DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant arguments are respectfully traversed and the rejection below address the claim amendments that were added to overcome the previous rejection. Where applicant argues, “Regarding claim 1, as amended a "time-ordered series of programming inputs" is recited that clarifies the programming inputs to the robot are sequential instructions or statements expressing robot actions to be carried out. The time-ordered series of programming inputs serve as a reinforcement of the objective of the present invention, to reinforce programming education through robotic feedback. The time-ordered programming inputs impact the response of the robot (and further, as claimed, in response to sensor data). By contrast, Skaff discloses a robotic toy or game that performs a pre-determined routine in response to a specific input. For example, Skaff describes an interactive doll at paragraph [0035] that is in a "hungry" state. The user contacts a sensor near the mouth of the doll (a responsive input) that triggers a predetermined routine of expressing happiness as it transitions into a "fed" state. Skaff discloses interaction with a robotic device that provides entertainment to the user. At Skaff's paragraph [0037] describing an interactive game, the interactive apparatus "updates the appearance or status of the game board" in response to placing a game piece at a particular location. Skaff is completely silent on a "time-ordered series of programming inputs" that ultimately result in a set of control instructions that are executed by a robot. Skaff teaches entertainment by a pre-programmed robotic device while the claimed invention teaches methods for controlling a robot programmatically in a way that reinforces programming education through robotic feedback.
Analogous argument applies with equal force with respect to claim 11, as amended. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections of claims 1 and 11 is respectfully requested. Accordingly, with respect to claims 2-10 that depend from claim 1, and claims 12-16 that depend from claim 11, the Applicant respectfully submits the dependent claims are at least allowable in that they depend from an allowable claim.”
Applicants arguments are respectfully traversed as the BRI of the amended claimed would reasonably allow one to read the claim as having the system record the inputs in a sequentially ordered inputs as the user inputs the information, as described below in the rejection. The claim under BRI allows for the interpretation of logging the inputs provided in order/time ordered and uses those logged inputs to control the robot, which is taught by Skaff as described below in the rejection. Thus applicants arguments are found to be not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Skaff et al., US PG Pub 2012/0190453 A1., (hereafter Skaff).
Regarding claim 1 where it is disclosed by Skaff to have a system and method for online interactive experience with a robotic toy as described in at least the abstract. This is read upon by applicants claims to, “A method for controlling a robot [at least figures 2 & 5], comprising, at a user device [at least paragraph 0020 where they cite, “The interactive apparatus 102 is generally an object configured for entertaining, educating, or socializing with the user 106 through the user's interaction with the interactive apparatus 102. The interactive apparatus 102 may be, but is not limited to, toys such as robots, dolls, vehicles, play sets, and board games.”]:" determining a set of control instructions based on a first programming input from a series of programming inputs [at least paragraph 34, where it is cited, “the interactive apparatus 102 may be an interactive toy robot. The toy robot may prompt the user 106 to execute a selected "mission" stored in its memory having one or more gaming objectives. Alternatively, the user 106 may provide instructions to the toy robot while playing with the interactive apparatus 102 based on the imagination of the user 106. The user 106 provides input commands through I/O device 214 to activate actuators 216 and control the robot's actions.”]; sending the set of control instructions to the robot [at least paragraph 0034], wherein the robot executes the set of control instructions [at least paragraphs 0030-0038]; " receiving a set of sensor data from the robot [at least paragraphs 0030-0038, “…The toy robot also detects nearby objects and communicates with nearby toys using sensors 218, such as proximity sensors, infrared sensors and the like. The toy robot determines whether the inputted actions as instructed by the user 106 and the detected sensor data are sufficient to complete the gaming objective…”], wherein the set of sensor data is recorded while the robot executes the set of control instructions [at least paragraphs 0030-0038, “…The toy robot generates log data based on the interactions with the user 106, including the button presses, sensor data, inventory changes and determined objective completion which is stored in the storage 212.”]; and determining a second set of control instructions based on a second programming input from the series of programming inputs and the set of sensor data [at least paragraphs 0030-0038, see at least, “[0035] In another example, the interactive apparatus 102 may be an interactive doll. The user 106 plays with the interactive doll by directly manipulating the interactive doll and contacting the sensors 218 of the interactive doll. For instance, the interactive doll may activate audio clips of a hungry baby in response to having an apparatus state 222 indicating "hunger". The user 106 may contact a sensor located near the mouth of the interactive doll with a bottle to signify "feeding" of the doll. The interactive doll detects the presence of the bottle and records the detection event in one or more event records 224. The interactive doll further updates the apparatus state 222 to reflect that the interactive doll has been "fed" and is no longer "hungry". The interactive doll may respond to being "fed" with a sound signifying contentment. In response to the change in apparatus state 222, the interactive doll may cease behavior, such as audio clips and/or actuators movements, that denote hunger, and/or start behavior that indicates happiness by using the actuators 216 and/or I/O devices 214. The interactive doll records the change in apparatus state 222 in the event records 224.”].”
