Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13 and 15-20 are pending in this application.
3. Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 19 and 20 have been amended. Claims 4, 10 and 14 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed April 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed moot in view of a necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al.(US 2024/0103625 A1)(hereinafter Liu) in view of Wu et al.(US 2019/0324539 A1)(hereinafter Wu) in further view of MAI(US 2025/0021167 A1)(hereinafter Mai).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a head-mounted display[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-2, 6 and par. 33-37 regarding head mounted display (HMD)], comprising:
a display[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 35 and 37 regarding display screen];
a communication interface, communicatively connected to a wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 55, 58, 92, 103-106 regarding the vibration signal is formed by a vibration motor, wherein the vibration motor is provided in an extended reality device, and/or the vibration motor is provided in a haptic feedback device in communication connection with the extended reality device. Further, in Fig. 6, the communication device 1009 may allow the electronic device 1000 to communicate wirelessly or by wire with other devices to exchange information.];
a camera, configured to capture a real-time image comprising the wearable apparatus worn on a hand of a user[ See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 37, 40-53, 56-58, 94, 103 regarding the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of a camera. Specifically, a camera is configured in the extended reality device, and the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of the camera in the extended reality device. Alternatively, a camera is configured in the haptic feedback device, and the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of the camera in the haptic feedback device…Further, the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…]; and
a processor, coupled to the display, the communication interface, and the camera [See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 56-58, 94, 102-103, 119-123 regarding the electronic device 1000 may comprise a processing device (e.g., a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.) 1001 which may perform various appropriate actions and processes…The processing device 1001, ROM 1002, and RAM 1003 are connected to each other by a bus 1004. An input/output (I/O) interface 1005 is also connected to the bus 1004…Further on, there is provided an electronic device comprising: one or more processors], configured to:
calculate a posture corresponding to the hand based on the real-time image, wherein the posture comprises a reference point located on the hand [See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…]; and
in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receive a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…], and select a first gesture based on a plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…].
Liu does not explicitly disclose in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receive a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation form the wearable apparatus, and select a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus.
However, Wu teaches in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receive a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation form the wearable apparatus[See Wu: at least par. 21, 37-43, 53, 79, 99 regarding a system 100 for providing dynamic haptic playback or effects for an augmented or virtual reality environment in substantially real time … For instance, the detection module 158 can include instructions that, when executed by the processor 102, cause the processor 102 to receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 captures information about the user's motion of the user device 120 as the user interacts with the simulated reality environment... In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion… In an example, the user can provide additional user input via one or more interactive control elements to indicate or modify parameters of the dynamic haptic effect including, for example, providing user input to indicate whether the dynamic haptic effect is a periodic dynamic haptic effect, a first (e.g., starting) dynamic haptic effect of the dynamic haptic effect, a second (e.g., ending) dynamic haptic effect of the dynamic haptic effect, a starting time or position of the dynamic haptic effect, an ending time or position of the dynamic haptic effect, and a type of a model (e.g., a linear model) for rendering or generating the dynamic haptic effect.], and select a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus [See Wu: at least par. 37-43, 79, 99 regarding A detection module 158 can configure the processor 102 to receive sensor signals from the sensor 136…As an example, the processor 102 can receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 detects the user's interaction with a simulated reality environment using the user device 120. For instance, the detection module 158 can include instructions that, when executed by the processor 102, cause the processor 102 to receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 captures information about the user's motion of the user device 120 as the user interacts with the simulated reality environment... In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion. In this embodiment, the processor 102 can access the one or more lookup tables or databases and determine or vary a characteristic of one or more dynamic haptic effects associated with the motion and/or characteristic of the motion…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu with Wu teachings by including “in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receive a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation form the wearable apparatus, and select a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus” because this combination has the benefit of providing dynamic haptic effects in an augmented or virtual reality environment in substantially real time as the user interacts with the augmented or virtual reality environment [See Wu: at least par. 1-4, 48].
Further on, when combined teachings, Liu and Wu teach generate an input event corresponding to the virtual object based on the first gesture and an input target corresponding to the input operation [See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-54, 69-77, 110 regarding S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard. See Wu: at least Figs. 1-4 and par. 37-43, 79, 99 regarding In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion. In this embodiment, the processor 102 can access the one or more lookup tables or databases and determine or vary a characteristic of one or more dynamic haptic effects associated with the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For instance, if the user moves the user device 120 with a high velocity to interact with the simulated reality environment, the processor 102 can determine a dynamic haptic effect that includes a strong vibration or a series of strong vibrations. Continuing with this example, if the user subsequently moves the user device 120 with a low or lower velocity, the processor 102 can determine another characteristic of the haptic effect or vary a characteristic of the haptic effect such as, for example, by reducing a magnitude of the vibration or series of vibrations such that user perceives a weaker vibration as the user reduces the velocity of the user device 120…];
wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical area is constituted by a vertical distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical area, determine to activate the input operation[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 59-64, 66-76, 78-96, 108-111 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… It can be appreciated by those skilled in the art that, in the virtual keyboard, each virtual key corresponds to a triggerable range. The triggerable range may be defined by a boundary of a collider bound to each virtual key. An area of overlap between the vertical projection of the fingertip of the finger on the plane where the virtual keyboard(virtual object) is located and a triggerable range of a certain virtual key(subobject) in the virtual keyboard is greater than a set threshold, and the user keeps the position of the finger relative to the virtual keyboard unchanged, and completes a click action in a direction close to the plane where the virtual keyboard is located, which will trigger the virtual key, that is, input a character corresponding to the virtual key…S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard.].
