CTNF 18/756,822 CTNF 85350 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-9, 11,13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. US 20230115361 (Hereinafter “Kim”) . Regarding Claim 1 , Kim discloses an electronic apparatus (see figs. 1a-1b, paragraph [0064]), comprising at least one memory and at least one processor (see figs. 1a-1b, and paragraph [0078]) that are configured to: receive a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination from a wireless LAN access point (see paragraphs [0260, 0463]); and upon receiving the change request, perform control such that connection destination change processing is executed based on the change request when the electronic apparatus is in a first operation state (see paragraphs [0261-0262]), and perform control such that no response to the change request is given or a change rejection response to the change request is transmitted to the wireless LAN access point when the electronic apparatus is in a second operation state (see paragraph [0265]). Regarding Claim 2 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that the connection destination change processing is not executed based on the change request when the electronic apparatus is in the second operation state (see paragraph [0265]). Regarding Claim 3 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein, when the electronic apparatus has transitioned from the second operation state to the first operation state, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that the connection destination change processing is executed based on the change request (see paragraphs [0261-0265]). Regarding Claim 4 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. Kim further discloses a storage device configured to store the change request when the electronic apparatus is in the second operation state, wherein, when the electronic apparatus has transitioned from the second operation state to the first operation state, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that the connection destination change processing is executed based on the change request stored in the storage device (see paragraphs [0410-0411]). Regarding Claim 5 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein, when the electronic apparatus is in the second operation state, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that no response to the change request is given, and when the electronic apparatus has transitioned from the second operation state to the first operation state (see paragraph [0354]), the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that a response indicating that it is possible to change a connection destination is transmitted to the wireless LAN access point (see paragraphs [0410-0411]). Regarding Claim 6 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein, when the electronic apparatus is in the second operation state, the at least one memory and the at least one processor switch to perform control such that no response to the change request is given or perform control such that a change rejection response to the change request is transmitted to the wireless LAN access point, based on a change reason included in the change request (see paragraphs [0251, 0254, 0265]).9 Regarding Claim 7 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. Kim further discloses wherein, if the change reason indicates a situation in which there is a possibility that a connection between the wireless LAN access point and the electronic apparatus is to be disconnected, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that no response to the change request is given (see paragraph [0253]). Regarding Claim 8 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 7. Kim further discloses wherein, if the change reason indicates the situation in which there is a possibility that a connection between the wireless LAN access point and the electronic apparatus is to be disconnected, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that no response to the change request is given until waiting time for a response to the change request at the wireless LAN access point times out (see paragraphs [0384-0386]). Regarding Claim 9 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 6. Kim further discloses wherein, if the change reason indicates a situation in which it is recommended to disconnect a connection between the wireless LAN access point and the electronic apparatus, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that a change rejection response to the change request is transmitted (see paragraph [0253]). Regarding Claim 11 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the second operation state is a state in which the electronic apparatus is communicating with an external server (see paragraph [0087]). Regarding Claim 13 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the second operation state is a state in which the at least one processor has a clock frequency lower than in the first operation state (see paragraphs [0141]). Regarding Claim 15 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the electronic apparatus is an apparatus capable of performing an operation compatible with at least one of orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA) and target wake time (TWT) (see paragraph [0109]). Regarding Claim 16 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the electronic apparatus is an apparatus capable of performing an operation compatible with IEEE 802.11ax (see paragraphs [0070, 0072]). Regarding Claim 17 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein, when performing control such that a connection destination is changed based on the change request, the at least one memory and the at least one processor perform control such that the connection destination is changed to a wireless LAN access point whose frequency band is a 6 GHz band (see paragraphs [0137-0138]). Regarding Claim 18 , the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 1. Regarding Claim 19 , the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 18 in a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable KIM et al. US 20230115361 (Hereinafter “Kim”) in view of ZHANG et al. US 20200015139 (Hereinafter “Zhang”). Regarding Claim 10 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim fails to disclose: wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: receive a measurement request for measuring radio wave strengths of wireless LAN access points located in the surroundings of the electronic apparatus, from a currently connected wireless LAN access point; and transmit a measurement report about the measured radio wave strengths in response to the measurement request, the measurement report is transmitted when the electronic apparatus is in the first operation state and the measurement report is not transmitted when the electronic apparatus is in the second operation state. In analogous art, Zhang teaches: wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are further configured to: receive a measurement request for measuring radio wave strengths of wireless LAN access points located in the surroundings of the electronic apparatus, from a currently connected wireless LAN access point; and transmit a measurement report about the measured radio wave strengths in response to the measurement request, the measurement report is transmitted when the electronic apparatus is in the first operation state and the measurement report is not transmitted when the electronic apparatus is in the second operation state (see paragraphs [0068-0074]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim with the teaching as taught by Zhang in order to provide handover of a serving base station in wireless communications thereby delivering better communication quality of the UE. Claim(s) 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable KIM et al. US 20230115361 (Hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Hamachi US 20180027601 (Hereinafter “Hamachi”). Regarding Claim 12 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim fails to disclose: a printing unit configured to receive print data from another apparatus in a network via the wireless LAN access point and perform printing, wherein the first operation state is a state in which the print data has not been received, and the second operation state is a state in which a portion of the print data has been received from the other apparatus and the reception of the remaining print data has not been completed. In analogous art, Hamachi teaches: a printing unit configured to receive print data from another apparatus in a network via the wireless LAN access point and perform printing, wherein the first operation state is a state in which the print data has not been received, and the second operation state is a state in which a portion of the print data has been received from the other apparatus and the reception of the remaining print data has not been completed (see paragraphs [0049-0052]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim with the teaching as taught by in order to establishing a wireless connection for executing the service or application. Regarding Claim 14 , Kim discloses the electronic apparatus as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kim fails to disclose: wherein the electronic apparatus is a printer. In analogous art, Hamachi teaches: wherein the electronic apparatus is a printer (see paragraphs [0049-0052]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim with the teaching as taught by in order to establishing a wireless connection for executing the service or application.. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alazar Tilahun whose telephone number is (571)270-5712. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Friday, From 9:00 AM-6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benjamin Bruckart can be reached at 571-272-3982. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALAZAR TILAHUN/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 2424 /A.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/756,822 Page 2 Art Unit: 2424