DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended, claim 21 is newly added, and claim 7 is cancelled. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 filed April 30, 2026 are pending and are hereby examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
6. Step 1 Statutory Category: Claims 1-6, 8, and 17-21 are directed to a method, and claims 9-16 are directed to a system, all of which are statutory. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are statutory classes of invention.
7. Step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited: Nevertheless, independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recite an abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity.
The independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recite the following limitations which fall under commercial or legal interactions:
… configured for executing instructions to perform operations including:
receiving… a request to perform an account transaction with an account of a… requiring a One-Time Password (OTP) from a… ;
determining a location of… using a location provider;
determining a location of a… designated as a… of an account for the account transaction;
calculating… a distance between the…;
in response to the distance being at or below a first distance threshold, transmitting the OTP to the… ; and
in response to the distance being above the first distance threshold, requiring secondary authorization before transmitting the OTP to the…
8. According to the MPEP, "Commercial interactions" or "legal interactions" include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. Clearly, enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity falls under sales activities, therefore commercial or legal interactions. If the claim limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a commercial or legal interaction, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
9. Step 2A – Prong 2: Practical Application: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole merely recites enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity with generally recited computer elements such as an identity provider, electronic processor, service delivery gateway, GPS, requesting device, location provider, 2FA receiver, wireless network, and wireless device, which in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, and are merely invoked as tools for enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity. Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computing environment is not a practical application of the abstract idea, and does not take the claim out of the Commercial or Legal Interactions subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
10. Step 2B – Inventive Concept: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an identity provider, electronic processor, requesting device, service delivery gateway, GPS, wireless network, location provider, 2FA receiver, and wireless device to perform these steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered individually and as an ordered combination as there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. The claims are not patent eligible.
11. Regarding dependent claims 2, 10, and 18, although these claims recite a generally recited authenticator app and wireless device, these claims merely narrow the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
12. Regarding dependent claims 3, 11, and 19, these claims merely narrow the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
13. Regarding dependent claims 4 and 12, although these claims recite a generally recited requesting device, these claims merely narrow the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
14. Regarding dependent claims 5 and 13, although these claims recite a generally recited requesting device and location provider, these claims merely narrow the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
15. Regarding dependent claims 6 and 14, although these claims recite a generally recited account database and wireless device, these claims merely narrow the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
16. Regarding dependent claim 15, although this claim recites a generally recited service delivery gateway and wireless device, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
17. Regarding dependent claims 8, 16, and 20, although these claims recite a generally recited wireless device, these claims merely narrow the abstract idea of enhanced two-factor authentication using proximity, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
18. Therefore, the limitations of the claims, when viewed individually and in ordered combination, are directed to ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
23. Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neidlinger et al (US 2024/0196220) in view of Chiang et al (US 2022/0046415).
24. Re Claims 1, 9, 17: Neidlinger discloses comprising:
a wireless network comprising an identity provider, the identity provider including at least one electronic processor configured for executing instructions to perform operations including (see [0056] confirm identity of user, [0061] processor):
receiving, by a wireless network, a request to perform an account transaction with an account of a wireless device requiring a One-Time Password (OTP) from a requesting device (see [0030] requested service, [0042] request for two-factor authentication);
determining a location of the requesting device using a location provider (see [0028] proximity determination between two devices);
determining a location of a wireless device designated as a Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) receiver of an account for the account transaction (see [0028] proximity determination between two devices);
calculating, by the wireless network, a distance between the requesting device and the wireless device (see [0028] proximity determination between two devices);
in response to the distance being at or below a first distance threshold, transmitting the OTP to the wireless device (see [0051-0052] must be within threshold distance or have close proximity to other device, transmission of public key and private key); and
in response to the distance being above the first distance threshold, requiring secondary authorization before transmitting the OTP to the wireless device (see [0035] outside range will never receipt encrypted verification code).
However, Neidlinger fails to explicitly disclose the following although it discloses a wireless protocol and wireless communication channel in [0032]. Meanwhile, Chiang teaches:
a wireless network (see [0014] wireless network);
using an internet protocol (IP) address associated with the requesting device (see [0031, 0033, 0034, 0042] IP address);
using at least one of a global positioning system (GPS) and one or more access nodes (see [0013, 0032, 0033] GPS).