Liu and Wu do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical extension area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical extension area is constituted by vertically extending a distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical extension area, determine to activate the input operation and receive the plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in the time interval.
However, Mai teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical extension area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical extension area is constituted by vertically extending a distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical extension area, determine to activate the input operation and receive the plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in the time interval[See Mai: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 104-150 regarding S110: A head-mounted display device displays a virtual keyboard… S120: In response to an input trigger operation of the user, the hand-mounted device sends hand detection data to the head-mounted display device based on a detected target sensor signal. Specifically, the user may perform an input operation on the virtual keyboard, and the input operation may be a tap operation or a sliding operation. When the user performs an input operation, the input operation may be implemented by using a single finger, or may be implemented by using a plurality of fingers. For example, when the virtual keyboard is located in a virtual space, the user may perform a tap or sliding input by using a two-finger pinch operation. When the user taps the virtual keyboard on the physical plane or pinches two fingers together on the virtual keyboard to implement the input trigger operation, the target finger vibrates. Accordingly, a vibration sensor on the hand-mounted device may detect a biological vibration wave signal. In addition, when the user performs the foregoing input trigger operation, the blood flow also changes. Accordingly, a pulse wave sensor on the hand-mounted device detects that a pulse wave signal changes. The hand-mounted device may send, to the head-mounted display device as hand detection data, the target sensor signal detected by the vibration sensor and/or the pulse wave sensor, so that the head-mounted display device determines an input trigger event and triggers a gesture input detection process… For example, the vibration sensor is an IMU. FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a biological vibration wave signal according to an embodiment of this application. The figure shows waveform diagrams corresponding to an x-axis, a y-axis, and a z-axis of a 3-axis accelerometer in the IMU when a target finger taps twice on a virtual keyboard on a desktop. In each waveform diagram, a horizontal coordinate represents time or a sampling point, and a vertical coordinate represents an electrical signal that may indicate acceleration. In FIG. 5, an example in which the horizontal coordinate represents time, and the vertical coordinate represents acceleration is used for description. As shown in FIG. 5, when the target finger vibrates, a waveform of an acceleration signal detected by the IMU changes, and the hand-mounted device may periodically detect, in a preset time window (for example, one second), whether a waveform feature of the acceleration signal meets a preset requirement… S130: After determining, based on the hand detection data, that an input trigger event occurs, the head-mounted display device determines an initial tap position of a target finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on a hand image captured by a camera. To improve accuracy of the determined input result, in this embodiment, in step S130, after receiving the hand detection data, the head-mounted device may collect hand image tracking data of the user by using the camera when determining that the input trigger operation of the user acts on the virtual keyboard, that is, the hand image captured by the camera may include the hand image tracking data. Accordingly, when determining the input result, the head-mounted display device may perform data fusion on the hand image tracking data collected by the camera and the hand motion tracking data collected by the IMU, and then determine the input result based on the motion tracking data that is of the target finger and that is obtained by fusion and with reference to the initial tap position and the keyboard layout of the virtual keyboard…]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu and Wu with Mai teachings by including “wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical extension area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical extension area is constituted by vertically extending a distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical extension area, determine to activate the input operation and receive the plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in the time interval” because this combination has the benefit of improving accuracy of a gesture input recognition in a scenario of virtual reality[See Mai: at least par. 3-6].
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a control method, being adapted for use in an electronic apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 4-5, 39 regarding interaction method for electronic device], wherein the electronic apparatus is communicatively connected to a wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 55, 58, 92, 103-106 regarding the vibration signal is formed by a vibration motor, wherein the vibration motor is provided in an extended reality device, and/or the vibration motor is provided in a haptic feedback device in communication connection with the extended reality device. Further, in Fig. 6, the communication device 1009 may allow the electronic device 1000 to communicate wirelessly or by wire with other devices to exchange information.], and the control method comprises the following steps:
capturing a real-time image comprising the wearable apparatus worn on a hand of a user[ See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 37, 40-53, 56-58, 94, 103 regarding the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of a camera. Specifically, a camera is configured in the extended reality device, and the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of the camera in the extended reality device. Alternatively, a camera is configured in the haptic feedback device, and the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of the camera in the haptic feedback device…Further, the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…];
calculating a posture corresponding to the hand based on the real-time image, wherein the posture comprises a reference point located on the hand[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…]; and
in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…], and selecting a first gesture based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…].
