DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application has claimed priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 from Chinese Patent Application No. CN202210411601.6 filed 4/19/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on 9/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The response filed on 9/24/2025 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, and 17 are amended, and claims 4-5 and 15-16 are canceled. Claims 1-3, 6-14, and 17-20 are pending.
Previous rejections to claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been removed as necessitated by amendments. New rejections have been made under 35 USC 103 to claims 1-2, 6-13, and 17-20 under Baldeschwieler et al in view of Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron, and claims 3 and 14 under Baldeschwieler et al in view of Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, Coudron, and Humpleman et al. Previous rejections of claims 5-6 and 16-17 under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings filed 6/27/2024 were accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldeschwieler et al (US 20080109844 A1; filed 11/2/2006) in view of Vilcauskas et al (US 20070226081 A1; filed 11/14/2006), Kwon et al (US 20120210270 A1; filed 2/10/2012), and Coudron (US 8874543 B1; filed 1/9/2014).
With regards to claim 1, Baldeschwieler et al discloses A method for page display, comprising: receiving a triggering operation acting on a video playing page (Baldeschwieler et al, Fig. 8A-8B: video player with advertisements; trigger includes user clicking as described in paragraphs 22 and 28), wherein the triggering operation is configured to instruct to display an object page (Baldeschwieler et al, paragraph 28: “Sponsor text area also includes a link that when clicked on opens a window or sends a navigation command to an already open window to navigate to a sponsor web site”)…; and
in response to the triggering operation, switching a current display page from the video playing page to a target page aggregated in the object page (Baldeschwieler et al, paragraph 28: “Sponsor text area also includes a link that when clicked on opens a window or sends a navigation command to an already open window to navigate to a sponsor web site”).
However, Baldeschwieler et al does not disclose a first page and a second page are aggregated in the object page, the first page is configured to play an object recommendation video and the second page is configured to present object information and first virtual item information associated with the object information… displaying page identifiers of at least two pages aggregated in the object page in a first area of the target page, wherein the target page is the first page or the second page, and in response to a second sliding operation acting within a main display area of the target page, switching a currently displayed page in a sliding direction of the sliding operation and in an arrangement order of the page identifiers in the first area;
wherein the displaying page identifiers of at least two pages aggregated in the object page in a first area of the target page comprises: displaying page identifiers of pages aggregated in the object page in the first area of the target page, and displaying a search control in a fourth area of the target page, the search control is configured to trigger to perform an object search wherein the fourth area of the target page is located outside the first area of the target page, and the method further comprises:
in response to a first sliding operation acting within the main display area of the target page, controlling the search control to move with the first sliding operation; and
in response to the search control moving outside of the main display area of the target page, incrementally displaying the search control in the first area of the target page.
Vilcauskas et al teaches a first page and a second page are aggregated in the object page (Vilcauskas et al, Figs. 2-5: The pages corresponding to Home 102, Trucks 120, SUVs 140, Colors 308, etc., are interpreted as the pages aggregated into the single object page), the first page is configured to play an object recommendation video (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 12: “The website may be related to any type of product or service and may include any type of content, including… video and audio, that is presentable over a computer network”) and the second page is configured to present object information and first virtual item information associated with the object information (Vilcauskas et al, Fig. 4: object information is interpreted as features of the vehicle 306; while the virtual item information is interpreted as the virtually displayed vehicle 302; the name (Belchfire 8) or appearance of the vehicle can be interpreted as the information of the virtual item)… displaying page identifiers of at least two pages aggregated in the object page in a first area of the target page, wherein the target page is the first page or the second page (Vilcauskas et al, Figs. 2-5: The buttons the say Home 102, Trucks 120, SUVs 140, Colors 308, etc., are interpreted as the page identifiers, and are displayed on each page as demonstrated in each of Fig. 2-5)… wherein the displaying page identifiers of at least two pages aggregated in the object page in a first area of the target page comprises: displaying page identifiers of pages aggregated in the object page in the first area of the target page (Vilcauskas et al, Figs. 2-5: The pages corresponding to Home 102, Trucks 120, SUVs 140, Colors 308, etc., are interpreted as the pages aggregated into the single object page and the buttons (102, 120, 140, 308) are interpreted as the identifiers)… wherein the fourth area of the target page is located outside the first area of the target page… a main display area of the target page (Vilcauskas et al, Figs. 2-5: The first area is interpreted as the section of the page with the page identifiers, while the fourth area is interpreted as one of the sides of the page)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al and Vilcauskas et al such that the sponsor web site could include an aggregate page with multiple sponsor-related pages and page identifiers. This would have enabled the sponsor website to provide additional information to the user regarding the object or product (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 16: “An Internet based website may, for example, include content to assist potential consumers in identifying a vehicle of interest and determining a particular set of desired specifications for the vehicle.”).
