Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant's amendment which was filed on 5/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-6, 16-17, and 19 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 9 and 17 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2010/0046783).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches A speaker assembly, comprising: a first audio speaker comprising a first voice coil (Huang figure 4, high-frequency speaker part 3 with coil 31); and a second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2) comprising: a first magnet comprising an annular magnet body (Huang figures 3, shared annular magnet 21 is annular and yoke 12 has top board 110, annular wall, and flange portion 12 which each are considered an annular magnet body) defining an opening through the first magnet (Huang figures 3-4, opening 210 of shared annular magnet 21, and first central opening of yoke 12), and a second voice coil that surrounds the opening (Huang figure 4, coil 23), wherein the first voice coil is at least partially positioned in the opening of the first magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 31 protrudes through opening 111 and 210).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches a second magnet (Huang figure 4, magnet 21); and a third magnet (Huang figure 4, outer disk 222 of inner yoke 22), wherein the second voice coil comprises: a first portion at least partially positioned between the first magnet and the second magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 23 is between magnet 21 and disk 222), and a second portion at least partially positioned between the first magnet and the third magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 23 is between inner yoke 22 and yoke 1, also between magnet 21 and yoke 1 ).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches a first frame (Huang figure 4, case 51); and a first diaphragm coupled with the first frame (Huang figure 4, diaphragm 32), the first diaphragm configured to be acoustically driven by the first voice coil (Huang figure 4, coil 31).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches a first cover that overlays the first audio speaker; and a second cover that overlays the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, case 51 and cover 52).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches A speaker assembly, comprising: a first audio speaker configured to generate first sound in a first direction and in accordance with a first frequency range (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3); and a second audio speaker configured to generate second sound in a second direction different from the first direction and in accordance with a second frequency range different from the first frequency range (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3. With BRI, the inherent feature that a loudspeaker diaphragm radiates sound from both sides of its diaphragm reads on this limitation because the speakers parts of Huang are coaxially aligned, and when one diaphragm moves in the left direction/forward in figure 4, the other diaphragm may move in the right/rear direction. See pertinent art Cohen pages 181-182 under section “The Acoustic Doublet : Radiation from Both Sides of Diaphragm into Space”) which explains that diaphragm radiate sound in both directions), wherein the first audio speaker is at least partially positioned in the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, and ¶0046 yoke 22 is placed within yoke 1).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches a magnet comprising an opening (Huang figure 4, opening 210 of annular magnet 21); a first voice coil at least partially positioned in the opening (Huang figure 4, coil 31); and a second voice coil that surrounds the magnet (Huang figure 4, coil 23 surrounds annular magnet 21).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches wherein the magnet generates a magnetic field that extends to the first voice coil and to the second voice coil (Huang ¶0042 and 0045, both voice coils 23 and 31 interact with the annular magnet 21).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches a yoke that caries the magnet, wherein the opening of the magnet and the yoke define in part a back volume for the first audio speaker (Huang figure 4, yoke 1 and magnet 21 form opening 210 and outer opening between plate 212 and portion 12).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches a frame comprising an opening (Huang figure 2, chamber 50); and a plate coupled with the frame (Huang figure 4, flange portion 12), wherein the first audio speaker comprises: a diaphragm; and a voice coil coupled with the diaphragm, wherein the voice coil is positioned in the opening (Huang figure 4, diaphragms 24 and 34).
Regarding claim 16, Huang teaches wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3, the diaphragm of each speakers oscillates in the forward and rear direction. Wherein the forward direction is opposite of the rear direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Ren (US 2024/0223953).
Regarding claim 3, Huang does not explicitly teach a yoke that caries the first magnet, the second magnet, and the third magnet, wherein the first magnet and the yoke define in part a back volume for the first audio speaker.
Ren teaches a yoke that caries the first magnet, the second magnet, and the third magnet, wherein the first magnet and the yoke define in part a back volume for the first audio speaker (Ren figure 5, magnetic yoke 51 holds magnets 551, 531, 553, 537, 533, forming gaps 5C, 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Ren to improve the known speaker of Huang to achieve the predictable result of reducing energy lost caused by a font cavity resonance (Ren ¶0007).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Sahyoun (US 2013/0195311).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches a plate coupled with the first frame (Huang figure 4, case 51 connected to flange 12); a speaker assembly with the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker and a second diaphragm (Huang figure 4, diaphragm 24), wherein the first magnet is positioned between the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm (Huang figure 4, inner yoke 1 is between the two diaphragms), wherein the first magnet is positioned between the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm such that the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm are positioned on opposite sides of the first magnet (Huang figure 4, diaphragm 24 is on a front side while diaphragm 32 is on the rear),however does not explicitly teach a second frame that surrounds the speaker assembly with the first and second audio speaker.