Where applicant now includes the feature of, “…time ordered…”, this is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraph 0065 where it is taught by Skaff to have their system store the sequential flow of information, where this is interpreted to mean also that the input information is also stored sequentially/time ordered.
Regarding claim 2 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0056 & 0058-0060, to have in part, “[0058] Similarly, the user 106 may independently interact with the virtual doll character form of the virtual avatar 322 in the interactive application 104 during an "online" experience. Data generated based on the game play of the user 106 with the interactive application 104 such as described above may be downloaded to the interactive apparatus 102 to modify operation of the toy doll. In the example above, during the offline experience with the interactive application 104, hunger of the virtual avatar 322 was satisfied by feeding. Data downloaded from the interactive application 104 to the interactive apparatus 102 would then change the apparatus state 222 of the interactive apparatus 102 so that the toy doll would not indicate to the user that the toy doll was hungry for a time period commensurate with the amount the virtual doll character was feed during the online experience.”
Which is read upon by applicants claim to, “the robot executes the set of control instructions within a threshold time period after receiving the set of control instructions.”
Regarding claim 3 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0059-0061 to have in part, “the interactive apparatus 102 is an interactive board game, the interactive board game updates the apparatus state 222 to reflect that the actions taken by user 106 during play and records changes to the apparatus state 222 in one or more event records 224 representing such. The event records 224 may be uploaded to the interactive application 104 when connected with the interactive apparatus 102. In this example, the interactive application 104 may be a computer video game application that provides a virtual game board corresponding to the physical game board of the interactive apparatus 102. The interactive application 104 receives the event records 224 and updates the virtual game board to reflect that the actions of the user 106 with the physical game board. Further, the interactive application 104 may notify other players communicating with the interactive application 104 in a current game session of changes performed on the physical game board. As such, embodiments advantageously permit a user experience with a physical game board that may be coordinated with a virtual game board accessible to other players over a distributed data network, such as the Internet. In the example above, during the offline experience with the interactive apparatus 102, "magic" was obtained by landing on a position of the board game. Data uploaded to the interactive application 104 from the interactive apparatus 102 would then change the virtual state 324 of the interactive application 104 with magic corresponding to with that which was gained during the offline experience. The user 106 would then be able to use the magic obtained in the offline experience during play with the interactive application 104.”
This is read upon by applicants claim to, “at the user device, verifying execution of the set of control instructions before sending the second set of control instructions to the robot.”
Regarding claim 4 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0032-0037 & 0062 to have, “execution of the set of control instructions is verified based on the set of sensor data.”
Regarding claim 5 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0059-0061 to have, “displaying a virtual representation of the robot and a physical environment adjacent to the robot within a user interface; and determining the series of programming inputs based on a user interaction with the user interface.”
Regarding claim 6 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0020-0021, 0026, 0029 & 0037-0038, to have, “the user interaction with the user interface comprises a user-input virtual driving path.” Where the path can be the location and position of the vehicle that the user interacts with.
Regarding claim 7 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0009, 0011, 0031-0033 & 0037-0038, to have, “determining control instructions additionally comprises using conditional events associated with the virtual driving path.”
Regarding claim 8 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0032, 0034-0035 & 0037-0038, to have, “the second programming input is received from a user after the set of control instructions is determined.”
Regarding claim 9 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraph 0059 where the system can update the position of the toys current position from the interactive toy to the online portion of the game thus would be in real-time. This is read upon by applicants claim to, “the set of sensor data comprises a real-time data stream.”
Regarding claim 10 where it is disclosed by Skaff to have their system use the toys motion and location and data from the sensors to allow the system to update and program the virtual portion of the system which has been interpreted to mean that the system use blocks to program the system when the user interacts with the toy/robot, see at least paragraphs 0037, 0046 & 0074-0075. This is read upon by applicants claim to, “the series of programming inputs comprises a set of virtual blocks, each representing a robot action.”