Kwon et al teaches in response to a second sliding operation acting within a main display area of the target page, switching a currently displayed page in a sliding direction of the sliding operation and in an arrangement order of the page identifiers in the first area (Kwon et al, Fig. 3C: The 2 finger swipe/slide input switches tabs in the direction of the input; abstract: “multi-touch input in a touch screen terminal in which application programs in form of subordinate sub-windows are displayed by detecting a movement and the number of touch flickings; and switching between sub-windows opened in the corresponding application program;” further described in paragraphs 36-37, 39-40, 44).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, and Kwon et al such that a user can navigate through the tabs using a sliding input. This would have enabled a user to easily navigate the app window (Kwon et al, paragraph 8 (when describing prior art): “a user has to switch to the window of the browser among the various application programs by clicking the tab one by one for browsing the window which is cumbersome;” paragraph 51: “make an easy switch to a corresponding window and make the content shown in the window be scrolled variably and easily according to the movement and the number of the touch flickings detected on the touch screen”).
Coudron teaches displaying a search control in a fourth area of the target page, the search control is configured to trigger to perform an object search (Coudron, col 1, lines 33-35: “FIG. 4 is a view of an Internet browsing application with a lightbox search control displayed;” abstract: “The search control receives input corresponding to a search query, a tracking code is combined with the received input, and the combination is communicated to a search engine”)… in response to a first sliding operation acting within the main display area of the target page, controlling the search control to move with the first sliding operation (Coudron, Fig. 3: the search control slides towards the center of the page from one of the sides); and in response to the search control moving outside of the main display area of the target page, incrementally displaying the search control in the first area of the target page (Coudron, fig. 3: The search control is shown moving from one area of the page to another).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the website could include a search control which can move around the display. This would have enabled a user to search from within a web page (Coudron, col 2, lines 6-8: “provide web users a capability to search from within a web page”).
With regards to claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Baldeschwieler et al discloses wherein the video playing page is aggregated in a preset page (Baldeschwieler et al, Fig. 8A: video playing page includes both video window 822 and Sponsor text 800, which includes a link to the target page), the triggering operation acts on an object page identifier, the object page identifier is displayed in a second area in which a page identifier of the video playing page is located or in a third area in which a page identifier of the preset page is located (paragraph 28: “Sponsor text area also includes a link that when clicked on opens a window or sends a navigation command to an already open window to navigate to a sponsor web site;” The sponsor text area is interpreted as the object page identifier which can be selected by a user, and the video playing page identifier is interpreted as either the share button 808, which allows a user to share the identified video link with other users, or the view button 806, which allows a user to view video details such as the title. Sponsor text area 800 and objects 806 and 808 are all displayed in the video playing page as shown in Fig. 8A).
With regards to claim 6, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Baldeschwieler et al and Vilcauskas et al does not disclose wherein the search control has different display styles in the first area of the target page and in the fourth area of the target page.
