DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of species A1 and B1 (claims 1-12 and 15-25) in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are sufficiently related that search and examination of both species could be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because claims 13 and 14 are directed to multiple species. Therefore, search and examination of both species could not be carried out by the PTO without posing an undue burden on the Examiner. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2012/0243108).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses a photography optical lens assembly comprising six lens elements (210-260), the six lens elements being, in order from an object side to an image side along an optical path, a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element and a sixth lens element, and each of the six lens elements having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and an image-side surface facing toward the image side;
wherein the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave in a paraxial region thereof, the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof, the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave in a paraxial region thereof, and the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof and has at least one critical point in an off-axis region thereof (L4-L6; see at least paragraph 0086);
wherein a fourth smallest value among Abbe numbers of all lens elements of the photography optical lens assembly is VS4, a central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, a central thickness of the second lens element is CT2, an axial distance between the first lens element and the second lens element is T12, an axial distance between the second lens element and the third lens element is T23, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is R8, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, and the following conditions are satisfied:
1.50 < CT1/CT2 < 7.00 (0.444 / 0.25 = 1.76);
0.00 < T23/T12 < 0.72 (0.09 / 0.136 = 0.662); and
-4.80 < R8/R12 < -0.80 (-1.192 / 1.026 = -1.162).
Tsai et al. discloses the claimed invention except for 10.0 < VS4 < 46.0. However, Tsai et al. discloses VS4 = 55.8, which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 10.0 < VS4 < 46.0, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity. Claim 1 is therefore unpatentable.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein the object-side surface of the first lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof (L1), the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is convex in a paraxial region thereof (L4), the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave in a paraxial region thereof (L6), and there is an air gap in a paraxial region between each of all adjacent lens elements of the photography optical lens assembly (figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a curvature radius of the object-side surface of the first lens element is R1, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the first lens element is R2, an f-number of the photography optical lens assembly is Fno, and the following conditions are satisfied: -0.30 < R1/R2 < 2.00; and 1.20 < Fno < 2.50. However, Tsai et al. discloses R1 / R2 = 0.12 and Fno = 2.80 (), which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have -0.30 < R1/R2 < 2.00; and 1.20 < Fno < 2.50, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein the axial distance between the first lens element and the second lens element is T12, the axial distance between the second lens element and the third lens element is T23, an axial distance between the third lens element and the fourth lens element is T34, an Abbe number of the sixth lens element is V6, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.00 < T23/(T12+T34) < 0.20 (0.090 / (0.136 + 0.633) = 0.117; table 2-3). Tsai et al. is silent regarding 10.0 <V6<48.0. However, Tsai et al. discloses V6 = 55.8, which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have -0.30 < R1/R2 < 2.00; and 1.20 < Fno < 2.50, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein a central thickness of the fifth lens element is CT5, a central thickness of the sixth lens element is CT6, an axial distance between the image-side surface of the sixth lens element and an image surface is BL, an axial distance between the object-side surface of the first lens element and the image surface is TL, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.30 < CT5/CT6 < 1.50 (0.344 / 0.491 = 0.7; table 2-3); and 0.05 < BL/TL < 0.35 (BFT / TTL = 0.24 (table 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein an axial distance between the third lens element and the fourth lens element is T34, an axial distance between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element is T56, the central thickness of the second lens element is CT2, and the following condition is satisfied: 2.00 < (T34+T56)/CT2 < 8.00 ((0.633 = 0.329) / 0.25 = 3.848; table 2-1).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is R10, a curvature radius of the object- side surface of the sixth lens element is R11, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.03 < R11/R10< 1.43 (1.189 / 1.664 = 0.715; table 2-1).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding an aperture stop located at an object side of the second lens element; wherein an axial distance between the object-side surface of the first lens element and an image surface is TL, a focal length of the photography optical lens assembly is f, and the following condition is satisfied: 1.00 < TL/f < 1.48. However, Tsai et al. discloses TL / f = 0.863 (BFL = 0.8, TTL = 0.8 / 0.24 = 3.333, therefore TTL / f = 3.333 / 3.86 = 0.863; tables 2-1 and 2-3), which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1.00 < TL/f < 1.48, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein an Abbe number of the second lens element is V2, an Abbe number of the sixth lens element is V6, a composite focal length of the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element is f45, a composite focal length of the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element is f56, and the following conditions are satisfied: 1.10 < V6/V2 < 3.80 (V6 / V2 = 55.8 / 23.8 2.3445; table 1); and -18.00 < f45/f56 < 1.30; f45/f56 = 2.679 / 3.5112 = 0.753; calculations from table 2-1).