DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-9 & 11-15 are pending on the application, of which claims 1, 5-6, 9, & 13 are amended, and claim 10 is cancelled.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
In view of the amendments, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn,
In view of the amendments, the previous interpretation of limitations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does no utilize the Bueno reference for the teachings of a detergent case or case guide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, & 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Favaro (US20100139328A1).
As to claim 1, Favaro discloses a clothes treating apparatus (abstract), comprising: a housing (e.g., see Fig.1 ref 1); a tub (ref 2) provided inside the housing; a detergent supply device (see Fig.2 ref 3) disposed below the tub and configured to supply a detergent to the tub; a drainage device (e.g., line from ref 2 up to and including ref 9) comprising a drain pipe (i.e., line from ref 2 to ref 9) configured to discharge water from the tub to the detergent supply device; wherein the detergent supply device includes: a detergent case (ref 12); an inlet port provided in the detergent case (see Fig.2, connection of ref 7 to ref 21 inside ref 12) and configured to receive the water discharged from the drainage device (see Figs.1-2); an outlet port (i.e., portion of ref 8 connected to ref 21 inside of ref 12) provided in the detergent case and configured to discharge the received water toward the tub; a first detergent box and a second detergent box (see Fig.1 refs 11); a first detergent pump (Figs.1-2 one of ref 17 or 17a) configured to discharge a detergent from the first detergent box; a second detergent pump (Figs.1-2 the other of ref 17 or 17a) configured to discharge a detergent from the second detergent box; a case guide (e.g., from ref 19 up to and including ref 21) comprising a flow passage provided in the detergent case and extending between the inlet and outlet port (see Figs.1-2); wherein the flow passage includes a first connection portion coupled to an outlet of the first detergent pump, a second connection portion coupled to an outlet of the second detergent pump (see refs 19), and an extension portion fluidly coupling the first connection portion to the second connection portion (see Figs.1-2 portion where refs 19 join and/or including inside of ref 21); wherein the detergent discharged from the first or second detergent box is introduced into the flow passage and mixes with the received water while flowing through the flow passage (see Figs.1-2).
As to claim 2, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first detergent pump is configured to supply a detergent from the first detergent box to the case guide (see Figs.1-2).
As to claim 5, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inlet port introduces water discharged from the drain device, the outlet port discharges water introduced through the inlet port, and the flow passage of the case guide fluidly connects the inlet port to the outlet port (see Figs.1-2).
As to claim 6, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a circulation conduit fluidly connecting the inlet port to the drainage device (see portion of ref 7 from refs 9/10 to interior of ref 12); and a detergent conduit (see portion of ref 8 which connects to interior of ref 12 and leads to ref 2) fluidly connecting the outlet port to the tub.
As to claim 8, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detergent supply device is located below the tub in a direction of gravity (see Figs.1-2).
As to claim 9, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detergent case is configured to accommodate at a portion of the first and second detergent box (see Fig.2), wherein the case guide is provided in the detergent case (see Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favaro (US20100139328A1) in view of Lee (US20090288454A1), Seo (US20150252514A1), & Kim (US 20160186370 A1).
As to claims 3-4, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second detergent pump allows for supplying of detergent from the second detergent box to the case guide (see Figs.1-2). Favaro does not disclose the presence of a third detergent box which is connectable to a second pump. However, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the inclusion of a third detergent box would merely provide an additional reservoir for containing a different detergent/additive or increased capacity of an additive within another of the detergent boxes. Thus, a skilled artisan would find the feature of including a third detergent box to be obvious to provide such benefits. Further, the usage of three detergent boxes is known in the art, as seen by Lee and Seo.
Both Lee and Seo disclose art related washing machines (abstract), wherein it is shown that multiple detergent boxes can be utilized, including three detergent boxes (Lee Fig.3 refs 186 and/or 200 & Seo Fig.9 refs 200a, 230, 250a, and 250b) in order to store as many additives as required/desired. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to implement as many detergent boxes as required for storage of as many additives as desired.
Modified Favaro does not explicitly disclose the feature of utilizing a single pump for two different chemistry sources. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Kim discloses an art related detergent dispenser for a washing machine (abstract), wherein it is shown a single detergent pump (Fig.15 ref 140) can receive from additives from two separate reservoirs [0167] and can selectively supply additives from either of the reservoirs [0189-0192].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Favaro to utilize the pump of Kim as the second pump in order to selectively supply additives from two different reservoirs, as is known in the art (Kim [0167, 0189-0192]), when a third reservoir is provided. Such a modification would allow for a reduction in the number of pumps when three additive reservoirs are provided (i.e., two pumps utilized instead of three). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known pump in place of, or in addition to, another known pump with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 7, 11-12, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favaro (US20100139328A1) in view of Bueno (US 20190106829 A1).
As to claim 7, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the drainage device includes a circulation pump to discharge water from the tub to the detergent supply device (see Figs.1-2). Favaro does not disclose the presence of a drain pump for discharging water from the tub to outside, however such a feature is well-known in the art for removal of water from the washing machine, as seen by Bueno.
