DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 12/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/28/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 & 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, applicant states “the washing machine is configured to identify whether the first valve normally operates”. It is unclear if such a feature is recited as intended use as no structure is recited to perform said function. It is also unclear as to how the washing machine performs said function without the recitation of the associated components to do so. Specifically, it is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of such a limitation are. Is applicant claiming any and all manners of identification (controller determination, physical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc.) and seeking protection for all such manners of identification? Based on the disclosure (see [0064]), it appears that applicant is referring to a controller performing identification of the valve operation and blockage of a valve. For examination purposes, it shall be interpreted as such.
As to claim 6, applicant states “the washing machine is configured to identify whether the front door is open”. It is unclear if such a feature is recited as intended use as no structure is recited to perform said function. It is also unclear as to how the washing machine performs said function without the recitation of the associated components to do so. Specifically, it is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of such a limitation are. Is applicant claiming any and all manners of identification (controller determination, physical, hydraulic, pneumatic, etc.) and seeking protection for all such manners of identification? Based on the disclosure (see [0112]), it appears that applicant is referring to a controller performing identification of the door state and blockage of the supply path via the valve. For examination purposes, it shall be interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cattorini (US20210010187A1).
As to claim 1, Cattorini discloses a washing machine (abstract) comprising: a tub (ref 14); a water supply unit (ref 40) connectable to an external water supply source; a front door (ref 24); at least one hose (ref 46) connectable to the water supply unit such that while the at least one hose is connected to the water supply unit, water is supplied to the washing tub; a first valve (ref 48); and a second valve (ref 50), wherein a first water supply path (ref 52) introduces water supplied from the external water supply source through the water supply unit into the washing tub (as the claim does not require the first supply path providing a direct supply, the conduit which provides liquid to a tub outlet conduit reads on such a limitation), a second water supply path (ref 68) supplies water to a front portion of the washing tub, the first valve is connectable to the water supply unit, the washing tub, and the second valve such that while the first valve is connected to the water supply unit, the washing tub and the second valve, water flows through the first water supply path and the second water supply path (see Fig.1), and the second valve is connectable to the first valve such that while the second valve is connected to the first valve, water is introduced toward the front portion of the washing tub through the second water supply path (see Fig.1 ref 68 & [0026]).
As to claim 5, Cattorini teaches the machine of claim 1, wherein the first valve is connected to the water supply unit and configured to adjust an amount of water supplied to the washing tub through at least one of the first water supply path and the second water supply path, and the second valve is configured to adjust an amount of water supplied to the washing tub through the second water supply path (see [0024, 0026, 0030, & 0037], the function of a valve is also to control a water supply amount).
Claim(s) 1 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US20130145562A1).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a washing machine (abstract) comprising: a tub (ref 20), water supply unit connectable to an external water supply source (see Fig.1 portion to right of refs 71 & 73 outside of the cabinet, see also Fig.2 external portions to which ref 140 connect); a front door (ref 50); a hose (ref 73) connectable to the water supply unit to supply water to tub (see outlet at end of ref 77); a first valve (see unlabeled valve from which refs 71 & 73 extend from, or see ref 140); a second valve (see unlabeled valve on line ref 73 or refs 150/160); a first supply path supplies water from external source through the water supply unit and into the tub (see Fig.1 flow path leading to ref 77 exit into tub ref 20); second water supply path supplying water to front of tub (see Fig.1 refs 73 & 100); first valve is connected to water supply unit, and fluidically to the tub, to supply water to both first and second flow paths (see Figs.1-2); the second valve is fluidically connected to the first valve to provide water to front of tub via second supply path (see Fig.2, 8-9 & 15-16, 21-23).
As to claim 5, Lee teaches the machine of claim 1, wherein the first valve is connected to the water supply unit and configured to adjust an amount of water supplied to the washing tub through at least one of the first water supply path and the second water supply path, and the second valve is configured to adjust an amount of water supplied to the washing tub through the second water supply path (see [0024, 0026, 0030, & 0037], the function of a valve is to control a water supply amount and thus the valves intrinsically control the amount of fluid supplied).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cattorini (US20210010187A1) in view of Pyo (KR20020008454).
As to claim 6, Cattorini teaches the machine of claim 1, but does not disclose identifying if a door is open and closing a valve when said door is open. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Pyo.
Pyo discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a controller, which controls an opening and closing state of a water supply valve (see page 2/4), to determine if a door is open and stop a water supply if the door is open (see page 2/4). The controller also generates and alarm to inform a user that the door is open (see page 2/4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Cattorini to provide a controller which detects if a door is open and if so, closes all water supply valves and generates an alarm in order to allow a user to be aware of the situation (Pyo page 2/4).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20130145562A1) in view of Munhoz (US20100293722A1), Bellinetto (US20050125909A1) and Kim (US5694962A).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches the machine of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the blocking of a valve based on detecting an abnormal operation. However, closing of a water supply valve when an abnormal operation is detected is well-known in the art, as seen by Munhoz, Bellinetto, and Kim.