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein an axial distance between the object-side surface of the first lens element and an image surface is TL, a maximum image height of the photography optical lens assembly is ImgH, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.80 < TL/ImgH < 1.80 (1.66; table 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding wherein a displacement in parallel with an optical axis from an axial vertex on the object-side surface of the fifth lens element to a maximum effective radius position on the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is SAG5R1, a maximum effective radius of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is Y5R1, and the following condition is satisfied: -0.30 < SAG5R1/Y5R1 < 0.10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.30 < SAG5R1/Y5R1 < 0.10, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding wherein a distance in parallel with an optical axis between a maximum effective radius position of the object-side surface of the second lens element and a maximum effective radius position of the image-side surface of the second lens element is ET2, a distance in parallel with the optical axis between a maximum effective radius position of the object-side surface of the third lens element and a maximum effective radius position of the image-side surface of the third lens element is ET3, a maximum effective radius of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is Y5R2, a maximum effective radius of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is Y6R1, and the following conditions are satisfied: 1.00 < ET2/ET3 < 2.00; and 1.00 < Y6R1/Y5R2 < 1.30. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1.00 < ET2/ET3 < 2.00; and 1.00 < Y6R1/Y5R2 < 1.30, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 15, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses a photography optical lens assembly comprising six lens elements (210-260), the six lens elements being, in order from an object side to an image side along an optical path, a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element and a sixth lens element, and each of the six lens elements having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and an image-side surface facing toward the image side;
wherein the first lens element has positive refractive power (see at least paragraph 0086), the image-side surface of the fifth lens element (250) is concave in a paraxial region thereof and has at least one critical point in an off-axis region thereof, and the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (260) is convex in a paraxial region thereof and has at least one critical point in an off-axis region thereof;
wherein a fourth smallest value among Abbe numbers of all lens elements of the photography optical lens assembly is VS4, a central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, a central thickness of the second lens element is CT2, an axial distance between the second lens element and the third lens element is T23, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is R8, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, a focal length of the photography optical lens:
1.50 < CT1/CT2 < 7.00 (0.444 / 0.25 = 1.76);
0.00 ≤ 10 x T23/CT1 < 3.00 (10 x 0.090 / 0.444 = 2.227 (table 2-1); and
0.01 <|R8|/f+|R12|/f < 3.00 (1.192 / 3.8 + 1.0257 / 3.8 = 0.5055; table 1).
Tsai et al. discloses the claimed invention except for 10.0 < VS4 < 46.0. However, Tsai et al. discloses VS4 = 55.8, which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 10.0 < VS4 < 46.0, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity. Claim 1 is therefore unpatentable.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein the first lens element has positive refractive power, and the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave in a paraxial region thereof and has at least one critical point in an off-axis region thereof (L1 and L6).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein an axial distance between the first lens element and the second lens element is T12, the axial distance between the second lens element and the third lens element is T23, an Abbe number of the second lens element is V2, an Abbe number of the fifth lens element is V5, an Abbe number of the sixth lens element is V6, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.00 < T23/T12 < 0.72 (0.09 / 0.136 = 0.662). Tsai et al. is silent regarding 30.0 < V2+V5+V6 < 95.2. However, Tsai et al. discloses 30.0 < V2+V5+V6 < 95.2 (V2 +V5 + V6 = 23.8 + 30.2 + 55.8 = 109.8, which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 30.0 < V2+V5+V6 < 95.2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein a central thickness of the third lens element is CT3, a central thickness of the sixth lens element is CT6, a focal length of the first lens element is fl, a focal length of the sixth lens element is f6, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.50 < CT3/CT6 < 1.80 (CT3 CT6 = 0.283 / 0.491 = 0.576; table 2-1); and 0.00 < fl/f6|< 3.10 (f1 / f6 = 3.38 / 321.46 = 010; table 1).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding wherein a focal length of the first lens element is fl, a focal length of the second lens element is f2, a focal length of the third lens element is f3, a focal length of the fifth lens element is f5, an Abbe number of the lens element is V4, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.10 <(|f3|+|f5|)/(|f1|+|f2|) < 1.50; and 10.0 <V4<48.0. However, Tsai et al. discloses 0.10 <(|f3|+|f5|)/(|f1|+|f2|) < 1.50 ((17.72+5.89)/(6,23+3.38) = 2.42; table 1); and 10.0 <V4<48.0 (V4 = 55.8; table 1), which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have : 0.10 <(|f3|+|f5|)/(|f1|+|f2|) < 1.50; and 10.0 <V4<48.0, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 20, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein a curvature radius of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is R11, the curvature radius of the image- side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, the focal length of the photography optical lens assembly is f, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.03 <|R11+R12|/f< 2.30 ((1.1886+1.0257)/3.86 = 0.5821; table 1).
