DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-27 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Applicant originally elected the method claims and not the apparatus claims.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-27 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 5A, the fifth hole form the bottom labeled “34” should be changed to “44” in order to match the rest of the specification/drawings.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 30. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 requires at least one of the middle section screw holes to be oval. However, the specification fails to teach this limitation. The middle section screw holes 34 are only circular, while holes 44 and 56 are oblong/oval (Figs. 5A-5D; paragraph [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzalez-Hernandez (US 2014/0172020; “Hernandez”).
Claim 28, Hernandez discloses a method for affixing a fracture plate to a bone (abstract; Fig. 5), comprising: providing a fracture plate (Fig. 4) comprising a proximal plate portion (82), a distal plate portion (88), and an intermediate plate portion (90) forming an anatomical bend between the proximal plate portion and the distal plate portion (Fig. 4); positioning the fracture plate on the bone such that the anatomical bend extends about a portion of the bone between the proximal plate portion and the distal plate portion (Fig. 5); inserting at least one distal fastener (Fig. 5; 194, 196, etc.; paragraphs [0042]-[0051]) through the distal plate portion into a shaft portion of the bone (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0042]-[0051]); and inserting at least one proximal fastener (Fig. 5; 140; paragraphs [0042]-[0051]) through the proximal plate portion into a proximal portion of the bone (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0042]-[0051]); wherein the positioning of the anatomical bend of the fracture plate offsets the proximal plate portion from the distal plate portion avoiding an anatomical feature connected to the bone (Fig. 5).
Claim 29, Hernandez discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the anatomical feature comprises a muscle insertion site (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0042]-[0051], while Hernandez does not directly state this feature, the drawings clearly show that the shape of the plate and how it connects are nearly identical to the current invention, so the same anatomical features will be attached to and avoided).
Claim 30, Hernandez discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the anatomical bend extends anteriorly from the proximal plate portion to the distal plate portion (Fig. 5).
Claim 31,Hernandez discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the proximal portion of the bone comprises a humeral head and the anatomical bend extends between the proximal portion of the bone and the shaft portion of the bone avoiding the deltoid tuberosity (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0023]-[0051]).
Claim 32, Hernandez discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the anatomical bend extends anteriorly from the proximal plate portion to the distal plate portion (Fig. 5).
Claim 33, Hernandez discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising inserting an intermediate fastener (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0042]-[0051]) through the intermediate plate portion avoiding a muscle insertion site (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0042]-[0051]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 11, 14, 17, and 28-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10238438 in view of Gonzalez-Hernandez (US 2014/0172020; “Hernandez”).
The patent has claims geared towards the same embodiment. Any missing features from the patent claims are taught by Hernandez as noted above.
Claims 1-4, 11, 14, 17, and 28-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10966766 in view of Gonzalez-Hernandez (US 2014/0172020; “Hernandez”).
The patent has claims geared towards the same embodiment. Any missing features from the patent claims are taught by Hernandez as noted above.
Claims 1-4, 11, 14, 17, and 28-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12023077 in view of Gonzalez-Hernandez (US 2014/0172020; “Hernandez”).
The patent has claims geared towards the same embodiment. Any missing features from the patent claims are taught by Hernandez as noted above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument regarding the amendment of claim 1 is persuasive. Arguments to the new claims are addressed in the action above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775