DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/27/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
A title such as the following is suggested: Voltage regulator and enhanced error amplifier circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 12-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yung (US 2018/0284830) in view of Wang (US 2010/0019746).
With respect to claim 1, Yung discloses a voltage regulator (Fig. 2 204) comprising: at least one pass transistor (Fig. 2 208 or Fig. 7-1 T11) configured to generate an output voltage (Fig. 2 226) based on a gate voltage (Fig. 2 voltage 214); and an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 2 206) configured to output the gate voltage, wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first input terminal (Fig. 2 210) configured to receive a first reference voltage level from a reference voltage generator (Fig. 2 202); a third input terminal configured to receive a first voltage level (Fig. 2 218) of a first end of a target circuit (Fig. 2 228); and an output terminal (Fig. 2 214), wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the first reference voltage level, the second reference voltage level, the first voltage level, and the second voltage level, and to output the gate voltage at the output terminal, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage (Fig. 2 226) of the target circuit. Yung discloses wherein the reference voltage and load share a common ground (Fig. 2 220) and does not disclose wherein the error amplifier receives
a second input terminal configured to receive a second reference voltage level from the reference voltage generator and a fourth input terminal configured to receive a second voltage level of a second end of the target circuit.
Wang discloses a voltage regulator with an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 3 1) configured to output the gate voltage (Fig. 3 voltage 33), wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first input terminal (Fig. 3 11) configured to receive a first reference voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage from 48) from a reference voltage generator (Fig. 3 48); a second input terminal (Fig. 3 22) configured to receive a second reference voltage level (Fig. 3 ground voltage) from the reference voltage generator; a third input terminal (Fig. 3 12) configured to receive a first voltage level of a first end of a target circuit (Fig. 3 51); a fourth input terminal (Fig. 3 21) configured to receive a second voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage of ground of load) of a second end of the target circuit; and an output terminal (Fig. 3 33), wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the first reference voltage level, the second reference voltage level, the first voltage level, and the second voltage level, and to output the gate voltage at the output terminal, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage of the target circuit (Fig. 3 output voltage – ground). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an error amplifier circuit configured to output the gate voltage, wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first input terminal configured to receive a first reference voltage level from a reference voltage generator; a second input terminal configured to receive a second reference voltage level from the reference voltage generator; a third input terminal configured to receive a first voltage level of a first end of a target circuit; a fourth input terminal configured to receive a second voltage level of a second end of the target circuit; and an output terminal, wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the first reference voltage level, the second reference voltage level, the first voltage level, and the second voltage level, and to output the gate voltage at the output terminal, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage of the target circuit, in order to account for the voltage drop due to the wiring from the load to the error amplifier.
With respect to claim 2, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 1, wherein the operating voltage (Fig. 3 voltage across 51) of the target circuit is smaller (Fig. 3 smaller by voltage drop across 52 and 51) than the output voltage (Fig. 3 voltage at 47).
With respect to claim 3, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 1, wherein a potential difference between the first reference voltage level and the second reference voltage level is a reference voltage (Wang Fig. 2 13).
With respect to claim 4, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 3, wherein the operating voltage matches the reference voltage (Wang Fig. 2 drives the operating voltage at the load to the reference voltage).
With respect to claim 1 and 5, Yung discloses a voltage regulator (Fig. 2 204) comprising: at least one pass transistor (Fig. 2 208) configured to generate an output voltage (Fig. 2 226) based on a gate voltage (Fig. 2 voltage 214); and an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 2 206) configured to output the gate voltage, wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first input terminal (Fig. 2 210) configured to receive a first reference voltage level from a reference voltage generator (Fig. 2 202); a third input terminal configured to receive a first voltage level (Fig. 2 218) of a first end of a target circuit (Fig. 2 228); and an output terminal (Fig. 2 214), wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the first reference voltage level, the second reference voltage level, the first voltage level, and the second voltage level, and to output the gate voltage at the output terminal, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage (Fig. 2 226) of the target circuit. Yung discloses wherein the reference voltage and load share a common ground (Fig. 2 220) and does not disclose wherein the error amplifier receives
a second input terminal configured to receive a second reference voltage level from the reference voltage generator and a fourth input terminal configured to receive a second voltage level of a second end of the target circuit.
Wang alternately discloses a voltage regulator with an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 3 1) configured to output the gate voltage (Fig. 3 voltage 33), wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first input terminal (Fig. 3 11) configured to receive a first reference voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage from 48) from a reference voltage generator (Fig. 3 48); a second input terminal (Fig. 3 22) configured to receive a second reference voltage level (Fig. 3 ground voltage) from the reference voltage generator; a third input terminal (Fig. 3 21) configured to receive a first voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage at 21) of a first end of a target circuit (Fig. 3 51); a fourth input terminal (Fig. 3 12) configured to receive a second voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage at 52) of a second end of the target circuit; and an output terminal (Fig. 3 33), wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the first reference voltage level, the second reference voltage level, the first voltage level, and the second voltage level, and to output the gate voltage at the output terminal, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage of the target circuit (Fig. 3 output voltage – ground). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an error amplifier circuit configured to output the gate voltage, wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first input terminal configured to receive a first reference voltage level from a reference voltage generator; a second input terminal configured to receive a second reference voltage level from the reference voltage generator; a third input terminal configured to receive a first voltage level of a first end of a target circuit; a fourth input terminal configured to receive a second voltage level of a second end of the target circuit; and an output terminal, wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the first reference voltage level, the second reference voltage level, the first voltage level, and the second voltage level, and to output the gate voltage at the output terminal, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage of the target circuit, in order to account for the voltage drop due to the wiring from the load to the error amplifier.
