DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is cancelled.
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9, of U.S. Patent No. 11,136,773. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seneff, US Patent No. 6,079,950 (hereinafter Seneff) in view of Laflamme et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0101647 (hereinafter Laflamme).
Regarding claims 2-21, the combination of Seneff and Laflamme teaches all the claimed limitations, as outlined below.
Regarding claims 2 and 6-7 and corresponding claims 11, 15-17, and 20-21, Seneff teaches: - a managed water system comprising: a body of water in a vessel; a first sensor that determines a temperature of the body of water; a circulation system that circulates the body of water; a first ancillary system joined in a closed loop with the vessel and the circulation system, wherein the first ancillary system alters the body of water as the body of water flows through the first ancillary system; and at least one controller communicably coupled to the first sensor and the circulation system, wherein the at least one controller is configured to: control the circulation system; determine a first set of measurements of the temperature of the body of water, the first set of measurements comprising a first temperature of the body of water at a first time and a second temperature of the body of water at a second time; evaluate the first set of measurements using at least one algorithm; a second sensor configured to determine a flow rate of the body of water through the circulation system disposed in the closed loop between the circulation system and the vessel; wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: determine a second set of measurements of the flow rate of the body of water; evaluate the second set of measurements using the at least one algorithm; and communicate a result of evaluating the second set of measurements (Figs 1-2, C2 L51-67, C3 L57-67, and C4 L1-14).
Seneff fails to clearly specify - communicate a result of evaluating the first set of measurements, wherein the result comprises an amount of time to heat the body of water to a target temperature; wherein the result further comprises a time at which to begin heating the body of water to reach a target temperature at a target time
However, Laflamme teaches - communicate a result of evaluating the first set of measurements, wherein the result comprises an amount of time to heat the body of water to a target temperature; wherein the result further comprises a time at which to begin heating the body of water to reach a target temperature at a target time (Para 0110-0113).
The applied prior art is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they relate to same field of endeavor. They relate to controlling water systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above pool recirculation control system, as taught by Seneff, and incorporating the control scheme of controlling based on time needed to reach target temperature, as taught by Laflamme.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide reduce energy consumption, as suggested by Laflamme (See Para 0006).
Regarding claims 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, and 18-19, Seneff further teaches:
Claim 3 and corresponding claim 12 - wherein the first ancillary system comprises a heating system that heats the body of water (Figs 1-2, C2 L51-67, C3 L57-67, and C4 L1-14).
Claim 4 and corresponding claim 13 - wherein the at least one controller comprises a timer (Figs 1-2, C2 L51-67, C3 L57-67, and C4 L1-14).
Claim 5 and corresponding claim 14 - wherein the vessel is a swimming pool (Figs 1-2, C2 L51-67, C3 L57-67, and C4 L1-14).
Claim 9 and corresponding claim 18 - wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: output first instructions for the first ancillary system to begin heating the volume of water at the start time (Figs 1-2, C2 L51-67, C3 L57-67, and C4 L1-14).
Claim 10 and corresponding claim 19 - wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: determine the body of water is at the target temperature; and output second instructions for the first ancillary system to cease operation (Figs 1-2, C2 L51-67, C3 L57-67, and C4 L1-14).
Regarding claim 8, Laflamme, further teaches - wherein the at least one controller is further configured to: receive a request to for a temperature of the body of water to be a target temperature at a target time; calculate an amount of time needed to heat the body of water to the target temperature; and determine a start time to begin heating the body of water in order for the temperature of the body of water to be the target temperature at the target time (Para 0110-0113).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. Chow, Tin Tai, et al. "Analysis of a solar assisted heat pump system for indoor swimming pool water and space heating." Applied energy 100 (2012): 309-317.
2. Allen, US Patent No. 7,484,938 – relates to electronic control for pool pump.
Conclusion
/CARLOS R ORTIZ RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119