Regarding claim 21, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the first lens element is R2, the curvature radius of the image- side surface of the fourth lens element is R8, a curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fifth lens element is R10, the curvature radius of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, an axial distance between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element is T56, a central thickness of the fifth lens element is CT5, and the following conditions are satisfied: 0.10 < R8/R2|+|R12/R10|< 2.30 ((1.192/14.724)+(1.026/1.664) = 0.698; table 1); and 0.50 < T56/CT5 < 4.50 (0329/0.344 = 0.956; table 1).
Regarding claim 22, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein a focal length of the first lens element is fl, a focal length of the fourth lens element is f4, and the following condition is satisfied: 1.00 < fl/f4 < 7.00. However, Tsai et al. discloses 1.00 < fl/f4 < 7.00 (3.38/5.25 = 0.644), which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1.00 < fl/f4 < 7.00, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 23, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses wherein the focal length of the photography optical lens assembly is f, a focal length of the first lens element is fl, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.30 < f/fl < 1.00. However, Tsai et al. discloses 0.30 < f/fl < 1.00 (3.86/3.38 = 1.16), which is close to applicant’s claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.30 < f/fl < 1.00, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 24, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding wherein a displacement in parallel with an optical axis from an axial vertex on the object-side surface of the second lens element to a maximum effective radius position on the object-side surface of the second lens element is SAG2R1, a displacement in parallel with the optical axis from an axial vertex on the object-side surface of the third lens element to a maximum effective radius position on the object-side surface of the third lens element is SAG3R1, a distance in parallel with the optical axis between a maximum effective radius position of the object-side surface of the first lens element and a maximum effective radius position of the image-side surface of the first lens element is ET1, a distance in parallel with the optical axis between a maximum effective radius position of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element and a maximum effective radius position of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is ET4, and the following conditions are satisfied:0.00 <|SAG3R1/SAG2Rl< 0.85; and0.60 < ET1/ET4 < 2.10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.00 <|SAG3R1/SAG2Rl< 0.85; and 0.60 < ET1/ET4 < 2.10, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 25, Tsai et al. (figure 2A) discloses the claimed invention but is silent regarding wherein the fourth smallest value among Abbe numbers of all lens elements of the photography optical lens assembly is VS4, the central thickness of the first lens element is CT1, the central thickness of the second lens element is CT2, an axial distance between the first lens element and the second lens element is T12, the axial distance between the second lens element and the third lens element is T23, the curvature radius of the image-side surface of the fourth lens element is R8, the curvature radius of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is R12, the focal length of the photography optical lens assembly is f, and the following conditions are satisfied: 28.2 ≤ VS4 < 44.8; 2.24 < CT1/CT2 <4.21; 0.06 < T23/T12 < 0.21; -2.79 < R8/R12 ≤ 1.15; 0.58 <10xT23/CT1 <2.35; and 0.52 <|R8|/f+|R12|/f≤ 1.11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 28.2 ≤ VS4 < 44.8; 2.24 < CT1/CT2 <4.21; 0.06 < T23/T12 < 0.21; -2.79 < R8/R12 ≤ 1.15; 0.58 <10xT23/CT1 <2.35; and 0.52 <|R8|/f+|R12|/f≤ 1.11, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize achieving a balance of those parameters in order to keep images sharp and prevent blurry color fringes around objects and minimize visual distortions like spherical aberration or blur to ensure sharp image clarity.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871