Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2010/0046783).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches A speaker assembly, comprising: a first audio speaker comprising a first voice coil (Huang figure 4, high-frequency speaker part 3 with coil 31); and a second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2) comprising: a first magnet comprising an opening (Huang figure 4, opening 210 of yoke 1), and a second voice coil that surrounds the opening (Huang figure 4, coil 23), wherein the first voice coil is at least partially positioned in the opening of the first magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 31 is in opening 210).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches a second magnet (Huang figure 4, magnet 21); and a third magnet (Huang figure 4, outer disk 222 of inner yoke 22), wherein the second voice coil comprises: a first portion at least partially positioned between the first magnet and the second magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 23 is between magnet 21 and disk 222), and a second portion at least partially positioned between the first magnet and the third magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 23 is between inner yoke 22 and yoke 1, also between magnet 21 and yoke 1 ).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches a first frame (Huang figure 4, case 51); and a first diaphragm coupled with the first frame (Huang figure 4, diaphragm 32), the first diaphragm configured to be acoustically driven by the first voice coil (Huang figure 4, coil 31).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches a first cover that overlays the first audio speaker; and a second cover that overlays the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, case 51 and cover 52).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches A speaker assembly, comprising: a first audio speaker configured to generate first sound in a first direction and in accordance with a first frequency range (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3); and a second audio speaker configured to generate second sound in a second direction different from the first direction and in accordance with a second frequency range different from the first frequency range (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3), wherein the first audio speaker is at least partially positioned in the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, and ¶0046 yoke 22 is placed within yoke 1).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches a magnet comprising an opening (Huang figure 4, opening 210 of annular magnet 21); a first voice coil at least partially positioned in the opening (Huang figure 4, coil 31); and a second voice coil that surrounds the magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 23 surrounds annular magnet 21).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches wherein the magnet generates a magnetic field that extends to the first voice coil and to the second voice coil (Huang ¶0042 and 0045, both voice coils 23 and 31 interact with the annular magnet 21).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches a yoke that caries the magnet, wherein the opening of the magnet and the yoke define in part a back volume for the first audio speaker (Huang figure 4, yoke 1 and magnet 21 form opening 210 and outer opening between plate 212 and portion 12).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches a frame comprising an opening (Huang figure 2, chamber 50); and a plate coupled with the frame (Huang figure 4, flange portion 12), wherein the first audio speaker comprises: a diaphragm; and a voice coil coupled with the diaphragm, wherein the voice coil is positioned in the opening (Huang figure 4, diaphragms 24 and 34).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches wherein the first frequency range is greater than the second frequency range (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches An electronic device, comprising: a speaker assembly, comprising: a first audio speaker; a second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3), wherein the first audio speaker is at least partially disposed in the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, and ¶0046 yoke 22 is placed within yoke 1); and a magnet shared by the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker (Huang ¶0042 and 0045, both voice coils 23 and 31 interact with the annular magnet 21).
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches wherein: the magnet comprises an opening (Huang figure 4, opening 210 of annular magnet 21), and the first audio speaker comprises a voice coil at least partially positioned in the opening (Huang figure 4, coil 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Ren (US 2024/0223953).
Regarding claim 3, Huang does not explicitly teach a yoke that caries the first magnet, the second magnet, and the third magnet, wherein the first magnet and the yoke define in part a back volume for the first audio speaker.
Ren teaches a yoke that caries the first magnet, the second magnet, and the third magnet, wherein the first magnet and the yoke define in part a back volume for the first audio speaker (Ren figure 5, magnetic yoke 51 holds magnets 551, 531, 553, 537, 533, forming gaps 5C, 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Ren to improve the known speaker of Huang to achieve the predictable result of reducing energy lost caused by a font cavity resonance (Ren ¶0007).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Sahyoun (US 2013/0195311).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches a plate coupled with the first frame (Huang figure 4, case 51 connected to flange 12); a speaker assembly with the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker and a second diaphragm (Huang figure 4, diaphragm 24), wherein the first magnet is positioned between the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm (Huang figure 4, inner yoke 1 is between the two diaphragms), however does not explicitly teach a second frame that surrounds the speaker assembly with the first and second audio speaker.
