DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4 – 9, 12 – 17, 20 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12 – 17, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (“Non-EE2: Cross-component Merge Mode for Chroma Intra Coding”, JVET-AC0315-v2, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29 29th Meeting, by teleconference, 11-20 January 2023) (hereinafter Tsai), as cited by applicant, in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2024/182735) (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Youvalari et al. (“AHG12: Block Vector Guided CCCM”, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29, 30th Meeting, Antalya, TR, 21-28 April 2023, JVET-AD0100-v2) (hereinafter Youvalari), as cited by applicant.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Tsai teaches a method of decoding video data, a device for decoding video data, the device being configured to perform the method, and a device for decoding video data, the device comprising means for performing the method, the method comprising:
Storing convolutional cross component residual model (CCCM) parameters for the first chrominance block as stored CCCM parameters for the first chrominance block (e.g. section 2: describing that the current block inherits CCCM parameters from a neighboring block based on the CCCM candidate indicated by the merge candidate index [see, e.g. section 2.2: describing that the cross-component prediction model used for the current block is indicted by the merge candidate index, the cross-component prediction model being a CCCM model], wherein it is inherent to those of ordinary skill in the art that in order to use the same CCCM parameters of a neighboring block, the CCCM parameters of the neighboring block must necessarily be stored),
constructing a merge candidate list for a current block of video data, the current block neighboring the first chrominance block, including adding the first chrominance block as a first merge candidate to the merge candidate list and adding a second merge candidate that was predicted using a second CCCM to the merge candidate list, the first CCCM being different than the second CCCM (e.g. sections 2 and 2.1: describing that the system generates a merge candidate list for a current chroma block, the candidate list including a first merge candidate generated according to a first neighboring block, the first neighboring block coded using a CCCM model, and a second merge candidate generated according to a second neighboring block, the second neighboring block coded using a different CCCM model);
decoding a merge index value for the current block of video data, the merge index value indicating the first merge candidate (e.g. section 2.2: describing that the system obtains a merge candidate index from the bitstream, the merge candidate index indicating which candidate in the merge candidate list is to be used for the current chroma block); and
in response to the merge index value indicating the first merge candidate, forming a prediction block for the current block using the first CCCM, including using the stored CCCM parameters for the first chrominance block to form the prediction block (e.g. sections 1 and 2: describing that based on the merge candidate indicated by merge candidate index, the system generates a prediction block for the current chroma block using the CCCM parameters used to generate the indicated candidate [see, e.g. section 2.1: describing that the current block inherits all model parameters of CCCM candidate indicated, the inherited parameters used to generate a prediction for the current chroma block, wherein it is inherent to those of ordinary skill in the art that in order to use the same CCCM parameters of a neighboring block, the CCCM parameters of the neighboring block must necessarily be stored]).
Tsai does not explicitly teach:
wherein the device comprises a memory configured to store video data and a processing system comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry, the processing system being configured to perform the method;
wherein the method further comprises: decoding the current block using the prediction block, and
predicting a first chrominance block of video data using a first convolutional cross component residual model comprising a block vector guided convolutional cross component model (BVG-CCCM), wherein predicting includes:
determining a block vector of a collocated luminance block to the first chrominance block;
determining a reference area for calculating CCCM parameters using the block vector of the collocated luminance block to the first chrominance block; and
calculating the CCCM parameters using the reference area.
Zhang, however, teaches a method and device for decoding video data:
wherein the device comprises a memory configured to store video data and a processing system comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry, the processing system being configured to perform the method (e.g. Fig. 45 and pars. 164 – 176: depicting and describing an electronic device [element 4500] including memory configured to store video data [elements 4525 and 4530] and one or more processors [element 4510] configured to implement a coding method); and
wherein the method further comprises: decoding the current block using the prediction block (e.g. Fig. 45 and pars. 164 – 176: depicting and describing the system decodes the current block according to the coding method, the coding method using a prediction of the current block).