From the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Neidlinger’s authentication hardening with proof of proximity with Chiang’s teaching of a wireless network/GPS/IP address in order to “… provide a technique for enhanced authentication techniques… (see Chiang Abstract).”
25. Re Claims 2, 10, 18: Neidlinger discloses wherein the secondary authorization comprises at least one of:
receiving a positive response to a confirmation text message, biometric authentication, email OTP confirmation, authentication via authenticator app, and pass key authentication; and wherein the method further comprises (see [0025] private key):
in response to successful secondary authorization, transmitting the OTP to the wireless device (see [0025] transmitting private key).
26. Re Claims 3, 11, 19: Neidlinger discloses wherein the account transaction is one of resetting an account password, and logging into the account (see [0053-0055] restarting authentication process).
27. Re Claims 4, 12: However, Neidlinger fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Chiang teaches further comprising:
in response to detecting the account transaction requires the OTP, capturing an IP address of the requesting device (see [0031, 0033, 0034, 0042] IP address). From the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Neidlinger’s authentication hardening with proof of proximity with Chiang’s teaching of a wireless network/GPS/IP address in order to “… provide a technique for enhanced authentication techniques… (see Chiang Abstract).”
28. Re Claims 5, 13: However, Neidlinger fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Chiang teaches further comprising:
determining a location of the requesting device by sending an IP address of the requesting device to a location provider and receiving the location of the requesting device from the location provider (see [0031, 0033, 0034, 0042] IP address). From the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Neidlinger’s authentication hardening with proof of proximity with Chiang’s teaching of a wireless network/GPS/IP address in order to “… provide a technique for enhanced authentication techniques… (see Chiang Abstract).”
29. Re Claims 6, 14: However, Neidlinger fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Chiang teaches further comprising:
determining the wireless device where the OTP will be transmitted by querying an account database for a phone number associated with the account (see [0023] mobile directory number). From the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Neidlinger’s authentication hardening with proof of proximity with Chiang’s teaching of a wireless network/GPS/IP address in order to “… provide a technique for enhanced authentication techniques… (see Chiang Abstract).”
30. Re Claims 7, 15: However, Neidlinger fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Smith-Rose teaches further comprising:
determining a location of the wireless device by transmitting a request for the location of the wireless device to a service delivery gateway (see [0020] location of user). From the teaching of Chiang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Neidlinger’s authentication hardening with proof of proximity with Chiang’s teaching of a wireless network/GPS/IP address in order to “… provide a technique for enhanced authentication techniques… (see Chiang Abstract).”
31. Re Claims 8, 16, 20: Neidlinger discloses further comprises:
in response to the distance being above a second distance threshold higher than the first distance threshold, transmitting a notification of the request to perform the account transaction to the wireless device without transmitting the OTP (see [0035] without private key).
Examiner Notes
32. The Examiner suggests first mirroring all 3 independent claims to include all the language that is present in the other independent claims. The Examiner suggests incorporating dependent claims 2-3, 5 (dependent on 4), and 6-8 together into the independent claims.
33. Finally, the Examiner suggests incorporating more hardware from the Specification and any unique arrangements of hardware, unique hardware, or unique ways the hardware is communicating. The aforementioned claim suggestions, in combination together, is suggested to help advance prosecution forward, although further search, examination, and consideration is required.
Response to Arguments
34. Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/26 have been fully considered and are not found to be convincing, therefore the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is hereby maintained. With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, new prior art was used to address the new claim amendments.
a) Argument #1: Claims do not recite a judicial exception because it is not directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” and therefore not an abstract idea
35. With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the applicant argues that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the claims are related to two-factor authentication using proximity, which would fall under certain methods of organizing human activity of commercial or legal interactions. According to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), "commercial interactions" or "legal interactions" include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. Two-factor authentication using proximity is a form of marketing or sales activity or behavior, and is therefore an abstract idea.
b) Argument #2: Applicant argues that the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2 (improvement to technology)
36. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In regards to improving the functioning of the computer/technology/technical field, the claims recite the additional elements of an identity provider, electronic processor, requesting device, service delivery gateway, GPS, wireless network, location provider, 2FA receiver, and wireless device, and they are recited at a high level of generality, and therefore are merely using computer processing components for two-factor authentication using proximity. After further review of the Specification, there is no disclosure of technical enhancements to any of the computing components, as in multiple instances of the Specification it discloses generally recited elements. Interpreting the claims in view of the Specification, the claims recite the judicial exception are mere instructions to apply the exception of two-factor authentication using proximity (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The elements recited above do not recite and are not directed to any elements or functions that improve underlying technology.
