DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gas delivery pipeline delivering a gas flow from the expander to the internal heat exchanger to be heated in Claim 2; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A detection element in claim 7. For purposes of examination: system comprises a liquid level sensor or composition analysers (Applicant Specification Publication [0057]) and its equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 112781321 A) in view of Theobald et al (EP0042676A1).
In re Claim 1, Zhao discloses an air separation system (Fig. 3) comprising:
an air separation apparatus comprising
a rectification column system (K02, E02, K01),
a main heat exchanger (E01, E03; The first heat exchanger E01 and the subcooler E03 designed as one integrated main heat exchanger) and
multiple output pipelines (at least e, b and g),
the multiple output pipelines (at least e, b and g) being led out from the rectification column system (K02, E02, K01) via the main heat exchanger (E01, E03), and
the multiple output pipelines (at least e, b and g) comprising a nitrogen gas pipeline (e) configured to output a nitrogen gas product (j);
a nitrogen liquefier (Fig. 2) comprising
an expander (ET20) configured to expand at least a portion of the nitrogen gas product (j2) from the nitrogen gas pipeline (e), and
a gas delivery pipeline (j12’) configured to deliver a gas flow expanded by the expander (ET21),
However, Zhao does not explicitly teach, an intermediary pipeline, wherein, an inlet end of the intermediary pipeline is connected to the gas delivery pipeline of the nitrogen liquefier, and an outlet end of the intermediary pipeline is connected to at least one output pipeline of the multiple output pipelines of the air separation apparatus at a position between the rectification column system and the main heat exchanger, such that the intermediary pipeline delivers a gas flow to the at least one output pipeline.
On the other hand, Theobald teaches an intermediary pipeline (22),
wherein, an inlet end of the intermediary pipeline (inlet of 22) is connected to the gas delivery pipeline of the nitrogen liquefier (43), and
an outlet end of the intermediary pipeline (outlet of 22) is connected to at least one output pipeline (33) of the multiple output pipelines of the air separation apparatus (Fig. 1) at a position between the rectification column system (6/7) and the main heat exchanger (4), such that the intermediary pipeline (22) delivers a gas flow (26) to the at least one output pipeline (33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Zhao and to have modified them by an intermediary pipeline as taught by Theobald, wherein, an inlet end of the intermediary pipeline is connected to the gas delivery pipeline of the nitrogen liquefier of Zhao as taught by Theobald, and an outlet end of the intermediary pipeline is connected to at least one output pipeline of the multiple output pipelines of the air separation apparatus of Zhao at a position between the rectification column system of Zhao and the main heat exchanger of Zhao as taught by Theobald, such that the intermediary pipeline delivers a gas flow to the at least one output pipeline as taught by Theobald, in order to assist in cooling said first sub-stream of substantially pure compressed nitrogen and a conduit for carrying said substantially pure gaseous nitrogen (See Theobald [0011]), without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 2, Modified Zhao teaches wherein the nitrogen liquefier (Zhao Fig. 2) further comprises:
an internal heat exchanger (E20),
the gas delivery pipeline (j12’) delivering a gas flow (Theobald 43) from the expander (ET20) to the internal heat exchanger (E20/E21) to be heated (Page 10¶3);
a gas-liquid separator (V20), located on the gas delivery pipeline j12’) and between the expander (ET20/ET21) and the internal heat exchanger (E20); and
a throttle valve (connected to first separator V20 via a throttle valve),
the gas-liquid separator (V20) collecting a gas flow expanded by the expander (ET21/ET/20) and
a stream (j11) throttled by the throttle valve (connected to first separator V20 via a throttle valve), and
separating all collected fluids (fluids in V20) into a gas phase flow and a liquid phase flow ( Zhao Page 10¶3: liquid phases of the stream fed to first separator V20 are separated in first separator V20 to form a first vapor phase stream k and a first liquid phase stream l).
In re Claim 3, Modified Zhao teaches wherein the inlet end (Theobald inlet of 22) of the intermediary pipeline (Theobald 22) is connected to the gas delivery pipeline (Zhao j12’) at a position (Theobald 42) between the expander (Zhao ET21 corresponding to Theobald 40) and the internal heat exchanger (Zhao E20 corresponding to Theobald 15).
In re Claim 4, Modified Zhao teaches wherein the inlet end (Theobald inlet of 22) of the intermediary pipeline (Theobald 22) is connected to the gas delivery pipeline (Zhao j12’) at a position (Theobald 42) between the gas-liquid separator (Zhao V20 corresponding to Theobald 37) and the internal heat exchanger (Zhao E20 corresponding to Theobald 15).
In re Claim 5, Modified Zhao teaches wherein the nitrogen liquefier (Zhao Fig. 2) further comprises:
a liquid return pipeline (l) configured to send a first part of liquid flow in the liquid phase flow (p) separated out by the gas-liquid separator (V20) back to the rectification column system (K02, E02, K01); and
a liquid delivery pipeline configured to output a second part of liquid flow in the liquid phase flow (s) separated out by in the gas-liquid separator (V20) to a storage tank (another portion of the nitrogen-rich liquid stream s is introduced into the liquid nitrogen storage tank.).
In re Claim 6, Modified Zhao teaches wherein, in the nitrogen liquefier (Zhao Fig. 2), an outlet end of the gas delivery pipeline (outlet of k) is connected to the nitrogen gas pipeline (outlet of e), so as to send a gas flow heated in the internal heat exchanger (E20) to the nitrogen gas pipeline (outlet of e) to converge with the nitrogen gas product in the nitrogen gas pipeline (outlet of e).
In re Claim 8, Modified Zhao teaches wherein the at least one output pipeline is a waste discharge pipeline of the air separation apparatus for delivering waste gas ((Zhao Fig. 1 and Fig. 3: c; waste nitrogen c)).
In re Claim 9, Modified Zhao teaches at a start-up stage of an air separation apparatus (air separation apparatus of Fig. 3) in the air separation system (Zhao Fig. 3),
delivering a gas flow (Theobald 26) to at least one output pipeline (Theobald 33) of the air separation apparatus (Zhao Fig. 3 corresponding to Theobald Fig. 1) from the nitrogen liquefier (Zhao Fig. 2) in the air separation system (Zhao Fig. 3), via the intermediary pipeline (Theobald 22) in the air separation system (Zhao Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art, when taken as a whole, neither anticipates nor render prima facie obvious the claimed invention as currently recited in at least claim 7 and 10-11.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763