DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 3/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no appreciable search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because there is a search and/or examination burden at least when the claims require a different field of search, for example, by employing different search queries. Furthermore, what is required to anticipate an apparatus versus a method differs greatly, and as prosecution proceeds, further divergence of the claim scopes will increase the burden of search and examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 6, based on a reading of the specification, appears to have misplaced arrows/paths. First, Figure 6 shows two paths from element 208, with one path connected to element 211 and another path to element 210. The path from 208 to 211 appears to be extraneous, and the “no” path from element 210 to element 222 appears to be intended to be between 210 and 211. Secondly, element 220 and element 236 are connected by a path, but, based on the specification, these “yes” branches appear to be intended to connect to the element 240, not to each other. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an agitation element” in claim 1; “a measurement device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 2020/0109505).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a washing machine appliance, comprising: a tub positioned within a cabinet (102, 108); a basket rotatably mounted within the tub, the basket defining a wash chamber for receipt of articles for washing (112); an agitation element positioned in the wash basket (132); a motor in mechanical communication with the wash basket and the agitation element, the motor being configured for selectively rotating the wash basket and the agitation element within the tub (140; paragraph 31); a measurement device mounted to the tub for detecting a displacement amount of the tub (172); and a controller operatively coupled to the motor and the measurement device (156; paragraphs 9, 45), the controller configured to: control an operation of the motor to rotate the agitation element for a first agitation stroke distance (Figure 8: 304); determine the displacement amount of the tub, based on the displacement amount of the tub detected by the measurement device, relative to a first tub displacement threshold and a second tub displacement threshold (Figure 8: 306, 310, 332, 336; paragraphs 55, 70, 73; also see Figure 6: loop at 230 results in plural steps of 206/210); and perform an out-of-balance agitation cycle based on the determined displacement amount relative to the first and second tub displacement thresholds (Figure 8: see “NO” branch of 336, and note steps 316, 330; also see Figure 6: 216 or 230).
Regarding claims 2-3, 10, 12-14, Smith discloses wherein the controller is configured to: perform a first out-of-balance agitation cycle when the determined displacement amount exceeds the first tub displacement threshold (“NO” branch of 310, 316, 330); further comprising: a water control valve for regulating a flow of water from a water supply source into the tub (162, 166), wherein, performing the first out-of-balance agitation cycle, comprises: controlling an operation of the water control valve to dispense a volume of water into the tub (316; see paragraphs 58, 70); wherein the controller is configured to: initiate a spin cycle when the determined displacement amount falls below the second tub displacement threshold (336, 312); wherein the measurement device comprises an accelerometer or a gyroscope (paragraph 44); wherein the controller is configured to: calculate a trendline based on the determined displacement amount of the tub (308); wherein the trend line is calculated utilizing a linear regression technique (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 11, Smith is relied upon as above, but does not appear to expressly disclose wherein the first tub displacement threshold is greater than the second tub displacement threshold. Rather, Smith gives examples of a setting a movement threshold to a suitable value, such as a displacement amplitude of 0.1 inches or 0.2 inches (paragraphs 55, 73). Smith also teaches that a decreasing trend line indicates a decrease in tub motion over time and that the load is becoming more evenly distributed (Figure 7; paragraph 54). Because it is known in the art that during balancing a load can become more evenly distributed over time such that the tub motion decreases over time, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, setting the movement thresholds to lower the unbalance over time prior to spin drying, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have wherein the first tub displacement threshold is greater than the second tub displacement threshold.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the washing machine as defined by the combination of claims 1-4, or by the combination of claims 1 and 5. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Smith (US 2020/0109505), to further include wherein, after the volume of water is dispensed into the tub, the controller is configured to: control the operation of the motor to rotate the agitation element for the first agitation stroke distance; determine the displacement amount of the tub based on the displacement amount of the tub detected by the measurement device; and perform a second out-of-balance agitation cycle when the determined displacement amount falls between the first tub displacement threshold and the second tub displacement threshold; or wherein the controller is configured to: perform a second out-of-balance agitation cycle when the determined displacement amount falls between the first tub displacement threshold and the second tub displacement threshold.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711