DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/27/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki (CN 201810245608).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki teaches a thermal print head (101 figs.1-7,13-17) comprising:
a heat generating resistor (4 figs.3-7);
a wiring layer (electrode 3 including 35,31 figs.3-7) that is connected to the heat generating resistor (4);
a protective layer (5,6 figs.3-7. 6 includes layers 61-63 in figs.4-7) that covers the heat generating resistor (4) and the wiring layer (35,31), the protective layer being an insulating layer to which diamond particles are added (figs.4-7,13-17; paragraphs 0047,0049,0051,0058,0064,0069,0070 teaches 62 and 63 of 6 are formed of diamond particles/DLC/ta-C).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki further teaches wherein a content of the diamond particles in the protective layer is 1 volume percent or more and 90 volume percent or less (paragraphs 0047,0048 teaches different diamond contents including 45% to 85%, 25%, and also 2.5-3.3,2.2,3.0,3.1-3.3 gram per cubic cm volume of diamond).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (CN 201810245608).
Regarding claim 2, Aoki further teaches the use of different concentrations of diamond and different thickness of the protective layer/s (paragraphs 0045,0047,0048, 0054).
Aoki does not explicitly teach wherein a median diameter of the diamond particles is 0.5 times or less as large as a thickness of the protective layer.
However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use diamond particle with such mean diameter based on the required feature and size of protective layer in the thermal head, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki further teaches wherein a content of the diamond particles in the protective layer is 1 volume percent or more and 90 volume percent or less (paragraphs 0047,0048 teaches different diamond contents including 45% to 85%, 25%, and also 2.5-3.3,2.2,3.0,3.1-3.3 gram per cubic cm volume of diamond).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (CN 201810245608) in view of Imai (JP 2004358507).
Regarding claims 5-7, Aoki substantially teaches the claimed invention including the protective layer being an insulating layer to which diamond particles are added (paragraphs 0047,0049,0051, 0058, 0064, 0069,0070).
Aoki does not explicitly teach wherein the diamond particles are industrial diamond powders.
However, Imai teaches similar thermal print head (figs.1,8) including a protective layer (13) to which diamond particles are added, and wherein the diamond particles are industrial diamond powders (paragraphs 0021,0023). Imai further teaches the protective layer (13) that covers a heat generating resistor (12) and wiring layer (14,15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use diamond powder in the protective layer of Aoki based on the teachings of Imai for instance to facilitate manufacturing steps of the protective layer/s.
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853