Sahyoun teaches a second frame that surrounds the speaker assembly with the first and second audio speaker (Sahyoun figure 4B, top cover 31 and enclosure 30’ which surrounds the speaker assembly 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Sahyoun to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of improved protection for the speaker assembly.
Regarding claim 6, Huang in view of Sahyoun teach wherein the second frame comprises a port, the port comprising: a first opening defines in part a first acoustic pathway for the first audio speaker, the first acoustic pathway defined by a first opening of the port; and a second opening defines in part a second acoustic pathway for the second audio speaker, the second acoustic pathway defined by a second opening of the port (Huang figure 4 and ¶0034, plurality of vents 113 which are acoustic pathways).
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches An electronic device, comprising: a speaker assembly, comprising: a first audio speaker; a second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, low-frequency speaker part 2 and high frequency speaker part 3), wherein the first audio speaker is at least partially disposed in the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4, and ¶0046 yoke 22 is placed within yoke 1); and a magnet shared by the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker (Huang ¶0042 and 0045, both voice coils 23 and 31 interact with the annular magnet 21), a frame that surrounds the first audio speaker, the second audio speaker, and the magnet (Huang figure 4, housing 5 which includes case 51 and front cover 52 surrounds the two speakers which includes the magnet 21. ¶0032 “all together received in the housing 5”), however does not explicitly teach a frame that surrounds the first audio speaker, the second audio speaker, and the magnet.
Sahyoun also teaches a frame that surrounds the first audio speaker, the second audio speaker, and the magnet (Sahyoun figure 4B, top cover 31 and enclosure 30’ which surrounds the speaker assembly 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Sahyoun to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of improved protection for the speaker assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Huang in view of Sahyoun teaches wherein: the magnet comprises an opening (Huang figure 4, opening 210 of annular magnet 21), and the first audio speaker comprises a voice coil at least partially positioned in the opening (Huang figure 4, coil 31).
Regarding claim 19, Huang in view of Sahyoun teach wherein the frame comprises a port, the port comprising: a first opening defines in part a first acoustic pathway for the first audio speaker; and a second opening defines in part a second acoustic pathway for the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4 and ¶0034, plurality of vents 113).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Xu (US 2023/0292037).
Regarding claim 7, Huang does not explicitly teach a weld pad carried by the first frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the first voice coil.
Xu teaches a weld pad carried by the first frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the first voice coil (Xu figure 9 and ¶0043, “A connecting wire of the first voice coil 22 is welded to a sixth bonding pad 61. The lower end of the fourth conductive module 6 is welded to a circuit board 12. A woofer 1 and a tweeter 2 are electrically connected through the fourth conductive module 6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Xu to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of a secure electrical connection between components.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Xu (US 2023/0292037) in further view of Mao (US 2017/0026755).
Regarding claim 14, Huang does not explicitly teach a vent carried by the frame, the vent configured to equalize pressure within the first audio speaker; and a weld pad carried by the frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the voice coil.
Xu teaches a weld pad carried by the frame, the weld pad providing an electrical connection to the voice coil (Xu figure 9 and ¶0043, “A connecting wire of the first voice coil 22 is welded to a sixth bonding pad 61. The lower end of the fourth conductive module 6 is welded to a circuit board 12. A woofer 1 and a tweeter 2 are electrically connected through the fourth conductive module 6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Xu to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of a secure electrical connection between components.
Mao teaches a vent carried by the frame, the vent configured to equalize pressure within the first audio speaker (Mao ¶0022, “the air holes 1111 provided by the front cover 111 are configured for balancing the internal air pressure of the speaker 1 and the ambient air pressure, to ensure the air to be vented outside”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Mao to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang in view of Xu to achieve the predictable result of reduced mechanical stress on the speaker.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Itoh (WO 2010/050064).
Regarding claim 15, Huang teaches a frame that surrounds the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker, the frame comprising: a port that provides respective acoustical pathways for the first audio speaker and the second audio speaker (Huang figure 4 and ¶0034, plurality of vents 113), however does not explicitly teach an opening separate from the port, the opening providing a pathway for wires for a voice coil of the second audio speaker.