Liu does not explicitly disclose in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus, and selecting a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus.
However, Wu teaches in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus[See Wu: at least par. 21, 37-43, 53, 79, 99 regarding a system 100 for providing dynamic haptic playback or effects for an augmented or virtual reality environment in substantially real time … For instance, the detection module 158 can include instructions that, when executed by the processor 102, cause the processor 102 to receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 captures information about the user's motion of the user device 120 as the user interacts with the simulated reality environment... In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion… In an example, the user can provide additional user input via one or more interactive control elements to indicate or modify parameters of the dynamic haptic effect including, for example, providing user input to indicate whether the dynamic haptic effect is a periodic dynamic haptic effect, a first (e.g., starting) dynamic haptic effect of the dynamic haptic effect, a second (e.g., ending) dynamic haptic effect of the dynamic haptic effect, a starting time or position of the dynamic haptic effect, an ending time or position of the dynamic haptic effect, and a type of a model (e.g., a linear model) for rendering or generating the dynamic haptic effect.], and selecting a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on a plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus [See Wu: at least par. 37-43, 79, 99 regarding A detection module 158 can configure the processor 102 to receive sensor signals from the sensor 136…As an example, the processor 102 can receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 detects the user's interaction with a simulated reality environment using the user device 120. For instance, the detection module 158 can include instructions that, when executed by the processor 102, cause the processor 102 to receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 captures information about the user's motion of the user device 120 as the user interacts with the simulated reality environment... In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion. In this embodiment, the processor 102 can access the one or more lookup tables or databases and determine or vary a characteristic of one or more dynamic haptic effects associated with the motion and/or characteristic of the motion…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu with Wu teachings by including “in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus, and selecting a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus” because this combination has the benefit of providing dynamic haptic effects in an augmented or virtual reality environment in substantially real time as the user interacts with the augmented or virtual reality environment [See Wu: at least par. 1-4, 48].
Further on, when combined teachings, Liu and Wu teach generating an input event corresponding to the virtual object based on the first gesture and an input target corresponding to the input operation[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-54, 69-77, 110 regarding S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard. See Wu: at least Figs. 1-4 and par. 37-43, 79, 99 regarding In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion. In this embodiment, the processor 102 can access the one or more lookup tables or databases and determine or vary a characteristic of one or more dynamic haptic effects associated with the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For instance, if the user moves the user device 120 with a high velocity to interact with the simulated reality environment, the processor 102 can determine a dynamic haptic effect that includes a strong vibration or a series of strong vibrations. Continuing with this example, if the user subsequently moves the user device 120 with a low or lower velocity, the processor 102 can determine another characteristic of the haptic effect or vary a characteristic of the haptic effect such as, for example, by reducing a magnitude of the vibration or series of vibrations such that user perceives a weaker vibration as the user reduces the velocity of the user device 120…].
wherein the control method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical area is constituted by a vertical distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical area, determining to activate the input operation[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 59-64, 66-76, 78-96, 108-111 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… It can be appreciated by those skilled in the art that, in the virtual keyboard, each virtual key corresponds to a triggerable range. The triggerable range may be defined by a boundary of a collider bound to each virtual key. An area of overlap between the vertical projection of the fingertip of the finger on the plane where the virtual keyboard(virtual object) is located and a triggerable range of a certain virtual key(subobject) in the virtual keyboard is greater than a set threshold, and the user keeps the position of the finger relative to the virtual keyboard unchanged, and completes a click action in a direction close to the plane where the virtual keyboard is located, which will trigger the virtual key, that is, input a character corresponding to the virtual key…S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard.].
Liu and Wu do not explicitly disclose wherein the control method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical extension area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical extension area is constituted by vertically extending a distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical extension area, determining to activate the input operation and receive the plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in the time interval.
