FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a pallet configured for” in claims 1 and 4, and a “driving shaft module…configured to be docked” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1 and 4, the current claim limitation “using the pallet” recites a method of using the claimed apparatus and “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph” (MPEP 2173.05p).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. KR102029341 (citations from translation).
With respect to claim 1, Choi teaches a testing device (figure 1) a pallet (jig 2) configured for (claim language after “configured for” is functional language is does not structurally limit the system claim) fixing a driving module for an electric vehicle and to be transported along a transport path set by a conveyor (interpreted as EPS module that is mounted on rails 1 by the jig 2, page 2, figure 1); an excitation unit (vibration test unit 300) disposed at a position that corresponds to the transport path to apply vibration to the driving module by using the pallet (vibration test unit 300 is provided on a cross frame 10 of the testing device for exciting the EPS module during testing, pages 4 and 5); and a dynamometer unit (left and right load units 100, 100’, figure 1) movable in a direction that intersects the transport path (load units movable on rails 162, page 2, figures 2) and configured to apply a dyno load to an output unit of the driving module (load units apply load to the EPS module, pages 2 and 3, figures 1 and 2).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Chois teaches wherein the dynamometer unit comprises: a rail frame (rails 162); and a slide frame (nut housing 122) slidably coupled to the rail frame in the direction that intersects the transport path (nut housing 122 is coupled to the rails 162, page3, figure 2), and wherein two of the rail frames are respectively disposed on both sides of the conveyor with the conveyor disposed therebetween in the direction that intersects the transport path (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. KR102029341 (citations from translation) in view of Ladocsi et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0231523.
With respect to claim 4, Choi teaches a testing device (figure 1) a pallet (jig 2) configured for (claim language after “configured for” is functional language is does not structurally limit the system claim) fixing a driving module for an electric vehicle and to be transported along a transport path set by a conveyor (interpreted as EPS module that is mounted on rails 1 by the jig 2, page 2, figure 1); an excitation unit (vibration test unit 300) disposed at a position that corresponds to the transport path to apply vibration to the driving module by using the pallet (vibration test unit 300 is provided on a cross frame 10 of the testing device for exciting the EPS module during testing, pages 4 and 5); a slide frame (nut housing 122) slidably coupled to the rail frame in the direction that intersects the transport path (nut housing 122 is coupled to the rails 162, page3, figure 2), and a dyno load motor (left and right load units 100, 100’, figure 1) movable in a direction that intersects the transport path (load units movable on rails 162, page 2, figures 2) and configured to apply a dyno load to an output unit of the driving module (load units apply load to the EPS module, pages 2 and 3, figures 1 and 2), and a driving shaft module (work clamp 154, figure 2) connected to the dyno load motor configured to be docked to an output of the driving module (figures 1 and 2).
But Choi fails to teach a constant velocity universal joint connected to the dyno load motor.
Ladocsi teaches a method of determining a noise or vibration response of a vehicle subassembly wherein a vehicle subassembly 12A (figure 2) is secured to motors 20, 22 of the test apparatus 10 by an intermediate shaft having two shaft portions 56A, 56B connected via a joint 57 such as a U-joint or a constant velocity joint (paragraph 26).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the connection to the dyno motor of Choi with to include a CV joint as taught by Ladocsi in order to provide a more versatile connection to the test assembly.
With respect to claim 5, Choi teaches a docking guide module (first crossbar 153, figure 2) supporting the driving shaft module and fixed to the rail frame to guide the driving shaft module to the driving module while allowing rotation of the driving shaft module (the crossbar 153 is part of the assembly installed on rails 162, page 3, figure 2).
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 7/23/2026