Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al., US PGPUB 20060071886 hereinafter referenced as Johnson in view of Kim et al., US PGPUB 20200211502 hereinafter referenced as Kim.
As to claim 1, Johnson discloses a method for performing demura gain generation, the method comprising: initializing a demura look-up table with initial values ([0031] If desired, a look-up table may be generated from the derived factors in order to derive calibration factors for different brightness levels);
receiving pixel information for a plurality of pixels from a display panel ([0031] Subsequently, the measure of the non-uniformity of the pixel output is used to calculate a calibration factor, which is stored in a full frame memory in the display device, the memory being connected to the drive circuit of the pixel); and
for each of the plurality of pixels: calculating an error based on the pixel information of the pixel and a corresponding target value ([0032] The brightness of the pixel is determined, and the determined brightness is thereafter compared with a desired brightness for the given driving input to the pixel. By this comparison, a measure for the non-uniformity of the pixel circuit output is determined);
updating the demura look-up table for the pixel based on the control loop output ([0036] The calibration factors stored in the memory, or the factors derived from the stored parameters, a look-up table or an analytical function, as the case may be, is hereafter used to modify the input to the pixel driver in order to maintain uniformity in all pixels at all brightness levels).
Johnson does not specifically disclose applying a control loop to the error to generate a control loop output.
However, in the same endeavor, Kim discloses applying a control loop to the error to generate a control loop output ([0125] Meanwhile, the Mura correction unit 130 of the Mura correction device 100 may control a process such that Mura correction data for the Mura block described above is generated first and, after the Mura correction data is generated, the Mura pixel correction data for the Mura pixel of the Mura block is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Johnson to further include Kim’s mura correction method, in order to improve the screen quality with intension of displaying a quality image.
As to claim 11, Johnson discloses a computing system for performing demura gain generation, the computing system comprising: processing circuitry and memory storing instructions that, during execution, causes the processing circuitry to: initialize a demura look-up table with initial values ([0031] If desired, a look-up table may be generated from the derived factors in order to derive calibration factors for different brightness levels);
receive pixel information for a plurality of pixels from a display panel; and for each of the plurality of pixels ([0031] Subsequently, the measure of the non-uniformity of the pixel output is used to calculate a calibration factor, which is stored in a full frame memory in the display device, the memory being connected to the drive circuit of the pixel):
calculate an error based on the pixel information of the pixel and a corresponding target value ([0032] The brightness of the pixel is determined, and the determined brightness is thereafter compared with a desired brightness for the given driving input to the pixel. By this comparison, a measure for the non-uniformity of the pixel circuit output is determined);
update the demura look-up table for the pixel based on the control loop output ([0036] The calibration factors stored in the memory, or the factors derived from the stored parameters, a look-up table or an analytical function, as the case may be, is hereafter used to modify the input to the pixel driver in order to maintain uniformity in all pixels at all brightness levels).
Johnson does not specifically disclose applying a control loop to the error to generate a control loop output.
However, in the same endeavor, Kim discloses applying a control loop to the error to generate a control loop output ([0125] Meanwhile, the Mura correction unit 130 of the Mura correction device 100 may control a process such that Mura correction data for the Mura block described above is generated first and, after the Mura correction data is generated, the Mura pixel correction data for the Mura pixel of the Mura block is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Johnson to further include Kim’s mura correction method, in order to improve the screen quality with intension of displaying a quality image.
As to claim 2, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses receiving updated pixel information for the plurality of pixels from the display panel; and for each of the plurality of pixels: calculating an updated error based on the updated pixel information of the pixel and the corresponding target value; applying the control loop to the updated error to generate an updated control loop output; and further updating the updated demura look-up table for the pixel based on the updated control loop output (Johnson, [0054] Any monitored change in the output triggers an update of the calibration factor for the appropriate data driver, for example by calculating and storing the new calibration value in the appropriate memory spot).
As to claim 3, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses the control loop includes a term based on one or more previously calculated errors (Kim, [0093] In the case where the adaptive range bits AR have the value of 2, the average pixel brightness value that may be represented by the actually required coefficient value REF is included in the representation range Range2).
As to claim 4, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses the control loop comprises one or more of a proportional term, an integral term, or a derivative term (Kim, [0091] In the case where the coefficient a is set to the representation range Range0 and a coefficient value REF that is actually required to approximate to the average pixel brightness value deviates from the representation range Range0 as illustrated in FIG. 9, an error F1 occurs).
As to claim 5, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses the control loop comprises a proportional term, an integral term, and a derivative term (Kim, [0091] In the case where the coefficient a is set to the representation range Range0 and a coefficient value REF that is actually required to approximate to the average pixel brightness value deviates from the representation range Range0 as illustrated in FIG. 9, an error F1 occurs).