However, Mai teaches wherein the control method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical extension area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical extension area is constituted by vertically extending a distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical extension area, determining to activate the input operation and receive the plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in the time interval[See Mai: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 104-150 regarding S110: A head-mounted display device displays a virtual keyboard… S120: In response to an input trigger operation of the user, the hand-mounted device sends hand detection data to the head-mounted display device based on a detected target sensor signal. Specifically, the user may perform an input operation on the virtual keyboard, and the input operation may be a tap operation or a sliding operation. When the user performs an input operation, the input operation may be implemented by using a single finger, or may be implemented by using a plurality of fingers. For example, when the virtual keyboard is located in a virtual space, the user may perform a tap or sliding input by using a two-finger pinch operation. When the user taps the virtual keyboard on the physical plane or pinches two fingers together on the virtual keyboard to implement the input trigger operation, the target finger vibrates. Accordingly, a vibration sensor on the hand-mounted device may detect a biological vibration wave signal. In addition, when the user performs the foregoing input trigger operation, the blood flow also changes. Accordingly, a pulse wave sensor on the hand-mounted device detects that a pulse wave signal changes. The hand-mounted device may send, to the head-mounted display device as hand detection data, the target sensor signal detected by the vibration sensor and/or the pulse wave sensor, so that the head-mounted display device determines an input trigger event and triggers a gesture input detection process… For example, the vibration sensor is an IMU. FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a biological vibration wave signal according to an embodiment of this application. The figure shows waveform diagrams corresponding to an x-axis, a y-axis, and a z-axis of a 3-axis accelerometer in the IMU when a target finger taps twice on a virtual keyboard on a desktop. In each waveform diagram, a horizontal coordinate represents time or a sampling point, and a vertical coordinate represents an electrical signal that may indicate acceleration. In FIG. 5, an example in which the horizontal coordinate represents time, and the vertical coordinate represents acceleration is used for description. As shown in FIG. 5, when the target finger vibrates, a waveform of an acceleration signal detected by the IMU changes, and the hand-mounted device may periodically detect, in a preset time window (for example, one second), whether a waveform feature of the acceleration signal meets a preset requirement… S130: After determining, based on the hand detection data, that an input trigger event occurs, the head-mounted display device determines an initial tap position of a target finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on a hand image captured by a camera. To improve accuracy of the determined input result, in this embodiment, in step S130, after receiving the hand detection data, the head-mounted device may collect hand image tracking data of the user by using the camera when determining that the input trigger operation of the user acts on the virtual keyboard, that is, the hand image captured by the camera may include the hand image tracking data. Accordingly, when determining the input result, the head-mounted display device may perform data fusion on the hand image tracking data collected by the camera and the hand motion tracking data collected by the IMU, and then determine the input result based on the motion tracking data that is of the target finger and that is obtained by fusion and with reference to the initial tap position and the keyboard layout of the virtual keyboard…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu and Wu with Mai teachings by including “wherein the control method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical extension area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical extension area is constituted by vertically extending a distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical extension area, determining to activate the input operation and receive the plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in the time interval” because this combination has the benefit of improving accuracy of a gesture input recognition in a scenario of virtual reality[See Mai: at least par. 3-6].
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, having a computer program stored therein, wherein the computer program comprises a plurality of codes, the computer program executes a control method after being loaded into an electronic apparatus[See Liu: at least Fig. 6 and par. 104-113, 117-122 regarding a computer program carried on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the computer program containing program code for performing the method illustrated by the flow diagrams so as to achieve the above-mentioned interaction method.], the controlling method comprises:
capturing a real-time image comprising a wearable apparatus worn on a hand of a user[ See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 37, 40-53, 56-58, 94, 103 regarding the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of a camera. Specifically, a camera is configured in the extended reality device, and the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of the camera in the extended reality device. Alternatively, a camera is configured in the haptic feedback device, and the vibration motor is re-used as a focusing motor of the camera in the haptic feedback device…Further, the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…];
calculating a posture corresponding to the hand based on the real-time image, wherein the posture comprises a reference point located on the hand[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…]; and
in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…], and selecting a first gesture based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 69-77, 110 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… the implementation of this step comprises: periodically acquiring a user hand image by using an image sensor integrated in the extended reality device; acquiring user hand action information by using a hand action acquisition device worn by a user hand; and detecting the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on the user hand image and the user hand action information. The hand action acquisition device may specifically comprise one or more of a myoelectricity sensor, a vibration sensor, a pulse sensor, and an inertia measurement unit…].
Liu does not explicitly disclose in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus, and selecting a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus.
However, Wu teaches in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus[See Wu: at least par. 21, 37-43, 53, 79, 99 regarding a system 100 for providing dynamic haptic playback or effects for an augmented or virtual reality environment in substantially real time … For instance, the detection module 158 can include instructions that, when executed by the processor 102, cause the processor 102 to receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 captures information about the user's motion of the user device 120 as the user interacts with the simulated reality environment... In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion… In an example, the user can provide additional user input via one or more interactive control elements to indicate or modify parameters of the dynamic haptic effect including, for example, providing user input to indicate whether the dynamic haptic effect is a periodic dynamic haptic effect, a first (e.g., starting) dynamic haptic effect of the dynamic haptic effect, a second (e.g., ending) dynamic haptic effect of the dynamic haptic effect, a starting time or position of the dynamic haptic effect, an ending time or position of the dynamic haptic effect, and a type of a model (e.g., a linear model) for rendering or generating the dynamic haptic effect.], and selecting a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus [See Wu: at least par. 37-43, 79, 99 regarding A detection module 158 can configure the processor 102 to receive sensor signals from the sensor 136…As an example, the processor 102 can receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 detects the user's interaction with a simulated reality environment using the user device 120. For instance, the detection module 158 can include instructions that, when executed by the processor 102, cause the processor 102 to receive a sensor signal from the sensor 136 when the sensor 136 captures information about the user's motion of the user device 120 as the user interacts with the simulated reality environment... In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion. In this embodiment, the processor 102 can access the one or more lookup tables or databases and determine or vary a characteristic of one or more dynamic haptic effects associated with the motion and/or characteristic of the motion…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu with Wu teachings by including “in response to determining to activate an input operation based on the reference point and a relative position of a virtual object displayed by the display, receiving a plurality of inertial measurement parameters captured in a time interval after activating the input operation from the wearable apparatus, and selecting a first gesture corresponding to the reference point from a plurality of gestures based on the plurality of inertial measurement parameters received from the wearable apparatus” because this combination has the benefit of providing dynamic haptic effects in an augmented or virtual reality environment in substantially real time as the user interacts with the augmented or virtual reality environment [See Wu: at least par. 1-4, 48].