With respect to claim 5, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 1, wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to: sum (Wang Fig. 2 31) the first reference voltage level and the first voltage level, to obtain a first signal; sum (wang Fig. 2 32) the second reference voltage level and the second voltage level, to obtain a second signal; compare (Fig. 2 34-36) the first signal and the second signal, to obtain a comparison result (Fig. 2 33); and generate the gate voltage (Fig. 2 33) based on the comparison result.
With respect to claim 7, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 1, wherein the at least one pass transistor includes: a first transistor (Fig. 7-1 T11) connected between a first node (Fig. 7-1 216) and a second node (Fig. 7-1 708) and configured to operate in response to the gate voltage (Fig. 7-1 224); a second transistor (Fig. 7-1 T20) including a gate connected (Fig. 7-1 connected through T15,T16,T22,T12) to the second node and connected between the first node and a power node (Fig. 7-1 Vin); and a third transistor (Fig. 7-1 T21) connected between the second node and a ground node (Fig. 7-1 ground symbol)and configured to operate in response to a bias voltage (Fig. 7-1 voltage 708), and wherein the first node and the target circuit are connected through a circuit line (Fig. 7-1 line to 226).
With respect to claim 8, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 1, wherein the at least one pass transistor includes a p-type metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistor (Fig. 7-1 T11) connected to an output node (Fig. 7-1 216) and configured to operate in response to the gate voltage, and wherein the output node is connected to the first end of the target circuit through a circuit line (Fig. 7-1 line to 226).
With respect to claim 12, Yung discloses a voltage regulator (Fig. 2 104) configured to generate an output voltage (Fig. 2 226), comprising: an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 2 214) configured to generate a gate voltage (Fig. 2 224) based on a first reference voltage level (Fig. 2 202), a first voltage level of a first end of a target circuit (Fig. 2 218), and at least one pass transistor (Fig. 2 208) configured to generate the output voltage in response to the gate voltage, wherein the first end of the target circuit (Fig. 2 228) is connected to the pass transistor through a circuit line (Fig. 2 216). Yung discloses a common ground (Fig. 2 220) for the second reference voltage level and the second voltage level, and does not require a separate second reference voltage level from the second voltage level of a second end of the target circuit
Wang discloses an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 3 1) configured to generate a gate voltage (Fig. 3 33) based on a first reference voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage 11), a second reference voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage 22), a first voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage 12) of a first end of a target circuit (Fig. 3 51), and a second voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage 22) of a second end of the target circuit; wherein a potential difference between the first reference voltage level and the second reference voltage level is a reference voltage (Fig. 3 voltage 48), and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage (Fig. 3 voltage for 51) of the target circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 2 214) configured to generate a gate voltage (Fig. 2 224) based on a first reference voltage level, a second reference voltage level, a first voltage level of a first end of a target circuit, and a second voltage level of a second end of the target circuit; and at least one pass transistor configured to generate the output voltage in response to the gate voltage, wherein the first end of the target circuit is connected to the pass transistor through a circuit line, wherein a potential difference between the first reference voltage level and the second reference voltage level is a reference voltage, and wherein a potential difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level is an operating voltage of the target circuit, in order to account for the voltage drop due to the wiring from the load to the error amplifier.
With respect to claim 13, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 12, wherein the output voltage (Fig. 3 voltage across 47 to ground) is greater (Fig. 3 greater by the voltage drops across conductors 52 and 53) than the operating voltage (Fig. 3 voltage across 51).
With respect to claim 14, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 12, wherein the operating voltage matches the reference voltage (Fig. 3 voltage from 48 to ground).
With respect to claim 16, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 12, further comprising: a feedback circuit (Yung Fig. 6-1 R1,R2; Wang Fig. 3 45-46) connected between the first end of the target circuit and the error amplifier circuit and configured to generate a third voltage level (Fig. 6-1 voltage 402) based on the first voltage level and to provide the third voltage level to the error amplifier circuit, wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to generate the gate voltage based on the third voltage level (Wang Fig. 2 12), and wherein the operating voltage of the target circuit (Wang Fig. 3 voltage 51) is greater than (since Fig. 3 potential at 45-46 is a divided operating voltage) a potential difference between the third voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage at 45-46-12) and the second voltage level.