Youvalari, however, teaches a method and device for decoding video data:
predicting a first chrominance block of video data using a first convolutional cross component residual model comprising a block vector guided convolutional cross component model (BVG-CCCM) (e.g. section 2: describing that the CCCM includes block vector guided CCCM), wherein predicting includes:
determining a block vector of a collocated luminance block to the first chrominance block (e.g. section 2: describing that the system determines a block vector of a collocated luma block of the chroma block);
determining a reference area for calculating CCCM parameters using the block vector of the collocated luminance block to the first chrominance block (e.g. section 2: describing that the system uses the determined block vector to determine a reference area for calculating CCCM parameters); and
calculating the CCCM parameters using the reference area (e.g. section 2: describing that the system uses the determined reference area to calculate CCCM parameters).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Tsai by adding the teachings of Zhang in order for the device to comprise a memory configured to store video data and a processing system comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry, the processing system being configured to perform the method and in order for the method to further comprise decoding the current block using the prediction block, and by adding the teachings of Youvalari in order to predict a first chrominance block using BVG-CCCM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding effectiveness and coding efficiency of cross component prediction (Zhang, e.g. par. 4: describing a desire to improve coding effectiveness and coding efficiency of cross component prediction), and because the modification improves coding efficiency of cross component prediction (Youvalari, e.g. section 2: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency of cross component prediction).
Turning to claims 4, 12, and 20, Tsai, Zhang, and Youvalari teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Tsai further teaches:
wherein the second CCCM comprises one of cross-component linear model (CCLM), single model CCCM, multi-model CCCM, gradient and location based CCCM (GL-CCCM), or enhanced BVG-CCCM (EBVG-CCCM) (Tsai, e.g. section 1: describing that the cross component prediction model includes a CCLM model, a single model CCCM or a multi-model CCCM [MMLM]).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 21, Tsai, Zhang, and Youvalari teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Tsai further teaches:
wherein the current block comprises a current block of chrominance (chroma) data (e.g. section 2: describing that the current block is a chroma block).
Tsai does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first CCCM comprises EBVG-CCCM, and
wherein for a subsequent chrominance (chroma) block of the video data:
determining a second block vector referring to a reference block;
determining neighboring reference chrominance (chroma) data to the subsequent chroma block and neighboring reference luminance (luma) data to a collocated luma block to the subsequent chroma block;
calculating filter coefficients to be used to filter the subsequent chroma block from the reference block, the neighboring reference chroma data, and the neighboring reference luma data; and
filtering one or more samples of a prediction block for the subsequent chroma block using the filter coefficients.
Youvalari, however, teaches a method and electronic device for decoding video data:
wherein the first CCCM comprises EBVG-CCCM (e.g. section 2: describing CCCM includes block vector guided CCCM), and
wherein for a subsequent chrominance (chroma) block of the video data:
determining a second block vector referring to a reference block (e.g. Fig. 3 and section 2: depicting and describing that the system determines a block vector that refers to a reference block);
determining neighboring reference chrominance (chroma) data to the subsequent chroma block and neighboring reference luminance (luma) data to a collocated luma block to the subsequent chroma block (e.g. Fig. 3 and section 2: depicting and describing that the system determines reference chroma and luma blocks of the chroma block and co-located luma block);
calculating filter coefficients to be used to filter the subsequent chroma block from the reference block, the neighboring reference chroma data, and the neighboring reference luma data (e.g. section 2: describing that the system uses the reference area referenced by the block vector, the reference luma area and the reference chroma area to determine CCCM parameters, the CCCM parameters being filter coefficients to be used on the chroma block [see, e.g. section 1: describing that CCCM predicts chroma samples from luma samples using a 7-tap filter]); and
filtering one or more samples of a prediction block for the subsequent chroma block using the filter coefficients (e.g. sections 1 and section 2: describing that the system forms a prediction block by filtering the co-located luma block of the chroma block using the determined CCCM parameters).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Tsai by adding the teachings of Youvalari in order for the first CCCM comprises EBVG-CCCM and in order for forming the prediction block to comprise forming the prediction block according to EBVG-CCCM. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency of cross component prediction (Youvalari, e.g. section 2: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency of cross component prediction).
Turning to claims 6 and 14, Tsai, Zhang, and Youvalari teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5, and claims 9 and 13, respectively, as discussed above. Tsai does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second block vector comprises a chroma block vector referring to a reference chroma block, the method further comprising determining a luma block vector referring to a reference luma block, wherein calculating the filter coefficients comprises calculating the filter coefficients using the reference luma block.
Youvalari, however, teaches a method and electronic device for video decoding:
wherein the second block vector comprises a chroma block vector referring to a reference chroma block, the method further comprising determining a luma block vector referring to a reference luma block, wherein calculating the filter coefficients comprises calculating the filter coefficients using the reference luma block (e.g. Fig. 3 and section 2: depicting and describing that the block vector is a chroma block vector referring to a reference chroma block and a luma block vector referring to a reference luma block, and the CCCM parameters are determined using the reference luma block, wherein the CCCM parameters are the equivalent of the filter coefficients).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Tsai by adding the teachings of Youvalari in order for the block vector comprises a chroma block vector referring to a reference chroma block, the method further comprising determining a luma block vector referring to a reference luma block, wherein calculating the filter coefficients comprises calculating the filter coefficients using the reference luma block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency of cross component prediction (Youvalari, e.g. section 2: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency of cross component prediction).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Tsai, Zhang, and Youvalari teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5, and claims 9 and 13, respectively, as discussed above. Tsai does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining the second block vector comprises determining the second block vector according to direct block vector (DVB) mode.
