CTNF 18/757,053 CTNF 83232 DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the filing of 6/27/24. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 12, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art of record fails to disclose a remote accessory that can be used for input, and adjusting the GUI from the perspective of the remote accessory, in combination with other limitations recited within the claimed context. The claims present a combination of limitations that differ from the cited art, and there is no reasonable combination of references that would teach it. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 14-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki (2018/0088678) in view of Ohanyerenwa (2017/0364599) and in further view of Kim (2015/0192989.) Claim 1, 10, 19: Komaki discloses a method for controlling an eyewear device of a user, the method comprising: presenting a first graphical user interface (GUI) on an image display including available actions (par. 51, Film liquid crystal of the right display 12R in FIG. 3 can display a right display image IM1 including, e.g., an icon group of a ten-keys (numbers, operators, enter-key, and the like), alphabets, and the like) within an application (par. 121, A program executed in the processor 11a displays an image IM1 (or IM2) of at least part of item data from the data of the items included in the stored item list on the right display 12R (or the left display 12L) (ST10 of FIG. 15)) executing on the eyewear device (par. 54, The display control of the displays 12R and 12L can be performed by the data processor 11 embedded in the right temple bar 107); detecting a first finger touch on a first input surface on a first side of an eyewear device (Fig. 15: ST12; par. 122, his/her right index finger swiping up in front of the right eye frame 12R with the electrodes (141 to 144) of the gesture detector 14) ; selecting, on the image display of the eyewear device, an available action in accordance with the detected first finger touch on the first input surface for controlling the eyewear device (par. 122-123, scrolling up a list of items using fingers); presenting the first GUI or a second GUI on the image display in response to the first finger touch (par. 122-123, presenting either items as they are scrolled up ); detecting a second finger touch on a second input surface (par. 122, with the electrodes (141 to 144) of the gesture detector 14; par. 121, there may be a user who does not prefer a gesturing finger is seen moving ahead of the right display, and thus, the image display may be performed in the left display 12L at which a finger of the right hand is not easily seen if the user choose so (optionally)) on a second side of the eyewear device (par. 122-123, scrolling down a list of items using fingers) ; and transitioning to displaying a third GUI on the image display in response to the second finger touch on the second input surface (par. 122-123, presenting either items as they are scrolled down. ) However, Komaki does not explicitly disclose: available actions for responding to another user in response to a message from the another user ; from a first visual perspective of the first input surface; and from a second visual perspective of the second input surface. Ohanyerenwa discloses a similar device for a GUI for social interaction including: available actions for responding to another user in response to a message from the another user (Fig. 2A: 228, Like, Save, Report Abuse.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Komaki with that of Ohanyerenwa so as to provide interaction with images sent from other users. One would have been motivated to combine the teachings so as to provide the user of augmented reality eyewear ability to browse social websites, e.g. Facebook. Kim discloses a similar method for gesture input, including: from a first visual perspective of the first input surface; and from a second visual perspective of the second input surface (Fig. 16C-D; par. 220-221, the operation of changing the position or the form of the predetermined object and displaying the changed object on the display 260 according to the grip information may include an operation of displaying a predetermined object (e.g., a virtual keyboard 1630) in an area on the left side of the display 260 when it is determined that the user grips the electronic device 200 with their left hand based on the grip information.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Komaki with that of Kim so as to position the interactive controls in proximate location to the user fingers / input locations. Claim 2, 11: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the image on the image display as a three-dimensional image ( Ohanyerenwa Fig. 8: 808 3d image of a man bowling.) Claim 4, 13: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a finger gesture on the first input surface of the eyewear device by detecting at least one touch event; and adjusting the first GUI or the second GUI presented on the image display of the eyewear device responsive to the identified finger gesture ( Ohanyerenwa Fig. 7:712, Fig. 9:922, selecting activity panels, and adjusting the GUI using highlights.) Claim 5, 14: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose method of claim 4, wherein the first GUI includes at least one symbol ( Ohanyerenwa Fig. 7: 712, magnifying glass) associated with the identified finger gesture, and the adjusting comprises highlighting the at least one symbol in response to the identified finger gesture ( Ohanyerenwa Fig. 7:712, Fig. 9:922, selecting activity panels, and adjusting the GUI using highlights.) Claim 6, 15: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring the application executing on the eyewear device; determining a current state of the monitored application ( Komaki Fig. 15: ST10, ST12, ST22) ; presenting a plurality of GUIs based on the determined state of the monitored application; and selecting the first GUI from the plurality of GUIs responsive to the determined state of the monitored application ( Ohanyerenwa , Fig. 2A-6; navigating the social network platform.) Claim 7, 16: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose method of claim 1, wherein the first GUI includes a plurality of selectable actions, each selectable action corresponding to one of a plurality of non-tap finger gestures, one of the selectable actions is designated as a default action, and the method further comprises: identifying a finger tap gesture on the first input surface; and performing the default action in response to the finger tap gesture ( Komaki Fig. 15: ST10, display data items, ST12, determine finger gestures, ST14, generate input for ST16, pointing scrolling, etc.) Claim 9, 18: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose method of claim 1, wherein the detecting comprises detecting a position of the first finger touch on the first input surface and wherein the first GUI displays a first virtual input surface corresponding to the first input surface and a virtual pointer adjacent the first virtual input surface in a virtual position corresponding to the position of the first finger touch on the first input surface and positioned to correspond to the first finger touch on the first input surface ( Komaki par. 136, Note that the device may be structured such that the user can touch any of the electrodes 141 to 144 (with clean fingers). In that case, the capacitance sensor 14 can be used as a pointing device like a touch pad (a variation of ST12 to ST16 of FIG. 15). For example, in the structure of FIG. 3, a ten-key and a cursor are shown in the display 12R, and the cursor can be moved by touching any of the electrodes 141 to 144 of the capacitance sensor 14 by a finger.) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaki (2018/0088678) in view of Ohanyerenwa (2017/0364599) in view of Kim (2015/0192989) and in further view of Castaneda (10,962,809.) Claim 8, 17: Komaki , Ohanyerenwa and Kim disclose method of claim 7. However, Komaki does not explicitly disclose further comprising: identify a finger hold gesture on the first input surface; and display the first GUI until the finger is removed from the first input surface without performing the default action. Castaneda discloses a similar eyewear device, including: identify a finger hold gesture on the first input surface; and display the first GUI until the finger is removed from the first input surface without performing the default action (11:12-28, The identified finger gesture is a press and hold of a graphical user interface element in the image presented on the image display. The adjustment to the image presented on the image display based on the identified finger gesture is configured to allow a drag and drop (e.g., move) of the graphical user interface element on the image display or provide display options (e.g., a context menu associated with the graphical user interface element.)) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Komaki with Castaneda so as to provide a press and hold input of Castaneda in the teaching of Komaki . One would have been motivated to combine the teachings so as to allow varied forms of input besides just tap gestures, such as to bring up a context menu, when otherwise the menu item would have been selected by default . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Wu (2010/0097331) adapting the interface based on grip . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREY BELOUSOV whose telephone number is (571) 270-1695 and Andrew.belousov@uspto.gov email. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Friday EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Adam Queler, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-4140. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center and the Private Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center or Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center and Private PAIR for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /Andrey Belousov/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 2172 5/19/26 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 2 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 3 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 4 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 5 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 6 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 7 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 8 Art Unit: 2172 Application/Control Number: 18/757,053 Page 9 Art Unit: 2172