With respect to claim 18, Yung discloses an electronic system comprising: a plurality of electronic devices (Fig. 1 106,108); and a power management integrated circuit (Fig. 1 102) including a voltage regulator (Fig. 1 104) configured to provide an output voltage (Fig. 2 226) to the plurality of electronic devices, wherein the voltage regulator includes: an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 2 206) configured to generate a gate voltage (Fig. 2 214) based on a first voltage level (Fig. 2 218) of a first node (Fig. 2 216) connected to a first end of target circuits included in each of the plurality of electronic devices, the first ends of the target circuits being provided with an operating current (Fig.2 230), a first reference voltage level (Fig. 2 202), and a common ground (Fig. 2 220). Yung remains silent as to providing the ground voltage of the load and the reference voltage to the error amplifier.
Wang discloses a voltage regulator (Fig. 3 4) includes: an error amplifier circuit (Fig. 3 1) configured to generate a gate voltage (Fig. 2 33) based on a first voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage 12 or 21) of a first node (Fig. 3 node 52-51-45 or 53-51) connected to a first end (Fig. 3 51 end at 52) of target circuits included in each of the plurality of electronic devices (Fig. 3 51), the first ends of the target circuits being provided with an operating current, a second voltage level (Fig. voltage 21 or 12) of a second node (Fig. 3 21 or 12) connected to second ends of the target circuits, a first reference voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage 11 from 48), and a second reference voltage level (Fig. 3 voltage).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the voltage regulator includes: an error amplifier circuit configured to generate a gate voltage based on a first voltage level of a first node connected to a first end of target circuits included in each of the plurality of electronic devices, the first ends of the target circuits being provided with an operating current, a second voltage level of a second node connected to second ends of the target circuits, a first reference voltage level, and a second reference voltage level, in order to account for the voltage drop due to the wiring from the load to the error amplifier.
With respect to claim 19, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the electronic system of claim 18, wherein the error amplifier circuit is configured to: sum (Wang Fig. 2 31) the first reference voltage level and the first voltage level, to obtain a first signal; sum (Fig. 2 32) the second reference voltage level and the second voltage level, to obtain a second signal; compare (Fig. 2 34-36) the first signal and the second signal to obtain a comparison result (Fig. 2 33); and generate the gate voltage (Fig. 2 33) based on the comparison result.
With respect to claim 20, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the electronic system of claim 19, wherein the voltage regulator includes: a pass transistor (Yung Fig. 2 208) configured to generate the output voltage based on the gate voltage.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yung (US 2018/0284830) in view of Wang (US 2010/0019746) and further in view of Im (US 2011/0102072).
With respect to claim 6, Yung in view of Wang make obvious the voltage regulator of claim 1 as set forth above, and remain silent as to implementing header and footer transistors. The use of header and footer transistors were well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Im discloses a circuit further comprising: a header transistor (Fig. 1 10) connected between the at least one pass transistor (Fig. 1 14) and the first end of the target circuit (Fig. 1 4) and configured to operate in response to a first power gating voltage (Fig. 1 gate voltages from 20 to GH0-GH3); and a footer transistor (Fig. 1 16) connected between the second end of the target circuit and a ground node (Fig. 1 18) and configured to operate in response to a second power gating voltage (Fig. 1 gate voltages from 20 to GF0-GF3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a header transistor connected between the at least one pass transistor and the first end of the target circuit and configured to operate in response to a first power gating voltage; and a footer transistor connected between the second end of the target circuit and a ground node and configured to operate in response to a second power gating voltage, in order to reduce power consumption is the target circuit during low power modes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein the error amplifier circuit includes: a first transistor connected between a first node and a third node and configured to operate in response to the first reference voltage level; a second transistor connected between a second node and a fourth node and configured to operate in response to the second reference voltage level; a third transistor connected between the first node and a fifth node and configured to operate in response to the first voltage level; a fourth transistor connected between the second node and a sixth node and configured to operate in response to the second voltage level; a fifth transistor connected between a power node and the third node and configured to operate in response to a bias voltage; a sixth transistor connected between the power node and the fourth node and configured to operate in response to the bias voltage; a seventh transistor connected between the power node and the fifth node and configured to operate in response to the bias voltage; an eighth transistor connected between the power node and the sixth node and configured to operate in response to the bias voltage; and an output stage circuit configured to generate the gate voltage based on a first signal at the first node and a second signal at the second node.
With respect to claim 15, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, further comprising: a plurality of target circuits connected between an output node of the at least one pass transistor and a circuit ground, a first switch circuit connected between first ends of the target circuits and the error amplifier circuit and configured to select one or more of the target circuits to be connected to the error amplifier circuit through the first switch circuit; and a second switch circuit connected between second ends of the target circuits and the error amplifier circuit and configured to select one or more of the target circuits to be connected to the error amplifier circuit through the second switch circuit, wherein a voltage level of a third node at which the error amplifier circuit and the first switch circuit are connected matches the first voltage level, and wherein a voltage level of a fourth node where the error amplifier circuit and the second switch circuit are connected matches the second voltage level.
With respect to claim 17, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, wherein the feedback circuit includes: a first resistor connected between (i) a feedback node connected to the error amplifier circuit and (ii) a ground node; and a second resistor connected between the feedback node and the first end of the target circuit.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of the respective claims are believed to render the aforementioned indicated claim and any dependent claims thereof patentable over the art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Davierwalla (US 2009/0189694) and Czarnula (US 5,990,737) discloses an error amplifiers with improved balance.
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838