Regarding claim 11 where it is disclosed by Skaff to have, “A method for controlling a toy robot [t least paragraphs 0036-0037], comprising, at the toy robot [at least paragraphs 0036-0037, where they cite a toy doll/robot which the user interacts with]: sampling a first set of measurements during operation [at least paragraphs 0036, 0037, 0027, 0031 & 0063]; transmitting the first set of measurements to a user device [at least paragraphs 0036, 0037, 0027, 0031 & 0063], wherein the user device determines a first set of control instructions based on the first set of measurements and a programing input from a series of programming inputs stored on the user device [at least paragraphs 0030-0038]; receiving the first set of control instructions from the user device [at least paragraphs 0030-0038]; executing the first set of control instructions [at least paragraphs 0030-0038]; and removing the first set of control instructions from memory after executing the first set of control instructions [at least paragraphs 0030-0038].”
Regarding claim 12 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0029 & 0046 to have predefined control actions that occur when the toy is interacted with. This is read upon by applicants claim to, “at the toy robot: storing a default set of control instructions; and executing the default set of control instructions while operating in a standby mode, wherein executing based on the first set of control instructions is performed in a remote control mode.” Where it is cited by Skaff to have, “The apparatus state 222 may include one or more pre-defined behaviors for operating the interactive apparatus 102, such as pre-defined sequences of movements, lights, and/or sound.”
Regarding claim 13 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraph 0048 to have, “[0048] In one embodiment, the interactive application 104 may map a virtual avatar 322 to an interactive apparatus 102 of the user 106 to link the online experience of the virtual avatar 322 with the offline experience of the interactive apparatus 102. The interactive application 104 may be configured to create and store multiple such mappings for the user 106 that associate virtual avatars 322 to interactive apparatuses 102 owned by the user 106 in a one-to-one manner. The interactive application 104 and interactive apparatus 102 may be configured to exchange information data regarding linked virtual avatars 322 and interactive apparatuses 102 that may be used to modify the operations thereof. In one embodiment, the communication system 206 of the interactive apparatus 102 is configured to communicate with the interactive application 104 to provide apparatus state 222, event records 224, and other information data of the interactive apparatus 102. In one embodiment, the communication system 206 is configured to download data such as computer code and/or information data from the interactive application 104 and store the downloaded data 226 in storage 212. The computer code of the downloaded data 226 provides the interactive apparatus 102 with updated instructions and/or application logic for operating the interactive apparatus 102. The downloaded data 226 may also provide the interactive apparatus 102 with updated instructions and/or application logic for operating the accessory 240 which may be provided to the accessory 240 from interactive apparatus 102 when connected thereto. The apparatus controller 220 may execute the computer code of the downloaded data 226 to modify the apparatus state 222 and/or modify the behavior of the interactive apparatus 102 so as to affect at least one of actuation, sensing, user input, information output, and communication with other similar interactive apparatuses 102.”
This is read upon by applicants claim to, “at the toy robot, switching from the standby mode to the remote control mode responsive to wireless connection with the user device.”
Regarding claim 14 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraph 0048 to have their system, “…The computer code of the downloaded data 226 provides the interactive apparatus 102 with updated instructions and/or application logic for operating the interactive apparatus 102. The downloaded data 226 may also provide the interactive apparatus 102 with updated instructions and/or application logic for operating the accessory 240 which may be provided to the accessory 240 from interactive apparatus 102 when connected thereto. The apparatus controller 220 may execute the computer code of the downloaded data 226 to modify the apparatus state 222 and/or modify the behavior of the interactive apparatus 102 so as to affect at least one of actuation, sensing, user input, information output, and communication with other similar interactive apparatuses 102.”
This is read upon by applicants claim to, “the first set of control instructions are removed from memory during robot operation.”
Regarding claim 15 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 003-0038 to have their system also, “recording a second set of measurements; and transmitting the second set of measurements to the user device, wherein the user device determines a second set of control instructions based on the second set of measurements.”
Regarding claim 16 where it is disclosed by Skaff in at least paragraphs 0026, 0028, 0031, 0034 & 0035, where they disclose having, “the toy robot comprises an actuator, wherein executing the first set of control instructions comprises actuating the actuator.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 5 & 10-11, where applicant claims, “time-ordered”. The scope of applicants claim is unclear as the claim recites, “…determining a set of control instructions based on a first programming input from a time- ordered series of programming inputs…”. Where do the time ordered inputs come from? How does the system know they are the correct order? How does the system determine that the first programmed input is the one that needs to be used to produce a control instruction for? How is the time order determined? Does the system log the time as the inputs are provided? The claim is indefinite and due to the specification merely reciting the claimed language verbatim and not providing any additional guidance as to what this is the claim has been addressed as best understood for the purposed of compact prosecution. Pleas see the rejection above for the interpretation that was used.
The dependent claims do not provide any clarification as to the indefinite of the independent claims from which they depend from and hence are also rejected for the same reasons as stated for the independent claims above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BHAVESH V. AMIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/BHAVESH V AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657