Youvalari, however, teaches a method and electronic device for video decoding:
wherein determining the second block vector comprises determining the second block vector according to direct block vector (DVB) mode (e.g. section 2: describing that the system determines a block vector according to direct block vector mode).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Tsai by adding the teachings of Youvalari in order to determine the block vector comprises determining the block vector according to direct block vector (DVB) mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency of cross component prediction (Youvalari, e.g. section 2: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency of cross component prediction).
Turning to claims 8 and 16, Tsai, Zhang, and Youvalari teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Tsai does not explicitly teach:
further comprising encoding the current block prior to decoding the current block.
Zhang, however, teaches a method and device:
further comprising encoding the current block prior to decoding the current block (e.g. Fig. 45 and pars. 175 – 176: depicting and describing that the system performs an encoding video data prior to the decoding of the video data, the video data including the current block).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Tsai by adding the teachings of Zhang in order to encode the current block prior to decoding the current block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding effectiveness and coding efficiency of cross component prediction (Zhang, e.g. par. 4: describing a desire to improve coding effectiveness and coding efficiency of cross component prediction).
Claim(s) 22 - 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (“Non-EE2: Cross-component Merge Mode for Chroma Intra Coding”, JVET-AC0315-v2, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29 29th Meeting, by teleconference, 11-20 January 2023) (hereinafter Tsai), as cited by applicant, in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2024/182735) (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Youvalari et al. (“AHG12: Block Vector Guided CCCM”, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29, 30th Meeting, Antalya, TR, 21-28 April 2023, JVET-AD0100-v2) (hereinafter Youvalari), as cited by applicant as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2024/0137541) (hereinafter Zhao).
Regarding claims 22, 23, and 24, Tsai, Zhang, and Youvalari teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 19, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Tsai does not explicitly teach:
Generating a second prediction block for the current block using a direct block vector (DBV) mode; and
Calculating a weighted average of the prediction block formed using the first CCCM and the second prediction block to generate a final prediction for the current block,
Wherein decoding the current block comprises decoding the current block using the final prediction block.
Zhao, however, teaches a method and device for decoding video data:
Generating a second prediction block for the current block using a direct block vector (DBV) mode (e.g. Fig. 10 and pars. 104 – 110: depicting and describing that the system generates a prediction block using a candidate intra prediction mode, the candidate intra prediction mode being a block vector mode [see, e.g. par. 83: describing that the candidate intra prediction mode can be any intra prediction mode]); and
Calculating a weighted average of the prediction block formed using the first CCCM and the second prediction block to generate a final prediction for the current block (e.g. Fig. 10 and pars. 104 – 110: depicting and describing that the system calculates a weighted sum of the prediction block generated using the normal intra prediction mode and the prediction block generated using CCCM [see, e.g. par. 83: describing that the multiple intra prediction modes being fused include a CCCM mode and a normal intra prediction mode, the direct block vector mode being the equivalent of the normal intra prediction mode], wherein the weighted sum is the equivalent of the weighted average),
Wherein decoding the current block comprises decoding the current block using the final prediction block (e.g. Fig. 10, and pars. 104 – 110: depicting and describing that the system uses the weighted sum of the candidate prediction modes to decode the current block).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Tsai by adding the teachings of Zhao in order to generate a second prediction block using a second prediction mode, calculate a weighted average of the prediction block formed using CCCM and the prediction block formed using the second prediction mode, and predicting the current block using the weighted average prediction block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves prediction accuracy (Zhao, e.g. par. 82: describing a desire to fuse multiple prediction modes to improve prediction accuracy).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO2024080771 – describing fusing of multiple intra prediction modes, specifically fusion of CCCM predictor and a non-CCCM predictor
WO2024075520 – describing a coding system that generates a first prediction block using a CCCM mode, generates a second prediction block using a non-CCCM prediction mode, and weighting the two prediction blocks together to obtain a final prediction value
US2024/0137542 – generally describes intra prediction fusion and its interoperability with other coding tools
SHANIKA M. BRUMFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/SHANIKA M BRUMFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2487
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487