However, Coudron teaches wherein the search control has different display styles in the first area of the target page and in the fourth area of the target page (Coudron, fig. 3: The search control is shown moving from one area of the page to another, and is only shown partially when near the edge of the screen; the partial display is interpreted as a different display style).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the website could include a search control that moves on the screen. This would have enabled a user to search from within a web page (Coudron, col 2, lines 6-8: “provide web users a capability to search from within a web page”).
With regards to claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Baldeschwieler et al does not disclose in response to a click operation for any a page identifier among the page identifiers displayed in the first area, displaying a page corresponding to the page identifier on which the click operation acts.
Vilcauskas et al teaches in response to a click operation for any a page identifier among the page identifiers displayed in the first area, displaying a page corresponding to the page identifier on which the click operation acts (Vilcauskas et al, Figs. 2-5: The buttons the say Home 102, Trucks 120, SUVs 140, Colors 308, etc., are interpreted as the page identifiers, and are displayed on each page as demonstrated in each of Fig. 2-5; paragraph 13: “For example, a type of vehicle including cars 110, trucks 120, vans 130, and suvs 140 (sports utility vehicles) can be selected by using the computer's keys, mouse or other pointing device to co-locate the computer's cursor 150 and the button appropriate for the type of vehicle of interest to the user.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the sponsor web site could include an aggregate page with multiple sponsor-related pages. This would have enabled the sponsor website to provide additional information to the user regarding the object or product (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 16: “An Internet based website may, for example, include content to assist potential consumers in identifying a vehicle of interest and determining a particular set of desired specifications for the vehicle.”).
With regards to claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Baldeschwieler et al does not disclose in response to the currently displayed page being the second page, at least one selected from a group consisting of a first list control and a control configured to trigger to display a second list control is further displayed in the first area of the second page; or
in response to the currently displayed page being the second page, at least one selected from a group consisting of the first list control and the second list control is further displayed in the first area of the second page, wherein the first list control is configured to trigger to display a first object list of a current user, and the second list control is configured to trigger to display a second object list of the current user.
Vilcauskas et al teaches in response to the currently displayed page being the second page (Vilcauskas et al, Fig. 3: Cars page is being interpreted as the second page for the sake of this rejection, but the other pages shown in figures 2-5 could be similarly interpreted as the second page), at least one selected from a group consisting of a first list control and a control configured to trigger to display a second list control is further displayed in the first area of the second page (Vilcauskas et al, Fig. 3: a list of cars (e.g. car 202 and 206) are displayed in an area of the second page; The page controls (Trucks, SUVs, Vans) could be interpreted as controls which display other lists (e.g. lists of Trucks, SUVs, and vans)); or
in response to the currently displayed page being the second page, at least one selected from a group consisting of the first list control and the second list control is further displayed in the first area of the second page, wherein the first list control is configured to trigger to display a first object list of a current user, and the second list control is configured to trigger to display a second object list of the current user (The “or” makes this limitation optional for the rejection).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the sponsor web site could include an aggregate page with multiple sponsor-related pages. This would have enabled the sponsor website to provide additional information to the user regarding the object or product (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 16: “An Internet based website may, for example, include content to assist potential consumers in identifying a vehicle of interest and determining a particular set of desired specifications for the vehicle.”).
With regards to claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Baldeschwieler et al does not disclose yet Vilcauskas et al teaches wherein second virtual item information to be collected is further displayed in the second page (Vilcauskas et al, Fig. 3 or 4: the virtual item information to be collected could be interpreted as the information to be filled into fields 422; alternatively, information such as the pop-up window 204 information which describes one of the selected virtual vehicles can be interpreted as having been collected and displayed upon user selection 150).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the sponsor web site could include an aggregate page with multiple sponsor-related pages which includes information about the products. This would have enabled the sponsor website to provide additional information to the user regarding the object or product (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 16: “An Internet based website may, for example, include content to assist potential consumers in identifying a vehicle of interest and determining a particular set of desired specifications for the vehicle.”).
With regards to claim 10, which depends on claim 1, Baldeschwieler et al does not disclose wherein a third page is further aggregated in the object page, the third page is configured to present an object recommendation video published by a target associated user, and the target associated user is an associated user of the current user.