Bueno discloses an art related washing machine (abstract), wherein it is shown that a pump (ref 74) allows for circulation of fluid (Fig.17) that can be mixed with detergent from a detergent supply (ref 200) and drainage of liquid from the tub (see ref 76). Bueno also indicates that in place of a single pump for circulation and drainage a discharge device can include a drain pump and a recirculation pump (Bueno [0079]) for the draining of water to an outside of the housing and the discharging of water to the detergent mixing location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Favaro to implement a drain pump in order to discharge liquid from the washing machine, as is well-known and customary in the art (see Bueno [0079]).
As to claim 11, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a controller (ref 25) to control the detergent pumps [0018, 0021, & 0023]. Favaro does not disclose the controller controlling the drainage device, the detergent pumps being controlled by an input, or the controller having a processor and circuitry. However, the use of a controller with a processor to control a fluid pump and detergent pumps, is known in the art, as seen by Bueno.
Bueno discloses an art related washing machine (abstract) wherein a controller (Fig.3 ref 96) having a processor (Bueno Fig.3 ref 102) and associated circuitry [0082-0083] and is configured to control a pump (Bueno [0083-0084]) and the detergent pumps (Bueno [0042]) based on an input (Bueno [0041, 0067 & 0069]). Such a configuration allows for an input to be provided to the controller and allow for appropriate dispensing timing and amount of desired additives [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Favaro to utilize a controller with a processor and associated circuitry in order to control the pumps and associated components in order to appropriately dispense the correct additive in the correct dosage when desired (Bueno [0042]).
As to claims 12 & 14, Modified Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the controller controls the detergent pumps to discharge detergent based on an input (Favaro [0018, 0021, & 0023] & Bueno [0041-0042]). Thus, the detergent would discharge from the respective box to the case guide in order to be supplied into the tub (see Favaro Figs.1-2 & Bueno [0061, 0070, & 0077]). The controller can also control the drainage device to allow water in the tub to pass through the detergent supply device based on an input for supplying detergent into the tub (Favaro Figs.1-2 & Bueno [0067-0070 & 0083], see also Fig.23).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favaro (US20100139328A1) in view of Bueno (US 20190106829 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee (US20090288454A1), Seo (US20150252514A1), Kim (US 20160186370 A1).
As to claim 13, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the controller allows for the second detergent pump to supply detergent from the second detergent box to the case guide (see Favaro Figs.1-2) based on the appropriate input to do so (Bueno [0041-0042, 0067 & 0069]). Favaro does not disclose the presence of a third detergent box which is connectable to a second pump. However, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the inclusion of a third detergent box would merely provide an additional reservoir for containing a different detergent/additive or increased capacity of an additive within another of the detergent boxes. Thus, a skilled artisan would find the feature of including a third detergent box to be obvious to provide such benefits. Further, the usage of three detergent boxes is known in the art, as seen by Lee and Seo.
Both Lee and Seo disclose art related washing machines (abstract), wherein it is shown that multiple detergent boxes can be utilized, including three detergent boxes (Lee Fig.3 refs 186 and/or 200 & Seo Fig.9 refs 200a, 230, 250a, and 250b) in order to store as many additives as required/desired. Thus, a skilled artisan would also find it obvious to implement as many detergent boxes as required for storage of as many additives as desired.
Modified Favaro does not explicitly disclose the feature of utilizing a single pump for two different chemistry sources. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Kim discloses an art related detergent dispenser for a washing machine (abstract), wherein it is shown a single detergent pump (Fig.15 ref 140) can receive from additives from two separate reservoirs [0167] and can selectively supply additives from either of the reservoirs [0189-0192].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Favaro to utilize the pump of Kim as the second pump in order to selectively supply additives from two different reservoirs, as is known in the art (Kim [0167, 0189-0192]), when a third reservoir is provided. Such a modification would allow for a reduction in the number of pumps when three additive reservoirs are provided (i.e., two pumps utilized instead of three). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize one known pump in place of, or in addition to, another known pump with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favaro (US20100139328A1) in view of Kim (US 20160186370 A1).
As to claim 15, Favaro teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose the presence of a filter for the drainage device. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Kim discloses an art related detergent dispenser for a washing machine (abstract), wherein a drainage device (Fig.6 ref 30) can be provided with a filter in order to filter out foreign substance from washing water (see [0125, & 0141-0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Favaro to provide the drainage device with a filter in order to filter out foreign substances from the passing water (Kim [0125, & 0141-0143]) and thereby prevent recirculation of the undesired foreign substances.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 20140096572 A1) showcases a detergent box located at least partially below tub (see Fib.3B) and flow path (ref 573) from pump to detergent dissolving box [0036].
Seo (US 20240183096 A1) discloses utilizing a controller to selectively control which detergent pump activates to selectively discharge a desired detergent [0194-0195].
Jung (US 20170342632 A1) showcases detergent box located below tub (see Figs.1-3) with pumps (refs 311 312).
Kim (US 20100088828 A1) showcases detergent box located below tub (Figs.3 & 5).
Jung (US 20170191205 A1) showcases a detergent box below tub (Figs.1-3) with separate pumps for softener and detergent (refs 211a 211b).
Gallagher (US 20170037559 A1) showcases detergent housing below tub and pump for pumping detergent (Figs.36-37, 47-50).
Kim (US 20140076009 A1) showcases pumps on case behind detergent boxes (Figs.6 & 11).
Kim (US 20100115709 A1) showcases a detergent dispenser located below a tub and providing detergent supply into a recirculation line (Fig.3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711