DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1-2, 4, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitations “RGBA”, “RGB”, and “GPU” as cited in claims 1, 4, and 9 should be written out as ------- Red Green Blue Alpha (RGBA) -----, ------ Red Green Blue (RGB), and ----- Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) ---- in their first occurrence. It is noted that these limitations are insufficient by themselves to give public notice to what an applicant regards as the invention.
The limitation “CPU” as cited in claim 2 should be written out as ------ Central Processing Unit (CPU) ------ in the first occurrence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. 35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
4. Claims 4-6, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to non-statutory subject matter as follow.
In view of the specification (see paragraphs 0095, 0114, 0122 of U.S published application), applicant has provided evidence that applicant intends computer readable media to include transmission type media and signal type media as such the claim is drawn to a form of energy. The claims can be broadly interpreted to be signal per se. Hence, they are rejected as being directed to nonstatutory subject matter.
The rejections above can be overcome by amending the claims by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. The applicant is directed to guidance provided in the document titled "Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media" dated January 26, 2010 and available on the USPTO public website athttp://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/notices/101_crm_20100127.pdf
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 4-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2019/0222623A1) (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses an encoder device (e.g., see Figs. 1-3: encoder/decoder) comprising:
at least one processor (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
at least one computer readable media containing computer executable instructions (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0006, 0209, 0210: computer readable medium and processor; also see paragraphs 0207, 0211: program instructions); which,
when executed using the at least one processor (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU), cause the encoder device to perform operations
comprising:
dividing an RGBA bitstream into RGB data and Alpha data (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: the RGBA data is separate into RGB data and Alpha data; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0040, 0116; Figs. 13-15, paragraphs 0187-0189: separation module);
generating encoded RGB data by encoding the RGB data using a first encoder, wherein the first encoder utilizes at least one video codec (e.g., see paragraphs 0024, 0034: JPEG, PNG, GIF);
generating encoded Alpha data by encoding the Alpha data using a second encoder (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data);,
wherein the second encoder utilizes a GPU compression format (e.g., see paragraphs 0024, 0034: compression format; Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502); and
transmitting the encoded RGB data and the encoded Alpha data to a decoder device (e.g., see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0117: output stream data to client devices; Figs. 1, paragraphs 0031-0036: transmitting data from encoder side to decoder side),
wherein the encoded RGB data and the encoded Alpha data comprise at least one block of a graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the encoder device of claim 4, wherein the at least one computer readable media containing the computer executable instructions which, when executed using the at least one processor (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0006, 0209, 0210: computer readable medium and processor), cause the encoder device to perform operations comprising:
receiving a full frame update request from the decoder device (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: full frame or all frame update; Fig. 2, paragraphs 0042-0048: full frame such as I-frame);
generating encoded additional RGB data by encoding additional RGB data using a first encoder (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0031-0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data), wherein the additional RGB data is representative of pixel color information for a full frame of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
generating encoded additional Alpha data by encoding additional Alpha data using a second encoder (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0031-0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data), wherein the additional Alpha data is representative of pixel opaqueness information (e.g., see paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0104: transparency represents completely opaque or translucent) for the full frame of the graphical user interface; and
transmitting the encoded additional RGB data and the encoded additional Alpha data to the decoder device (e.g., see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0117: output stream data to client devices; Figs. 1, paragraphs 0031-0036: transmitting data from encoder side to decoder side), wherein the encoded additional RGB data and the encoded additional Alpha data are representative of the full frame of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the encoder device of claim 4, wherein the at least one computer readable media containing the computer executable instructions which, when executed using the at least one processor (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0006, 0209, 0210: computer readable medium and processor), cause the encoder device to perform operations comprising:
receiving a partial frame update request from the decoder device (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: partial frame or all frame update; Fig. 2, paragraphs 0042-0048: frame such as I-frame);
generating encoded additional RGB data by encoding additional RGB data using a first encoder (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0031-0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data), wherein the additional RGB data is representative of pixel color information for at least one block of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
generating encoded additional Alpha data by encoding additional Alpha data using a second encoder (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0031-0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data), wherein the additional Alpha data is representative of pixel opaqueness information for the at least one block of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU); and
transmitting the encoded additional RGB data and the encoded additional Alpha data to the decoder device(e.g., see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0117: output stream data to client devices; Figs. 1, paragraphs 0031-0036: transmitting data from encoder side to decoder side), wherein the encoded additional RGB data and the encoded additional Alpha data are representative of the at least one block of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the encoder device of claim 4, wherein encoding the Alpha data with the second encoder (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0031-0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data) comprises:
performing a solid color optimization process (e.g., see paragraphs 0028, 0029: analyzing/adjusting colors; Figs. 2-3, paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0047: color space conversion) comprising:
skipping encoding of the Alpha data for individual pixels (e.g., see paragraphs 0031: skipping encoding/decoding process; Fig. 4, paragraphs 0059, 0062, 0110);
generating a full screen Alpha value frame (e.g., see paragraphs 0025, 0083: full screen or fully transparent); and
generating at least one additional Alpha value update frame (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: generating RGA and Alpha data; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0038-0044: processes of encoding RGB and Alpha data).
