DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application No. 18/757,402 filed on 12/01/2025. Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are cancelled. Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 is/are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 10/01/2025 is/are considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullig et al. (US 2007/0143493), in view of Darby et al. (US 2017/0109008), in view of Cormican et al. (US 2022/0014821), and further in view of Gu et al. (US 2022/0337745).
Consider claims 1, 10, and 11, Mullig teaches a video playing method, an electronic device, a non-transient computer-readable storage medium, storing computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are used for, when executed by a processor, realizing a video playing method, which comprises: at least one processor; and at least one memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores a computer program executable by the at least one processor, and the computer program is executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to execute a video playing method (Paragraph 0009; Paragraph 0035-0038; processor 160, memory 166, ROM 165, storage device 163 - Fig.3, Paragraph 0047-0049), which comprises:
displaying a detail page of a target video, wherein the detail page comprises a video playing area and an information display area, wherein the video playing area is used for playing the target video, and the information display area is used for displaying video information of the target video; receiving a page switching operation; in response to the page switching operation, switching a current page from the detail page to a first video playing page, and playing a video based on a video stream of the first video playing page, wherein the video stream comprises the target video or an associated video of the target video (Paragraph 0009 teaches allowing the user to select various display modes for displaying content provided by the system. For example, the user can view only the video feed playing in the primary video pane, i.e., without the surrounding text and preview video panes, by selecting a "video only" display mode. In addition, by selecting a “shrink expanded” display mode, the user can view the video feed playing the primary video pane in a smaller sized video pane with at least a portion of the text shown in the main display dialog window, but without the preview video panes. User can also select a "shrink collapsed" mode, which displays the smaller sized video pane displaying the video feed without any associated text. The system provides for video continuity when switching among the various display modes. Fig.4, Paragraph 0058 teaches a lower pane window that current displays “preview” video panes 403. Paragraph 0089 teaches preview video pane 403 having on-demand video related to video playing in primary video pane 401. Paragraph 0081 teaches client application 15 allows the user to adjust the display mode of the client application, e.g., displaying in a large window or pane or displaying in a smaller window or pane, or displaying with or without additional content, such as related text and links, which are described in more detail below. Paragraph 0119 teaches allow user to adjust manner in which content is displayed via one or more display modes. A main display mode displays the main display as shown in Fig.4. Full screen mode displays the video in a primary window pane and play controls in a “full screen” window that is the size of the display screen. Video only mode as shown in Fig.12, has a display dialog window that is smaller than the full size of the display screen. Paragraph 0120-0122 teaches other modes such as shrink expanded, shrink collapsed. Paragraph 0123 teaches changing between modes and maintaining video and audio continuity);
switching and displaying respective video in the video stream (Paragraph 0086 teaches user may select another video feed to be displayed in primary video pane 401, in additional to changing the video feed that is displayed in the primary video pane 401);
wherein after displaying the detail page of the target video (Fig.4), further comprising:
in response to a third operation in the information display area, switching information displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged (Figs. 4, 9-10 teaches a lower pane area having tabs “Live Feeds, On Demand, Browse”, where switching between panes, we see that the position of the video playing area 401 remains unchanged).
Mullig does not explicitly teach wherein the page switching operation comprises a first sliding operation acting on the information display area of the detail page, or a clicking operation acting in a blank position of the video playing area, the first sliding operation comprises a sliding operation of sliding in a horizontal direction on the information display area, the blank position is a position where no trigger control is displayed;
wherein when playing the video based on the video stream of the first video playing page, in response to a touch-sliding operation acting on an area displaying the video in the first video playing page, switching and displaying respective video in the video stream in the first video playing page;
in response to a third sliding operation in the information display area, switching video information of the target video displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged, wherein the video information of the target video comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of: interactive information of the target video and description information of the target video.