Further on, when combined teachings, Liu and Wu teach generating an input event corresponding to the virtual object based on the first gesture and an input target corresponding to the input operation[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-54, 69-77, 110 regarding S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard. See Wu: at least Figs. 1-4 and par. 37-43, 79, 99 regarding In some examples, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to determine a user's motion (e.g., body gesture or motion of the user device 120) and/or a characteristic of the motion and determine or vary a characteristic (e.g., a magnitude, duration, location, type, pitch, frequency, etc.) of a dynamic haptic effect based on the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For example, the haptic effect determination module 160 may cause the processor 102 to access one or more lookup tables or databases that include data corresponding to a characteristic of a dynamic haptic effect associated with a user's motion (e.g., body motion or motion of the user device 120) and/or characteristic of the motion. In this embodiment, the processor 102 can access the one or more lookup tables or databases and determine or vary a characteristic of one or more dynamic haptic effects associated with the motion and/or characteristic of the motion. For instance, if the user moves the user device 120 with a high velocity to interact with the simulated reality environment, the processor 102 can determine a dynamic haptic effect that includes a strong vibration or a series of strong vibrations. Continuing with this example, if the user subsequently moves the user device 120 with a low or lower velocity, the processor 102 can determine another characteristic of the haptic effect or vary a characteristic of the haptic effect such as, for example, by reducing a magnitude of the vibration or series of vibrations such that user perceives a weaker vibration as the user reduces the velocity of the user device 120…];
wherein the controlling method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical area is constituted by a vertical distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical area, determining to activate the input operation[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 59-64, 66-76, 78-96, 108-111 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… It can be appreciated by those skilled in the art that, in the virtual keyboard, each virtual key corresponds to a triggerable range. The triggerable range may be defined by a boundary of a collider bound to each virtual key. An area of overlap between the vertical projection of the fingertip of the finger on the plane where the virtual keyboard(virtual object) is located and a triggerable range of a certain virtual key(subobject) in the virtual keyboard is greater than a set threshold, and the user keeps the position of the finger relative to the virtual keyboard unchanged, and completes a click action in a direction close to the plane where the virtual keyboard is located, which will trigger the virtual key, that is, input a character corresponding to the virtual key…S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard.].
Liu and Wu do not explicitly disclose wherein the controlling method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical area is constituted by a vertical distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical area, determining to activate the input operation.
However, Mai teaches wherein the controlling method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical area is constituted by a vertical distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical area, determining to activate the input operation[See Mai: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 104-150 regarding S110: A head-mounted display device displays a virtual keyboard… S120: In response to an input trigger operation of the user, the hand-mounted device sends hand detection data to the head-mounted display device based on a detected target sensor signal. Specifically, the user may perform an input operation on the virtual keyboard, and the input operation may be a tap operation or a sliding operation. When the user performs an input operation, the input operation may be implemented by using a single finger, or may be implemented by using a plurality of fingers. For example, when the virtual keyboard is located in a virtual space, the user may perform a tap or sliding input by using a two-finger pinch operation. When the user taps the virtual keyboard on the physical plane or pinches two fingers together on the virtual keyboard to implement the input trigger operation, the target finger vibrates. Accordingly, a vibration sensor on the hand-mounted device may detect a biological vibration wave signal. In addition, when the user performs the foregoing input trigger operation, the blood flow also changes. Accordingly, a pulse wave sensor on the hand-mounted device detects that a pulse wave signal changes. The hand-mounted device may send, to the head-mounted display device as hand detection data, the target sensor signal detected by the vibration sensor and/or the pulse wave sensor, so that the head-mounted display device determines an input trigger event and triggers a gesture input detection process… For example, the vibration sensor is an IMU. FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of a biological vibration wave signal according to an embodiment of this application. The figure shows waveform diagrams corresponding to an x-axis, a y-axis, and a z-axis of a 3-axis accelerometer in the IMU when a target finger taps twice on a virtual keyboard on a desktop. In each waveform diagram, a horizontal coordinate represents time or a sampling point, and a vertical coordinate represents an electrical signal that may indicate acceleration. In FIG. 5, an example in which the horizontal coordinate represents time, and the vertical coordinate represents acceleration is used for description. As shown in FIG. 5, when the target finger vibrates, a waveform of an acceleration signal detected by the IMU changes, and the hand-mounted device may periodically detect, in a preset time window (for example, one second), whether a waveform feature of the acceleration signal meets a preset requirement… S130: After determining, based on the hand detection data, that an input trigger event occurs, the head-mounted display device determines an initial tap position of a target finger relative to the virtual keyboard based on a hand image captured by a camera. To improve accuracy of the determined input result, in this embodiment, in step S130, after receiving the hand detection data, the head-mounted device may collect hand image tracking data of the user