Munhoz discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is disclosed to stop operation when valve fault occurs via a controller [0036]. A skilled artisan understands that interrupting operation would result in closing all valves to halt progress.
Bellinetto discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to switch off a valve when a failure is detected as a safety precaution [0039]. The valve (ref 14) is controlled by a CPU (ref 13) which allows for closing of the valve.
Kim discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to close a valve when a failure occurs (Col.1 lines 55-64) via a controller (Fig.1 ref 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lee to allow for a controller to interrupt the washing machine operation and close all water supplying valves when an abnormal operation of any supply valve is present as a safety precaution (Munhoz [0036], Bellinetto [0039], Kim Col.1 lines 55-64).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20130145562A1) in view of Seo (US20120024021A1)
As to claims 3-4, Lee teaches the machine of claim 1, wherein it appears that there may be a third valve (e.g., in the interpretation where ref 140 and ref 150 are first and second valves, unlabeled valve shown in line 73 could read on a third valve) with a third flow path (i.e., flow path defined by outlet of valve and prior to continuation or line ref 73). However, assuming arguendo that Lee does not explicitly disclose the presence of a third valve and third flow path, such a feature is known in the art as seen by Seo.
Seo discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein a fluid line provided to a nozzle (ref 11a) can also have a portion provided to a detergent box (ref 100). Thus, Seo indicates that a singular branched line can be utilized to feed a nozzle located at a front of the machine, and also a detergent box for feeding water into the tub. Seo further showcases that a backflow prevention device (i.e., a check valve see Fig.1 ref 200 & Figs.5-7b) is provided on a line which feeds to the nozzle and the detergent box (see Fig.4A) which is configured to be positioned in an open position based on the pressure being above a certain value [0026 & 0124]. Seo further discloses that it is known that multiple different agents are utilized in a detergent box [0072] and suggests that multiple supply lines can be provided (see Fig.3A) in order to feed the multiple compartments in a detergent box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lee to provide multiple supply lines to a detergent box, including a supply line branched from the supply path to the nozzle located at the front portion, in order to supply water to the multiple agents provided in the detergent box (see Seo Fig.3A & [0072]) as is known in the art. In performing such a modification, a skilled artisan would also be motivated to implement the backflow prevention device of Seo in order to prevent any backflow occurring from the detergent box to the nozzle supply line. Accordingly, such a modification provides a third valve (Seo ref 200) and a third supply path (either outlet side of backflow prevention valve or line after valve leading to detergent box) which will eventually supply water to the tub, wherein the third valve opens based on a pressure of the second supply path being a certain value or greater to open the third supply path.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20130145562A1) in view of Pyo (KR20020008454)
As to claim 6, Lee teaches the machine of claim 1, but does not disclose identifying if a door is open and closing a valve when said door is open. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Pyo.
Pyo discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a controller, which controls an opening and closing state of a water supply valve (see page 2/4), to determine if a door is open and stop a water supply if the door is open (see page 2/4). The controller also generates and alarm to inform a user that the door is open (see page 2/4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Lee to provide a controller which detects if a door is open and if so, closes all water supply valves and generates an alarm in order to allow a user to be aware of the situation (Pyo page 2/4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jihong (US20190024280A1) discloses a tub (ref 4), water supply unit connectable to an external water supply source (see Fig.2 portion to right of ref 311); a hose (ref 33) connectable to the water supply unit to supply water to tub (see ref 433); a first valve (ref 311); a second valve (ref 517); first supply path supplies water from external source through the water supply unit and into the tub (see Fig.2 flow path leading to ref 433 exit into tub ref 4); second water supply path supplying water to front of tub (see Fig.3 refs 35 & 37); first valve is connected to water supply unit to supply water to both first and second flow paths (see Fig.2); the second valve is fluidically connected to the first valve to provide water to front of tub via second supply path (see Fig.3 & [0252]).
Lee (US20190024293A1) discloses the same as above and also shows details of valve ref 517 in Fig.4. Lee also indicates ability for a third valve to be present for controlling flow to one of the detergent reservoirs in the front portion.
Jung (US20180245268A1) divergence pipe from water supply path into tub allows for secondary water input into tub via spray nozzle (ref 125c).
Ahn (US20110138864A1) discloses using a bypass path (ref 660) for discharging excess water in a flow path to another flow path [0043 & 0063-0064] along with a valve (ref 900) provided after an inlet valve (ref 200) for adjusting a flow amount of water.
Hettinger (US20150240409A1) showcases two valves in series with two separate water paths (Fig.3), having one nozzle (ref 110) for cleaning a door, and another nozzle (ref 72) for supplying fluid to the tub.
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711