In an analogous art, Darby teaches wherein page switching operation comprises a first sliding operation acting on the information display area of the detail page, or a clicking operation acting in a position of the video playing area (Paragraph 0072 teaches user interface 200d may also present a next state control 260. Touchscreen user interface 200d may temporarily present the next state control 260 when first displaying the video player area 216 in the mid state. In response to receiving a user selection of the next state control 260, the touchscreen user interface 200d may transition to the fullscreen state), a second sliding operation acting in the video playing area or a clicking operation acting in the video playing area (Paragraph 0060 teaches receiving the first or second gestural input while in the mid state within one or more of the video player area 216, such as a touch that drags or swipes to the left or the right. In response, the touchscreen user interface 200b may replace the current video with the previous video or the next video, respectively, in the video player area 216. Paragraph 0069 teaches receiving a user input in the second mode of the mid state within the video player area 216, such as a touch that drags or swipes to the left or the right. In response, the touchscreen user interface 200d may replace the current video in the video player area 216 with the previous video or the next video, respectively, from the queue);
wherein when playing video based on the video stream of first video playing page, in response to a touch-sliding operation acting on an area displaying the video in the first video playing page, switching and displaying respective video in the video stream in the first video playing page (Fig.2D, Paragraph 0064 teaches one state of the display interface, having a video player area 216, and video information area 222. Paragraph 0071 teaches while in this state, user may provide a gestural input to switch to full screen state. Fig.2E, Paragraph 0073 teaches a fullscreen state, where video player area has expanded to fit the space available. Paragraph teaches information area 222 may be temporarily presented after the transition to fullscreen state and graduate faded out after a particular amount of time elapses. Paragraph 0075 teaches receiving gestural inputs within one or more of the video player area 216, such as a touch that drags or swipes to the left or right. In response, the interface may replace the current video with the previous video or next video, respectively in the video player area 216);
in response to a third operation in the information display area, updating video information of the target video displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged, wherein the video information of the target video comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of: interactive information of the target video and description information of the target video (Paragraph 0055 teaches Fig. 2B shows an example of the mid state of the touchscreen user interface 200b for presenting media. The touchscreen user interface 200b presents the selected video within a video player area 216. Paragraph 0057 teaches the video information area 222 may also present additional video information, such as a rating for the video, e.g., a number of likes and/or dislikes for the video, and controls for interacting with the video, e.g., to subscribe to a channel that posted the video, to share the video, or to input the rating or like/dislike for the video. As user may interact with video information area as described above, during the interaction(s), the video player area would continue to remain unchanged in the same position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mullig to include wherein page switching operation comprises a first sliding operation acting on the information display area of the detail page, or a clicking operation acting in a position of the video playing area; wherein when playing video based on the video stream of first video playing page, in response to a touch-sliding operation acting on an area displaying the video in the first video playing page, switching and displaying respective video in the video stream in the first video playing page; in response to a third operation in the information display area, updating video information of the target video displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged, wherein the video information of the target video comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of: interactive information of the target video and description information of the target video, as taught by Darby, for the advantage of providing for navigating through a queue of media more quickly, by allowing a user to swipe to advance and review next and previous videos within a set (Darby – Paragraph 0016), allowing user(s) to quickly traverse into a more immersive mode, enabling user(s) to intuitively and easily switch between content for playback, as well as quickly ascertain and go through the different related types of content information in a simple manner.
Mullig and Darby do not explicitly teach wherein a clicking operation acting in a position of the video playing area is a clicking operation acting in a blank position of the video playing area, the blank position is a position where no trigger control is displayed;
in response to a third sliding operation in the information display area, switching video information of the target video displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged.
In an analogous art, Cormican teaches in response to a third sliding operation in an information display area, switching video information of a target video displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged, wherein the video information of the target video comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of: interactive information of the target video and description information of the target video (Figs.1A-B, 2A, 3A-B; Paragraph 0029 teaches a user interface where media content item 102 is being presented on a user device. Paragraph 0030 teaches user interface may include interfaces 104 and 154, which indicate contextual information related to the media content item 102. Interfaces 104 and 154 can show any suitable contextual information related to media content item 102, such as geographic information, background, answers to popular questions, retail information, e.g., links to products available for purchase, and./or any other suitable information. Paragraph 0031 teaches in some embodiments, in instances where multiple interfaces are available, a user can swipe on a currently presented interface, e.g. swipe left, swipe right, and/or in any other suitable direction, to cause a next or previous interface to be presented on the user device. Paragraph 0033, 0037-0038 teaches further types of contextual interfaces such as 204, 304, and 354).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mullig and Darby to include in response to a third sliding operation in an information display area, switching video information of a target video displayed in the information display area, and controlling a position of the video playing area to remain unchanged, wherein the video information of the target video comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of: interactive information of the target video and description information of the target video, as taught by Cormican, for the advantage of navigating between multiple interfaces (Cormican – Paragraph 0031), allowing user(s) to easily move between desired information, making the process more seamless, efficient, and effortless.
