DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaizuka (US 2013/0212896) in view of deGrood et al. (US 2019/0014880; hereinafter deGrood).
Regarding claim 1, Kaizuka discloses an attachment (3, fig. 1) configured to be operably coupled to a drying apparatus (fig. 1) that includes a radiation energy source assembly (2, fig. 1), the attachment (3, fig. 1) having a radiation inlet (inlet of item 3 at left end of item 3, fig. 1) and a radiation outlet (outlet of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1), comprising:
a radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) configured to output second radiation through the radiation outlet (outlet of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1) by adjusting at least one radiation parameter of first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) (Kaizuka recites “… As stated above, due to the constitution in which the ceramics coated layer is provided on the blowing-out nozzle as well as on the intermediate nozzle, the effects of the far-infrared rays and the effects of the electromagnetic waves are receivable in a further increased manner.”, [0019]), wherein
the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) is generated by the radiation energy source assembly (2, fig. 1) of the drying apparatus (fig. 1) and enters the attachment (3, fig. 1) through the radiation inlet (inlet of item 3 at left end of item 3, fig. 1).
Kaizuka does not disclose a radiation power of the first radiation is at least 5 watts.
deGrood teaches a radiation power of the first radiation (deGrood, first radiation from item 145, fig.5) is at least 5 watts (deGrood recites “… In suitable embodiments, the heating unit 145 may have a power rating of about 1,000 watts to about 2,600 watts”, [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the attachment of Kaizuka with the radiation power of the first radiation is at least 5 watts, as taught by deGrood, for providing an adequate amount heat for heating a process drying air during a drying process which would result in effectively drying an object to be dried, such as hair or etc. …, within a shorter period of time. Thus, the drying apparatus of the attachment operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 2, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein the at least one radiation parameter of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) includes at least one of: a radiation energy density, a radiation path, a radiation field distribution, or spectrum (the first radiation from item 2 would inherently has at least one radiation parameter which includes at least one of: a radiation energy density, a radiation path, a radiation field distribution or spectrum which is the same as the first radiation from item 104, fig. 1, of the instant application).
Regarding claim 3, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein the at least one radiation parameter of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) is adjusted by the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) by a process including at least one of: reflection, refraction, absorption, transmission, diffraction, dispersion, or waveguiding (Kaizuka recites “… As stated above, due to the constitution in which the ceramics coated layer is provided on the blowing-out nozzle as well as on the intermediate nozzle, the effects of the far-infrared rays and the effects of the electromagnetic waves are receivable in a further increased manner.”, [0019]).
Regarding claim 19, Kaizuka as modified discloses further comprising a connecting assembly (inside diameter of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1) configured to operably connect the attachment (3, fig. 1) to the drying apparatus (fig. 1), wherein
the attachment (3, fig. 1) is attached to a housing (1, fig. 1) of the drying apparatus (fig. 1) by the connecting assembly (inside diameter of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1); and/or
the connecting assembly includes a magnet.
Regarding claim 20, Kaizuka discloses a drying apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a radiation energy source assembly (2, fig. 1) configured to provide first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1); and
an attachment (3, fig. 1) having a radiation inlet (inlet of item 3 at left end of item 3, fig. 1) and a radiation outlet (outlet of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1), comprising:
a radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) configured to output second radiation through the radiation outlet (outlet of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1) by adjusting at least one radiation parameter of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) (Kaizuka recites “… As stated above, due to the constitution in which the ceramics coated layer is provided on the blowing-out nozzle as well as on the intermediate nozzle, the effects of the far-infrared rays and the effects of the electromagnetic waves are receivable in a further increased manner.”, [0019]), wherein
the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) enters the attachment (3, fig. 1) through the radiation inlet (inlet of item 3 at left end of item 3, fig. 1).
Kaizuka does not disclose a radiation power of the first radiation is at least 5 watts.
deGrood teaches a radiation power of the first radiation is at least 5 watts (deGrood recites “… In suitable embodiments, the heating unit 145 may have a power rating of about 1,000 watts to about 2,600 watts”, [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the drying apparatus of Kaizuka with the radiation power of the first radiation is at least 5 watts, as taught by deGrood, for providing an adequate amount heat for heating a process drying air during a drying process which would result in effectively drying an object to be dried, such as hair or etc. …, within a shorter period of time. Thus, the drying apparatus operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumer.
Claims 4-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaizuka and deGrood as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stephens et al. (US 2016/0367006; hereinafter Stephens).
Regarding claim 4, Kaizuka as modified discloses, wherein
the drying apparatus (fig. 1) further includes an airflow generating assembly (10, fig. 1) configured to generate an airflow, and
the attachment (3, fig. 1) further comprises an airflow adjusting assembly (4, 6, figs. 1, 2), wherein
the airflow adjusting assembly (4, 6, figs. 1, 2) is configured to provide an airflow path (air flow passes or paths of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow passes or paths of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]) having an airflow inlet (air flow inlets of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow inlets of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]) and an airflow outlet (air flow outlets of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow outlets of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]), or
the airflow adjusting assembly (4, 6, figs. 1, 2) includes an airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2).
Kaizuka does not disclose the attachment further includes an airflow adjusting assembly.
Stephens teaches the attachment (Stephens, 10, fig. 1) further includes an airflow adjusting assembly (Stephens, 16, figs. 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the attachment of Kaizuka with the attachment further includes an airflow adjusting assembly, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Shifting the location of airflow adjusting assembly does not modify the operation of the attachment because the attachment would still diffuse the drying air. Please note, Specification of the instant application does not disclose any criticality of the claim invention.
