued the prior art does not teach "copies a packet and filters the copied packet; it does not select between two telemetry protection modes." Examiner noted that Anderson teaches flows transition between a "capturing" state and a "done" state—a binary mode that determines whether packets are copied for telemetry [Para. 71]. Anderson teaches that packets not matching flow entries undergo a default action (no copy) [Para. 56]. Anderson further teaches a Boolean filter that "controls whether a particular TCP packet is included in telemetry data." [Para. 84 – 86]. These constitute two telemetry modes: one enabling copying and one preventing it. Applicant further argued no "destination-based" mode determination is taught. Examiner noted that Anderson explicitly teaches matching on "specific IP addresses" for telemetry capture decisions [Para. 64]. Anderson defines flows by 5-tuple including destination address [Para. 70]. Pope teaches the NIC monitors "to where" applications communicate [Para. 54]. Pope teaches parsing L3/L4 headers (containing destination information) for classification. The combination teaches destination-based telemetry decisions at a NIC [Para. 93]. Applicant also argued that KSR motivation is insufficient. Examiner noted that the motivation is not merely size reduction and Anderson teaches privacy-driven telemetry decisions [Para. 67 – 68]. Pope teaches destination-specific policy [Para. 47]. A person of ordinary skill in the art in a multi-tenant environment (as recited in the claim preamble) would implement destination-based mode selection to enforce per-tenant privacy policies. Applicant argued Anderson's operation occurs at a switch, not a NIC. Examiner noted that Pope teaches "the rules engine may be provided by a switch." [Para. 171]. Pope teaches rules engines in NICs performing the same type of classification and action execution [Para. 87 – 88]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the functional capabilities taught for Anderson's switch can be implemented in Pope's NIC-based rules engine.
Therefore, the combination of Pope and Anderson teaches the claimed invention as currently recited.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 2, 6 – 16, and 18 – 20 of co-pending Application No. 17/558,966 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both used a network interface card to process telemetry packet data payload and determine a telemetry protection mode which is based on the destination of the packet.
18/756,763
17/558,966
1. An apparatus for multi-tenant environment, the apparatus comprising: a network interface card (NIC), including packet processing circuitry to determine whether the NIC is to operate according to a first telemetry protection mode to prevent copying of packet data payloads for telemetry or a second telemetry protection mode to enable copying of packet payloads for telemetry, wherein the first telemetry protection mode or the second telemetry protection mode is determined based on a destination associated with a packet, and wherein the NIC comprises a data processing unit (DPU)-based NIC.
1. An apparatus comprising: a network interface card (NIC), including packet processing circuitry to receive a packet from a tenant via a network, process the packet to examine a message indicating whether one or more network connections associated with the tenant is to operate as a confidential connection and enable the NIC to operate according to a first telemetry protection mode to prevent duplication and mirroring of telemetry packet data payloads upon determining that the message indicates that the one or more network connections are to operate as the confidential connection, wherein a telemetry protection mode including the first telemetry protection mode or a second telemetry protection mode is determined based on a destination of the packet, wherein the packet processing circuitry to generate a telemetry packet including a replacement payload upon determining that the packet is associated with the first telemetry protection mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180063197 A1to Pope et al., (hereinafter, “Pope”) in view of US 20210194894 A1 to Anderson et al., (hereinafter, “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 1, Pope teaches an apparatus for multi-tenant environment, the apparatus comprising: a network interface card (NIC), [Pope, para. 50 discloses an arrangement where a data processor 2 such as a server is configured to communicate with a network 6 via a network interface device 4, sometimes referred to a NIC. A network interface device could be provided in any suitable form, including as a peripheral device or integrated with the hardware of a host data processing device. A data processor could be any kind of computer system, including a server, personal computer, or a bespoke processing unit. A network interface device as described herein provides an interface to a network for use by its host data processing device. In this document, reference is made to a security providing NIC. It should be appreciated that this security providing NIC may be any suitable network interfacing device.] including packet processing circuitry to determine wherein the first telemetry protection mode or the second telemetry protection mode is determined based on a destination associated with a packet, [Pope, para. 56 discloses The NIC may provide a control point. In some embodiments, by establishing an overlay network which enables distributed control of the NIC functions, a layer of network management can be provided which may be cryptographically secure and/or where control can be restricted to a small set of authorized operators. Para. 58 – 63 discloses the NIC may provide one or more of the following: monitoring and/or securing of every network packet; provide a protected and/or tamper resistant execution domain; isolate and/or identify compromised servers; protect servers and/or data from network attack; and protect organizations from malicious operators. Para. 66 discloses the rule engine may be provided in one trusted domain and the controller may be provided in a different trusted domain. The communication between the rule engine and controller is secure, using for example encryption.] and wherein the NIC comprises a data processing unit (DPU)-based NIC [Pope, para. 50 discloses a data processor 2 such as a server is configured to communicate with a network 6 via a network interface device 4, sometimes referred to a NIC. A network interface device could be provided in any suitable form, including as a peripheral device or integrated with the hardware of a host data processing device. A data processor could be any kind of computer system, including a server, personal computer, or a bespoke processing unit. A network interface device as described herein provides an interface to a network for use by its host data processing device.], but Pope does not teach whether the NIC is to operate according to a first telemetry protection mode to prevent copying of packet data payloads for telemetry or a second telemetry protection mode to enable copying of packet payloads for telemetry, wherein the packet includes a telemetry packet for telemetry monitoring.
