DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control unit” in claim 10.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, 19 recite the limitation “changing a translucency of the at least one connection … based on an age of the turbulence measurements”. It is not clear how the age of the connection is determined. Is it based on the age of both data points used to create the connection? If so, is the age of the two datapoints used required to be the same? If the two datapoints are sensed at a different time, which age is used as the age of the segment? The scope of the claims could not be determined and is considered to be indefinite.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, 20 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1, 10 recite the broad recitation “one or more aircraft flights”, and the claims 2, 11 recite “the one or more aircraft flights includes multiple aircraft flights” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen [US 20240203268] in view of Crosmer et al. [US 9223020] and Gurusamy et al. [US 20180238996].
As to claim 1 is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 10.
As to claims 2-9 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 11-18, respectively.
As to claim 10. Jensen discloses A turbulence detection and presentation system comprising:
a control unit, [fig. 1a, 0047] dedicated processor 107 or processors 102a, 109a, configured to obtain turbulence datapoints indicative of at least locations and turbulence measurements obtained during one or more aircraft flights, [fig. 7, 0139, 0143] receive three sensed turbulence reports at three positions 710a-c and three different times t0 - t-2 for aircraft 710,
the control unit configured to identify increases or decreases between the turbulence measurements in the turbulence datapoints, [fig. 9b, 0156] determine trend in turbulence intensity between data points in time and provide a trend vector indicator 942,
the control unit configured to direct an output device to generate a visual representation of the turbulence datapoints, [fig. 9b, 0156] display a trend vector indicator 942a based on the detected turbulence intensity change, and at least one connection between the turbulence datapoints, [fig. 7, 8a, 9b], and visually present the visual representation via the output device, [fig. 9b, 0155, 0156] data displayed,
the turbulence datapoints displayed to visually indicate and differentiate between the turbulence measurements, [fig. 7, 9b, 0143, 0156] change in fill color of the icons indicate the change in turbulence intensity, the connections displayed to visually indicate turbulence between the locations of the turbulence measurements, [fig. 9b, 0156] a trend in turbulence between two datapoints connected by a line is indicated on the display, and
the control unit configured to automatically change an indication attribute of the at least one connection displayed via the output device in real-time based on an age of the turbulence measurements, [fig. 7, 0140] a time interval Δt between datapoints selectable by the pilot is indicated as 751; wherein each segment represents a time length equal to the selected interval Δt; [fig. 7, 8a, 0139, 0145] wherein each datapoint is indicated by a time indicator to show how long ago was the datapoint is before the previous datapoint as ti, ti-1, etc …, [fig. 8a] wherein each segment is represented with a changing attribute indicating the age of the segment that is updated as the aircraft moves and the current datapoint is added at the next selected interval,
Jensen fails to disclose wherein the control unit is configured to change a frequency at which the turbulence datapoints are obtained responsive to identifying the increases or decreases between the turbulence measurements in the turbulence datapoints; wherein the indication attribute for the age of the segment is a translucency.
Crosmer teaches a system and method for weather detection; wherein the system detects turbulence using data sensed by an aircraft sensor 302 and displays the data on the aircraft display 306, [col. 5, lines 13-34]; wherein the system changes the sampling rate based on detected weather severity, [col. 11, lines 29-42], including a change in turbulence, [col. 6, line 60 – col. 7, line 8]; wherein data segments are selected based on the age of the data, [col. 12, lines 58-63].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jensen with that of Crosmer so that the system can provide detailed data for severe conditions that change more frequently to allow the pilot make an informed decision.
The combination of Jensen and Crosmer fail to explicitly disclose wherein the indication attribute for the age of the segment is a translucency.
Jensen teaches a system and method that tracks the time of each datapoint and indicates the time at which the data is collected on the display of the aircraft along each connection segment; wherein the time, naturally, is in order of the age of the datapoint, [fig. 7, 8a, 0139, 0140, 0145].
Gurusamy teaches a method and system for providing live weather data onboard an aircraft wherein the system presents connected weather data connected using lines according timestamps and indicates the age of the data on the lines using varying levels of transparency, [0026, 0039, 0054].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Jensen and Crosmer with that of Gurusamy so that the pilot can easily identify the more relevant data on the screen and avoid spending more time trying to identify the more relevant data on the screen.
As to claim 11. Jensen discloses The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 10, wherein the one or more aircraft flights includes two aircraft flights, [fig. 7, 0139] aircrafts 710, 720, 730, and the control unit is configured to obtain two sets of the turbulence datapoints with each of the two sets associated with one of the two aircraft flights, [fig. 7, 0139].
As to claim 12. Jensen discloses The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 10, wherein the control unit is configured to direct the output device to visually present the at least one connection as connecting a first measured of the turbulence measurements during a first aircraft flight of the one or more aircraft flights and a last measured of the turbulence measurements during the first aircraft flight, [fig. 7, 0139, 0143].
As to claim 13. Jensen discloses The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 10, wherein the control unit is configured to direct the output device to visually display one or more segments within the at least one connection, [fig. 7], each of the one or more segments visually connecting a pair of the turbulence measurements within the at least one connection, [fig. 7] line connecting measurements 710a-c for path and measurement of aircraft 710.
As to claim 14. Jensen discloses The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 13 wherein the control unit is configured to direct the output device to visually present each of the one or more segments to represent the turbulence measurement in the pair that was measured before the turbulence measurement in the pair that was measured later, [fig. 7] the line for flight 710 has multiple segments connecting different data points 710a-c at a sequential time interval.
