DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 & 21 in the reply filed on 10/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a first contact electrode 610 located on the second semiconductor contact layer and directly contacting the first semiconductor contact layer”. It is unclear how a first contact electrode 201 is located on the second semiconductor layer 120b and directly contacting the first semiconductor layer 110 (see applicant’s Fig. 3A-3B as said limitation contradicts the structure). Correction is required.
Claims 2-10 & 21 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 10 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (TW 111126477) (US Pub. 2024/0021772 is used for translation purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a semiconductor device 10, comprising:
an epitaxial structure 300 (Fig. 1A-1B), comprising:
a first semiconductor structure 310 comprising a first semiconductor contact layer 310 (Fig. 1B);
a second semiconductor structure 320 comprising a second semiconductor contact layer 320 (Fig. 1B); and
an active region 330 located between the first semiconductor structure 310 and the second semiconductor structure 320 (Fig. 1B);
a first contact electrode 610 located on the second semiconductor contact layer and directly contacting the first semiconductor contact layer 310 (Fig. 1B); and
a second contact electrode 620 located on the second semiconductor contact layer 320 and directly contacting the second semiconductor contact layer 320 (Fig. 1B);
wherein the first semiconductor contact layer has a conductivity type of n-type (Para [0032]) and comprises
a first group III-V semiconductor material (Para [0032]), the second semiconductor contact layer has a conductivity type of p-type and comprises a second group III-V semiconductor material (Para [0032]),and the second group III-V semiconductor material is an indium-containing phosphide (Para [0033], Huang teaches InP as the material for one or both of the first and/or second semiconductor contact layer/s).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first group III-V semiconductor material and the second group III-V semiconductor material are different (Para [0032/0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3, wherein the first group III-V semiconductor material is a binary group III-V compound semiconductor, and the second group III-V semiconductor material is a ternary group III-V compound semiconductor (Para [0032-0033).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the binary group III-V compound semiconductor is GaAs (Para [0032-0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor contact layer 310 or the second semiconductor contact layer 320 has a first side away from the active region 330 and a second side closer to the active region 330 than the first side, and a dopant concentration on the first side is higher than that on the second side (it is understood that a dopant concentration on the first side is higher than on the second side, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 21, Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first group III-V semiconductor material is an indium-containing phosphide and is a ternary group III-V compound semiconductor (Para [0032-0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, while Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second group III-V semiconductor material has an indium content; however, perhaps in the interest of brevity, Huang is silent on the range of 1% to 30%. Notwithstanding, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 5-6, while Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the ternary group III-V compound semiconductor is InxGal-xP (Para [0032-033]; however, perhaps in the interest of brevity, Huang is on wherein 0<x<1 (claim 5); and wherein x is in a range of 0.05 to 0.3 (claim 6). Notwithstanding, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2020/0212261).
Regarding claim 8, while Huang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor contact layer 310 has a first thickness, and the second semiconductor contact layer has a second thickness 320; however, Huang is silent on the second thickness being greater than the first thickness. Lee teaches a semiconductor device, wherein a first semiconductor contact layer 130 has a first thickness, and the second semiconductor contact layer 170 has a second thickness greater than the first thickness (see Para [0023 & Fig. 7). This has the advantages of sufficient carrier confinement to match the optical mode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Huang with the first and second semiconductor contact layers, as taught by Lee, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shatalov et al. (US Pub. 2018/0145212).
Regarding claim 9, Huang is silent on the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the active region comprises a first confinement layer, a second confinement layer and a light-emitting region located between the first confinement layer and the second confinement layer. However, Shatalov teaches a semiconductor device, wherein the active region 18 comprises a first confinement layer, a second confinement layer and a light-emitting region located between the first confinement layer and the second confinement layer (Fig. 1 & Para [0037], note the quantum well layers in the active region 18 that comprise semiconductor layers with light emitting region in between). This has the advantages of improving light efficiency, spectral control and enhancing device performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Huang with the confinement layers and light emitting region, as taught by Shatalov, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818