Mullig, Darby, and Cormican do not explicitly teach wherein a clicking operation acting in a position of the video playing area is a clicking operation acting in a blank position of the video playing area, the blank position is a position where no trigger control is displayed.
In an analogous art, Gu teaches wherein a clicking operation acting in a position of the video playing area is a clicking operation acting in a blank position of the video playing area, the blank position is a position where no trigger control is displayed (Paragraph 0037 teaches play mode switching instruction may adopt a single trigger on the video playing interface. The play mode switching instruction may be configured as a single clicking at any position on the video playing interface. Paragraph 0044 teaches operation may be configured as a single click on any position of the video playing interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mullig, Darby, and Gu to include wherein a clicking operation acting in a position of the video playing area is a clicking operation acting in a blank position of the video playing area, the blank position is a position where no trigger control is displayed, as taught by Gu, for the advantage enabling the user to quickly switch modes, without requiring much precision, providing near effortless action, making actions quicker and easier.
Consider claims 2 and 12, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu teach wherein displaying the detail page of the target video (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119) comprises:
when the target video is played in a main display area of a second video playing page, switching the current page from the second video playing page to the detail page of the target video in response to a video detail viewing operation acting in the second video playing page (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119, 0123 teaches various display modes such as main, full screen, video only, shrink expanded, shrink collapsed, etc. Where user is allowed to adjust/select/change between the display modes, while system maintains video and audio continuity between modes).
Consider claims 3 and 13, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu teach wherein switching the current page from the second video playing page to the detail page of the target video (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119) comprises:
controlling a video frame of the target video to move from the main display area of the second video playing page to the video playing area of the detail page, and controlling the video information of the target video to move into the information display area of the detail page for display (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119, 0123 teaches various display modes such as main, full screen, video only, shrink expanded, shrink collapsed, etc. Where user is allowed to adjust/select/change between the display modes, while system maintains video and audio continuity between modes. Fig.13, Paragraph 0009, 0120 teaches a shrink expanded mode where user can view the video feed playing in the primary video pane in a smaller sized video pane with at least a portion of the text shown in the main display dialog window. Fig.4, Paragraph 0119 teaches a main display mode. Paragraph 0086 teaches presenting content related to the video feed that is playing is presented in “related content pane(s) 440, and maintaining the association of the particular video feed and the content related to the particular video feed during display mode changes. Fig.5, Paragraph 0105 teaches another display mode with video pane and related content pane. Fig.13 also shows a video pane as well as related content pane).
Consider claims 4 and 14, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu teach wherein switching the current page from the second video playing page to the detail page of the target video (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119) comprises:
switching the video frame of the target video from an original video frame with a first size to a target video frame with a second size, wherein the second size is less than or equal to the first size (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119, 0123 teaches various display modes such as main, full screen, video only, shrink expanded, shrink collapsed, etc. Where user is allowed to adjust/select/change between the display modes, while system maintains video and audio continuity between modes. Paragraph 0119 teaches a main display mode shown in Fig.4. Full screen mode is the size of the display screen, while video only mode shown in Fig.12 has a smaller video window than the full size of the display screen. We can see that video may be displayed in many different size video panes. Therefore, the original video frame which may be at least full size, when switched to other display modes will be of a smaller size. Additionally, including, but not limited to changing from full size and/or video only modes, to main display mode, the video is changing from a first size to a second size, where the second size may be less than the first size).