As to claim 15. the combination of Jensen and Crosmer fails to disclose The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 14, wherein the control unit is configured to direct the output device to visually present each of the one or more segments in a same color as the turbulence measurement in the pair that was measured before the turbulence measurement in the pair that was measured later to visually indicate turbulence in airspace between the turbulence measurements in the pair.
Gurusamy teaches a method and system for providing live weather data onboard an aircraft wherein the system presents connected weather data connected using lines according timestamps and indicates the age of the data on the connecting lines, [0026], using varying colors associated with the age of the data, [0054].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Jensen and Crosmer with that of Gurusamy so that the pilot can easily identify the more relevant data to indicate the freshness and reliability of the data.
As to claim 16. J the combination of Jensen and Crosmer fails to disclose The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 10, wherein the control unit is configured to direct the output device to visually present the at least one connection in one or more colors to visually represent turbulence in airspace between the turbulence datapoints.
Gurusamy teaches a method and system for providing live weather data onboard an aircraft wherein the system presents connected weather data connected using lines according timestamps and indicates the age of the data on the connecting lines, [0026], using varying colors associated with the age of the data, [0054].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Jensen and Crosmer with that of Gurusamy so that the pilot can easily identify the more relevant data to indicate the freshness and reliability of the data.
As to claim 17. Jensen discloses The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 10, wherein the control unit is configured to direct the output device to visually present the turbulence datapoints as sparse representations of the turbulence measurements, [fig. 7], and the at least one connection to represent turbulence in airspace between the sparse representations, [fig. 9b, 0156] a trend indicator 942a-c used to show the change in turbulence data between two data points connected using a line segment; [0052] wherein statistical analysis is used to determine turbulence value between two measured data points.
As to claim 18. Jensen discloses The turbulence detection and presentation system of claim 10, wherein the control unit is configured to direct a flight control system to automatically change a flight path of an aircraft to avoid turbulence between two or more of the turbulence datapoints, [0006, 0030] data used to determine areas to avoid on the flight path of the aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in the art can easily understand that changes in flight path are is performed by one of the two options which includes the autopilot or the human pilot.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jensen so the flightpath can be adjusted automatically based on the determined turbulence value as nothing but selected form one of the two available ways to change the flight path.
Claim(s) 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Gurusamy.
As to claim 19. Jensen discloses A method comprising:
obtaining sparsely located datapoints each representing a turbulence measurement, [fig. 7, 0139, 0143], a location of the turbulence measurement, and a time at which the turbulence measurement was measured, [fig. 7, 0139, 0143] receive three sensed turbulence reports at three positions 710a-c and three different times t0 - t-2 for aircraft 710;
identifying increases or decreases between the turbulence measurements in pairs of the datapoints, [fig. 9b, 0156] determine trend in turbulence intensity between data points in time and provide a trend vector indicator 942;
determining turbulence in airspace between the turbulence measurements in each of the pairs of the datapoints [fig. 9b, 0156] determine trend in turbulence intensity between data points in time and provide a trend vector indicator 942, [0052] perform statistical operation on data sensed between periodic transmissions to report interim intensity; and
visually presenting connections between the datapoints in each of the pairs, [fig. 7, 8a, 9b, 0143, 0156], the connections representing the turbulence in the airspace between the turbulence measurements in each of the pairs of the datapoints, [fig. 9b, 0156] a trend indicator 942a-c used to show the change in turbulence data between two data points connected using a line segment; [0052] wherein statistical analysis is used to determine statistical turbulence value between two measured data points,
automatically changing an indication attribute of the at least one connection displayed via the output device in real-time based on an age of the turbulence measurements at which the turbulence measurement was measured, [fig. 7, 0140] a time interval Δt between datapoints selectable by the pilot is indicated as 751; wherein each segment represents a time length equal to the selected interval Δt; [fig. 7, 8a, 0139, 0145] wherein each datapoint is indicated by a time indicator to show how long ago was the datapoint is before the previous datapoint as ti, ti-1, etc …, [fig. 8a] wherein each segment is represented with a changing attribute indicating the age of the segment that is updated as the aircraft moves and the current datapoint is added at the next selected interval,
Jensen teaches a system and method that tracks the time of each datapoint and indicates the time at which the data is collected on the display of the aircraft along each connection segment; wherein the time, naturally, is in order of the age of the datapoint, [fig. 7, 8a, 0139, 0140, 0145].
Gurusamy teaches a method and system for providing live weather data onboard an aircraft wherein the system presents connected weather data connected using lines according timestamps and indicates the age of the data on the lines using varying levels of transparency, [0026, 0039, 0054].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jensen with that of Gurusamy so that the pilot can easily identify the more relevant data on the screen and avoid spending more time trying to identify the more relevant data on the screen.
As to claim 20. Jensen discloses The method of claim 19, further comprising: automatically controlling flight of an aircraft based on the turbulence in the airspace between the turbulence measurements in each f the pairs of the datapoints, [0006, 0030] data used to determine areas to avoid on the flight path of the aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in the art can easily understand that changes in flight path are is performed by one of the two options which includes the autopilot or the human pilot.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jensen so the flightpath can be adjusted automatically based on the determined turbulence value as nothing but selected form one of the two available ways to change the flight path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688