by using the camera when determining that the input trigger operation of the user acts on the virtual keyboard, that is, the hand image captured by the camera may include the hand image tracking data. Accordingly, when determining the input result, the head-mounted display device may perform data fusion on the hand image tracking data collected by the camera and the hand motion tracking data collected by the IMU, and then determine the input result based on the motion tracking data that is of the target finger and that is obtained by fusion and with reference to the initial tap position and the keyboard layout of the virtual keyboard…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu and Wu with Mai teachings by including “wherein the controlling method further comprises: determining whether the relative position of the reference point is located in a vertical area of the virtual object, wherein the vertical area is constituted by a vertical distance from a plurality of subobjects in the virtual object; and in response to the relative position of the reference point is located in the vertical area, determining to activate the input operation” because this combination has the benefit of improving accuracy of a gesture input recognition in a scenario of virtual reality[See Mai: at least par. 3-6].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Liu, Wu and Mai teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Liu and Mai teach or suggest wherein when the first gesture is a tap gesture, the input target is generated through the following operations/ steps : calculating a projection point of the reference point on a virtual plane corresponding to the virtual object; and selecting a first subobject from the plurality of subobjects corresponding to the virtual object as the input target based on the projection point[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 59-64, 66-76, 78-96, 108-111 regarding S120, detecting a position and an action of a user finger relative to the virtual keyboard. The position of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard refers to a position where, when a fingertip of the finger is vertically projected on a plane where the virtual keyboard is located, a projection of the fingertip of the finger overlaps with the virtual keyboard… An area of overlap between the vertical projection of the fingertip of the finger on the plane where the virtual keyboard(virtual object) is located and a triggerable range of a certain virtual key(subobject) in the virtual keyboard is greater than a set threshold, and the user keeps the position of the finger relative to the virtual keyboard unchanged, and completes a click action in a direction close to the plane where the virtual keyboard is located, which will trigger the virtual key, that is, input a character corresponding to the virtual key…S130, outputting a vibration signal based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the vibration signal is used for prompting a position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or an operation action of the user finger on a virtual key in the virtual keyboard. See Mai: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 104-150 regarding o improve accuracy of the determined input result, in this embodiment, in step S130, after receiving the hand detection data, the head-mounted device may collect hand image tracking data of the user by using the camera when determining that the input trigger operation of the user acts on the virtual keyboard, that is, the hand image captured by the camera may include the hand image tracking data. Accordingly, when determining the input result, the head-mounted display device may perform data fusion on the hand image tracking data collected by the camera and the hand motion tracking data collected by the IMU, and then determine the input result based on the motion tracking data that is of the target finger and that is obtained by fusion and with reference to the initial tap position and the keyboard layout of the virtual keyboard... As shown in FIG. 6, after the user inputs the character string “hello”, the user successively taps positions 1A and 1B (represented by dashed circles in the figure) by performing two tap operations. For the second tap operation, the head-mounted display device may determine various candidate input results: wo, world, and would based on an initial tap position, a keyboard layout of a virtual keyboard, and an N-Gram language model. The user may further select a final input result from these candidate input results…].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Liu, Wu and Mai teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Liu teaches or suggests wherein the virtual object comprises the plurality of subobjects, and the processor is further configured to / the control method further comprises: in response to determining to activate the input operation, mark / marking one of the subobjects closest to the reference point [See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 59-64, 66-76, 78-96, 108-111 regarding the method further comprises: outputting visual prompt information based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard, wherein the visual prompt information is used for prompting the position of the user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or the operation action of the user finger on the virtual key in the virtual keyboard. The visual prompt information helps to intuitively convey the position of the current user finger in the virtual keyboard and/or the operation action of the current user finger on the virtual key in the virtual keyboard to the user, in a visually perceptible manner in the case that the user observes the virtual keyboard… There are various specific implementations of “outputting visual prompt information based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard”, which are not limited in the present application. Exemplarily, the outputting visual prompt information based on the position and the action of the user finger relative to the virtual keyboard comprises at least one of: if the user finger hovers over the virtual key, setting a presentation state of the virtual key hovered as a first highlight state; if the user finger clicks the virtual key, setting a presentation state of the virtual key clicked as a second highlight state; or, if the user finger moves in a first direction, setting a presentation state of the virtual key passed in the process of the moving of the user finger as a third highlight state…In the present application, any two of the first highlight state, the second highlight state, and the third highlight state may have the same or different display effects, which is not limited in the present application…].