37. According to MPEP 2106.05(a), it states: “It is important to note that in order for a method claim to improve computer functionality, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim must be limited to computer implementation. That is, a claim whose entire scope can be performed mentally, cannot be said to improve computer technology. Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (a method of translating a logic circuit into a hardware component description of a logic circuit was found to be ineligible because the method did not employ a computer and a skilled artisan could perform all the steps mentally). Similarly, a claimed process covering embodiments that can be performed on a computer, as well as embodiments that can be practiced verbally or with a telephone, cannot improve computer technology. See RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1328, 122 USPQ2d 1377, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (process for encoding/decoding facial data using image codes assigned to particular facial features held ineligible because the process did not require a computer).”
38. Furthermore, in determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application, a determination is made of whether the claimed invention pertains to an improvement in the functioning of the computer itself or any other technology or technical field (i.e., a technological solution to a technological problem). Here, the claims recite generic computer components, the additional elements of an identity provider, electronic processor, requesting device, wireless network, location provider, service delivery gateway, GPS, 2FA receiver, and wireless device, i.e., that are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions customarily used in computer applications. The pending claims do not describe a technical solution to a technical problem. The pending claims are directed to solving the problem of two-factor authentication using proximity. The claims of the instant application describe an improvement to a business process i.e., two-factor authentication using proximity, not improvement in the functioning of the computer itself or an improvement to any other technology or technological field. Therefore, the claims do not integrate into a practical application either by improvement to a computer/technology/technical field.
39. The claims are not directed to any improvement in computer technology. The claims are directed to an abstract idea of two-factor authentication using proximity. The applicant must take into consideration that in order to view the claims as supplying an inventive concept the technological improvement must be present within the claims themselves (Accenture Global Servs., GmbH v. Guidewire Software, inc., 108 USPQ2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013)), (Synopsys, inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp... 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Additionally, the Specification does not provide any evidence that how the claims provide an improvement to functioning of computing systems or technology. The applicant failed to provide persuasive arguments supported by any necessary evidence to demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the disclosed invention improves technology.
c) Argument #3: Applicant argues that the claim elements are significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B
40. Having determined under step one of the Mayo/Alice framework that claims 1, 9, and 17 are directed to an abstract idea, we next consider under Step 2B of the Guidance, the second step of the Mayo/Alice framework, whether the claims include additional elements or a combination of elements that provides an “inventive concept,” i.e., whether an additional element or combination of elements adds specific limitations beyond the judicial exception that are not “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” in the field (which is indicative that an inventive concept is present) or simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry to the judicial exception. 2019 Revised Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 56.
41. Under step two of the Mayo/Alice framework, the elements of each claim are considered both individually and “as an ordered combination” to determine whether the additional elements, i.e., the elements other than the abstract idea itself, “transform the nature of the claim” into a patent-eligible application. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217 (citation omitted); see Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73 (requiring that “a process that focuses upon the use of a natural law also contain other elements or a combination of elements, sometimes referred to as an ‘inventive concept,’ sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the natural law itself’ (emphasis added) (citation omitted)).
42. Here the only additional elements recited in claims 1, 7, and 8 beyond the abstract idea are: the additional elements of an identity provider, electronic processor, requesting device, service delivery gateway, GPS, wireless network, location provider, 2FA receiver, and wireless device, i.e., generic computer components. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). Applicant has not identified any additional elements recited in the claim that, individually or in combination, provides significantly more than the abstract idea.
43. Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of the independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
44. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ghose (ZITA: Zero-Interaction Two-Factor Authentication Using Contact Traces and In-Band Proximity Verification, NPL) is found to be the most pertinent NPL prior art.
/FAWAAD HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627