Sahyoun teaches a second frame that surrounds the speaker assembly with the first and second audio speaker (Sahyoun figure 4B, top cover 31 and enclosure 30’ which surrounds the speaker assembly 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Sahyoun to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of improved protection for the speaker assembly.
Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Sahyoun teach wherein the second frame comprises a port, the port comprising: a first opening defines in part a first acoustic pathway for the first audio speaker; and a second opening defines in part a second acoustic pathway for the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4 and ¶0034, plurality of vents 113).
Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Sahyoun teach a frame that surrounds the first audio speaker, the second audio speaker, and the magnet (Sahyoun figure 4B, top cover 31 and enclosure 30’ which surrounds the speaker assembly 32), wherein the frame comprises a port, the port comprising: a first opening defines in part a first acoustic pathway for the first audio speaker; and a second opening defines in part a second acoustic pathway for the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4 and ¶0034, plurality of vents 113).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Xu (US 2023/0292037).
Regarding claim 7, Huang does not explicitly teach a weld pad carried by the first frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the first voice coil.
Xu teaches a weld pad carried by the first frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the first voice coil (Xu figure 9 and ¶0043, “A connecting wire of the first voice coil 22 is welded to a sixth bonding pad 61. The lower end of the fourth conductive module 6 is welded to a circuit board 12. A woofer 1 and a tweeter 2 are electrically connected through the fourth conductive module 6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Xu to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of a secure electrical connection between components.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Xu (US 2023/0292037) in further view of Mao (US 2017/0026755).
Regarding claim 14, Huang does not explicitly teach a vent carried by the frame, the vent configured to equalize pressure within the first audio speaker; and a weld pad carried by the frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the voice coil.
Xu teaches a weld pad carried by the frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the voice coil (Xu figure 9 and ¶0043, “A connecting wire of the first voice coil 22 is welded to a sixth bonding pad 61. The lower end of the fourth conductive module 6 is welded to a circuit board 12. A woofer 1 and a tweeter 2 are electrically connected through the fourth conductive module 6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Xu to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of a secure electrical connection between components.
Mao teaches a vent carried by the frame, the vent configured to equalize pressure within the first audio speaker (Mao ¶0022, “the air holes 1111 provided by the front cover 111 are configured for balancing the internal air pressure of the speaker 1 and the ambient air pressure, to ensure the air to be vented outside”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Mao to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang in view of Xu to achieve the predictable result of reduced mechanical stress on the speaker.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Itoh (WO 2010/050064).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches a frame that surrounds the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker, the frame comprising: a port that provides respective acoustical pathways for the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4 and ¶0034, plurality of vents 113), however does not explicitly teach an opening separate from the port, the opening providing a pathway for wires for a voice coil of the second audio speaker.
Itoh teaches an opening separate from the port, the opening providing a pathway for wires for a voice coil of the second audio speaker (Itoh figure 6 and Page 9, third paragraph from the end of the page, “lead wire 70 drawn out from the voice coil 23 passes through a hole 13a formed in the sealing member 13”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Itoh to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of a more organized wire arrangement in the speaker assembly.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of French (US 2022/0167021)
Regarding claim 20, Huang does not explicitly teach a head-mounted display; and a strap coupled with the head-mounted display, wherein the speaker assembly is carried by the strap.
French teaches a head-mounted display (French figure 5, AR/VR headset 110 includes speaker 503); and a strap coupled with the head-mounted display (French Claim 11, “wherein the AR/VR headset further comprises at least one head strap for attaching the AR/VR headset to a head of a user”), wherein the speaker assembly is carried by the strap (French Claim 11 and figure 5, since the strap carries the headset 110 with the speaker, the strap is also carrying the speaker).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of French to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of remotely participating in live events (French ¶0024).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693