8. Claims 2, 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al.(US 2024/0103625 A1)(hereinafter Liu) in view of Wu et al.(US 2019/0324539 A1)(hereinafter Wu) in further view of MAI(US 2025/0021167 A1)(hereinafter Mai) and in further view of Kin(US 10,261,595 B1)(hereinafter Kin).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Liu, Wu and Mai teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Liu, Wu and Mai do not explicitly disclose wherein the operation of / wherein the step of calculating the posture comprises: calculating a plurality of keypoints of the hand in the real-time image; and generating the posture of the hand in a three-dimensional space based on the keypoints and a depth information in the real-time image.
However, Kin teaches wherein the operation of / wherein the step of calculating the posture comprises: calculating a plurality of keypoints of the hand in the real-time image; and generating the posture of the hand in a three-dimensional space based on the keypoints and a depth information in the real-time image [See Kin: at least Figs. 1-10 and col. 7 line 28-col. 8 line 7, col. 19 line 19-55 regarding the tracking module 150 is used to track movement of the digits of the user's hands and the hands themselves in order to recognize various poses for the user's hand. Each pose indicates a position of a user's hand. By detecting a combination of multiple poses over time, the tracking module 150 is able to determine a gesture for the user's hand. the tracking module 150 uses a deep learning model to determine the poses of the user's hands. The neural network may take as input feature data extracted from raw data from the imaging device 135 of the hand, e.g., depth information of the user's hand, or data regarding the location of locators on any input device 140 worn on the user's hands. The neural network may output the most likely pose that the user's hands are in. Alternatively, the neural network may output an indication of the most likely positions of the joints of the user's hands. The joints are positions of the user's hand, and may correspond to the actual physical joints in the user's hand, as well as other points on the user's hand that may be needed to sufficiently reproduce the motion of the user's hand in a simulation. If the neural network outputs the positions of joints, the tracking module 150 additionally converts the joint data into a pose, e.g., using inverse kinematics principles...(Here, the joint positions of the hand are keypoints of the hand)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Wu and Mai with Kin teachings by including “wherein the operation of / wherein the step of calculating the posture comprises: calculating a plurality of keypoints of the hand in the real-time image; and generating the posture of the hand in a three-dimensional space based on the keypoints and a depth information in the real-time image” because this combination has the benefit of providing a hand tracking method to accurately track positions of the user's fingers and thumbs and to track the precise movements of the user's digits and hand through space and time within the simulated environment[See Kin: at least col. 1 line 7- col. 2 line 2].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Liu, Wu, Mai and Kin teach all of the limitations of claims 2 and 12, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Kin teaches wherein the operation of / wherein the step of calculating the posture further comprises: selecting one of the keypoints as the reference point [See Kin: at least Figs. 1-10 and col. 7 line 28-col. 8 line 7, col. 19 line 19-55 regarding If the neural network outputs the positions of joints, the tracking module 150 additionally converts the joint data into a pose, e.g., using inverse kinematics principles. For example, the position of various joints of a user's hand, along with the natural and known restrictions (e.g., angular, length, etc.) of joint and bone positions of the user's hand allow the tracking module 150 to use inverse kinematics to determine a most likely pose of the user's hand based on the joint information. The pose data may also include an approximate structure of the user's hand, e.g., in the form of a skeleton, point mesh, or other format...].
9. Claims 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al.(US 2024/0103625 A1)(hereinafter Liu) in view of Wu et al.(US 2019/0324539 A1)(hereinafter Wu) in further view of MAI(US 2025/0021167 A1)(hereinafter Mai) and in further view of O’LEARY et al.(US 2023/0109787 A1)(hereinafter O’Leary).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Liu, Wu and Mai teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Further on, Liu teaches wherein at least one edge position of the virtual object comprises a virtual label[See Liu: at least Figs. 1-6 and par. 40-53, 59-64, 66-76, 78-96, 108-111 regarding the virtual keyboard comprises a plurality of virtual keys and a non-key area surrounding the virtual key, wherein the non-key area corresponds to a third vibration signal; and the output module 330 is configured to: output the third vibration signal if the user finger hovers over the non-key area…].
Liu, Wu and Mai do not explicitly disclose and when the first gesture is a double tap gesture, the operation of / the step of generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object further comprises: determining whether the reference point is located on a space position of the virtual label; and in response to the reference point is located on the space position of the virtual label, generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object based on a displacement distance of the double tap gesture.