Consider claim 20, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu teach wherein displaying the detail page of the target video comprises: when the target video is played in a main display area of a second video playing page, switching the current page from the second video playing page to the detail page of the target video in response to a video detail viewing operation acting in the second video playing page (Mullig - Paragraph 0009 teaches allowing the user to select various display modes for displaying content provided by the system. For example, the user can view only the video feed playing in the primary video pane, i.e., without the surrounding text and preview video panes, by selecting a "video only" display mode. In addition, by selecting a “shrink expanded” display mode, the user can view the video feed playing the primary video pane in a smaller sized video pane with at least a portion of the text shown in the main display dialog window, but without the preview video panes. User can also select a "shrink collapsed" mode, which displays the smaller sized video pane displaying the video feed without any associated text. The system provides for video continuity when switching among the various display modes. Fig.4, Paragraph 0058 teaches a lower pane window that current displays “preview” video panes 403. Paragraph 0089 teaches preview video pane 403 having on-demand video related to video playing in primary video pane 401. Paragraph 0081 teaches client application 15 allows the user to adjust the display mode of the client application, e.g., displaying in a large window or pane or displaying in a smaller window or pane, or displaying with or without additional content, such as related text and links, which are described in more detail below. Paragraph 0119 teaches allow user to adjust manner in which content is displayed via one or more display modes. A main display mode displays the main display as shown in Fig.4. Full screen mode displays the video in a primary window pane and play controls in a “full screen” window that is the size of the display screen. Video only mode as shown in Fig.12, has a display dialog window that is smaller than the full size of the display screen. Paragraph 0120-0122 teaches other modes such as shrink expanded, shrink collapsed. Paragraph 0123 teaches changing between modes and maintaining video and audio continuity).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullig et al. (US 2007/0143493), in view of Darby et al. (US 2017/0109008), in view of Cormican et al. (US 2022/0014821), in view of Gu et al. (US 2022/0337745), and further in view of Kenagy (US 2010/0299627).
Consider claims 5 and 15, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu teach before switching the video frame of the target video from the original video frame with the first size to the target video frame with the second size, further comprising: the detail page; the video playing area; processing the original video frame of the target video to obtain the target video frame (Mullig - Paragraph 0009 teaches allowing the user to select various display modes for displaying content provided by the system. For example, the user can view only the video feed playing in the primary video pane, i.e., without the surrounding text and preview video panes, by selecting a "video only" display mode. In addition, by selecting a “shrink expanded” display mode, the user can view the video feed playing the primary video pane in a smaller sized video pane with at least a portion of the text shown in the main display dialog window, but without the preview video panes. User can also select a "shrink collapsed" mode, which displays the smaller sized video pane displaying the video feed without any associated text. The system provides for video continuity when switching among the various display modes. Paragraph 0081 teaches client application 15 allows the user to adjust the display mode of the client application, e.g., displaying in a large window or pane or displaying in a smaller window or pane, or displaying with or without additional content, such as related text and links, which are described in more detail below. Paragraph 0119 teaches allow user to adjust manner in which content is displayed via one or more display modes. A main display mode displays the main display as shown in Fig.4. Full screen mode displays the video in a primary window pane and play controls in a “full screen” window that is the size of the display screen. Video only mode as shown in Fig.12, has a display dialog window that is smaller than the full size of the display screen. Paragraph 0120-0122 teaches other modes such as shrink expanded, shrink collapsed. Paragraph 0123 teaches changing between modes and maintaining video and audio continuity).
Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu do not explicitly teach determining a width value and a height value of the video playing area according to a page width value of the page and a first preset width-height ratio of the video playing area;
processing the original video frame of the target video according to the width value and the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame.
In an analogous art, Kenagy teaches determining a width value and a height value of a video playing area according to a page width value of the page and a first preset width-height ratio of the video playing area; processing the original video frame of the target video according to the width value and the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame (Paragraph 0033 teaches analyzing aspect ratios of content and resizing them to match at least one dimension of the display area. Scalar module 236 may match the vertical dimension of the content with the vertical size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the horizontal dimension to match the horizontal size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the horizontal dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. In another aspect scaler module 236 may match the horizontal dimension of the content with the horizontal size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the vertical dimension to match the vertical size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the vertical dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mullig, Darby, Cormican, and Gu to include determining a width value and a height value of a video playing area according to a page width value of the page and a first preset width-height ratio of the video playing area; processing the original video frame of the target video according to the width value and the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame, as taught by Kenagy, for the advantage of allowing the system to seamlessly fit/fill content within allocated video display space(s), in a manner where video content may still be consistently and clearly presented without undue distortion.