Regarding claim 8, The encoder device of claim 4, wherein the at least one computer readable media containing the computer executable instructions which, when executed using the at least one processor (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0006, 0209, 0210: computer readable medium and processor), cause the encoder device to perform operations comprising:
identifying a decoder device for receipt of the RGBA bitstream (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: decoder for decompressing the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data);
determining a GPU specification associated with the decoder device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; Figs. 1-3: decoder/decoding); and
selecting the second encoder based on the GPU specification associated with the decoder device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; Figs. 1-3: decoder/decoding), wherein the second encoder comprises at least one of a software encoder or a hardware encoder compatible with the GPU specification (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0208-2011: software/instructions; Figs. 1-3: decoder/decoding).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is a method claim of an encoder device version as applied to claim 4 above, wherein the device performs the same limitations cited in claim 4, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, it contains the limitations of claims 5 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 11, it contains the limitations of claims 6 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 12, it contains the limitations of claims 7 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 13, it contains the limitations of claims 8 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses an electronic device (e.g., see Figs. 12-16) comprising:
one or more central processing units (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502);
a graphics processing unit (e.g., see paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
a display (e.g., see paragraph 0025: a picture is displayed);
one or more computer readable media storing processor executable instructions which, when executed using the one or more central processing units (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0006, 0209, 0210: computer readable medium and processor), cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising
receiving first encoded data representing a first frame of video (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: decoder for decompressing the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data),
receiving second encoded data representing pixel color data for a graphical user interface associated with the first frame of video (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502),
receiving third encoded data representing pixel transparency data (e.g., see abstract, paragraphs 0004, 0005, 0038: transparency data; paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0104: transparency) for the graphical user interface associated with the first frame of video (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502),
decoding the first encoded data into the first frame of video using a video
decoding scheme (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: decoder for decompressing the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data),
decoding the second encoded data into the pixel color data (e.g., see paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0034: pixel color and alpha) for the graphical user
interface using a video decoding scheme (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502),
determining, based on the third encoded data (e.g., see Fig. 1-3), one or more compressed blocks representing the pixel transparency data (e.g., see paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0034: pixel color and alpha) for the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502),
sending the one or more compressed blocks to the graphics processing unit for
rendering (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502), and
causing the display to display the first frame of video (e.g., see paragraph 0025: a picture is displayed) and the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses the encoder device of claim 14, wherein the one or more computer readable media store processor executable instructions which, when executed using the one or more central processing units (e.g., see paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU), cause the electronic device (e.g., see Figs. 12-16) to perform operations comprising causing the graphics processing unit to render the graphical user interface without decompressing the one or more compressed blocks (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502).
Regarding claim 18, this claim is a method claim of a device version as applied to claim 14 above, wherein the system performs the same limitations cited in claim 14, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, Huang discloses the encoder device of claim 18, wherein the method comprises determining the decoding device, and, based on the determining of the decoding device, determining the second encoding scheme (e.g., see Figs. 1-3: encoding/decoding device).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses the encoder device of claim 18, wherein the encoded pixel color data and the encoded pixel transparency data is sent to the decoding device (e.g., see Figs. 1-3: encoding/decoding device; paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0034: pixel color and alpha).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 1-3, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2019/0222623A1) in view of Holland et al. (US 2015/0042659A1) (hereinafter Holland).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a video streaming system (e.g., see abstract; Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a streaming server comprising a plurality of encoders (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0033, 0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data; paragraphs 0103, 0117, 0136: server), wherein the streaming server is configured to:
identify a client device for receipt of an RGBA bitstream (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: RGBA data), wherein the RGBA
bitstream is representative of a graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502);
divide the RGBA bitstream into an RGB channel buffer and an Alpha channel
buffer (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: the RGBA data is separate into RGB data and Alpha data; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0040, 0116; Figs. 13-15, paragraphs 0187-0189: separation module);
generate encoded RGB data by encoding RGB data from the RGB channel buffer (e.g., see abstract, paragraphs 0004, 0029: encoding color data of the picture; Fig. 1, paragraphs 0031-0034: video encoder for encoding RGB and Alpha data; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0038-0044: processes of encoding RGB and Alpha data)
using a first encoder of the plurality of encoders (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0033, 0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data);
compress the encoded RGB data (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data);
determine a second encoder from the plurality of encoders (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0033, 0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data) based on compatibility with a GPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502);
generate encoded Alpha data by encoding Alpha data from the Alpha channel
buffer with the second encoder (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0032-0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0038-0044: processes of encoding RGB and Alpha data), wherein the second encoder utilizes a GPU tile based framebuffer compression format that is specific to the GPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502); and
transmit the encoded RGB data and the encoded Alpha data to the client device (e.g., see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0117: output stream data to client devices; Figs. 1, paragraphs 0031-0036: transmitting data from encoder side to decoder side), wherein the encoded RGB data and the encoded Alpha data comprise at least one block of at least one frame of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502).
