DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 13 August 2026. Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are now pending in the present application and claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20 are canceled. This office action is made Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) (US 2019/0320362 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Liu discloses a parameter configuration method comprising: receiving, by a first communication node (e.g., UE 406) from a second communication node (e.g., NB 408), a frame format of a packet data unit (PDU) session, wherein the frame format of the PDU session comprises application data unit (ADU) identification information { (see pg. 7, [0064, 0068-0069]; pg. 8, [0077]; pg. 6, [0059]; Figs. 1-2 & 6), where the system provides QFI },
wherein the ADU identification information comprises at least one of: an application data unit sequence number, an application data unit end mark, or a packet total number in one application data unit { (see pg. 7, [0070]; Figs. 1-2 & 6), where the system provides packets and tags a sequence number to each packet };
wherein the application data unit end mark indicates whether a corresponding application packet is a last application packet { (see pg. 8, [0075]; Figs. 1-2 & 6), where the system provides the packer number to reorder/remap the sequence order of packets and has indication of end marker }.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein application packets with different priorities are mapped to a same quality of service (QoS) flow { (see pg. 7, [0064, 0069]; Figs. 1-2 & 6) }.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Liu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a priority indicates an importance of a corresponding application packet in the same QoS flow { (see pg. 7, [0064, 0069]; Figs. 1-2 & 6) }.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the ADU identification information indicates at least two levels of application data units { (see pg. 7, [0069]; Figs. 1-2 & 6) }.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Liu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first communication node comprises a base station with at least a next generation (NG) protocol interface { (see pg. 7, [0064, 0069]; Figs. 1-2 & 6) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 on pg. 7, 3rd par., “…does not disclose… wherein the ADU identification information comprises at least one of: an application data unit sequence number, an application data unit end mark, or a packet total number in one application data unit…”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has failed to interpret and appreciate the teachings of well-known prior art Liu that clearly discloses the claimed feature(s) as would be clearly recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
As a note, applicant admits the following:
Admission #1: Applicant admits “…Liu…shows that end marker is included…[0075]…Fig. 7, an end marker, a QFI, and data are included…” (see pg. 7, 2nd full par.).
In particular, Liu discloses the language as related to the claimed feature(s)
wherein the ADU identification information comprises at least one of: an application data unit sequence number, an application data unit end mark, or a packet total number in one application data unit { (see pg. 7, [0070, 0071]; Figs. 1-2 & 6), where the system provides packets and tags a sequence number to each packet, and the system provides the packer number to reorder/remap the sequence order of packets and has indication of end marker (see pg. 8, [0074-0075]; abstract; Fig. 7) }.
Therefore, as addressed above, the applied reference more than adequately meets the claim limitations.
Regarding applicant’s argument(s) of claims 2-4, 7-11, and 14-18, the claims are addressed for the same reasons as set forth above and as applied above in each claim rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 2024/0349162 A1) discloses technique for quality of service indication and compliance of application data units.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
05 October 2026