DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (KR2018-0037364A1, herein referred to as Jung) in view of Ryeczek (Pat Num 5,922,996). Jung discloses a busbar (Figs 1-17) that prevents an insulation made of heat shrinkable material from being damaged during the assemblage of a laminated conductor, which enables a very easy and quick assembly thereby resulting in mass production of the busbar (Paragraph 1). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Jung discloses a bus bar (Fig 16) comprising a bus bar main body (100) and an insulator (200) covering a part of the bus bar main body (100, Paragraph 36), wherein the insulator (200) has a hollow interior and being made of heat-shrinkable resin (Paragraph 40), wherein the bus bar main body (100) is inserted into the hollow interior (Paragraph 72-74). With respect to claim 2, Jung discloses that the bus bar main body (100) has through holes (111, 111) formed at both end sides (Fig 16) and in fixing a part of the insulator (200) to the bus bar main body (100), the insulator (200) is fixed to the bus bar main body (100) by heat-shrinking both end sides of the insulator (200, Paragraph 74) so as not to come in contact with the through holes (111, Paragraph 78).
However, Jung doesn’t necessarily disclose the insulator comprising an identification member being provided in the hollow interior and the identification member being operable to identify abnormal heat generation when the insulator is heat-shrunk due to the abnormal heat generation, wherein the identification member is configured so that when the insulator is heat shrunk due to the abnormal heat generation, a part of the insulator comes in close contact with the identification member, whereby the part of the insulator appears to be protruding (claim 1).
Ryeczek teaches an electrically cable assembly (Figs 1-17), which may be any insulated conducting medium that transmits, distributes, conducts, or retains electrical energy (Col 3, lines 19-36), such as a busbar, wherein the cable assembly will indicate through attention getting means the presence of an electrical fault and/or malfunction, and/or damage and/or hazard in the electrical cable assembly (Col 1, lines 45-57). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Ryeczek teaches an electrical cable assembly (Fig 15) comprising a conductor (142) and an insulator (144, 146, 148), wherein the insulator (144, 146, 148) may be made of a heat shrinkable material (148, may be made of heat shrinkable material, Col 4, lines 24-26 & 48-56 & Col 10, lines 52-60 as shown in Figs 8-9), wherein the insulator (144, 146, 148) comprises an identification member (146) provided in the hollow interior of the insulator (148), and wherein the cable assembly (Fig 15) is capable of being operable to identify abnormal heat generation when the insulator (144, 146, 148) is heat shrunk due to abnormal heat generation (i.e. variation in temperature, Col 5, lines 36-47 & Col 12, lines 1-17, Fig 15), wherein the identification member (68 & 70, as shown in Figs 5-7) are configured so that when the insulator (72) is heat shrunk due to abnormal heat generation, a part of the insulator (72) comes in close contact with the identification member (68 & 70) wherein part of the insulator (72) appears to be protruding (ie the space 76 is closed between 72 & 74 leaving two protrusions at 68 & 70, Col 9, lines 55-68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the busbar of Yung to comprise the insulator having an identification member configuration as taught by Ryeczek because Ryeczek teaches that such a configuration provides an electrically cable assembly (Figs 1-17), which may be any insulated conducting medium that transmits, distributes, conducts, or retains electrical energy (Col 3, lines 19-36), such as a busbar, wherein the cable assembly will indicate through attention getting means the presence of an electrical fault and/or malfunction, and/or damage and/or hazard in the electrical cable assembly (Col 1, lines 45-57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the applicant argues the following
A) No combination of the prior art of record discloses or suggests the claimed invention, as Jung doesn’t disclose an insulator comprising an identification member provided in the hollow interior and Ryeczek uses visually reacting material 146 which is covered by a transparent protective cover.
With respect to argument A, the examiner respectfully traverses. Ryeczek teaches various methods of determining and identifying various electrical faults including placing an identification portion (68 & 70) under the heat shrinking cover (72), wherein when the heat shrinking cover (72) shrinks due to overheating the space (76) between the inner jacket (74) and the outer jacket (72) is sealed removing the space (76) between the inner jacket (74) and the outer jacket (72), therefore leaving a projection at 68 & 78 along the two curve portions of the outer jacket (72, Col 9, lines 55-68). Ryecek also teaches that Figures 1-17 all may be combined and that any of the Figures may comprise features from other Figures. Therefore, Ryeczek indeed does teach the identification member as claimed in claim 1.
In light of the above, the examiner respectfully states that the 35 USC 103(a) rejection of claims 1-2 is proper and just.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
July 28, 2026