As to claim 6, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses a first control loop is applied to a first pixel of the plurality of pixels, and a second control loop different from the first control loop is applied to a second pixel of the plurality of pixels (Johnson, [0049] In this way, a display having an improved pixel-to-pixel uniformity may be achieved, without increasing the cost as compared to the method described under embodiment 3).
As to claim 7, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses tuning one or more parameters of the control loop based on a user preference or a model of the display panel (Johnson, [0059] The calibration factors stored in the memory, or the factors derived from the stored parameters, a look-up table or an analytical function, as the case may be, is hereafter used to modify the input to the data driver in order to maintain uniformity in all columns at all brightness levels).
As to claim 8, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pixel information is received using a colorimeter or a camera (Johnson, [0026] The fabricated display device 1 is positioned under an external imaging system 2. This system may for example be a CCD camera-based system, able to detect light emitted from the display device 1).
As to claim 9, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pixel information comprises luminance information or chromaticity information (Kim, [0004] Mura may occur in a display panel due to an error in a manufacturing process, or the like. Mura means that a display image has non-uniform luminance in the form of a spot at a pixel or a certain area. A defect that Mura occurs is referred to as a Mura defect).
As to claim 10, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the method of claim 1. The combination further discloses a same control loop is applied for a subset of the plurality of pixels based on a predetermined criterion of luminance similarity (Kim, [0059] Mura correction equation as a quadratic equation for correcting a measurement value of the Mura block for each gray level to an average pixel brightness value of the display panel 10).
As to claim 12, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the instruction, during execution, further causes the processing circuitry to: receive updated pixel information for the plurality of pixels from the display panel; and for each of the plurality of pixels: calculate an updated error based on the updated pixel information of the pixel and the corresponding target value; apply the control loop to the updated error to generate an updated control loop output; and further update the updated demura look-up table for the pixel based on the updated control loop output (Johnson, [0054] Any monitored change in the output triggers an update of the calibration factor for the appropriate data driver, for example by calculating and storing the new calibration value in the appropriate memory spot).
As to claim 13, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the control loop includes a term based on one or more previously calculated errors (Kim, [0093] In the case where the adaptive range bits AR have the value of 2, the average pixel brightness value that may be represented by the actually required coefficient value REF is included in the representation range Range2).
As to claim 14, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the control loop comprises one or more of a proportional term, an integral term, or a derivative term (Kim, [0091] In the case where the coefficient a is set to the representation range Range0 and a coefficient value REF that is actually required to approximate to the average pixel brightness value deviates from the representation range Range0 as illustrated in FIG. 9, an error F1 occurs).
As to claim 15, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the control loop comprises a proportional term, an integral term, and a derivative term (Kim, [0091] In the case where the coefficient a is set to the representation range Range0 and a coefficient value REF that is actually required to approximate to the average pixel brightness value deviates from the representation range Range0 as illustrated in FIG. 9, an error F1 occurs).
As to claim 16, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses a first control loop is applied to a first pixel of the plurality of pixels, and a second control loop different from the first control loop is applied to a second pixel of the plurality of pixels (Johnson, [0049] In this way, a display having an improved pixel-to-pixel uniformity may be achieved, without increasing the cost as compared to the method described under embodiment 3).
As to claim 17, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the instruction, during execution, further causes the processing circuitry to: tune one or more parameters of the control loop based on a user preference or a model of the display panel (Johnson, [0059] The calibration factors stored in the memory, or the factors derived from the stored parameters, a look-up table or an analytical function, as the case may be, is hereafter used to modify the input to the data driver in order to maintain uniformity in all columns at all brightness levels).
As to claim 18, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the pixel information is received using a colorimeter or a camera (Johnson, [0026] The fabricated display device 1 is positioned under an external imaging system 2. This system may for example be a CCD camera-based system, able to detect light emitted from the display device 1).
As to claim 19, the combination of Johnson and Kim discloses the computing system of claim 11. The combination further discloses the pixel information comprises luminance information or chromaticity information (Kim, [0004] Mura may occur in a display panel due to an error in a manufacturing process, or the like. Mura means that a display image has non-uniform luminance in the form of a spot at a pixel or a certain area. A defect that Mura occurs is referred to as a Mura defect).
20. (Withdrawn)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han et al., US PGPUB 20240112616 discloses a gamma correction method and apparatus, electronic device and readable storage medium. The method comprises: controlling a first display area (21) to display a test picture (S11); performing gamma correction on first display area to obtain first gamma correction data (S12); according to first gamma correction data, controlling a second display area (22) to display the test picture (S13); acquiring current display brightness corresponding to the test picture displayed in second display area (S14); when current display brightness is the same as that corresponding to a preset pixel grayscale displayed in first display area, determining remapping parameters of second display area according to grayscale brightness corresponding to second display area when current display brightness is displayed the preset pixel grayscale (S15); according to remapping parameters, compensating first gamma correction data to obtain second gamma correction data (S16); according to second gamma correction data, controlling second display area to display (S17).
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 5/7/2026