Vilcauskas et al teaches wherein a third page is further aggregated in the object page, the third page is configured to present an object recommendation video (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 12: “The website may be related to any type of product or service and may include any type of content, including text, video and audio, that is presentable over a computer network”) published by a target associated user, and the target associated user is an associated user of the current user (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 12: “any type of content, including text, video and audio, that is presentable over a computer network;” the person who published the video is interpreted as the target associated user, because the video is associated with the product on the product page, while the target user is considered to be associated with the current user because the current user is viewing the video that the target user published. Nothing in the claim requires a further association between the two users).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the sponsor web site could include an aggregate page with multiple sponsor-related pages, some of which include videos. This would have enabled the sponsor website to provide additional information to the user regarding the object or product (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 16: “An Internet based website may, for example, include content to assist potential consumers in identifying a vehicle of interest and determining a particular set of desired specifications for the vehicle.”).
Claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 and is thus rejected along the same rationale.
Claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 and is thus rejected along the same rationale.
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2 and is thus rejected along the same rationale.
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 6 and is thus rejected along the same rationales.
Claims 18-20 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 7-9 respectively and are thus rejected along the same rationales.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldeschwieler et al in view of Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron, and further in view of Humpleman et al (US 20030018969 A1; filed 6/21/2002).
With regards to claim 3, which depends on claim 2, Baldeschwieler et al does not disclose wherein the object page identifier is displayed in the second area, the displaying page identifiers of at least two pages aggregated in the object page in a first area of the target page comprising:
displaying a return control and page identifiers of pages aggregated in the object page in the first area of the target page, wherein the return control is configured to trigger to display the video playing page.
Vilcauskas et al teaches wherein the object page identifier is displayed in the second area, the displaying page identifiers of at least two pages aggregated in the object page in a first area of the target page comprising: displaying… page identifiers of pages aggregated in the object page in the first area of the target page (Vilcauskas et al, Figs. 2-5: The pages corresponding to Home 102, Trucks 120, SUVs 140, Colors 308, etc., are interpreted as the pages aggregated into the single object page and the buttons (102, 120, 140, 308) are interpreted as the identifiers).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, and Coudron such that the sponsor web site could include an aggregate page with multiple sponsor-related pages and page identifiers. This would have enabled the sponsor website to provide additional information to the user regarding the object or product (Vilcauskas et al, paragraph 16: “An Internet based website may, for example, include content to assist potential consumers in identifying a vehicle of interest and determining a particular set of desired specifications for the vehicle.”).
Humpleman et al teaches displaying a return control… wherein the return control is configured to trigger to display the video playing page (Humpleman et al, paragraph 61: “All content pages are embedded with a “Back” button, allowing the viewer to return”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Baldeschwieler et al, Vilcauskas et al, Kwon et al, Coudron, and Humpleman et al such that a back button (return control) was included in the page. This would have enabled a user to return to the previous page (Humpleman et al, paragraph 61: “allowing the viewer to return, at any time, to the content navigation page where the ad originated”).
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 3 and is thus rejected along the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2025 with respect to claims 1, 11, and 12, and claims dependent on them, have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant amended these independent claims to include the limitations from previous claims 4-5, and argued (see remarks, pp. 8-11) that the combination of Baldeschwieler, Vilcauskas, Kwon, and Coudron fail to fully teach the limitations regarding the moving of the search control. In particular, applicant argues that Coudron does not teach the search control moving “outside of the main display area” and “incrementally displaying the search control in the first area of the target page”. Examiner disagrees with this argument because the “main display area” is not defined within the claims as a specific region, or covering a certain area of the screen or window. Thus it can be treated as an arbitrary location on the screen as long as the sliding operation is acting within it, and the main display area is “of the target page”. So a combination in which Coudron teaches sliding a search control from one area to another incrementally is sufficient to teach the relevant limitations. Thus the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178