Huang does not explicitly disclose a graphical user interface comprising 1080p60 resolution; wherein the first encoder utilizes H.264 video compression format.
However, Holland discloses a graphical user interface comprising 1080p60 resolution (e.g., see paragraphs 0006, 0021, 0024: 1080p resolution; also see paragraphs 0023-0025: various resolutions);
wherein the first encoder utilizes H.264 video compression format (e.g., see paragraphs 0051: H.264/AVC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Huang to add the teachings of Holland as above, in order to provide improved methods for modifying video encoding formats (see paragraph 0002: Holland).
Regarding claim 2, Huang and Holland disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Huang discloses comprising: the client device comprising a decoder (e.g., see Figs. 1, 3), a CPU, and the GPU (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU),
wherein the client device is configured to:
receive the encoded RGB data and the encoded Alpha data from the streaming
server (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: receiving the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data);
generate the RGB data by decoding the encoded RGB data using the decoder and the CPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress/decompress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data);
decompress the RGB data using the CPU (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress/decompress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data);
generate the Alpha data by decoding the encoded Alpha data using the decoder
(e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress/decompress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data) and the GPU of the client device, wherein the Alpha data retains the GPU tile based framebuffer compression format (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
generate output data by merging the RGB data and the Alpha data (e.g., see Fig. 2, step S206: combining/merging RGB data and Alpha data; Fig. 3, step S304: Combine the Alpha data in S303 and the RGB data in S302 to generate RGBA data);
render, at least in part, the graphical user interface from the RGB data of the
output data (e.g., see paragraphs 0004-0006: outputting RGB and Alpha data; also see paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0036), using the GPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU); and
natively render, at least in part, the graphical user interface using the Alpha data
of the output data (e.g., see paragraphs 0004-0006: outputting RGB and Alpha data; also see paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0036), wherein the Alpha data comprises the GPU tile based framebuffer compression format, using the GPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU).
Regarding claim 3, Huang and Holland disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Huang discloses wherein the streaming server (e.g., see paragraphs 0103, 0117, 0136: server) is configured to:
transmit an at least partial frame update to the client device (e.g., see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0117: output stream data to client devices; Figs. 1, paragraphs 0031-0036: transmitting data from encoder side to decoder side), wherein the at least partial frame update comprises at least one block that has changed in the at least one frame of the graphical user interface (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU) of the encoded RGB data and the encoded Alpha data, wherein the at least one block comprises additional encoded RGB data and additional encoded Alpha data (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress/decompress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data); and
wherein the client device (e.g., see Figs. 6-7, paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0117: output stream data to client devices) is configured to:
receive the at least partial frame update from the streaming server (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0033, 0034: video encoders for RGA and Alpha data; paragraphs 0103, 0117, 0136: server);
generate additional RGB data by decoding the additional encoded RGB data (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress/decompress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data) using the decoder and the CPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
generate additional Alpha data by decoding the additional encoded Alpha data
using the decoder (e.g., see Fig.1, paragraphs 0031-0036: compress/decompress the encoded Alpha and RGB data; Fig. 3, paragraphs 0045-0048: decoding the encoded RGB and Alpha data) and the GPU of the client device, wherein the additional Alpha data retains the GPU tile based framebuffer compression format (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU);
generate additional output data by merging the additional RGB data and the
additional Alpha data (e.g., see paragraphs 0004-0006: outputting RGB and Alpha data; also see paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0036);
re-render, at least in part, the graphical user interface from the RGB data of the
output data (e.g., see paragraphs 0004-0006: outputting RGB and Alpha data; also see paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0036), using the GPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU); and
natively re-render, at least in part, the graphical user interface from the additional
Alpha data of the output data (e.g., see paragraphs 0004-0006: outputting RGB and Alpha data; also see paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0036; Figs. 1-2), wherein the Alpha data comprises the GPU tile based framebuffer compression format, using the GPU of the client device (e.g., see Fig. 16, paragraphs 0206, 0207: user interface 1502; paragraphs 0209-0214: processor or CPU).
Regarding claim 16, Huang does explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the decoding of the first encoded data into the first frame of video uses H.264, and wherein the decoding of the second encoded data into the pixel color data uses H.264.
However, Holland discloses wherein the decoding of the first encoded data into the first frame of video uses H.264, and wherein the decoding of the second encoded data into the pixel color data uses H.264 (e.g., see paragraphs 0051: H.264/AVC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Huang to add the teachings of Holland as above, in order to provide improved methods for modifying video encoding formats (see paragraph 0002: Holland).
Regarding claim 17, Huang does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the decoding of the first encoded data into the first frame of video does not use H.264, and wherein the decoding of the second encoded data into the pixel color data uses H.264.
However, Holland discloses wherein the decoding of the first encoded data into the first frame of video does not use H.264, and wherein the decoding of the second encoded data into the pixel color data uses H.264 (e.g., see paragraphs 0051: H.264/AVC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Huang to add the teachings of Holland as above, in order to provide improved methods for modifying video encoding formats (see paragraph 0002: Holland).
Conclusion
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486