Regarding claim 5, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein
at least one of the airflow path (air flow passes or paths of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow passes or paths of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]) or the airflow adjusting assembly (4, 6, figs. 1, 2) is configured to adjust at least one first airflow parameter of the airflow (adjust airflow path of the airflow before entering item 3) that enters the attachment (3, fig. 1) via the airflow inlet (air flow inlets of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow inlets of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]); and/or
the airflow guiding sub-assembly is configured to adjust at least one second airflow parameter of the airflow.
Regarding claim 6, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) is consumed to heat the airflow (first radiation from item 2 is consumed to heat the airflow from item 10, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein the at least a portion of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1) is consumed to heat the airflow by a process including at least one of reflection or absorption (first radiation from item 2 is consumed to heat the airflow from item 10 by a process of heat transfer or heat absorption by the airflow from item 10, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged on an inner wall of the attachment (3, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged on an inner surface of the airflow path (air flow passes or paths of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow passes or paths of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged as an integral part of the attachment (3, fig. 1).
Regarding claims 12 & 14-15, Kaizuka as modified discloses the limitations of the attachment of claim 11 above, but does not disclose wherein the radiation adjusting assembly includes a radiation-permeable cover arranged at the radiation outlet; (Application claim 12)
wherein the radiation-permeable cover includes a plurality of first openings for guiding at least a portion of the airflow exiting the attachment (3, fig. 1); (Application claim 14) and
wherein the radiation-permeable cover includes a plurality of columns each of which provides a second opening for guiding at least a portion of the airflow exiting the attachment at an exit direction. (Application claim 15)
Stephens further teaches wherein the radiation adjusting assembly (Stephens, 80, figs. 6, 7, 9; item 80 would filter or adjust radiation from heater of hair dryer) includes a radiation-permeable cover (Stephens, 40, figs. 6, 7, 9) arranged at the radiation outlet (Stephens, outlet of 10 at item 40, figs. 6, 7, 9); (Application claim 12)
wherein the radiation-permeable cover (Stephens, 40, figs. 6, 7, 9) includes a plurality of first openings (Stephens, 42, 44, figs. 6, 7, 9) for guiding at least a portion of the airflow exiting the attachment (3, fig. 1); (Application claim 14) and
wherein the radiation-permeable cover (Stephens, 40, figs. 6, 7, 9) includes a plurality of columns (Stephens, 60, 62, figs. 6, 9) each of which provides a second opening (Stephens, 66, 72, figs. 6, 9) for guiding at least a portion of the airflow exiting the attachment (Stephens, 10, figs. 9, 6, 7) at an exit direction. (Application claim 15)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the attachment of Kaizuka with wherein the radiation adjusting assembly includes a radiation-permeable cover arranged at the radiation outlet; (Application claim 12) wherein the radiation-permeable cover includes a plurality of first openings for guiding at least a portion of the airflow exiting the attachment (3, fig. 1); (Application claim 14) and wherein the radiation-permeable cover includes a plurality of columns each of which provides a second opening for guiding at least a portion of the airflow exiting the attachment at an exit direction (Application claim 15), as taught by Kerschgens, for evenly distributing the process drying air exiting the attachment which would result in further effectively drying an object to be dried, such as hair or etc. …, within a further shorter period of time. Thus, the drying apparatus of the attachment operates further efficiently and thus further benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 13, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein the airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2) includes a grille (blowing-out grill 6, [0029]) for guiding at least a portion of the airflow toward a region of the radiation outlet (outlet of item 3 at right end of item 3, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged on a surface of the airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2) ([0029]), and the surface of the airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2) ([0029]) on which the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged is located on a radiation path of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Kaizuka as modified discloses, wherein
the surface of the airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2) ([0029]) on which the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged faces the radiation energy source assembly (2, fig. 1); and/or
the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly includes a radiation-reflecting material coated on the surface of the airflow guiding sub-assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Kaizuka as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2) ([0029]) includes a radiation-permeable material (blowing-out grill 6, [0029]; thus, the grill 6 is made of permeable material which allows radiation passing through or blowing out), and the at least a portion of the airflow guiding sub-assembly (6, figs. 1, 2) ([0029]) is located on a radiation path of the first radiation (first radiation from item 2, fig. 1).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaizuka, deGrood and Stephens as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Essler (US 5,668,921).
Regarding claim 10, Kaizuka as modified discloses, wherein
at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) is arranged on an inner surface of the airflow path (air flow passes or paths of item 4, figs. 1, 2, [0028]) (air flow passes or paths of item 6, figs. 1, [0029]), or
at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly is arranged on an outer wall of the airflow guiding sub-assembly facing an inner surface of the airflow path,
wherein the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (39, fig. 1, [0012], [0019]) (49, fig. 2, [0029]) includes a radiation material (ceramics coated layer, [0029]).
Kaizuka does not disclose the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly includes a radiation-reflecting material.
Essler teaches the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly (Essler, 12, 5, 6, fig. 1) includes a radiation-reflecting material (Essler, reflector 12, col. 3, lines 47-59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the attachment of Kaizuka with the at least a portion of the radiation adjusting assembly includes a radiation-reflecting material, as taught by Essler, for maintaining a temperature of a process drying air before exiting the attachment which would result in further effectively drying an object to be dried, such as hair or etc. …, within a further shorter period of time. Thus, the drying apparatus of the attachment operates further efficiently and thus further benefits the consumer.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762