However, O’Leary teaches and when the first gesture is a double tap gesture, the operation of / the step of generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object further comprises: determining whether the reference point is located on a space position of the virtual label; and in response to the reference point is located on the space position of the virtual label, generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object based on a displacement distance of the double tap gesture[See O’Leary: at least Figs. 1A-3, 9G, par. 100, 103, 115, 125, 184, 467 regarding In one example, the definition for event 1 (186) is a double tap on a displayed object. The double tap, for example, comprises a first touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, a first liftoff (touch end) for a predetermined phase, a second touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, and a second liftoff (touch end) for a predetermined phase. In another example, the definition for event 2 (187-2) is a dragging on a displayed object. The dragging, for example, comprises a touch (or contact) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, a movement of the touch across touch-sensitive display 112, and liftoff of the touch (touch end). In some embodiments, the event also includes information for one or more associated event handlers 190… At FIG. 9G, first electronic device 906a detects user input 950d (e.g., a tap gesture, a double tap gesture, a de-pinch gesture, and/or a long press gesture) at a location corresponding to sub-region 944 of table view region 940. In response to detecting user input 950d, first electronic device 906a causes second communication user interface 938a to modify (e.g., enlarge) display of table view region 940 and/or magnify an appearance of first representation 944a of surface 908b.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Wu and Mai with O’Leary teachings by including “and when the first gesture is a double tap gesture, the operation of / the step of generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object further comprises: determining whether the reference point is located on a space position of the virtual label; and in response to the reference point is located on the space position of the virtual label, generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object based on a displacement distance of the double tap gesture” because this combination has the benefit of providing an alternate double tap gesture operation to generate an input event to drag or zoom an object on the display.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Liu, Wu, Mai and O’Leary teach all of the limitations of claims 6 and 16, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, O’Leary teaches wherein the input event comprises a zooming operation and a virtual object dragging operation[See O’Leary: at least Figs. 1A-3, 9G, par. 100, 103, 115, 125, 184, 467 regarding In one example, the definition for event 1 (186) is a double tap on a displayed object. The double tap, for example, comprises a first touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, a first liftoff (touch end) for a predetermined phase, a second touch (touch begin) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, and a second liftoff (touch end) for a predetermined phase. In another example, the definition for event 2 (187-2) is a dragging on a displayed object. The dragging, for example, comprises a touch (or contact) on the displayed object for a predetermined phase, a movement of the touch across touch-sensitive display 112, and liftoff of the touch (touch end). In some embodiments, the event also includes information for one or more associated event handlers 190… At FIG. 9G, first electronic device 906a detects user input 950d (e.g., a tap gesture, a double tap gesture, a de-pinch gesture, and/or a long press gesture) at a location corresponding to sub-region 944 of table view region 940. In response to detecting user input 950d, first electronic device 906a causes second communication user interface 938a to modify (e.g., enlarge) display of table view region 940 and/or magnify an appearance of first representation 944a of surface 908b.].
10. Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al.(US 2024/0103625 A1)(hereinafter Liu) in view of Wu et al.(US 2019/0324539 A1)(hereinafter Wu) in further view of MAI(US 2025/0021167 A1)(hereinafter Mai) and in further view of Mahalingam et al. (US 2024/0070994 A1)(hereinafter Mahalingam).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Liu, Wu and Mai teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Liu, Wu and Mai do not explicitly disclose wherein when the first gesture is a flick gesture, the operation of / the step of generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object further comprises: moving the virtual object to an initial position; and adjusting a size of the virtual object.
However, Mahalingam teaches wherein when the first gesture is a flick gesture, the operation of / the step of generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object further comprises: moving the virtual object to an initial position; and adjusting a size of the virtual object [See Mahalingam: at least Figs. 4A-7B, par. 70-79, 103-108 regarding the gesture component categorizer 406 recognizes continuous movement gesture components composed of continuous movement temporal segments of the skeletal model data 422. Continuous movement temporal segments are temporal segments with definite movement gesture components and their derivatives recognized as additional features, such as a displacement of a hand or a velocity of a hand…An articulate start or stop movement is a type of continuous movement temporal segment with an abrupt beginning movement or an abrupt stop to a movement. An articulate start or stop's salient feature is a starting, or stopping movement that has an abrupt start or end where the acceleration is not uniform. For example, pointing at something with a definite halt that has a start of the movement that is arbitrary and vague, but has an end that is sharp. As another example, a flicking gesture is an example of the opposite (starting) movement where a start is definite, and an end is indefinite... FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B are illustrations of a user interaction with a virtual object during a reduction in size or zooming out from the virtual object in accordance with some examples. FIG. 7A and FIG. 7B are illustrations of a user interaction with a virtual object during an increase in size or zooming in to a virtual object in accordance with some examples.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Wu and Mai with Mahalingam teachings by including “wherein when the first gesture is a flick gesture, the operation of / the step of generating the input event corresponding to the virtual object further comprises: moving the virtual object to an initial position; and adjusting a size of the virtual object” because this combination has the benefit of providing an alternate flick gesture operation to generate an input event to move or resize an object on the display.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and current claim amendments.
Gupta et al. (US 12,189,851 B1): Please refer to Figs. 5-6 and col. 5 line 55-col. 6 line 63.
PASTRANA VICENTE et al. (US 2024/0103716 A1): Please refer to Figs. 25B-25J, 29A-29G, par. 167-168,174, 235, 861-862.
YAMANO et al.(US 2023/0095328 A1): Please refer to Figs. 14-45, par. 127, 142, 178-192.
BEITH et al.(US 2021/0065455 A1): Please refer to Figs. 1-5, par. 92-108.
Clement et al.(US 2017/0329515 A1): Please refer to Figs. 1-5, par. 86-100.
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482