However, Anderson does teach whether the NIC is to operate according to a first telemetry protection mode to prevent copying of packet data payloads for telemetry or a second telemetry protection mode to enable copying of packet payloads for telemetry. [Anderson, para. 49 discloses a switch in a software-defined network receives a packet sent by an endpoint device via the SDN. The switch makes a copy of the packet based on one or more header fields of the packet matching one or more flow table entries of the switch. The switch forms telemetry data for reporting to a traffic analysis service by applying a metadata filter to the copy of the packet. The metadata filter prevents at least a portion of the copy of the packet from inclusion in the telemetry data. The switch sends the formed telemetry data to the traffic analysis service. Para. 63 discloses switch 402 may create a packet copy 604a for further processing by telemetry capture process 249. With respect to the original packet 604, another entry in flow table 412 may cause switch 402 to process packet 604 as normal. For example, as shown, switch 402 may send packet 604 on to port 602a for forwarding towards the intended destination of packet 604.], wherein the packet includes a telemetry packet for telemetry monitoring. [Anderson, para. 32 discloses traffic analysis process 248 may execute one or more machine learning-based classifiers to classify encrypted traffic in the network (and its originating application) for any number of purposes. In one embodiment, traffic analysis process 248 may assess captured telemetry data (e.g., captured by telemetry capture process 249) regarding one or more traffic flows, to determine whether a given traffic flow or set of flows are associated with malware in the network, such as a particular family of malware applications. Para. 41 discloses telemetry exporter 306 may perform deep packet inspection (DPI) on one or more of the packets of traffic flow 308, to assess the contents of the packet.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pope’s NIC to incorporate Anderson’s selective telemetry capture mechanism. Pope’s NIC already functions as a security control point that monitors every network packet, parses header information including destination, and determines per-flow actions through its rule engine [Pope, para.54, 56, 93 – 95]. Anderson teaches selectively determining whether packets are copied for telemetry based on packet header characteristics [Anderson, para. 49, 62 – 64], where telemetry is collected in a “selective, intelligent, and context-aware manner” [Anderson, para. 48]. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings because: (1) in Pope’s multi-tenant environment, different destinations have different privacy requirements, and Anderson explicitly recognizes that “user privacy is a concern” in telemetry capture decisions and that sensitive information should be excluded [Anderson, para. 67–68]; (2) selective telemetry capture greatly reduces resource consumption [Anderson, para. 67], which benefits Pope’s NIC where processing resources are more constrained [Pope, para. 87]; and (3) Pope’s NIC already performs destination-aware, per-flow action determination [Pope, para. 54, 93 – 95], making the addition of Anderson’s selective telemetry behavior a predictable application of a known technique to a known device. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416; MPEP §2143(I)(A).
As per claim 2, modified Pope teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the NIC comprises a smart NIC. [Pope, para. 51 discloses the security providing NIC while logically a component of a server may can be considered to be a physically separate and distinct piece of hardware and logically distinct network entity. Para. 53 discloses The NIC may only be accessed through highly crypto-secure interfaces. The NIC may be constructed to be tamper resistant. The NIC may be regarded as secure gatekeeper between the server and the network, protecting both the network from malicious or faulty servers and the server from the network.]
Regarding claims 3 – 4, they recite features similar to features within claims 1 – 2, they are rejected in a similar manner.
Regarding claims 5 – 6, they recite features similar to features within claims 1 – 2, they are rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
Pertinent prior art made of record however not relied upon:
US 10574702 B1 to Rickerd et al.
“A system assesses a security configuration proposed for production on a target computer system. The system may receive the security configuration proposed for production and obtain telemetry metrics generated based on security configurations implemented on one or more computer systems of the service provider. The system may assess a security configuration proposed for deployment based on telemetry metrics and generate status information based on the assessment. An authorization recommendation may be provided based whether the status information indicates that the proposed security configuration satisfies one or more conditions.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.P./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408