Itoh teaches an opening separate from the port, the opening providing a pathway for wires for a voice coil of the second audio speaker (Itoh figure 6 and Page 9, third paragraph from the end of the page, “lead wire 70 drawn out from the voice coil 23 passes through a hole 13a formed in the sealing member 13”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Itoh to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang to achieve the predictable result of a more organized wire arrangement in the speaker assembly.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2010/0046783) in view of Sahyoun (US 2013/0195311) in further view of French (US 2022/0167021).
Regarding claim 20, Huang in view of Sahyoun does not explicitly teach a head-mounted display; and a strap coupled with the head-mounted display, wherein the speaker assembly is carried by the strap.
French teaches a head-mounted display (French figure 5, AR/VR headset 110 includes speaker 503); and a strap coupled with the head-mounted display (French Claim 11, “wherein the AR/VR headset further comprises at least one head strap for attaching the AR/VR headset to a head of a user”), wherein the speaker assembly is carried by the strap (French Claim 11 and figure 5, since the strap carries the headset 110 with the speaker, the strap is also carrying the speaker).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of French to improve the known speaker assembly of Huang in view of Sahyoun to achieve the predictable result of remotely participating in live events (French ¶0024).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks that cited reference Huang does not disclose that the magnet body itself defines the opening that receives the first voice coil, but rather, Huang describes the magnet as being adhered to and supported by the yoke structure, with the operative opening that receives and bounds the first voice coil being defined by yoke geometry. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, the yoke 12 (Huang figures 3-4) and annular magnet 21 (Huang figures 3, shared annular magnet 21 is annular and yoke 12 has top board 110, annular wall, and flange portion 12 which each are considered an annular magnet body) can each be considered the claimed first magnet with BRI. It is clear that in figure 3, the annular magnet 21 has a central opening 210, which is considered an annular magnet body defining an opening through the first magnet. Huang’s yoke 12 has a central opening 111 which can also be considered an annular magnet body defining an opening through the first magnet. In addition, the space formed by annular wall 112 of yoke 12 in figures 3-4 is also considered an annular magnet body defining an opening through the first magnet. With that in mind, in Huang figure 4, the voice coil 31 is protruding through the central opening 111, the space formed by annular wall 112 of yoke 12 and also protruding into the central opening 210 of the magnet 21 which clearly reads on the limitation “wherein the first voice coil is at least partially positioned in the opening.” Therefore, whether the magnet is supported by the yoke structure or not, the first voice coil (Huang figure 4, coil 31) is evidently “at least partially positioned in the opening of the first magnet.”
Regarding claim 9, Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of Remarks that cited reference Huang does not teach “a first audio speaker configured to generate first sound in a first direction” and “a second audio speaker configured to generate second sound in a second direction different from the first direction,” because Huang figure 4 and ¶0046 discloses “a high-frequency of the high frequency speaker part 3 can pass through the inner sleeve 221 so as to energize the central diaphragm 241 of the low-frequency speaker part 2.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 4 of Huang shows a speaker assembly which uses a magnetic circuit, voice coil and diaphragms to generate sound, which Is considered an electrodynamic (Dynamic) speaker. With BRI, the diaphragms of a dynamic speaker inherently produces acoustic waves on both sides of the diaphragm when the diaphragm oscillates back and forth (See pertinent art Cohen, pages 181-182 under section “The Acoustic Doublet : Radiation from Both Sides of Diaphragm into Space”). Therefore, when the low-frequency diaphragm 24 is bending towards the left of figure 4, and the high-frequency diaphragm 32 is bending towards the right, sound is radiated in opposite directions and the limitation “a second audio speaker configured to generate second sound in a second direction different from the first direction and in accordance with a second frequency range different from the first frequency range” is taught with BRI.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues on page 9 of Remarks that the Office Action relies on the top cover 31 of reference Sahyoun to teach a frame with a port that includes multiple openings, and that Sahyoun does not include a port and therefore, does not teach the amended claim 17 which incorporated claim 19 in part. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner did not rely on reference Sahyoun to teach the port with multiple opening, but instead relied on Huang as shown in the rejection of claim 19 (Note that the limitations regarding the ports are in claim 19 and not recited in claim 17). Examiner notes that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Examiner only relied on Sahyoun’s speaker frame techniques to further support the limitation “a frame surrounds the first audio speaker, the second audio speaker, and the magnet,” which Huang actually teaches with BRI. Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cohen (NPL : HI-FI Loudspeakers and Enclosures by Abraham B. Cohen).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693