Consider claims 6 and 16, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, Gu, and Kenagy teach wherein processing the original video frame of the target video according to the width value and the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame comprises: when a width-height ratio of the original video frame of the target video is greater than 1, scaling the original video frame according to the height value of the video playing area to obtain a first video frame, wherein a height value of the first video frame is the height value of the video playing area; clipping the first video frame according to the width value of the video playing area, when a width value of the first video frame is greater than the width value of the video playing area, to obtain the target video frame; when the width value of the first video frame is less than or equal to the width value of the video playing area, taking the first video frame as the target video frame (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119, 0123; Kenagy - Paragraph 0033 teaches analyzing aspect ratios of content and resizing them to match at least one dimension of the display area. Scalar module 236 may match the vertical dimension of the content with the vertical size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the horizontal dimension to match the horizontal size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the horizontal dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. In another aspect scaler module 236 may match the horizontal dimension of the content with the horizontal size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the vertical dimension to match the vertical size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the vertical dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, as claims do not further limit what happens during scaling of the content when content is outside the range of when width-height ratio is greater than 1, in addition to what system does when width-height ratio is greater than 1. It does not preclude the system from taking similar actions to that of when width-height ratio is greater than 1. Therefore, as Kenagy allows for content to be scaled to match the vertical dimension {height} of the display area, and then horizontal dimension {width} of content cropped if needed to match horizontal size of display area or not cropped leaving blank space. This would also be done when width-height ratio of the content is greater than 1).
Consider claims 7 and 17, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, Gu, and Kenagy teach wherein processing the original video frame of the target video according to the width value and the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame comprises: when a width-height ratio of the original video frame of the target video is greater than a second preset width-height ratio and less than or equal to 1, scaling the original video frame according to the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119, 0123; Kenagy - Paragraph 0033 teaches analyzing aspect ratios of content and resizing them to match at least one dimension of the display area. Scalar module 236 may match the vertical dimension of the content with the vertical size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the horizontal dimension to match the horizontal size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the horizontal dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. In another aspect scaler module 236 may match the horizontal dimension of the content with the horizontal size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the vertical dimension to match the vertical size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the vertical dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, as claims do not further limit what happens during scaling of the content when content is outside the range of when width-height ratio is greater than a second preset width-height ratio and less than or equal to 1, in addition to what system does when greater than a second preset width-height ratio and less than or equal to 1. It does not preclude the system from taking similar actions to that of when greater than a second preset width-height ratio and less than or equal to 1. Therefore, as Kenagy allows for content to be scaled to match the vertical dimension {height} of the display area. This would also be done when width-height ratio of the content is greater than a second preset width-height ratio and less than or equal to 1).
Consider claims 8 and 18, Mullig, Darby, Cormican, Gu, and Kenagy teach wherein processing the original video frame of the target video according to the width value and the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame comprises: determining the width value of the target video frame according to the height value of the video playing area when a width-height ratio of the original video frame of the target video is less than or equal to a second preset width-height ratio; scaling the original video frame according to the width value of the target video frame to obtain a second video frame, wherein a width value of the second video frame is equal to the width value of the target video frame; clipping the second video frame according to the height value of the video playing area to obtain the target video frame when a height value of the second video frame is greater than the height value of the video playing area; when the height value of the second video frame is less than or equal to the height value of the video playing area, taking the second video frame as the target video frame (Mullig – Paragraph 0009, 0081, 0119, 0123; Kenagy - Paragraph 0033 teaches analyzing aspect ratios of content and resizing them to match at least one dimension of the display area. Scalar module 236 may match the vertical dimension of the content with the vertical size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the horizontal dimension to match the horizontal size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the horizontal dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. In another aspect scaler module 236 may match the horizontal dimension of the content with the horizontal size of the display area. Additionally scaler module 236 may further stretch or crop the content in the vertical dimension to match the vertical size of the display area. In another aspect the scaler module 236 may not modify the vertical dimension of the content, merely leaving blank space. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, as claims do not further limit what happens during scaling of the content when content is outside the range of when width-height ratio is less than or equal to a second preset width-height ratio, in addition to what system does when width-height ratio is less than or equal to a second preset width-height ratio. It does not preclude the system from taking similar actions to that of when width-height ratio is less than or equal to a second preset width-height ratio. Therefore, as Kenagy allows for content to be scaled to match the horizontal dimension {width} of the display area, and then vertical dimension {height} of content cropped if needed to match vertical size of display area or not cropped leaving blank space. This would also be done when width-height ratio of the content is less than or equal to a second preset width-height ratio).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425